Back Politics | May Newsletter

SelectReads News
Simple News Pro
  Politics  
A Doctor in the House: My Life with Ben Carson

Candy Carson · Sentinel
Pages: 212
Format: Print book

"The life of a neurosurgeon isn't an easy one, and Ben has been required to go above and beyond the call of duty almost constantly. The life of a neu­rosurgeon's wife isn't much easier. But it's all been worth it. Together, we've been through poverty, tragedy, wealth, and joy,...

Read More check catalog
 
 
Spectacle: The Astonishing Life of Ota Benga

Pamela Newkirk · Amistad Press
Pages: 336
Format: Hardcover

An award-winning journalist reveals a little-known and shameful episode in American history, when an African man was used as a human zoo exhibit - a shocking story of racial prejudice, science, and tragedy in the early years of the twentieth century in the tradition of The Immortal Life...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Five Easy Theses: Commonsense Solutions to America's Greatest Economic Challenges

James Martin Stone · Houghton Mifflin
Pages: 288
Format: Print book

A NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER

A business leader and esteemed economic thinker outlines simple solutions to America's five most pressing public policy issues, from healthcare to education to inequality.


America today confronts a host of urgent problems, many of them...
Read More check catalog
 
 
When breath becomes air

Paul Kalanithi · Random House Publishing Group
Pages: 258
Format: eBook

#1 NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER * For readers of Atul Gawande, Andrew Solomon, and Anne Lamott, this inspiring, exquisitely observed memoir finds hope and beauty in the face of insurmountable odds as an idealistic young neurosurgeon attempts to answer the question What...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The World Reimagined: Americans and Human Rights in the Twentieth Century

Mark Bradley · Cambridge University Press
Pages: 306
Format: Print book

Concerns about rights in the United States have a long history, but the articulation of global human rights in the twentieth century was something altogether different. Global human rights offered individuals unprecedented guarantees beyond the nation for the protection of political, economic,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Let Me Be Free: The Nez Perce Tragedy

David Lavender · HarperCollins
Pages: 403
Format: Book

A history of the heroic 1,700-mile journey of the Nez Perce across Idaho, Wyoming, and Montana toward sanctuary in Canada describes Nez Perce culture, their battles with whites, and the tragic surrender of Chief Joseph. 15,000 first printing. National ad/promo.
Read More check catalog
 
 
Beyond Schizophrenia: Living and Working with a Serious Mental Illness

Marjorie L. Baldwin · Rowman & Littlefield Publishers
Pages: 256
Format: eBook

The experience of living and working with schizophrenia is often fraught with challenges and setbacks. This book is a comprehensive attempt to explain why, in spite of near-miraculous advances in medication and treatment, persons with mental illness fare worse than almost any other disadvantaged...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Thieves of State: Why Corruption Threatens Global Security

Sarah Chayes · W. W. Norton & Company; 1 edition
Format: Hardcover

A former adviser to the Joint Chiefs of Staff explains how government's oldest problem is its greatest destabilizing force.The world is blowing up. Every day a new blaze seems to ignite: the bloody implosion of Iraq and Syria; the East-West standoff in Ukraine; abducted schoolgirls...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Dark Money: The Hidden History of the Billionaires Behind the Rise of the Radical Right

Jane Mayer · Doubleday
Pages: 449
Format: Print book

Why is America living in an age of profound economic inequality? Why, despite the desperate need to address climate change, have even modest environmental efforts been defeated again and again? Why have protections for employees been decimated? Why do hedge-fund billionaires pay a far lower...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Crippled America: How to Make America Great Again

Donald Trump · Threshold Editions
Pages: 193
Format: Print book

Look at the state of the world right now. It's a terrible mess, and that's putting it mildly. There has never been a more dangerous time. The politicians and special interests in Washington, DC, are directly responsible for the mess we are in. So why should we continue listening to them?

It's...
Read More check catalog
 
 
What killed Jane Creba : rap, race, and the invention of a gang war

Anita Arvast · Dundurn
Pages: 176
Format: Print book

The sensational story of a girl's tragic death and the whirlwind of racial prejudices that came in its wake. On Boxing Day 2005, fifteen-year-old Jane Creba was fatally shot on one of the busiest streets in Toronto. Police and journalists reported her death as that of an innocent bystander...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Rescuing Jesus: How People of Color, Women, and Queer Christians are Reclaiming Evangelicalism

Deborah Jian Lee · Beacon Press
Pages: 296
Format: Hardcover

An inside look at the young, diverse, progressive Christians who are transforming the evangelical movementDeborah Jian Lee left the evangelical world because she was frustrated by its conservative politics. But over the years she stayed close to those in the movement, and she has come to realize...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Charleston Syllabus: Readings on Race, Racism, and Racial Violence

Chad Louis Williams · The University of Georgia Press
Pages: 368
Format: Print book

A collection of new essays and columns published in the wake of the 2015 Charleston, SC massacre, along with excerpts from key scholarly books. It draws from a variety of disciplines -- history, sociology, urban studies, law, critical race theory -- and includes discussion questions and a selected...
Read More check catalog