Back Ages 4-8 | November Newsletter

SelectReads News
Simple News Pro
  Ages 4-8  
My Weird School #1: Miss Daisy Is Crazy!

Dan Gutman · HarperCollins
Format: Paperback

With more than 6.5 million books sold, the My Weird School series really gets kids reading!For A.J. and the gang at Ella Mentry School, weirdness and fun are all part of the routine. In this first book in the outrageously funny series that has reached millions of readers around the world,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Jabari Jumps

GAIA CORNWALL · Candlewick
Pages: 32
Format: Hardcover

Working up the courage to take a big, important leap is hard, but Jabari is almost absolutely ready to make a giant splash.Jabari is definitely ready to jump off the diving board. He's finished his swimming lessons and passed his swim test, and he's a great jumper, so he's not scared at all....
Read More check catalog
 
 
My Weird School #13: Mrs. Patty Is Batty!

Dan Gutman · HarperCollins; First Edition edition
Format: Paperback

Something spooky is going on!Mrs. Patty, the secretary, gives out the best Halloween candy in the history of the world! But her house is haunted! People say she's a witch and her husband is a ghost. Is it worth A.J.'s risking his life for the best candy ever?
Read More check catalog
 
 
One Day in the Eucalyptus, Eucalyptus Tree

Daniel Bernstrom · HarperCollins
Pages: 32
Format: Hardcover

"A hungry snake. A beautiful brown boy. What more can a young reader ask for?" - National Book Award winner Jacqueline WoodsonA sneaky snake has no idea that the captives in his belly are planning their escape! In the spirit of There Was an Old Lady Who Swallowed a Fly by Simms...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Marley: Strike Three, Marley!

John Grogan · HarperCollins
Format: Book

Marley can't wait for his first trip to the ballpark. He is ready to cheer for the home team. But is the home team ready for Marley?
Read More check catalog
 
 
Dozy Bear and the Secret of Sleep

Katie Blackburn · HarperCollins
Pages: 32
Format: Hardcover

For fans of the bestselling phenomenon The Rabbit Who Wants to Fall Asleep, Katie Blackburn's Dozy Bear and the Secret of Sleep is an innovative, beautiful, and rhythmic picture book about a little bear named Dozy who wanted to sleep but didn't know how ... Combining proven sleep and relaxation...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Beat Bugs: I Am the Walrus

Anne Lamb · HarperFestival
Pages: 32
Format: Hardcover

Based on Beat Bugs, the Netflix TV show inspired by songs made famous by the Beatles.Being the new kid in town is never fun, especially for Walter Walrus, who just moved to Beat Bugs Village. When he sees the Beat Bugs, he is too nervous to introduce himself. And when he finally does muster...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Sprout Street Neighbors: Bon Voyage

ANNA ALTER · Yearling
Pages: 96
Format: Paperback

"Has the heart of Winnie-the-Pooh and the charm of Frog and Toad. Can I move in next door?" - Grace Lin, Newbery Honor author The Sprout Street friends are taking a trip in this early reader series perfect for fans of Clementine, Just Grace, and Ivy & Bean! Mili is happy...
Read More check catalog
 
 
A Squiggly Story

Andrew Larsen · Kids Can Press
Pages: 32
Format: Print book

A young boy wants to write a story, just like his big sister. But there's a problem, he tells her. Though he knows his letters, he doesn't know many words. ?Every story starts with a single word and every word starts with a single letter,? his sister explains patiently. ?Why don't...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Surf's Up

Kwame Alexander · NorthSouth Books
Pages: 32
Format: Hardcover

Surf's up! Not yet, Dude! Books are boring! Not this one! Bro and Dude have very different ideas about how to spend the day at the beach. But as Bro continues to gasp and cheer as he reads his book (Moby Dick) , Dude can't help but get curious. Before you can shout 'Surf's up!' both frogs...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Oh, Say Can You Say Di-no-saur?

Bonnie Worth · Random House
Pages: 45
Format: Book

The Cat in the Hat makes another surprise appearance at Dick and Sally's house--only this time he makes his entrance riding atop a brachiosaurus! Soon, he's off, along with Dick and Sally, millions of years back in time to see how fossils were created. Then it's on to a tour through the Cat's...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Cat in the Hat Knows a Lot About Christmas!

Tish Rabe · Golden Books
Format: Hardcover

This rhymed retelling of the hit PBS Kids holiday special The Cat in the Hat Knows a Lot About Christmas! is bound to become a cherished keepsake. Written in a style reminiscent of Clement Moore's 'Twas the Night Before Christmas, the book retells the story from the Cat's Christmas...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Hotel Bruce

Ryan T Higgins · Disney Press
Pages: 48
Format: Hardcover

When Bruce gets home from a southern migration trip with his goslings, he is tired. He is grumpy. And he is definitely not in the mood to share his home with the trio of mice who have turned his den into a hotel. There's a possum pillow fight wreaking havoc in one room, a fox luring guests...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Living in . . . India

Chloe Perkins · Simon & Schuster
Pages: 32
Format: Print book

Discover what it's like to grow up in India in this fascinating, nonfiction Level 2 Ready-to-Read, part of a series all about kids just like you in countries around the world!Namaskr! My name is Nisha, and I'm a kid just like you living in India. India is a country filled with colorful...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Itsy Bitsy Leprechaun

