Back Religion & Spirituality | September Newsletter

SelectReads News
Simple News Pro
  Religion & Spirituality  
The Politically Incorrect Guide to Catholicism

John Zmirak · Regnery Publishing
Pages: 256
Format: Print book

Back by popular demand, the bestselling Politically Incorrect Guides provide an unvarnished, unapologetic overview of controversial topics every American should understand. The Politically Incorrect Guide to Catholicism refutes misrepresentations and misconceptions about the Catholic Church...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Unqualified

Steven Furtick · Multnomah Books
Pages: 212
Format: Print book

Many of us are overwhelmed by the gap between our weaknesses and our dreams, between who we are and who God says we are meant to be. We feel unqualified to do God's work or to live out the possibilities we imagine. But God has a way of using our weaknesses for good. This is a book about...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Book of Revelation

Dr. Wanda Wilkerson · CreateSpace Independent Publishing Platform
Pages: 254
Format: Paperback

This commentary book of the book of Revelation has been created Dr. Wanda Wilkerson, the president and founder of TCOR Bible College. The book of Revelation which is often a very hard book to study and many find it to be incomprehensible. Dr. Wilkerson has studied the Bible for years and has been...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Joy of Mindful Writing: Notes to inspire creative awareness

Joy Kenward · Leaping Hare Press
Pages: 144
Format: Hardcover

Embrace the process of writing and the rich potential of conscious creativity and mindfulness with this enlightening insight into mindful writing. Exploring how writing mindfully can create deeper connections with your words, your characters, and yourself, this carefully crafted manual...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Land of Truth: Talmud Tales, Timeless Teachings

Jeffrey L. Rubenstein · The Jewish Publication Society
Pages: 328
Format: Paperback

Making the rich narrative world of Talmud tales fully accessible to modern readers, renowned Talmud scholar Jeffrey L. Rubenstein turns his spotlight on both famous and little-known stories, analyzing the tales in their original contexts, exploring their cultural meanings and literary artistry,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Moral Leadership for a Divided Age: Fourteen People Who Dared to Change Our World

David P. Gushee · Brazos Press
Pages: 384
Format: Hardcover

Great moral leaders inspire, challenge, and unite us--even in a time of deep divisions. Moral Leadership for a Divided Age explores the lives of fourteen great moral leaders and the wisdom they offer us today. Through skillful storytelling and honest appraisals of their legacies, we encounter...
Read More check catalog
 
 
I Think You're Wrong

Sarah Stewart Holland · Thomas Nelson
Pages: 224
Format: Hardcover

Two friends on opposite sides of the aisle provide a practical guide to grace-filled political conversation while challenging readers to put relationship before policy and understanding before argument.More than ever, politics seems driven by conflict and anger. People sitting together...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Witchcraft in Illinois: A Cultural History

Michael Kleen · The History Press
Pages: 187
Format: Paperback

Although Illinois saw no dramatic witch trials, witchcraft has been a part of Illinois history and culture from French exploration to the present day. On the Illinois frontier, pioneers pressed silver dimes into musket balls to ward off witches, while farmers dutifully erected fence posts...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Death of Politics: How to Heal Our Frayed Republic After Trump

Peter Wehner · HarperOne
Pages: 272
Format: Hardcover

The New York Times opinion writer, media commentator, outspoken Republican and Christian critic of the Trump presidency offers a spirited defense of politics and its virtuous and critical role in maintaining our democracy and what we must do to save it before it is too late. "Any nation...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Ghost Photographer: A Hollywood Executive's True Story of Discovering the Real World of Make-Believe

Julie Rieger · Atria/Enliven Books
Pages: 256
Format: Hardcover

This inspirational memoir, told with uncensored Southern wit and guidance, recounts the story of a Hollywood film executive who journeys through the cosmic wilderness and, against all odds, discovers psychic superpowers that radically transform her life. As a senior executive at one of the world's...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Creative Tarot: A Modern Guide to an Inspired Life

Jessa Crispin · Touchstone
Pages: 327
Format: Print book

A hip, accessible, and practical guide for artists and creative people looking to tarot for guidance and inspiration in the tradition of The Secret Language of Birthdays and Steal Like an Artist.What if the path to creativity was not as challenging as everyone thinks? What if you could...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Big Question: Why We Can't Stop Talking About Science, Faith and God

Alister McGrath · St. Martin's Press, 2015.
Pages: 264
Format: Print book

Richard Dawkins's groundbreaking book The God Delusion created an explosion of interest in the relation of science and faith. This often troubled relationship between science and religion was seemingly damaged by the rise of the New Atheism, which insisted that science had essentially disproved...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Happy Teachers Change the World: A Guide for Cultivating Mindfulness in Education

Nha??t Ha?nh, Thích. · Parallax Press
Pages: 400
Format: Paperback

Happy Teachers Change the World is the first official, authoritative manual of the Thich Nhat Hanh/Plum Village approach to mindfulness in education. Spanning the whole range of schools and grade levels, from preschool through higher education, these techniques are grounded in the everyday...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Kingdoms of Faith: A New History of Islamic Spain

Brian A Catlos · Basic Books
Pages: 496
Format: Hardcover

A magisterial, myth-dispelling history of Islamic Spain spanning the millennium between the founding of Islam in the seventh century and the final expulsion of Spain's Muslims in the seventeenthIn Kingdoms of Faith, award-winning historian Brian A. Catlos rewrites the history of Islamic...
Read More check catalog