Back Religion & Spirituality | July Newsletter

SelectReads News
Simple News Pro
  Religion & Spirituality  
Encyclopedia of Haunted Places: Ghostly Locales from Around the World

Jeff Belanger · New Page Books; Revised edition
Pages: 360
Format: Paperback

The Encyclopedia of Haunted Places is the first directory to be written by dozens of the world's leading paranormal investigators. Research notes, location background, first-hand accounts, and many anomalous photographs featuring ghostly manifestations comprise the hundreds of haunted...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Rumi: A New Translation of Selected Poems

Rumi. · W W Norton
Pages: 184
Format: Print book

Now in paperback, a new translation of the Sufi mystic's verse, hailed as "authentic" and "exquisite."Championed by icons of American pop culture such as Madonna, Donna Karan, and Deepak Chopra, Rumi has won such a following in this country that he was once proclaimed...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The End of White Christian America

Robert P Jones · Simon & Schuster
Pages: 320
Format: Print book

Robert P. Jones, CEO of the Public Religion Research Institute (PRRI) , challenges us to grasp the profound political and cultural consequences of a new reality - that America is no longer a majority white Christian nation.For most of our nation's history, White Christian America (WCA)...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Light Between Us: Stories from Heaven. Lessons for the Living.

Laura Lynne Jackson · Century, 2015.
Pages: 268
Format: eBook

For readers of Proof of Heaven, the astonishing story of a woman with an extraordinary psychic gift - and a powerful message from the Other Side that can help us to live more beautifully in the here and now. Laura Lynne Jackson is a wife, a mother, a high school English teacher - and a psychic...
Read More check catalog
 
 
How God Became God: What Scholars Are Really Saying About God and the Bible

Richard Smoley · Tarcher
Pages: 320
Format: Print book

This epic, thrilling journey through Bible scholarship and ancient religion shows how much of Scripture is historically false--yet the ancient writings also resound with theologies that crisscrossed the primeval world and that direct us today toward a deep, inner, authentic experience of the truly...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Secrets of the Universe in 100 Symbols

Sarah Bartlett · Fair Winds Press
Format: Hardcover

Explore The Secrets of the Universe in 100 Symbols with this beautifully illustrated compendium of 100 diverse arcane tools and writings said to hold the key to the mysteries of the universe. From the Aztec Calendar Stone and the Spear of Destiny to magic circles and Navaho sand paintings,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
You Are the Universe: Discovering Your Cosmic Self and Why It Matters

Deepak Chopra · Harmony
Pages: 288
Format: Print book

New York Times bestselling author Deepak Chopra joins forces with leading physicist Menas Kafatos to explore some of the most important and baffling questions about our place in the world. What happens when modern science reaches a crucial turning point that challenges everything we know...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Becoming Wise: An Inquiry into the Mystery and Art of Living

Krista Tippett · Penguin Press
Pages: 288
Format: Print book

"I'm a person who listens for a living. I listen for wisdom, and beauty, and for voices not shouting to be heard. This book chronicles some of what I've learned in what has become a conversation across time and generations, across disciplines and denominations." Peabody Award-winning...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Conversations in the Spirit: Lex Hixon's WBAI 'In the Spirit' Interviews: A Chronicle of the Seventies Spiritual Revolution

Sheila Hixon · Monkfish Book Publishing Company
Pages: 440
Format: Print book

Armed with a generous heart, subtle mind, and a PhD in comparative religion from Columbia, Lex Hixon, as host for WBAI's In the Spirit, was able to interview and skillfully probe the leading spiritual lights of the seventies and beyond. Twenty-five of those interviews, finely edited,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Unqualified

Steven Furtick · Multnomah Books
Pages: 212
Format: Print book

Many of us are overwhelmed by the gap between our weaknesses and our dreams, between who we are and who God says we are meant to be. We feel unqualified to do God's work or to live out the possibilities we imagine. But God has a way of using our weaknesses for good. This is a book about...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Excellent Daughters: The Secret Lives of Young Women Who Are Transforming the Arab World

Katherine Zoepf · Penguin Press
Pages: 258
Format: Print book

For more than a decade, Katherine Zoepf has lived in or traveled throughout the Arab world, reporting on the lives of women, whose role in the region has never been more in flux. Only a generation ago, female adolescence as we know it in the West did not exist in the Middle East. There...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Christmas in the Crosshairs: Two Thousand Years of Denouncing and Defending the World's Most Celebrated Holiday

G Q Bowler · Oxford University Press
Pages: 312
Format: Print book

An Anglican priest hands out brass knuckles to his congregation, preparing to battle anti-Christmas fanatics. Fascists insist that the Winter Solstice is the real Christmas, while Communists stage atheist musicals outside of churches on Christmas Eve. Activists vandalize shops that start...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Creative Tarot: A Modern Guide to an Inspired Life

Jessa Crispin · Touchstone
Pages: 327
Format: Print book

A hip, accessible, and practical guide for artists and creative people looking to tarot for guidance and inspiration in the tradition of The Secret Language of Birthdays and Steal Like an Artist.What if the path to creativity was not as challenging as everyone thinks? What if you could...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Bad Faith: When Religious Belief Undermines Modern Medicine

Paul A Offit · Basic Books
Pages: 271
Format: Print book

In recent years, there have been major outbreaks of whooping cough among children in California, mumps in New York, and measles in Ohio's Amish country - despite the fact that these are all vaccine-preventable diseases. Although America is the most medically advanced place in the world,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Grace Without God: The Search for Meaning, Purpose, and Belonging in a Secular Age

Katherine Ozment · Harperwave
Pages: 304
Format: Print book

Meet "the Nones" - In this thought-provoking exploration of secular America, celebrated journalist Katherine Ozment takes readers on a quest to understand the trends and ramifications of a nation in flight from organized religion.Studies show that religion makes us happier, healthier...
Read More check catalog