Back | October Newsletter

SelectReads News
Simple News Pro
  New Fiction  
Chariot on the Mountain

JACK FORD · Kensington
Pages: 320
Format: Hardcover

Based on little-known true events, this astonishing account from Emmy and Peabody Award-winning journalist Jack Ford vividly recreates a treacherous journey toward freedom, a time when the traditions of the Old South still thrived - and is a testament to determination, friendship, and courage...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Bellewether

Susanna Kearsley · Sourcebooks Landmark
Pages: 448
Format: Paperback

"I've loved every one of Susanna's books! She has bedrock research and a butterfly's delicate touch with characters -- sure recipe for historical fiction that sucks you in and won't let go!" -- DIANA GABALDON, #1 New York Times bestselling author of Outlander"The house,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Bucket List: A Novel

Georgia Clark · Atria/Emily Bestler Books
Pages: 352
Format: Hardcover

From the author of the critically acclaimed "lively and engrossing parable for women of all generations" (Harper's Bazaar) The Regulars­ comes a deeply funny and thoughtful tale of a young woman who, after discovering she has the breast cancer gene, embarks on an unforgettable...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Dear Mrs. Bird: A Novel

A J Pearce · Scribner
Pages: 288
Format: Hardcover

"A marvelous treat. Charming and delightful." - Nina Stibbe, author of Love, Nina An irresistible debut set in London during World War II about an adventurous young woman who becomes a secret advice columnist - a warm, funny, and enormously moving story for fans of The Guernsey...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Depth of Winter: A Longmire Mystery

CRAIG JOHNSON · Viking
Pages: 304
Format: Hardcover

The new novel in Craig Johnson's beloved New York Times bestselling Longmire series.Welcome to Walt Longmire's worst nightmare. In Craig Johnson's latest mystery, Depth of Winter, an international hit man and the head of one of the most vicious drug cartels in Mexico has kidnapped Walt's...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Next Year in Havana

Chanel Cleeton · Berkley
Pages: 400
Format: Paperback

After the death of her beloved grandmother, a Cuban-American woman travels to Havana, where she discovers the roots of her identity--and unearths a family secret hidden since the revolution...Havana, 1958. The daughter of a sugar baron, nineteen-year-old Elisa Perez is part of Cuba's high...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Little Stranger

Sarah Waters · Penguin Audio
Format: Book

Abundantly atmospheric and elegantly told, The Little Stranger is Sarah Waters's most thrilling and ambitious novel yet.  
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Secret of the Irish Castle

Santa Montefiore · William Morrow
Pages: 496
Format: Hardcover

International bestselling author Santa Montefiore continues the story of the Deverill family in the third book in her beautiful and moving Deverill Chronicles trilogy - perfect for fans of Kate Morton and Beatriz Williams."Nobody does epic romance like Santa Montefiore. Everything...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Bookshop of Yesterdays

Amy Meyerson · Park Row
Pages: 368
Format: Hardcover

A woman inherits a beloved bookstore and sets forth on a journey of self-discovery in this poignant debut about family, forgiveness and a love of reading.Miranda Brooks grew up in the stacks of her eccentric uncle Billy's bookstore, solving the inventive scavenger hunts he created just...
Read More check catalog
 
 
In His Father's Footsteps: A Novel

DANIELLE STEEL · Delacorte Press
Pages: 336
Format: Hardcover

In this powerful novel, #1 New York Times bestselling author Danielle Steel tells the story of two World War II concentration camp survivors, the life they build together, and the son who faces struggles of his own as a first generation American determined to be his own person and achieve...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Sea Prayer

KHALED HOSSEINI · Riverhead Books
Pages: 48
Format: Hardcover

The #1 New York Times-bestselling author of The Kite Runner, A Thousand Splendid Suns, and And the Mountains Echoed responds to the heartbreak of the current refugee crisis with this deeply moving, beautifully illustrated short work of fiction for people of all ages, all over the world....
Read More check catalog
 
 
In Times Gone By

Tracie Peterson · Bethany House Publishers
Pages: 320
Format: Paperback

After getting left at the altar, Kenzie Gifford flees to San Francisco to start her life over, determined never to love again. She's made new friends and has a good job in the office of her cousin's chocolate factory. The only thorn in her side is Dr. Micah Fisher, who insists on pursuing...
Read More check catalog
 
 
An Absolutely Remarkable Thing: A Novel

HANK GREEN · Dutton
Pages: 352
Format: Hardcover

In his much-anticipated debut novel, Hank Green - cocreator of Crash Course, Vlogbrothers, and SciShow - spins a sweeping, cinematic tale about a young woman who becomes an overnight celebrity before realizing she's part of something bigger, and stranger, than anyone could have possibly...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Witch of Willow Hall

Hester Fox · Graydon House
Pages: 368
Format: Paperback

Two centuries after the Salem witch trials, there's still one witch left in Massachusetts. But she doesn't even know it.Take this as a warning: if you are not able or willing to control yourself, it will not only be you who suffers the consequences, but those around you, as well.New Oldbury,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
China Rich Girlfriend

Kevin Kwan · Anchor
Pages: 479
Format: Paperback

From the bestselling author of Crazy Rich Asians (Soon to be a MAJOR MOTION PICTURE starring Constance Wu, Henry Golding, Michelle Yeoh and Gemma Chan) comes a deliciously fun story of family, fortune, and fame in Mainland China. It's the eve of Rachel Chu's wedding, and she should...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Rich People Problems: A Novel

Kevin Kwan · Anchor
Pages: 544
Format: Paperback

NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLEREsquire Best Books of 2017Kirkus Best Fictional Families of 2017Kevin Kwan, bestselling author of Crazy Rich Asians (soon to be a MAJOR MOTION PICTURE starring Constance Wu, Henry Golding, Michelle Yeoh and Gemma Chan) and China Rich Girlfriend, is back with...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Crazy Rich Asians

Kevin Kwan · Anchor
Pages: 384
Format: Book

The acclaimed international bestseller ("A dizzily shopaholic comedy." --The New York Times) soon to be a MAJOR MOTION PICTURE starring Constance Wu, Henry Golding, Michelle Yeoh and Gemma Chan! When New Yorker Rachel Chu agrees to spend the summer in Singapore with her boyfriend,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Dutch Wife

Ellen Keith · Park Row
Pages: 352
Format: Hardcover

A sweeping story of survival during World War IIAmsterdam, May 1943. As the tulips bloom and the Nazis tighten their grip across the city, the last signs of Dutch resistance are being swept away. Marijke de Graaf and her husband are arrested and deported to different concentration camps...
Read More check catalog