Back Parenting & Families | June Newsletter

SelectReads News
Simple News Pro
  Parenting & Families  
Sons Fathers: An Anthology of Words and Images

Kathy Gilfillan · Hutchinson, 2015.
Pages: 160
Format: Print book

Some of the world's most famous fathers and sons, including Paul McCartney, Bill Clinton, Sting, Julian Lennon, and more offer, personal contributions on the special relationship between sons and fathers Sons & Fathers brings together a remarkable array of politicians and world...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Thirty Million Words: Building a Child's Brain

Dana Suskind · Dutton
Pages: 308
Format: Print book

The founder and director of the Thirty Million Words Initiative, Professor Dana Suskind, explains why the most important - and astoundingly simple - thing you can do for your child's future success in life is to talk to him or her, reveals the recent science behind this truth, and outlines...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Lost Girls: An Unsolved American Mystery

Robert Kolker · Harper Perennial; Reprint edition
Format: Book

A Publishers Weekly Top Ten Book of 2013Award-winning investigative reporter Robert Kolker delivers a humanizing account of the true-life search for a serial killer still at large on Long Island, and presents the first detailed look at the shadow world of online escorts, where making a living...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Special Needs Trusts: Protect Your Child's Financial Future

Kevin Urbatsch Attorney · NOLO
Pages: 296
Format: Paperback

Leave money to a loved one with a disability - without losing benefits A special needs trust helps you provide financial security for a loved one with a disability - without jeopardizing important government benefits. In contrast, leaving money directly to loved ones can make it impossible...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The MomShift: Women Share their Stories of Career Success After Having Children

Reva Seth · Random House Canada, 2014. ©2014
Pages: 295
Format: Print book

The MomShift is the first book to exclusively research and showcase the stories of a diverse range of relatable women who share the multitude of ways in which they achieved greater career success after starting their families. Women are regularly told that having children will hurt their...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Healthy Sleep Habits, Happy Child, 4th Edition: A Step-by-Step Program for a Good Night's Sleep

Marc Weissbluth M.D. · Ballantine Books; 2 edition
Format: Print book

The perennial favorite for parents who want to get their kids to sleep with ease - now completely revised and expanded! In this fully updated fourth edition, Dr. Marc Weissbluth, one of the country's leading pediatricians, overhauls his groundbreaking approach to solving and preventing...
Read More check catalog
 
 
On Becoming Baby Wise - 25th Anniversary Edition: Giving Your Infant the Gift of Nightime Sleep

Robert Bucknam M.D. · Hawksflight & Associates, Inc

Distinguished pediatrician Dr Robert Bucknam, M.D. and co-author Gary Ezzo are two of the world's leading experts on baby sleep and feeding patterns. Millions of new mothers across the globe are coming toward this new brand at an increasing pace as they find and share the life changing...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Mindful Mother: A Practical and Spiritual Guide to Enjoying Pregnancy, Birth and Beyond with Mindfulness

Naomi Chunilal · Watkins Publishing
Format: Print book

The Mindful Mother shows you how to cultivate a daily practice of mindfulness, to be present, positive and truly engage in your life-changing journey through pregnancy, childbirth and early motherhood. When you become a mother, alongside falling in love with your child, you can also struggle...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Oh Crap! Potty Training: Everything Modern Parents Need to Know to Do It Once and Do It Right

Jamie Glowacki · Touchstone Books
Pages: 288
Format: Print book

Jamie Glowacki - potty-training expert, Pied Piper of Poop, and author of the popular guide, Oh Crap! Potty Training - shares her proven 6-step plan to help you toilet train your preschooler quickly and successfully.Worried about potty training? Let Jamie Glowacki, potty-training expert...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Teaching Kids to Think: Raising Confident, Independent, and Thoughtful Children in an Age of Instant Gratification

Ron Stolberg · Sourcebooks Inc
Pages: 292
Format: Print book

Why Do Kids These Days Expect Everything to be Given to Them?Today's kids don't know how to read a map. They can Google the answer to any question at lightning speed. If a teen forgets his homework, a quick call to mom or dad has it hand-delivered in minutes. Fueled by the rapid pace of technology,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Heading Home With Your Newborn: From Birth to Reality

Laura A. Jana · American Academy of Pediatrics; Third Edition edition
Format: Print book

The new edition of this bestselling guide to newborn care has been fully revised and updated. Written by two pediatricians and focusing on the first few months of an infant's life, Heading Home With Your Newborn, 3rd Edition, includes new information on breastfeeding and the involvement...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Me, Me, Me Epidemic: A Step-by-Step Guide to Raising Capable, Grateful Kids in an Over-Entitled World

Amy McCready · Tarcherperigee
Pages: 336
Format: Print book

Cure your kids of the entitlement epidemic so they develop happier, more productive attitudes that will carry them into a successful adulthood. Whenever Amy McCready mentions the "entitlement epidemic" to a group of parents, she is inevitably met with eye rolls, nodding heads,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Gift of Failure: How the Best Parents Learn to Let Go So Their Children Can Succeed

Jessica Lahey · Harper Paperbacks
Pages: 304
Format: Print book

NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLERIn the tradition of Paul Tough's How Children Succeed and Wendy Mogel's The Blessing of a Skinned Knee, this groundbreaking manifesto focuses on the critical school years when parents must learn to allow their children to experience the disappointment and frustration...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Awakened Family: A Revolution in Parenting

Shefali Tsabary · Viking
Pages: 348
Format: Print book

FINALIST FOR THE BOOKS FOR A BETTER LIFE AWARD * NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER"Parents . . . you will be wowed and awed by [Dr. Shefali]." - Oprah WinfreyAs seen on Oprah's SuperSoul Sunday, a radically transformative plan that shows parents how to raise children to be their best,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
iRules: What Every Tech-Healthy Family Needs to Know about Selfies, Sexting, Gaming, and Growing up

Janell Burley Hofmann · Rodale
Pages: 261
Format: Paperback

As Janell Burley Hofmann, mother of five, wrapped her 13-year-old's iPhone on Christmas Eve, she was overwhelmed by questions: "Will my children learn to sit and wonder without Googling? Should I know their passwords for online accounts? Will they experience the value of personal...
Read More check catalog