Back History | October Newsletter

SelectReads News
Simple News Pro
  History  
Countdown to Pearl Harbor: The Twelve Days to the Attack

Steve Twomey · Simon & Schuster
Pages: 365
Format: Print book

A fascinating look at the twelve days leading up to the Japanese attack on Pearl Harbor - the warnings, clues and missteps - by a Pulitzer Prize-winning reporter.In Washington, DC, in late November 1941, admirals compose the most ominous message in Navy history to warn Hawaii of possible...
Read More check catalog
 
 
American Reckoning: The Vietnam War and Our National Identity

Christian G. Appy · Viking
Format: Hardcover

"Few people understand the centrality of the Vietnam War to our situation as much as Christian Appy." - Ken BurnsThe critically acclaimed author of Patriots offers profound insights into Vietnam's place in America's self-image. How did the Vietnam War change the way we think...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Homo Deus: A Brief History of Tomorrow

Yuval Noah Harari · Harper
Pages: 449
Format: Hardcover

Yuval Noah Harari, author of the critically-acclaimed New York Times bestseller and international phenomenon Sapiens, returns with an equally original, compelling, and provocative book, turning his focus toward humanity's future, and our quest to upgrade humans into gods.Over the past century...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Jefferson: Architect of American Liberty

John B. Boles · Basic Books
Pages: 640
Format: Hardcover

From an eminent scholar of the American South, the first full-scale biography of Thomas Jefferson since 1970
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Great Stain: Witnessing American Slavery

Noel Rae · The Overlook Press
Pages: 624
Format: Hardcover

Comprising personal accounts from an intensely consequential chapter in human history, the transatlantic slave trade, The Great Stain takes readers from the depths of suffering to the heights of human dignity.There have been numerous books about the why, when, and where of slavery in America,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Ravensbruck: Life and Death in Hitler's Concentration Camp for Women

Sarah Helm · Nan A. Talese
Format: Hardcover

A masterly and moving account of the most horrific hidden atrocity of World War II: Ravensbrück, the only Nazi concentration camp built for women On a sunny morning in May 1939 a phalanx of 867 women - housewives, doctors, opera singers, politicians, prostitutes - was marched through...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Women & Power: A Manifesto

MARY BEARD · Liveright
Pages: 128
Format: Hardcover

"A modern feminist classic." -- The GuardianFrom the internationally acclaimed classicist and New York Times best-selling author comes this timely manifesto on women and power. At long last, Mary Beard addresses in one brave book the misogynists and trolls who mercilessly attack...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Book Thieves: The Nazi Looting of Europe's Libraries and the Race to Return a Literary Inheritance

Anders Rydell · Penguin Publishing Group
Pages: 368
Format: Print book

For readers of The Monuments Men and The Hare with Amber Eyes, the story of the Nazis' systematic pillaging of Europe's libraries, and the small team of heroic librarians now working to return the stolen books to their rightful owners. While the Nazi party was being condemned by much of the world...
Read More check catalog
 
 
1947: Where Now Begins

Elisabeth A?sbrink · Other Press
Format: Hardcover

An award-winning writer captures a year that defined the modern world, intertwining historical events around the globe with key moments from her personal history.The year 1947 marks a turning point in the twentieth century. Peace with Germany becomes a tool to fortify the West against the threats...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Ice Ghosts: The Epic Hunt for the Lost Franklin Expedition

Paul Watson · W. W. Norton & Company
Pages: 384
Format: Hardcover

The spellbinding true story of the greatest cold case in Arctic history -- and how the rare mix of marine science and Inuit knowledge finally led to the recent discovery of the shipwrecks.Spanning nearly 200 years, Ice Ghosts is a fast-paced detective story about Western science, indigenous...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Jefferson's Daughters: Three Sisters, White and Black, in a Young America

CATHERINE KERRISON · Ballantine Books
Pages: 432
Format: Hardcover

Thomas Jefferson fathered three girls: two white and free, one black and a slave. This book about Martha, Maria, and Harriet tells the fascinating story of their very different lives at Monticello and beyond, as daughters of one of our most brilliant and complicated Founding Fathers.
Read More check catalog
 
 
Jackson, 1964 : and other dispatches from fifty years of reporting on race in America

Calvin Trillin · Random House
Pages: 275
Format:  Print book : English : First edition

From bestselling author and beloved New Yorker writer Calvin Trillin, a deeply resonant, career-spanning collection of articles on race and racism, from the 1960s to the present In the early sixties, Calvin Trillin got his start as a journalist covering the Civil Rights Movement in the South....
Read More check catalog
 
 
Hellfire Boys: The Birth of the U.S. Chemical Warfare Service and the Race for the World's Deadliest Weapons

Theo Emery · Little, Brown and Company
Pages: 560
Format: Hardcover

"A terrifying piece of history that almost no one knows." - Hampton Sides In 1915, when German forces executed the first successful gas attack of World War I, the world watched in horror as the boundaries of warfare were forever changed. Cries of barbarianism rang throughout...
Read More check catalog
 
 
New World, Inc.: The Making of America by England's Merchant Adventurers

JOHN BUTMAN · Little, Brown and Company
Pages: 432
Format: Hardcover

Three generations of English merchant adventurers-not the Pilgrims, as we have so long believed-were the earliest founders of America. Profit-not piety-was their primary motive. Some seventy years before the Mayflower sailed, a small group of English merchants formed "The Mysterie,...
Read More check catalog