Jeffrey Burton · Little Simon
Pages: 16
Format: Board book

A magical St. Patrick's Day twist on the popular nursery rhyme "The Itsy Bitsy Spider!"The itsy bitsy leprechaun was hiding pots of gold. Down came a rainbow, colorful and bold, Out came his friends and they all began to look, For the perfect four leaf clover hidden in this book!...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Pout-Pout Fish Halloween Faces

Deborah Diesen · Farrar, Straus and Giroux
Pages: 10
Format: Board book

A board book with cutouts and googly eyes, featuring the New York Times-bestselling Pout-Pout Fish dressed up for Halloween in various costumes.Boo! Little guppies will delight in seeing the Pout-Pout Fish try on different Halloween costumes, from a caped superhero to a grinning ghost to a cheery-cheery...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Dinosaur ABC: Board Book

ROGER PRIDDY · Priddy Books
Pages: 30
Format: Board book

A chunky A to Z board book about some of the coolest dinosaurs for young enthusiasts who are fascinated by these incredible creatures.Each page of Dinosaur ABC focuses on a different dinosaur, from Allosaurus to Zephyrosaurus. There are large photographs of lifelike models, simple facts,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
There's A Monster in Your Book

Tom Fletcher · Random House Books for Young Readers
Pages: 34
Format: Board book

LOOK OUT! There is a monster in this board book by bestselling author, YouTube star, and musician, Tom Fletcher!With the irresistible pull of Herve Tullet's Press Here and the charm of The Monster At the End of This Book, Tom Fletcher's inviting, interactive read aloud will have kids tilting...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Hero vs. Villain: A Book of Opposites

T. Nat Fuller · Abrams Appleseed
Pages: 16
Format: Board book

Hero vs. Villain is a gently irreverent book of opposites with a slight narrative that plays on the popularity of benign villains and superheroes. Their adversarial relationship makes heroes and villains the perfect stars for a book about opposites. But can sworn enemies learn to be friends?
Read More check catalog
 
 
Autumn Babies

Kathryn Osebold Galbraith · Peachtree Petite
Pages: 20
Format: Board book

An endearing board book with adorable babies on the go during the fall season Spirited, rhyming text and colorful, graphic art reveal an energetic cast of babies having an action-packed day of play in the park on a cheerful fall day. Featuring diverse characters and highlighting early concepts...
Read More check catalog
 
 
I Am Max

Tish Rabe · Random House Books for Young Readers
Pages: 26
Format: Board book

A board book based on How the Grinch Stole Christmas! for Dr. Seuss's youngest fans--especially the little dog lovers!The story of how the Grinch almost stole Christmas as told by his canine companion, Max! Written in simple rhymed verse, this sweet, sturdy board book is an ideal introduction...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Hello Ninjas!

JOAN HOLUB · Little Simon
Pages: 26
Format: Board book

New from beloved author Joan Holub, Hello Ninjas! is a fun, playful board book about sneaky ninjas!Hello mask Hello boots Hello ninjas wearing suits Ninjas ten point to the sky A challenge from the samurai! Perfect for reading out loud, Joan Holub's hilarious text and Chris Dickason's lively...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Shiny Shapes: Hooray for Thanksgiving!

Roger Priddy · Priddy Books
Pages: 10
Format: Board book

Hooray for Thanksgiving! is a heart-warming addition to the popular Shiny Shapes series as Little Turkey takes time to remember all the things he is thankful for: family, food, and fun with friends! There are feather-shaped holes in every page, edged with shimmery, brightly-colored foil,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Baby Code!

SANDRA HORNING · Penguin Workshop
Pages: 14
Format: Board book

It's never too early to get little ones interested in computer coding with this unique series of board books!How do you explain coding to a baby? By showing how it's all around them, and how they can take part in it, of course! By using items common in a baby's world, like a teddy bear...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Decked Out for Christmas!

Ethan Long · Abrams Appleseed
Pages: 20
Format: Board book

The mice at the North Pole are getting ready to deck the halls with all the essentials. They've got ornaments and twinkle lights, candy canes and popcorn garlands. One by one, the mice unpack all the merriest decorations, but soon the items become a bit unexpected. Hot cocoa? Fuzzy dice?...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Baby Bear, Baby Bear, What Do You See? Board Book (World of Eric Carle)

Bill Martin · Henry Holt and Co. BYR Paperbacks
Pages: 28
Format: Board book

Baby Bear, Baby Bear, What Do You See? is the final collaboration fromthis bestselling author-illustrator team.Young readers will enjoy Baby Bear€™s quest to findMama, and they€™ll revel in identifying each of the native North American animals that appear along the way....
Read More check catalog
 
 
I Belong: A book about being part of a family and a group

Cheri J Meiners · Free Spirit Publishing
Pages: 24
Format: Board book

"I have a place I always belong. People in my family listen and help me." A sense of belonging is a basic human need. This friendly, reassuring board book shows toddlers what it means to belong at home and in a group. "I belong with my friends, too. There's a place for me to fit in."...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Peek-a-Who?

Elsa Mroziewicz · minedition
Pages: 22
Format: Board book

Who could be hiding behind the lift-the-flaps in this uniquely-shaped board book? Brimming with colorful art that children will want to pore over, this clever book is full of hidden animals, each making a different sound. Can you figure out who each one is? Lift the triangular flaps to see who peeks...
Read More check catalog