Back History | June Newsletter

SelectReads News
Simple News Pro
  History  
The Second World Wars: How the First Global Conflict Was Fought and Won

Victor Davis Hanson · Basic Books
Pages: 720
Format: Hardcover

A definitive account of World War II by America's preeminent military historianWorld War II was the most lethal conflict in human history. Never before had a war been fought on so many diverse landscapes and in so many different ways, from rocket attacks in London to jungle fighting in Burma...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Book Thieves: The Nazi Looting of Europe's Libraries and the Race to Return a Literary Inheritance

Anders Rydell · Penguin Publishing Group
Pages: 368
Format: Print book

For readers of The Monuments Men and The Hare with Amber Eyes, the story of the Nazis' systematic pillaging of Europe's libraries, and the small team of heroic librarians now working to return the stolen books to their rightful owners. While the Nazi party was being condemned by much of the world...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Milk of Paradise: A History of Opium

Lucy Inglis · Pegasus Books
Pages: 464
Format: Hardcover

An intelligent and authoritative history of opium -- a drug that has both healed and harmed since the beginning of civilization.Poppy tears, opium, heroin, fentanyl: humankind has been in thrall to the "Milk of Paradise" for millennia. The latex of papaver somniferum is a bringer...
Read More check catalog
 
 
First Women: The Grace and Power of America's First Ladies

Kate Andersen Brower · Harper
Pages: 380
Format: Print book

NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER From the #1 New York Times bestselling author of the groundbreaking backstairs look at the White House, The Residence, comes an intimate, news-making look at the true modern power brokers at 1600 Pennsylvania Avenue: the First Ladies, from Jackie Kennedy to Michelle...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Henry's Men: And the Men Who Made Him

Tracy Borman · Atlantic Monthly Press
Pages: 320
Format: Hardcover

Henry VIII is best known in history for his tempestuous marriages and the fates of his six wives. However, as acclaimed historian Tracy Borman makes clear in her illuminating new chronicle of Henry's life, his reign and reputation were hugely influenced by the men who surrounded and interacted...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Midnight in Chernobyl: The Untold Story of the World's Greatest Nuclear Disaster

Adam Higginbotham · Simon & Schuster
Pages: 560
Format: Hardcover

Journalist Adam Higginbotham's definitive, years-in-the-making account of the Chernobyl nuclear power plant disaster - and a powerful investigation into how propaganda, secrecy, and myth have obscured the true story of one of the twentieth century's greatest disasters.Early in the morning...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Natural Born Heroes: How a Daring Band of Misfits Mastered the Lost Secrets of Strength and Endurance

Christopher McDougall · Alfred A. Knopf, 2015.
Pages: 337
Format: Print book

The best-selling author of Born to Run now travels to the Mediterranean, where he discovers that the secrets of ancient Greek heroes are still alive and well on the island of Crete, and ready to be unleashed in the muscles and minds of casual athletes and aspiring heroes everywhere. After...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Beautiful Country and the Middle Kingdom: America and China, 1776 to the Present

John Pomfret · Henry Holt and Company
Pages: 704
Format: Print book

A remarkable history of the two-centuries-old relationship between the United States and China, from the Revolutionary War to the present dayFrom the clipper ships that ventured to Canton hauling cargos of American ginseng to swap Chinese tea, to the US warships facing off against China's...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Fight to Vote

Michael Waldman · Simon & Schuster
Pages: 368
Format: Print book

From the president of NYU's Brennan Center for Justice and the author of The Second Amendment, the history of the long struggle to win voting rights for all citizens.In The Second Amendment, Michael Waldman traced the ongoing argument on gun rights from the Bill of Rights to the current...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Necessary Trouble: Americans in Revolt

Sarah Jaffe · Nation Books
Pages: 352
Format: Print book

"Sarah Jaffe marches into the class war, fighting the good fight with a pen as sharp as any sword." - Bill Moyers"The most compelling social and political portrait of our age." - Robin D. G. KelleyWe are witnessing a moment of unprecedented political engagement and social...
Read More check catalog
 
 
A Chronology of Art

Iain Zaczek · Thames & Hudson
Pages: 288
Format: Hardcover

A fresh take on the history of art, using cultural timelines to reveal little-known connections and influences between artworks and artistic movementsMost surveys of the history of art are divided into historic periods, artistic schools, and movements. In reality, movements and artists'...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Freedom's Detective: The Secret Service, the Ku Klux Klan and the Man Who Masterminded America's First War on Terror

Charles Lane · Hanover Square Press
Pages: 352
Format: Hardcover

Freedom's Detective reveals the untold story of the Reconstruction-era United States Secret Service and their battle against the Ku Klux Klan, through the career of its controversial chief, Hiram C. WhitleIn the years following the Civil War, a new battle began. Newly freed African American...
Read More check catalog
 
 
We the Corporations: How American Businesses Won Their Civil Rights

Adam Winkler · Liveright
Pages: 384
Format: Hardcover

We the Corporations chronicles the revelatory story of one of the most successful, yet least known, "civil rights movements" in American history. In this groundbreaking portrait of corporate seizure of political power, We the Corporations reveals how American businesses won equal...
Read More check catalog
 
 
They Can't Kill Us All: The Story of #blacklivesmatter

Wesley Lowery · Little
Pages: 320
Format: Print book

The first book to go behind the barricades of #blacklivesmatter to tell the story of the young men and women who are calling for a new America. In a closely reported book that draws on his own experience as a young biracial journalist, "Washington Post "reporter Wesley Lowery...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Indiana Beach:: A Fun-filled History

W C Madden · The History Press
Pages: 143
Format: Print book

From its humble beginnings as a place to swim and row a boat, Ideal Beach eventually became Indiana Beach, a small amusement park where families could have good old-fashioned fun. Founded by Earl Spackman in 1926, its popularity was bolstered by the addition of a dance hall that drew the top bands...
Read More check catalog