Back Ages 4-8 | August Newsletter

SelectReads News
Simple News Pro
  Ages 4-8  
Life on Mars

Jon Agee · Dial Books
Pages: 32
Format: Hardcover

In this sneaky, silly picture book for fans of Oliver Jeffers and Jon Klassen, an intrepid - but not so clever - space explorer is certain he's found the only living thing on Mars A young astronaut is absolutely sure there is life to be found on Mars. He sets off on a solitary mission,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Believe Me, I Never Felt a Pea!: The Story of the Princess and the Pea as Told by the Princess

Nancy Loewen · Picture Window Books
Pages: 24
Format: Print book

Of Course you think we were evil, spiteful fairies, cursing the poor princess with a forever sleep. You don't know the other side of the story. Well, let us tell you.
Read More check catalog
 
 
My Teacher's Not Here!

Lana Button · Kids Can Press
Pages: 32
Format: Hardcover

As soon as she arrives at school, Kitty knows there's trouble. ?Smiling Miss Seabrooke should be here to meet me. But my teacher is missing and NOT here to greet me.? With no Miss Seabrooke, everyone should be sent home, right? But no! Kitty and her classmates line up as usual and walk...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The House That George Built

Suzanne Slade · Charlesbridge Publishing
Pages: 32
Format: Print book

THE HOUSE THAT GEORGE BUILT takes readers through the process of how the president's house came to be - starting with the contest George held to choose the perfect design for this legendary landmark, all the way to President John Adams's move into the grandiose home. Cleverly written...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Waiting

Kevin Henkes · Greenwillow Books
Pages: 32
Format: Print book

Caldecott Honor and Geisel Honor BookWhat are you waiting for? An owl, a puppy, a bear, a rabbit, and a pig all toys arranged on a child s windowsill wait for marvelous things to happen in this irresistible picture book by the New York Times bestselling and Caldecott Medalist Kevin Henkes....
Read More check catalog
 
 
John Cena: Hustle. Loyalty. Respect.

Teddy Borth · Bolt!
Pages: 24
Format: Library Binding

John Cena has become the face of WWE. Discover how Cena's career started, from The Prototype in Ohio Valley Wrestling to winning his first WWE championship at Wrestlemania. His opponents in the ring may not be able to see him, but you sure will thanks to the beautiful and colorful photographs...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Ninja Dad!

Shane Johnson · Random House
Pages: 22
Format: Print book

Nickelodeon's Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles want to thank Splinter for being a great teacher and a super dad, but what do you get a ninja for father's day? Boys and girls ages 4 to 6 will love this Step 1 Step into Reading leveled reader featuring a shiny cover and two sheets of shiny stickers....
Read More check catalog
 
 
Shai & Emmie Star in Break an Egg!

Quvenzhane? Wallis · Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers
Pages: 128
Format: Hardcover

From Academy Award-nominated actress Quvenzhané Wallis comes the first story in a brand-new series about best friends Shai and Emmie, two third graders destined for superstardom.Shai Williams was born to be a star (or a veterinarian - and maybe a dentist) . She attends a special elementary...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Trollbella Throws a Party: A Tale from the Land of Stories

CHRIS COLFER · LITTLE
Pages: 32
Format: Hardcover

Celebrate Queen Trollbella's birthday in this companion picture book to Chris Colfer's #1 New York Times bestselling Land of Stories series.
Read More check catalog
 
 
Wonder Woman Wrestles Circe's Sorcery

Matthew K Manning · Stone Arch Books
Pages: 47
Format: Paperback

WONDER WOMAN is quickly overwhelmed after she travels to another dimension to battle the sorceress Circe. But after Wonder Woman thinks back to when she first left her homeland, she remembers that courage is key in tough situations.
Read More check catalog
 
 
Coyote Tales

Thomas King · Groundwood Books
Pages: 56
Format: Hardcover

Two tales, set in a time "when animals and human beings still talked to each other," display Thomas King's cheeky humor and master storytelling skills. Freshly illustrated and reissued as an early chapter book, these stories are perfect for newly independent readers. In Coyote...
Read More check catalog
 
 
LMNO Pea-quel

Keith Baker · Beach Lane Books
Pages: 40
Format: Hardcover

Keith Baker's peas are back in this "pea-quel" to the New York Times bestselling LMNO Peas!The peas have rolled through the uppercase letters, numbers, colors, and the months of the year. Now they're back with all of their signature jaunty and joyful perfect-for-preschoolers energy...
Read More check catalog
 
 
LEGO Ninjago: Ninja vs Ninja

Kate Howard · Scholastic Inc.
Format: Print book

Cole, Jay, Kai, and Lloyd have managed to defeat every opponent they've faced in the Tournament of Elements so far, but now the tournament pits ninja against ninja, and only one can remain.
Read More check catalog
 
 
Good Night Sleep Tight: Eleven-and-a-Half Good Night Stories With Fox and Rabbit

Kristina Andres · Gecko Pr
Pages: 59
Format: Hardcover

This beautiful read-aloud story book for all ages features 111/2 goodnight stories with friends Fox and Rabbit, who help each other get to sleep--sometimes. Fox and Rabbit live quite far away, in a bright little house beyond the mole hills. When they wish each other a good night, the rustling...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Spooky Libraries

Jessica Rudolph · Bearport Publishing
Pages: 24
Format: Print book

It's past midnight, and there isn't a soul in the library. Moonlight fills the dusty shelves. Suddenly, the lights flicker on and off, and a book flies off the shelf! What unseen force is at work? Get ready to read four spine-chilling stories about spooky libraries! This 24-page...
Read More check catalog