Back Science | December Newsletter

SelectReads News
Simple News Pro
  Science  
I, Mammal: The Story of What Makes Us Mammals

Liam Drew · Bloomsbury Sigma
Pages: 336
Format: Paperback

Humans are mammals. Most of us appreciate that at some level. But what does it mean for us to have more in common with a horse and an elephant than we do with a parrot, snake or frog? After a misdirected football left new father Liam Drew clutching a uniquely mammalian part of his anatomy,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Birth of a New Physics

I Bernard Cohen · W. W. Norton
Pages: 258
Format: Hardcover

Relates man's search from the sixteenth century to the present for a physics to describe the dynamics of a universe in motion.
Read More check catalog
 
 
Wildlife of the World

DK Publishing · DK Publishing (Dorling Kindersley)
Pages: 480
Format: Hardcover

Wildlife of the World takes you on a journey through some of the most scenic and rich animal habitats - from the Amazon rain forests to the Himalayas, the Sahara to the South Pole - meeting the most important animals in each ecosystem along the way.In Wildlife of the World truly spectacular...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Tesla: Inventor of the Modern

Richard Munson · W. W. Norton & Company
Pages: 320
Format: Print Length

Tesla's inventions transformed our world, and his visions have continued to inspire great minds for generations.Nikola Tesla invented the radio, robots, and remote control. His electric induction motors run our appliances and factories, yet he has been largely overlooked by history. In Tesla,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Close Encounters with Humankind: A Paleoanthropologist Investigates Our Evolving Species

SANG-HEE LEE · W. W. Norton & Company
Pages: 304
Format: Hardcover

In this captivating bestseller, Korea's first paleoanthropologist offers fresh insights into humanity's dawn and evolution.What can fossilized teeth tell us about the life expectancy of our ancient ancestors? How did farming play a problematic role in the history of human evolution? How can simple...
Read More check catalog
 
 
When Science and Politics Collide: The Public Interest at Risk

Robert O Schneider · Praeger
Pages: 228
Format: Hardcover

This book explains why science and politics collide, why this is an especially critical problem at this precise time in U.S. history, and what should be done to ensure that science and politics coincide.* Shows the contentious science/policy relationship through examples of current controversies...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Language at the Speed of Sight: How We Read, Why So Many Can't, and What Can Be Done About It

Seidenberg Mar · Basic Books
Pages: 400
Format: Print book

In 2011, when an international survey reported that students in Shanghai dramatically outperformed American students in reading, math, and science, President Obama declared it a "Sputnik moment": a wake-up call about the dismal state of American education. Little has changed,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
What Is Real?: The Unfinished Quest for the Meaning of Quantum Physics

Adam Becker · Basic Books
Pages: 384
Format: Hardcover

The untold story of the heretical thinkers who dared to question the nature of our quantum universeEvery physicist agrees quantum mechanics is among humanity's finest scientific achievements. But ask what it means, and the result will be a brawl. For a century, most physicists have followed...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Seeds of Science: Why We Got It So Wrong On GMOs

MARK LYNAS · Bloomsbury Sigma
Pages: 304
Format: Hardcover

Mark Lynas was one of the original GM field wreckers. Back in the 1990s--working undercover with his colleagues in the environmental movement--he would descend on trial sites of genetically modified crops at night and hack them to pieces. Two decades later, most people around the world--from...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Neuroscientist Who Lost Her Mind: My Tale of Madness and Recovery

Barbara K Lipska · Houghton Mifflin Harcourt
Pages: 208
Format: Hardcover

As a deadly cancer spread inside her brain, leading neuroscientist Barbara Lipska was plunged into madness - only to miraculously survive with her memories intact. In the tradition of My Stroke of Insight and Brain on Fire, this powerful memoir recounts her ordeal and explains its unforgettable...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Politically Incorrect Guide to Climate Change

Marc Morano · Regnery Publishing
Pages: 200
Format: Paperback

Less freedom. More regulation. Higher costs. Make no mistake: those are the surefire consequences of the modern global warming campaign waged by political and cultural elites, who have long ago abandoned fact-based science for dramatic fearmongering in order to push increased central planning....
Read More check catalog
 
 
Citizen Science: How Ordinary People are Changing the Face of Discovery

Caren Cooper · Overlook Press
Pages: 294
Format: Print book

The engaging history of the people whose contributions to scientific pursuits make us rethink the meaning of the word "scientist."Think you need a degree in science to contribute to important scientific discoveries? Think again. All around the world, in fields ranging from astronomy...
Read More check catalog
 
 
What the Future Looks Like: Leading Science Experts Reveal the Surprising Discoveries and Ingenious Solutions That Are Shaping Our World

Jim Al-Khalili · The Experiment
Pages: 240
Format: Paperback

Science fact, not science fiction, features in this wide-ranging update from leading experts on the cutting-edge developments that are already defining our future lives and worldEvery day, scientists alight on pioneering solutions that will define the future of life on this planet, yet it isn't...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Weird Math: A Teenage Genius and His Teacher Reveal the Strange Connections Between Math and Everyday Life

David Darling · Basic Books
Pages: 320
Format: Hardcover

A successful science writer and a teenage math prodigy reveal the complex mathematics that is all around usEveryone has stared at the crumpled page of a math assignment and wondered, where on Earth will I ever use this? It turns out, Earth is precisely the place. As teen math prodigy Agnijo...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Reality Is Not What It Seems: The Journey to Quantum Gravity

Carlo Rovelli · Riverhead Books
Pages: 288
Format: Hardcover

"The man who makes physics sexy . . . the scientist they're calling the next Stephen Hawking." - The Times MagazineFrom the New York Times-bestselling author of Seven Brief Lessons on Physics, a closer look at the mind-bending nature of the universe.What are the elementary ingredients...
Read More check catalog