Back History | August Newsletter

SelectReads News
Simple News Pro
  History  
Born Survivors: Three Young Mothers and Their Extraordinary Story of Courage, Defiance, and Hope

Wendy Holden · Harper
Format: Hardcover

The Nazis murdered their husbands but concentration camp prisoners Priska, Rachel, and Anka would not let evil take their unborn children too - a remarkable true story that will appeal to readers of The Lost and The Nazi Officer's Wife, Born Survivors celebrates three mothers who defied...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Cracking the AP World History Exam, 2017 Edition

Princeton Review. · Princeton Review
Pages: 464
Format: Print book

EVERYTHING YOU NEED TO SCORE A PERFECT 5 ON THE NEW 2017 EXAM!Equip yourself to ace the NEW AP World History Exam with The Princeton Review's comprehensive study guide - including thorough content reviews, targeted strategies for every question type, access to our AP Connect portal...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Baby Farmers: A Chilling Tale of Missing Babies, Shameful Secrets and Murder in 19th Century Australia

Annie Cossins · Allen & Unwin
Format: Paperback

The most common murder victim in 19th century Australia was a baby, and the most common perpetrator was a woman—a fascinating story of the most infamous legal trial in Australia In October 1892, a one-month-old baby boy was found buried in the backyard of Sarah and John Makin, two wretchedly...
Read More check catalog
 
 
This Land that I Love: Irving Berlin, Woody Guthrie, and the Story of Two American Anthems

John Shaw · PublicAffairs; 1St Edition edition
Format: Hardcover

February, 1940: After a decade of worldwide depression, World War II had begun in Europe and Asia. With Germany on the march, and Japan at war with China, the global crisis was in a crescendo. America’s top songwriter, Irving Berlin, had captured the nation’s mood a little more...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The donut : history, recipes, and lore from Boston to Berlin

Michael Krondl · Chicago Review Press
Format: eBook

The love for the donut in the United States is longstanding and deep-rooted. Gourmet donut shops have popped up in trendy neighborhoods across the country and high-end restaurants are serving trios of donuts for dessert, while Dunkin' Donuts, Krispy Kreme, and Tim Hortons have amassed...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Avenue of Spies: A True Story of Terror, Espionage, and One American Family's Heroic Resistance in Nazi-Occupied Paris

Alex Kershaw · Crown Publishing Group (NY)
Pages: 304
Format: Hardcover

The best-selling author of The Liberator brings to life the incredible true story of an American doctor in Paris, and his heroic espionage efforts during World War IIThe leafy Avenue Foch, one of the most exclusive residential streets in Nazi-occupied France, was Paris's hotbed of daring...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Ally: My Journey Across the American-Israeli Divide

Michael B. Oren · Random House
Format: eBook

NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLERMichael B. Orens memoir of his time as Israels ambassador to the United States—a period of transformative change for America and a time of violent upheaval throughout the Middle East—provides a frank, fascinating look inside the special relationship between...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Queen Victoria's Mysterious Daughter: A Biography of Princess Louise

Lucinda Hawksley · Thomas Dunne Books
Pages: 384
Format: Hardcover

The secrets of Queen Victoria's sixth child, Princess Louise, may be destined to remain hidden forever. What was so dangerous about this artistic, tempestuous royal that her life has been documented more by rumor and gossip than hard facts? When Lucinda Hawksley started to investigate,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
I feel like going on : life, game, and glory

Ray Lewis · Touchstone, 2015.
Pages: 266
Format: Print book

The legendary Baltimore Ravens linebacker assesses the state of football while recounting his troubled youth, his rise to athletic fame, and the allegations that threatened his NFL career.Lewis, Baltimore Ravens linebacker and one of the greatest defensive players of his generation, holds...
Read More check catalog
 
 
A History of Ancient Egypt Volume 2

John Romer · St Martin'S Press
Pages: 512
Format: Print book

Drawing on a lifetime of research, John Romer chronicles the history of Ancient Egypt from the building of the Great Pyramid through the rise and fall of the Middle Kingdom: a peak of Pharaonic culture and the period when writing first flourished. Through extensive research over many decades...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Young Royals on Tour: William & Catherine in Canada

Christina Blizzard · Young Royals on Tour: William & Catherine in Canada
Format: Book

A day-by-day celebration in words and photographs of the young couple's first tour of Canada. On April 29, 2011, Prince William of Wales married Catherine Middleton at Westminster Abbey in London. The newlyweds' first royal tour took place in Canada from June 30 to July 8. People across...
Read More check catalog
 
 
First Women: The Grace and Power of America's First Ladies

Kate Andersen Brower · Harper
Pages: 380
Format: Print book

NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER From the #1 New York Times bestselling author of the groundbreaking backstairs look at the White House, The Residence, comes an intimate, news-making look at the true modern power brokers at 1600 Pennsylvania Avenue: the First Ladies, from Jackie Kennedy to Michelle...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Five Presidents: My Extraordinary Journey with Eisenhower, Kennedy, Johnson, Nixon, and Ford

Clint Hill · Gallery Books
Pages: 451
Format: Print book

A rare and fascinating portrait of the American presidency from the #1 New York Times bestselling author of Mrs. Kennedy and Me and Five Days in November.Secret Service agent Clint Hill brings history intimately and vividly to life as he reflects on his seventeen years protecting the most...
Read More check catalog