Back Children's Books | January Newsletter

SelectReads News
Simple News Pro
  Children's Books  
This Book Will Not Be Fun

Cirocco Dunlap · Random House Books for Young Readers
Pages: 32
Format: Hardcover

A mouse who acts as a careful custodian of his book tries to guarantee his reader some peace and order in spite of escalating chaos. For fans of The Book With No Pictures and This Book Just Ate My Dog!A book is no place for tomfoolery, and this mouse assures us that his book is to be no exception....
Read More check catalog
 
 
Stanley's School

William Bee · Peachtree Publishers
Pages: 32
Format: Hardcover

Stanley has lots of eager students at school today!Ding, ding, ding! It's time for school with Stanley and Hattie. Stanley reads a story to Little Woo, Sophie, and Benjamin. Outside, everyone has fun in the garden, and Stanley's lemonade and Hattie's lovely fruit salad are delicious snacks...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Tree: An Environmental Fable

Neal Layton · Candlewick Press
Pages: 40
Format: Print book

When a family wants to cut down a tree to build a house, what happens to the animals' nests and burrows? Can a tree be home to everyone?For the rabbits, birds, and squirrels, the big tree is home. But then come two new arrivals with wonderful plans, all ready to create their dream house....
Read More check catalog
 
 
My Dad Used to Be So Cool

Keith Negley · Flying Eye Books
Pages: 48
Format: Print book

Keith Negley's playful and emotional art tells this story of a new father who is no longer the cool guy he once was. He looks back wistfully on his crazy times playing in a band, riding a motorcycle, and getting tattoos. Those days may be behind him, but his young son still thinks he's...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Harold and the Purple Crayon: Things That Go

Jodi Huelin · HarperFestival
Pages: 22
Format: Book

A dump truck, rocket ship, and taxi cab are just a few of the vehicles Harold creates with his trusty purple crayon in this charming story about things that go!
Read More check catalog
 
 
Zebra on the Go

JILL NOGALES · Peachtree Publishers
Pages: 32
Format: Hardcover

Ladies and gentlemen, boys and girls, children of all ages: the circus is beginning! Fierce Lion and speedy Zebra are stepping into the ring to perform their act but wait! Things aren't going quite according to plan...Zebra is on the go with Lion in hot pursuit!Jill Nogales's rollicking...
Read More check catalog
 
 
National Geographic Kids Look and Learn: Look Up!

National Geographic Kids. · Natl Geographic
Pages: 24
Format: Print book

Readers will "look up" to see a kite, a bird, and other colorful things above them. Children will learn about each object or creature in simple, age-appropriate language paired with colorful photos. Look and Learn introduces the child to the subject on one page and then shows...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Mine!

Jeff Mack · Chronicle Books
Pages: 40
Format: Hardcover

Start with one rock. Add two mice. The end result? A never-ending battle! Or is it? Using only one word, along with many brightly colored and lively illustrations, Jeff Mack brings his hallmark humor to this rollicking book that will have readers of every age reconsidering whether "Mine!"...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Tickle My Ears

Jo?rg Mu?hle · Gecko Press
Pages: 20
Format: Print book

Encourages readers to interact with the story by helping a little rabbit go through the steps of getting ready for bed.
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Pigeon Loves Things That Go!

Mo Willems · Hyperion Book CH
Pages: 12
Format: Board book

In Dont Let the Pigeon Drive the Bus!, the pigeon dreamed of driving the titular bus. In this board book, readers will see him deliriously emoting at the thought of driving a plane, a train, a car, and more, all in his uproariously over-the-top style.,
Read More check catalog
 
 
Ducks Away!

Mem Fox · Scholastic Press
Pages: 32
Format: Hardcover

Count along with Mother Duck as her ducklings try to waddle across the bridge. When a sudden gust of wind sweeps one of Mother Duck's ducklings into the river, she doesn't know what to do. With four ducklings on the bridge and one below, Mother Duck is torn as to which way to go. Suddenly,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Do You Believe in Unicorns?

BETHANIE DEENEY MURGUIA · Candlewick
Pages: 32
Format: Hardcover

Is believing in magic the key to seeing a unicorn? If you keep your eyes open to wonder, the possibilities are endless.Is that a horse wearing a hat? It's definitely not a unicorn in disguise - that would be ridiculous, right? It's probably just a horse that's having a bad hair day. Or trying...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Girl Who Heard Colors

Marie Harris · Penguin Group (USA) Incorporated
Pages: 32
Format: Hardcover

This eye-opening picture book introduces readers to their five senses and to synesthesia - a condition in which one sense triggers another. For some people, sounds or tastes have colors. And for others, numbers and letters do. Many famous artists have been synesthetes, including Tori Amos,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Pup and Bear

Kate Banks · Schwartz & Wade
Pages: 32
Format: Hardcover

This deeply emotional read-aloud about a lost wolf pup who is raised by a loving polar bear is sure to resonate with families - particularly non-traditional ones. You are not my mother, said the wolf pup. I am not your mother, said the polar bear, but I can cuddle you and keep you safe....
Read More check catalog
 
 
Our Very Own Dog: Taking Care of Your First Pet

Amanda Mccardie · Candlewick Press
Pages: 32
Format: Print book

If you have a new dog companion - or want to adopt one - here's a story full of facts that tells you everything you need to know.There's nothing more exciting than getting a dog! Join Sophie's new human family as they prepare their home for her and introduce her to life as a beloved pet....
Read More check catalog