Back Entertainment | October Newsletter

SelectReads News
Simple News Pro
  Entertainment  
Giant: Elizabeth Taylor, Rock Hudson, James Dean, Edna Ferber, and the Making of a Legendary American Film

Don Graham · St. Martin's Press
Pages: 336
Format: Hardcover

A larger-than-life narrative of the making of the classic film, marking the rise of America as a superpower, the ascent of Hollywood celebrity, and the flowering of Texas culture as mythology.Featuring James Dean, Rock Hudson, and Elizabeth Taylor, Giant is an epic film of fame and materialism,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Soul Survivor: A Biography of Al Green

Jimmy McDonough · Da Capo Press
Pages: 432
Format: Hardcover

With songs like "Love and Happiness," "I'm Still in Love with You," and "Tired of Being Alone," Al Green is considered by many to be the greatest soul singer of all time. He has sold more than 20 million records, been sampled by countless hip-hop artists, and even...
Read More check catalog
 
 
I'll Never Change My Name: An Immigrant's American Dream from Ukraine to the USA to Dancing with the Stars

Valentin Chmerkovskiy · Dey Street Books
Pages: 336
Format: Hardcover

Valentin Chmerkovskiy, the world championship-winning and beloved Dancing with the Stars ballroom dancer invites fans into his life as never before, sharing the experiences, including the failures and successes, that have shaped him, from his early childhood in Ukraine to growing up as an immigrant...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Jimmy Buffett: A Good Life All the Way

Ryan White · Touchstone
Pages: 352
Format: Hardcover

From acclaimed music critic and author of Springsteen: Album by Album comes the real story behind the legendary beach bum, rock star, and billionaire musician Jimmy Buffett - who has enchanted audiences of Parrotheads for over four decades with his tropical fantasy world of Margaritaville.Jimmy...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Encore: A Memoir in Three Acts

Charity Tillemann-Dick · Atria Books
Pages: 320
Format: Hardcover

The remarkable true story of acclaimed opera singer Charity Tillemann-Dick, who received not one but two double lung transplants and went from struggling to draw a single breath to singing at the most prestigious venues in the world.Charity Tillemann-Dick was a vivacious young American...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Underwriting

Michelle Miller · G.P. Putnam's Sons
Format: Hardcover

"A digital age Edith Wharton . . . hilarious, exhilarating, and so, so clever." - Kevin Kwan, author of Crazy Rich Asians **A Huffington Post, New York Post, Redbook and Metro Summer Reading Pick**Just when Tara Taylor is wondering why she works so hard to meet impossible standards,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Her Again: Becoming Meryl Streep

Michael Schulman · Harper
Pages: 293
Format: Print book

NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLERA portrait of a woman, an era, and a profession: the first thoroughly researched biography of Meryl Streep - the "Iron Lady" of acting, nominated for nineteen Oscars and winner of three - that explores her beginnings as a young woman of the 1970s grappling...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Good Vibrations: My Life as a Beach Boy

Mike Love · Blue Rider Press
Pages: 436
Format: Print book

The New York Times BestsellerMike Love tells the story of his legendary, raucous, and ultimately triumphant five-decade career as the front man of The Beach Boys, the most popular American band in history -- timed to coincide with the 50th anniversary of "Good Vibrations." As a founding...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Hey Mom: Stories for My Mother, But You Can Read Them Too

LOUIE ANDERSON · Touchstone
Pages: 320
Format: Hardcover

With wry wit and poignant humor, Louie Anderson, New York Times bestselling author and three-time Emmy Award-winning comedian starring in Zach Galifianakis's Baskets, shares his journey of turning life's challenges into joy as well as the wisdom he's gained from his mother.Louie Anderson...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Groucho Marx: The Comedy of Existence

Lee Siegel · Yale University Press, 2016.
Pages: 176
Format: Print book

Born Julius Marx in 1890, the brilliant comic actor who would later be known as Groucho was the most verbal of the famed comedy team, the Marx Brothers, his broad slapstick portrayals elevated by ingenious wordplay and double entendre. In his spirited biography of this beloved American...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Grace Notes: My Recollections

Katey Sagal · Gallery Books
Pages: 256
Format: Print book

Gripping, singular, and gorgeously reflective, Grace Notes is a memoir told in essays by beloved actress, Hollywood veteran, and singer/songwriter Katey Sagal - perfect for fans of Mary Louise Parker's Dear Mr. You and Patti Smith's M Train.Popular and award-winning star Katey Sagal chronicles...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Elizabeth Taylor: A Private Life for Public Consumption

Ellis Cashmore · Bloomsbury Academic
Pages: 416
Format: Print book

The first volume to examine the iconic Elizabeth Taylor in this light, Elizabeth Taylor: A Private Life for Public Consumption paints Taylor as the seminal representation of "celebrity." A figure of enormous charisma and cultural sway, she intrigued a global audience with her marriages...
Read More check catalog
 
 
West of Eden: An American Place

Jean Stein · Random House, 2016.
Pages: 352
Format: Print book

An epic, mesmerizing oral history of Hollywood and Los Angeles from the author of the contemporary classic Edie Jean Stein transformed the art of oral history in her groundbreaking book Edie: American Girl, an indelible portrait of Andy Warhol "superstar" Edie Sedgwick, which...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Marilyn Monroe: The Private Life of a Public Icon

Charles Casillo · St. Martin's Press
Pages: 368
Format: Hardcover

Based on new interviews and research, this ground-breaking biography reveals how Marilyn's childhood contributed to her struggle with bi-polar disorder, and impacted her career and personal life.Marilyn Monroe. Her beauty still captivates. Her love life still fascinates. Her story still...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Magnolia Story

Chip Gaines · Thomas Nelson
Pages: 208
Format: Hardcover

National Bestseller--New York Times, USA Today, Wall Street Journal, Publisher's WeeklyAre you ready to see your fixer upper?These famous words are now synonymous with the dynamic husband-and-wife team Chip and Joanna Gaines, stars of HGTV's Fixer Upper. As this question fills the airwaves...
Read More check catalog