Back Science | March Newsletter

SelectReads News
Simple News Pro
  Science  
She Has Her Mother's Laugh: The Powers, Perversions, and Potential of Heredity

Carl Zimmer · Dutton
Pages: 672
Format: Hardcover

Award-winning, celebrated New York Times columnist and science writer Carl Zimmer presents a history of our understanding of heredity in this sweeping, resonating overview of a force that shaped human society--a force set to shape our future even more radically.She Has Her Mother's Laugh...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Neuroscientist Who Lost Her Mind: My Tale of Madness and Recovery

Barbara K Lipska · Houghton Mifflin Harcourt
Pages: 208
Format: Hardcover

As a deadly cancer spread inside her brain, leading neuroscientist Barbara Lipska was plunged into madness - only to miraculously survive with her memories intact. In the tradition of My Stroke of Insight and Brain on Fire, this powerful memoir recounts her ordeal and explains its unforgettable...
Read More check catalog
 
 
How the Body Works

Dorling Kindersley Inc. · DK
Pages: 255
Format: Hardcover

A bold, accessible, illustrated guide that delivers real scientific information on how the body works with a healthy side of fun facts and trivia.If you've ever searched the Internet for information on that odd rash on your arm, advice to help you get the best night's sleep, or tips for staying...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Weird Math: A Teenage Genius and His Teacher Reveal the Strange Connections Between Math and Everyday Life

David Darling · Basic Books
Pages: 320
Format: Hardcover

A successful science writer and a teenage math prodigy reveal the complex mathematics that is all around usEveryone has stared at the crumpled page of a math assignment and wondered, where on Earth will I ever use this? It turns out, Earth is precisely the place. As teen math prodigy Agnijo...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Vitamin N: The Essential Guide to a Nature-Rich Life

Richard Louv · Algonquin Books of Chapel Hill
Pages: 277
Format: Print book

"From the author of the New York Times bestseller that defined nature-deficit disorder and launched the international children-and-nature movement, Vitamin N (for "nature") is a complete prescription for connecting with the power and joy of the natural world right now,"--Amazon.com.Nature-deficit...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Antiquity and the Middle Ages

I Bernhard Cohen · MacMillan Publishing Company.
Pages: 375
Format: Hardcover

Read More check catalog
 
 
Popular: The Power of Likability in a Status-Obsessed World

MITCH PRINSTEIN · Viking
Pages: 273
Format: Hardcover

A leading psychologist examines how our popularity affects our success, our relationships, and our happiness - and why we don't always want to be the most popularNo matter how old you are, there's a good chance that the word "popular" immediately transports you back to your teenage...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Catching Stardust: Comets, Asteroids and the Birth of the Solar System

Natalie Starkey · Bloomsbury Sigma
Pages: 256
Format: Paperback

Icy, rocky, sometimes dusty, always mysterious - comets and asteroids are among the Solar System's very oldest inhabitants, formed within a swirling cloud of gas and dust in the area of space that eventually hosted the Sun and its planets. Locked within each of these extra-terrestrial...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Reader, Come Home: The Reading Brain in a Digital World

MARYANNE WOLF · Harper
Pages: 272
Format: Hardcover

From the author of Proust and the Squid, a lively, ambitious, and deeply informative epistolary book that considers the future of the reading brain and our capacity for critical thinking, empathy, and reflection as we become increasingly dependent on digital technologies.A decade ago, Maryanne...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Close Encounters with Humankind: A Paleoanthropologist Investigates Our Evolving Species

SANG-HEE LEE · W. W. Norton & Company
Pages: 304
Format: Hardcover

In this captivating bestseller, Korea's first paleoanthropologist offers fresh insights into humanity's dawn and evolution.What can fossilized teeth tell us about the life expectancy of our ancient ancestors? How did farming play a problematic role in the history of human evolution? How can simple...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Astroquizzical: A Curious Journey Through Our Cosmic Family Tree

JILLIAN SCUDDER · Icon Books
Pages: 224
Format: Hardcover

How did the Earth get to be the way it is? Just like all of us, it's a product of its ancestors./p In this enthralling cosmic journey through space and time, astrophysicist Jillian Scudder locates our home planet within its own 'family tree'. Our parent the Earth and its sibling...
Read More check catalog
 
 
When Science and Politics Collide: The Public Interest at Risk

Robert O Schneider · Praeger
Pages: 228
Format: Hardcover

This book explains why science and politics collide, why this is an especially critical problem at this precise time in U.S. history, and what should be done to ensure that science and politics coincide.* Shows the contentious science/policy relationship through examples of current controversies...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Crashback: The Power Clash Between the U.S. and China in the Pacific

MICHAEL FABEY · Scribner
Pages: 304
Format: Hardcover

An alarming message from an award-winning journalist with unprecedented access to the highest naval officers in America and China and their ships and weapons, this is a chilling look at the "warm war" over control of the South China Sea - one that is threatening to flare into...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Zapped: From Infrared to X-rays, the Curious History of Invisible Light

Bob Berman · Little, Brown and Company
Pages: 272
Format: Hardcover

How much do you know about the radiation all around you?Your electronic devices swarm with it; the sun bathes you in it. It's zooming at you from cell towers, microwave ovens, CT scans, mammogram machines, nuclear power plants, deep space, even the walls of your basement. You cannot see,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Your Place in the Universe: Understanding Our Big, Messy Existence

Paul M. Sutter · Prometheus Books
Pages: 288
Format: Hardcover

An astrophysicist presents an in-depth yet accessible tour of the universe for lay readers, while conveying the excitement of astronomy.How is a galaxy billions of lightyears away connected to us? Is our home nothing more than a tiny speck of blue in an ocean of night? In this exciting...
Read More check catalog