Back Religion & Spirituality | February Newsletter

SelectReads News
Simple News Pro
  Religion & Spirituality  
The Good Book: Writers Reflect on Favorite Bible Passages

Andrew Blauner · Simon & Schuster, 2015.
Pages: 298
Format: Print book

In The Good Book, thirty-two of today's most prominent writers share never-before-published pieces about passages in the Bible that are most meaningful to them.The Good Book, with an introduction by Adam Gopnik, collects new pieces by writers from many different faiths and ethnicities including...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Kindfulness

Ajahn Brahm · Wisdom Publications
Pages: 170
Format: Print book

Mindfulness is not enough...When we add kindness to mindfulness we get "kindfulness," a new approach to meditation. Kindfulness is the cause of relaxation. It brings ease to the body, to the mind, and to the world. Kindfulness allows healing to happen. So don't just be mindful,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Creative Tarot: A Modern Guide to an Inspired Life

Jessa Crispin · Touchstone
Pages: 327
Format: Print book

A hip, accessible, and practical guide for artists and creative people looking to tarot for guidance and inspiration in the tradition of The Secret Language of Birthdays and Steal Like an Artist.What if the path to creativity was not as challenging as everyone thinks? What if you could...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Kosher USA: How Coke Became Kosher and Other Tales of Modern Food

Roger Horowitz · Columbia University Press
Pages: 320
Format: Print book

Kosher USA follows the fascinating and surprising journey of kosher food through the modern industrial food system. Drawing on episodes from the lives of the author's own family, it traces how iconic products such as Coca-Cola and Jell-O tried to become kosher; the contentious debates...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Inspire Bible NLT: The Bible for Creative Journaling

Christian Art. · Tyndale House Publishers
Pages: 1524
Format: Print book

Inspire is a single-column, wide-margin New Living Translation Bible that will be a cherished resource for coloring and creative art journaling. It is the first Bible of its kind -- with over 400 beautiful line-art illustrations spread throughout the Bible. Full-page and partial-page Scripture...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Quran: the book of divine wisdom volume 2: The Continuation of the Divine Revelation to the Last Prophet

Farooq Mirza · CreateSpace
Pages: 340
Format: Print book

The volume 2 describes the continuation of divine revelation to Muhammad and early history of Islam according to the Quran. The persecution Muslims suffered in Mecca and their migration to Medina. The wars against the pagans of Mecca and Jews of Arabia and the concept of war and peace according...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Bad Faith: When Religious Belief Undermines Modern Medicine

Paul Offit · Basic Books
Format: Hardcover

In recent years, there have been major outbreaks of whooping cough among children in California, mumps in New York, and measles in Ohios Amish countrydespite the fact that these are all vaccine-preventable diseases. Although America is the most medically advanced place in the world, many...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Kosher USA: How Coke Became Kosher and Other Tales of Modern Food

Roger Horowitz · Roger Horowitz
Pages: 304
Format: Print book

Kosher USA follows the fascinating and surprising journey of kosher food through the modern industrial food system. Drawing on episodes from the lives of the author's own family, it traces how iconic products such as Coca-Cola and Jell-O tried to become kosher; the contentious debates among...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Invention of God

Thomas RoÃŒ?mer · Harvard University Press, 2015.
Pages: 303
Format: Print book

Who invented God? When, why, and where? Thomas Romer seeks to answer these questions about the deity of the great monotheisms -- Yhwh, God, or Allah -- by tracing Israelite beliefs and their context from the Bronze Age to the end of the Old Testament period in the third century BCE.That...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Unholy Alliance: Iran, Russia, and Jihadists' Agenda for Conquering the World

Jay Sekulow · Simon & Schuster
Pages: 320
Format: Print book

The New York Times bestselling author of Rise of ISIS exposes the dangers of radical Islam and the effects it has on the American way of life in this informative and eye-opening new book.The fundamental principle of our system of government is individual liberty. Our forefathers chose to bequeath...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Conversations in the Spirit: Lex Hixon's WBAI 'In the Spirit' Interviews: A Chronicle of the Seventies Spiritual Revolution

Sheila Hixon · Monkfish Book Publishing Company
Pages: 440
Format: Print book

Armed with a generous heart, subtle mind, and a PhD in comparative religion from Columbia, Lex Hixon, as host for WBAI's In the Spirit, was able to interview and skillfully probe the leading spiritual lights of the seventies and beyond. Twenty-five of those interviews, finely edited,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Works.

Marie Kond
Format: Print book

"Tidying expert Marie Kondo's follow-up to her best-selling book, The Life-Changing Magic of Tidying Up, is an illustrated master manual on her renowned KonMari Method with item-specific guidance and step-by-step folding illustrations"--Provided by publisher.
Read More check catalog
 
 
Islamism: What it Means for the Middle East and the World

Tarek Osman · Yale University Press
Pages: 328
Format: Print book

A political, social, and cultural battle is currently raging in the Middle East. On one side are the Islamists, those who believe Islam should be the region's primary identity. In opposition are nationalists, secularists, royal families, military establishments, and others who view...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Politically Incorrect Guide to Catholicism

John Zmirak · Regnery Publishing
Pages: 256
Format: Print book

Back by popular demand, the bestselling Politically Incorrect Guides provide an unvarnished, unapologetic overview of controversial topics every American should understand. The Politically Incorrect Guide to Catholicism refutes misrepresentations and misconceptions about the Catholic Church...
Read More check catalog