Back Teens | February Newsletter

SelectReads News
Simple News Pro
  Teens  
The Raven Boys

Maggie Stiefvater · Scholastic Press
Pages: 409
Format: Hardcover

Every year, Blue Sargent stands next to her clairvoyant mother as the soon-to-be dead walk past. Blue never sees them--until this year, when a boy emerges from the dark and speaks to her. His name is Gansey, a rich student at Aglionby, the local private school. Blue has a policy of staying...
Read More check catalog
 
 
A Sense of the Infinite

Hilary T. Smith · Katherine Tegen Books
Pages: 400
Format: Hardcover

By the author of the critically acclaimed Wild Awake, a beautiful coming-of-age story about deep friendship, the weight of secrets, and the healing power of nature.It's senior year of high school, and Annabeth is ready - ready for everything she and her best friend, Noe, have been planning...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Paper Towns

John Green · Dutton Books
Pages: 305
Format: Print book

Winner of the Edgar AwardThe #1 New York Times BestsellerPublishers Weekly and USA Today BestsellerMillions of Copies SoldQuentin Jacobsen has spent a lifetime loving the magnificent Margo Roth Spiegelman from afar. So when she cracks open a window and climbs back into his life - summoning...
Read More check catalog
 
 
To Stay Alive: Mary Ann Graves and the Tragic Journey of the Donner Party

Skila Brown · Candlewick Press
Pages: 275
Format: Print book

Told in riveting, keenly observed poetry, a moving first-person narrative as experienced by a young survivor of the tragic Donner Party of 1846.The journey west by wagon train promises to be long and arduous for nineteen-year-old Mary Ann Graves and her parents and eight siblings. Yet she is hopeful...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Kenzie's Rules for Life: How to Be Happy, Healthy, and Dance to Your Own Beat

MACKENZIE ZIEGLER · Gallery Books
Pages: 224
Format: Hardcover

An inspirational, upbeat collection of relatable lessons from the teen sensation, Mackenzie Ziegler - an award-winning dancer, singer/songwriter, and actress.Growing up is hard, but growing up in the spotlight is even harder. However, Mackenzie Ziegler is taking it all in stride, thanks...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Fall of Night: The Morganville Vampires

Rachel Caine · NAL Hardcover
Format: Hardcover

Thanks to its unique combination of human and vampire residents, Morganville, Texas, is a small college town with big-time problems. When student Claire Danvers gets the chance to experience life on the outside, she takes it. But Morganville isn’t the only town with vampire trouble... ...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Miles Away from You

A B Rutledge · HMH Books for Young Readers
Pages: 272
Format: Hardcover

From debut voice A.B. Rutledge comes a quirky and completely fresh story of young love, loss, and the drastic distances we sometimes have to travel in order to move on, perfect for fans of Adam Silvera and Jandy Nelson. Explores gender identity and the spectrum of sexual preference in an authentic...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Natsume's Book of Friends, Vol. 22

YUKI MIDORIKAWA · VIZ Media LLC
Pages: 192
Format: Paperback

Takashi Natsume has always been aware of the supernatural world, but after he inherits a magical book from his grandmother, the supernatural world is aware of him!Takashi Natsume can see the spirits and demons that hide from the rest of humanity. He has always been set apart from other...
Read More check catalog
 
 
A History of Ambition in 50 Hoaxes

Gale Eaton · Tilbury House Publishers
Pages: 288
Format: Hardcover

Short:What do the Trojan Horse, Piltdown Man, Keely Motor Company, and Ponzi Scheme have in common? They were all famous hoaxes, carefully designed and bolstered with false evidence. Main:The con artists in this book pursued a variety of ambitions - making money, winning wars, mocking authority,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Sammy Keyes and the Killer Cruise

Wendelin Van Draanen · Random House Children's Books
Pages: 323
Format: Hardcover

"The most winning junior detective ever in teen lit. (Take that, Nancy Drew!) " - Midwest Children's Book ReviewSammy knew that getting to know her new rockstar dad on a cruise would be a little uncomfortable. . . . But when the heiress to a perfume empire disappears from...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Brave New Girl

Rachel Vincent · Delacorte Press
Pages: 272
Format: Hardcover

"Thrilling and dangerous, with an ending that will leave you gasping!" - SUZANNE YOUNG, New York Times bestselling author of the series THE PROGRAMIn a world where everyone is the same, one girl is the unthinkable: unique. A high-stakes fast-paced series launch from New York...
Read More check catalog
 
 
100 Words Every Middle Schooler Should Know

Editors of the American Heritage Dictionaries · Houghton Mifflin Harcourt; 1 edition
Pages: 128
Format: Paperback

More is expected of middle schoolers - more reading, more writing, more independent learning. Achieving success in this more challenging world requires knowing many more words. 100 Words Every Middle Schooler Should Know helps students in grades 6 to 8 (ages 11-14) to express themselves...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Battle Magic

Tamora Pierce · Scholastic Press
Format: Hardcover

NEW YORK TIMES bestselling author Tamora Pierce returns to the magical world of Winding Circle.On their way to the first Circle temple in Gyongxi, mages Briar, Rosethorn, and Evvy pay a visit to the emperors summer palace. Although treated like royalty when they first arrive, the mages...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Heart of Ash

Kim Liggett · G.P. Putnam's Sons Books for Young Readers
Pages: 288
Format: Hardcover

"A sweeping, scary, and entertaining paranormal read." -School Library Journal Ash may have escaped the immortal-worshipping cult that killed her mother, but the love of her life is still under its thrall. Dane has been possessed by his diabolical ancestor Coronado, a man who's...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Star Cursed

Jessica Spotswood · G.P. Putnam's Sons Books for Young Readers
Format: Hardcover

With the Brotherhood persecuting witches like never before, a divided Sisterhood desperately needs Cate to come into her Prophesied powers. And after Cate's friend Sachi is arrested for using magic, a war-thirsty Sister offers to help her find answers - if Cate is willing to endanger...
Read More check catalog