Back Religion & Spirituality | October Newsletter

SelectReads News
Simple News Pro
  Religion & Spirituality  
The After Death Chronicles: True Stories of Comfort, Guidance, and Wisdom from Beyond the Veil

Annie Mattingley · Hampton Roads Publishing
Pages: 256
Format: Paperback

This is a book about ordinary people -- plumbers, artists and accountants, bakers and beauticians, teachers and lawyers -- who have been able to receive communication from loved ones who have died. Included here are accounts from over 80 people across the country who have had contact with...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Happy Teachers Change the World: A Guide for Cultivating Mindfulness in Education

Nha??t Ha?nh, Thích. · Parallax Press
Pages: 400
Format: Paperback

Happy Teachers Change the World is the first official, authoritative manual of the Thich Nhat Hanh/Plum Village approach to mindfulness in education. Spanning the whole range of schools and grade levels, from preschool through higher education, these techniques are grounded in the everyday...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Good Grief: Heal Your Soul, Honor Your Loved Ones, and Learn to Live Again

THERESA CAPUTO · ATRIA BOOKS
Pages: 224
Format: Print book

The star of TLC's Long Island Medium and New York Times bestselling author Theresa Caputo provides a guide to overcoming grief, filled with inspiring lessons from Spirit and astonishing stories from the clients who have been empowered by Theresa's spiritual readings.After more than a decade...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Face of Water: A Translator on Beauty and Meaning in the Bible

Sarah Ruden · Pantheon Books
Pages: 272
Format: Print book

A dazzling reconsideration of the language and translation of the Bible, both Old and New Testaments, from the acclaimed scholar and translator of classical literature ("The best translation of The Aeneid, certainly the best of our time" - Ursula Le Guin; "The first translation...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Crusade and Jihad: The Thousand-Year War Between the Muslim World and the Global North

William R Polk · Yale University Press
Pages: 651
Format: Hardcover

What really happened in the centuries of conflict between Europe, Russia, China, America, and the peoples of the Muslim world Crusade and Jihad is the first book to encompass, in one volume, the entire history of the catastrophic encounter between the Global North - China, Russia, Europe,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Rumi: A New Translation of Selected Poems

Rumi. · W W Norton
Pages: 184
Format: Print book

Now in paperback, a new translation of the Sufi mystic's verse, hailed as "authentic" and "exquisite."Championed by icons of American pop culture such as Madonna, Donna Karan, and Deepak Chopra, Rumi has won such a following in this country that he was once proclaimed...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Strength in Stillness: The Power of Transcendental Meditation

Robert Roth · Simon & Schuster
Pages: 224
Format: Hardcover

A simple, practical, and straightforward guide to meditation from Bob Roth, a world authority on Transcendental Meditation who has spent forty-five years helping people access their innate creativity and power with TM, having personally taught students ranging from Fortune 100 CEOs to Oprah...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The New Testament: A Translation

David Bentley Hart · Yale University Press
Pages: 616
Format: Hardcover

From one of our most celebrated writers on religion comes this fresh, bold, and unsettling new translation of the New Testament David Bentley Hart undertook this new translation of the New Testament in the spirit of "etsi doctrina non daretur," "as if doctrine is not given."...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Relevance of Religion: How Faithful People Can Change Politics

John Danforth · Random House
Pages: 288
Format: Hardcover

Former United States senator and ambassador to the United Nations John Danforth offers a fascinating, thoughtful, and deeply personal look at the state of American politics today - and how religion can be a bridge over our bitter partisan divide. In an era of extreme partisanship, when...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Old Testament Is Dying: A Diagnosis and Recommended Treatment

Brent A Strawn · Baker Book House
Pages: 336
Format: Book

The Old Testament constitutes the majority of the Christian Bible and provides much of the language of Christian faith. However, many churches tend to neglect this crucial part of Scripture. This timely book details a number of ways the Old Testament is showing signs of decay, demise, and imminent...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Unholy Alliance: Iran, Russia, and Jihadists' Agenda for Conquering the World

Jay Sekulow · Simon & Schuster
Pages: 320
Format: Print book

The New York Times bestselling author of Rise of ISIS exposes the dangers of radical Islam and the effects it has on the American way of life in this informative and eye-opening new book.The fundamental principle of our system of government is individual liberty. Our forefathers chose to bequeath...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Black Banners of ISIS: The Roots of the New Caliphate

DAVID J WASSERSTEIN · Yale University Press
Pages: 280
Format: Hardcover

A medieval Islam historian's incisive portrait of ISIS, revealing the group's deep ideological and intellectual roots in the earliest days of Islam With tremendous speed, the Islamic State has moved from the margins to the center of life in the Middle East. Despite recent setbacks,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Creative Tarot: A Modern Guide to an Inspired Life

Jessa Crispin · Touchstone
Pages: 327
Format: Print book

A hip, accessible, and practical guide for artists and creative people looking to tarot for guidance and inspiration in the tradition of The Secret Language of Birthdays and Steal Like an Artist.What if the path to creativity was not as challenging as everyone thinks? What if you could...
Read More check catalog