Back Entertainment | June Newsletter

SelectReads News
Simple News Pro
  Entertainment  
He's Got Rhythm: The Life and Career of Gene Kelly

CYNTHIA BRIDESON · UNIV PR OF KENTUCKY
Pages: 560
Format: Print book

He sang and danced in the rain, proclaimed New York to be a wonderful town, and convinced a group of Parisian children that they had rhythm. One of the most influential and respected entertainers of Hollywood's golden age, Gene Kelly revolutionized film musicals with his innovative...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Wayne and Ford: The Films, the Friendship, and the Forging of an American Hero

Nancy Schoenberger · Nan A. Talese
Pages: 256
Format: Hardcover

John Ford and John Wayne, two titans of classic film, made some of the most enduring movies of all time. The genre they defined - the Western - and the heroic archetype they built still matter today. For more than twenty years John Ford and John Wayne were a blockbuster Hollywood team,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Grace Notes: My Recollections

Katey Sagal · Gallery Books
Pages: 256
Format: Print book

Gripping, singular, and gorgeously reflective, Grace Notes is a memoir told in essays by beloved actress, Hollywood veteran, and singer/songwriter Katey Sagal - perfect for fans of Mary Louise Parker's Dear Mr. You and Patti Smith's M Train.Popular and award-winning star Katey Sagal chronicles...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Cinemaps: An Atlas of 35 Great Movies

Andrew DeGraff · Quirk Books
Pages: 157
Format: Hardcover

This beautifully illustrated atlas of beloved movies is an essential reference for cinephiles, fans of great films, and anyone who loves the art of mapmaking. Acclaimed artist Andrew DeGraff has created beautiful hand-painted maps of all your favorite films, from King Kong and North by Northwest...
Read More check catalog
 
 
She Made Me Laugh: My Friend Nora Ephron

Richard Cohen · Simon & Schuster
Pages: 320
Format: Print book

Nora Ephron, one of the most famous writers, film makers, and personalities of her time is captured by her long-time and dear friend in a hilarious, blunt, raucous, and poignant recollection of their decades-long friendship.Nora Ephron (1941-2012) was a phenomenal personality, journalist,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Rich Man, Poor Man: A Memoir

Nick Nolte · William Morrow
Pages: 320
Format: Hardcover

"I had become an actor because real life was hard for me. Sometimes it was really rough. Acting was different from real life, yet it gave me the chance to search for complex stories that helped me understand and cope with what I encountered away from the stage lights."Legendary...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Dylan on Dylan: Interviews and Encounters

Bob Dylan · Chicago Review Press
Pages: 560
Format: Hardcover

In a 1969 conversation with Rolling Stone editor Jann Wenner, Bob Dylan proclaimed, "I don't give interviews." But in truth, he has spoken at length with print publications large and small and with broadcast media around the world, given numerous press conferences, and even answered...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Lou Reed: A Life

Anthony DeCurtis · Little, Brown and Company
Pages: 528
Format: Hardcover

The essential biography of one of music's most influential icons: Lou ReedAs lead singer and songwriter for the Velvet Underground and a renowned solo artist, Lou Reed invented alternative rock. His music, at once a source of transcendent beauty and coruscating noise, violated all definitions...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Beastie Boys Book

Adam Horovitz · Spiegel & Grau
Pages: 590
Format: Hardcover

#1 NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER * A panoramic experience that tells the story of Beastie Boys, a book as unique as the band itself - by band members ADROCK and Mike D, with contributions from Amy Poehler, Colson Whitehead, Spike Jonze, Wes Anderson, Luc Sante, and more. NAMED ONE OF THE BEST...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Bygone Badass Broads: 52 Forgotten Women Who Changed the World

Mackenzi Lee · Abrams Image
Pages: 176
Format: Hardcover

Based on Mackenzi Lee's popular weekly Twitter series of the same name, Bygone Badass Broads features 52 remarkable and forgotten trailblazing women from all over the world. With tales of heroism and cunning, in-depth bios and witty storytelling, Bygone Badass Broads gives new life to these...
Read More check catalog
 
 
None of My Business

P J O'ROURKE · Atlantic Monthly Press
Pages: 304
Format: Hardcover

After decades covering war and disaster, bestselling author and acclaimed satirist P. J. O'Rourke takes on his scariest subjects yet -- business, investment, finance, and the political chicanery behind them.Want to get rich overnight for free in 3 easy steps with no risk? Then don't buy this...
Read More check catalog
 
 
It Takes Two: Our Story

JONATHAN SCOTT · Houghton Mifflin Harcourt
Pages: 304
Format: Hardcover

A New York Times bestseller! Jonathan and Drew Scott, known for their wildly popular HGTV shows including Property Brothers and Brother vs Brother, follow up their New York Times bestseller, Dream Home, with a highly anticipated memoir. It Takes Two: Our Story shares never-before-revealed...
Read More check catalog
 
 
How to Be a Bawse: A Guide to Conquering Life

Lilly Singh · Ballantine Books
Pages: 336
Format: Hardcover

#1 NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER * From the People's Choice Award winner for Favorite YouTube Star comes the definitive guide to being a bawse: a person who exudes confidence, hustles relentlessly, and smiles genuinely because he or she has fought through it all and made it out the other side....
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Underwriting

Michelle Miller · G.P. Putnam's Sons
Format: Hardcover

"A digital age Edith Wharton . . . hilarious, exhilarating, and so, so clever." - Kevin Kwan, author of Crazy Rich Asians **A Huffington Post, New York Post, Redbook and Metro Summer Reading Pick**Just when Tara Taylor is wondering why she works so hard to meet impossible standards,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Kill 'Em and Leave: Searching for James Brown and the American Soul

James McBride · Spiegel & Grau
Pages: 232
Format: Print book

National Book Award winner James McBride goes in search of the "real" James Brown after receiving a tip that promises to uncover the man behind the myth. His surprising journey illuminates not only our understanding of this immensely troubled, misunderstood, and complicated soul...
Read More check catalog