Back Children's Books | June Newsletter

SelectReads News
Simple News Pro
  Children's Books  
Olivia Counts

Ian Falconer · Atheneum Books for Young Readers; Brdbk edition
Format: Board book

Count along with Olivia! In this enchanting board book, toddlers will join everyone's favorite piglet as they learn to count from one to ten.Count along with Olivia! In this enchanting board book, toddlers will join everyone's favorite piglet as they learn to count from one to ten.
Read More check catalog
 
 
Baby Animals Black and White

Phyllis Limbacher Tildes · Charlesbridge
Pages: 10
Format: Print book

This captivating board book features the striking black-and-white faces of eight adorable baby animals. Research has shown that infants respond more readily to black and white images, making this book an ideal choice for the very young.
Read More check catalog
 
 
Goodnight, Numbers

Danica McKellar · Crown Books for Young Readers
Pages: 32
Format: Print book

For fans of bedtime stories with a twist comes a math picture book by Danica McKellar - which sneaks in secret counting concepts on each page to help make your child smarter! This deceptively simple bedtime book gives your child the building blocks for math success. As children say goodnight...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Our Very Own Dog: Taking Care of Your First Pet

Amanda Mccardie · Candlewick Press
Pages: 32
Format: Print book

If you have a new dog companion - or want to adopt one - here's a story full of facts that tells you everything you need to know.There's nothing more exciting than getting a dog! Join Sophie's new human family as they prepare their home for her and introduce her to life as a beloved pet....
Read More check catalog
 
 
Chicken Said, "Cluck!"

Judyann Ackerman Grant · HarperCollins
Pages: 32
Format: Hardcover

Shoo said EarlShoo Shoo said PearlCluck Cluck Cluck said ChickenEarl and Pearl are planting pumpkins Chicken wants to help But it seems like the only thing Chicken is good at is getting in the wayThen grasshoppers invade the pumpkin patch and Earl and Pearl can do nothing to stop them Suddenly...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Little Wolf's First Howling

Laura Mcgee Kvasnosky · Candlewick Press
Pages: 32
Format: Print book

Some may favor the proper way to howl, but what if you have a song in your heart that needs to come out? A delightful, disarmingly funny tale for little and big wolves everywhere.Little Wolf can hardly wait. Tonight he will howl at the moon to the top of the sky. First, Big Wolf demonstrates...
Read More check catalog
 
 
All You Need for a Beach

Alice Schertle · Silver Whistle/Harcourt
Pages: 32
Format: Print book

There's nothing quite like a day at the beach! And Alice Schertle and Barbara Lavallee's clever companion to All You Need for a Snowman is the perfect recipe for fun in the sun. Plant a yellow umbrella in the sand, roll out a beach towel, and pour a glass of frosty lemonade. . . . But wait!...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Feet Are Not for Kicking

Elizabeth Verdick · Free Spirit Publishing
Format: Board book

Look at those feet! Arent they sweet? Yes—when theyre walking, standing, leaping and landing. And when theyre kicking balls or leaves. But not when theyre kicking people! In simple words and charming full-color illustrations, this book helps little ones learn to use their feet for fun,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Ladybug Girl's Day Out with Grandpa

Jacky Davis · Dial Books for Young Readers
Pages: 40
Format: Print book

Ladybug Girl and Grandpa visit the museum in the New York Times bestselling series' latest picture book! Lulu wants to learn everything, but she discovers that sometimes you have to slow down to appreciate the wonder of what's around you. When Lulu and Grandpa visit the museum, Lulu wants...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Maggi and Milo Make New Friends

Juli Brenning · Dial Books for Young Readers
Pages: 32
Format: Print book

Perfect for fans of Ladybug Girl, this playground adventure about the joy of making new friends continues the story of the plucky girl-and-dog duo from Maggi and Milo Maggi is an irrepressible girl with an equally awesome best friend: her dog, Milo. So when Mom suggests a day at the park...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Rosco vs. the Baby

Lindsay Ward · Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers
Pages: 32
Format: Print book

In this adorable new picture book by Lindsay Ward, the classic rivalry between dog and new baby comes to vivid life as an overwhelmingly cute battle for their attention ensues.Rosco the family dog is the heavyweight champion of 17 Parkwood Avenue - until a new baby comes home, and it's...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Bear Who Wasn't There

LeUyen Pham · Roaring Brook Press
Pages: 40
Format: Hardcover

This book is about Bear... so what happens when he doesn't show up on his page? Who will find him? Will it be Giraffe, who himself seems to always be in the wrong place at the wrong time, or Cow, or perhaps even the author herself? One thing's for sure--it probably won't be Duck. Duck...
Read More check catalog
 
 
You Are Not a Cat!

Sharon Flake · Boyds Mills Press
Pages: 40
Format: Print book

This clever and hilarious story stars Cat, who starts out perfectly content and relaxed, and Duck, who infuriates him by meowing like a cat instead of quacking like Cat thinks he should. Written completely in dialogue, this minimalist text by award-winning novelist Sharon G. Flake (in her debut...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Rescue Squad No. 9

Mike Austin · Random House
Pages: 40
Format: Print book

In this companion book to Fire Engine No. 9, Rescue Squad No. 9 must spring into action when a young sailor and her dog are stranded during a storm! Follow the crew as they scramble aboard their helicopter and speedboat, racing to the rescue through the waves and winds. The high action...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Baby Gund Numbers

Gund Inc. · Gund
Pages: 26
Format: Book

Ideal for babies and toddlers.
Read More check catalog