Back | May Newsletter

SelectReads News
Simple News Pro
  New Fiction  
War Cry: A Courtney Family Novel

Wilbur Smith · William Morrow
Pages: 512
Format: Hardcover

The saga of the legendary Courtney family continues in this fourteenth installment in Wilbur Smith's bestselling series - the sequel to 2009's Assegai - a thrilling tale of espionage, adventure, and danger, set in Africa and spanning from the Great War's end to the dark days of World...

Read More check catalog
 
 
Startup: A Novel

DOREE SHAFRIR · LITTLE
Pages: 304
Format: Print book


One of the most anticipated books of 2017--Vulture, BuzzFeed, The Millions, Nylon, and Book Riot's "All the Books" Podcast

From veteran online journalist and BuzzFeed writer Doree Shafrir comes a hilarious debut novel that proves there are some dilemmas that no app can solve.


Mack...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Shadow Land: A Novel

Elizabeth Kostova · Ballantine Books
Pages: 478
Format: Hardcover

From the #1 bestselling author of The Historian comes a mesmerizing novel that spans the past and the present - and unearths the troubled history of a gorgeous but haunted country.

A young American woman, Alexandra Boyd, has traveled to Sofia, Bulgaria, hoping...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Unreliable: A Novel

Lee Irby · Doubleday
Pages: 336
Format: Print book

Riotous and riveting, this is the story of a charming college professor who most definitely did not - but maybe did - kill his ex-wife. Or someone else. Or no one. Irby plays with the thriller trope in unimaginably clever ways. Edwin Stith, a failed novelist and college writing instructor...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Witchfinder's Sister

Beth Underdown · Ballantine
Pages: 336
Format: Print book

A thrilling debut novel, a literary historical thriller based on the devastating witch hunts in 1640s England conducted by "Witchfinder General" Matthew Hopkins - for readers of Sarah Waters and Katherine Howe.

Before Salem, there was Manningtree....
Read More check catalog
 
 
One Good Thing

Wendy Wax · Berkley
Pages: 368
Format: Paperback

From the USA Today bestselling author of Sunshine Beach, a story of four women trying to rebuild more than their lives...

Before you can fix it up, you might have to tear it down...

Embroiled in a battle to regain control of their renovation-turned-reality...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Half Wives

Stacia Pelletier · Houghton Mifflin Harcourt
Pages: 336
Format: Print book

Over the course of one momentous day, two women who have built their lives around the same man find themselves moving toward an inevitable reckoning. Former Lutheran minister Henry Plageman is a master secret keeper and a man wracked by grief. He and his wife, Marilyn, tragically lost their...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Watcher

Ross Armstrong · Mira Books
Pages: 336
Format: Hardcover

Lily Gullick lives with her husband, Aiden, in a brand-new apartment opposite a building that has been marked for demolition. A keen bird-watcher, she can't help spying on her neighbors. Until one day Lily sees something suspicious through her binoculars, and soon her elderly neighbor...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Anything Is Possible: A Novel

Elizabeth Strout · Random House
Pages: 272
Format: Print book

From #1 New York Times bestselling author and Pulitzer Prize winner Elizabeth Strout comes a brilliant latticework of fiction that recalls Olive Kitteridge in its richness, structure, and complexity. Written in tandem with My Name Is Lucy Barton and drawing on the small-town...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Good Assassin: A Novel

Paul Vidich · Atria/Emily Bestler Books
Pages: 288
Format: Hardcover

"Paul Vidich's likable and reluctant spy, George Mueller, will keep readers guessing in this eerily real Cuba of 1958. The Good Assassin is a keen historical adventure from the best noir tradition." - Elizabeth Kostova, #1 New York Times bestselling author
...
Read More check catalog