Back Psychology & Philosophy | January Newsletter

SelectReads News
Simple News Pro
  Psychology & Philosophy  
Henry David Thoreau: A Life

Laura Dassow Walls · University Of Chicago Press
Pages: 640
Format: Hardcover

"Walden. Yesterday I came here to live." That entry from the journal of Henry David Thoreau, and the intellectual journey it began, would by themselves be enough to place Thoreau in the American pantheon. His attempt to "live deliberately" in a small woods at the edge...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Careful: A User's Guide to Our Injury-Prone Minds

STEVE CASNER · Riverhead Books
Pages: 326
Format: Hardcover

"Gripping, page-turning material . . . a new way of thinking about survival in a world filled with hazards and distractions." - Charles Duhigg, author of Smarter Faster Better and The Power of HabitA safety expert reveals why few of us are as careful as we think we are, and what...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Powers of Two: Finding the Essence of Innovation in Creative Pairs

Joshua Wolf Shenk · Eamon Dolan/Houghton Mifflin Harcourt; 1 edition
Format: Hardcover

A revelatory synthesis of cultural history and social psychology that shows how one-to-one collaboration drives creative success   Weaving the lives of scores of creative duos—from John Lennon and Paul McCartney to Marie and Pierre Curie to Steve Jobs and Steve Wozniak—Joshua Wolf...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Origin of Others

TONI MORRISON · Harvard University Press
Pages: 136
Format: Hardcover

America's foremost novelist reflects on the themes that preoccupy her work and increasingly dominate national and world politics: race, fear, borders, the mass movement of peoples, the desire for belonging. What is race and why does it matter? What motivates the human tendency to construct...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Borderline Personality Disorder Demystified, Revised Edition: An Essential Guide for Understanding and Living with BPD

ROBERT O FRIEDEL · Da Capo Lifelong Books
Pages: 304
Format: Paperback

For anyone diagnosed with borderline personality disorder and their friends and loved ones, the invaluable guide to understanding and living with BPD, now revised and updatedBPD is a chronic, disabling psychiatric condition that causes extreme instability in one's emotional life, behavior,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Think Again: How to Reason and Argue

WALTER SINNOTT-ARMSTRONG · Oxford University Press
Pages: 256
Format: Paperback

Our personal and political worlds are rife with arguments and disagreements, some of them petty and vitriolic. The inability to compromise and understand the opposition is epidemic today, from countries refusing to negotiate, to politicians pandering to their base. Social media has produced...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Passing Judgment: Praise and Blame in Everyday Life

TERRI APTER · W. W. Norton & Company
Pages: 288
Format: Hardcover

Terri Apter reveals how everyday judgments impact our relationships and how praise, blame, and shame shape our sense of self.Do you know that praise is essential to the growth of a healthy brain? That experiences of praise and blame affect how long we live? That the conscious and unconscious...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Damnation Island: Poor, Sick, Mad, and Criminal in 19th-Century New York

STACY HORN · Algonquin Books
Pages: 304
Format: Hardcover

The gripping voices of the inhabitants of Blackwell's Island make this history come alive. Today it is known as Roosevelt Island. In 1828, when New York City purchased this narrow, two-mile-long island in the East River, it was called Blackwell's Island. There, over the next hundred years,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Teenagers with ADD, ADHD & Executive Function Deficits: A Guide for Parents and Professionals

CHRIS A ZEIGLER DENDY · Woodbine House
Pages: 362
Format: Paperback

A seasoned expert and veteran parent, Chris Zeigler Dendy looks at key areas (academics, dating, driving, socializing, and greater independence) that make adolescence potentially more difficult for kids with ADD, ADHD, or executive function deficits. This new edition is expanded and refreshed...
Read More check catalog
 
 
He's Not Lazy: Empowering Your Son to Believe In Himself

Adam Price · Sterling
Pages: 272
Format: Hardcover

"Clinical psychologist Price offers one of the most significant books of the year in this new look at an old problem - the underperforming teenage boy ... Price's book brings an important voice to a much needed conversation." - Library Journal (Starred review) On the surface,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Faking It: The Lies Women Tell about Sex--And the Truths They Reveal

Lux Alptraum · Seal Press
Pages: 256
Format: Paperback

From Out of the Binders co-founder Lux Alptraum, a controversial look at women, sex, and lying--why myths about women's deceit persist, how they came to be, and ultimately why we must trust women When we talk about sex, we talk about women as mysterious, deceptive, and - above all - untrustworthy....
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Family Gene: A Mission to Turn My Deadly Inheritance Into a Hopeful Future

Joselin Linder · Ecco
Pages: 272
Format: Print book

A riveting medical mystery about a young woman's quest to uncover the truth about her likely fatal genetic disorder that opens a window onto the exploding field of genomic medicineWhen Joselin Linder was in her twenties her legs suddenly started to swell. After years of misdiagnoses, doctors...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Calming Your Anxious Child: Words to Say and Things to Do

Kathleen Trainor · Johns Hopkins University Press
Pages: 264
Format: Print book

Ten million children in the United States -- two million of them preschoolers -- suffer from anxiety. Anxious children may be afraid to be out of their parents' sight; they may refuse to talk except to specific people or under specific circumstances; they may insist on performing tasks...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Only Girl in the World: A Memoir

Maude Julien · Back Bay Books
Pages: 288
Format: Paperback

AN AMAZON BEST BOOK OF THE MONTH. For readers of Room and The Glass Castle, an astonishing memoir of one woman rising above an unimaginable childhood. Maude Julien's parents were fanatics who believed it was their sacred duty to turn her into the ultimate survivor--raising her in isolation,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Invisible: How Young Women with Serious Health Issues Navigate Work, Relationships, and the Pressure to Seem Just Fine

Michele Lent Hirsch · Beacon Press
Pages: 216
Format: Hardcover

What happens when you're expected to be healthy, building relationships, and starting your career but are faced with a life-altering medical condition?When we meet a young woman with a serious illness, we tend to label her an outlier. But while we might think of young female patients as anomalies,...
Read More check catalog