Back Entertainment | September Newsletter

SelectReads News
Simple News Pro
  Entertainment  
Thanks for the Money: How to Use My Life Story to Become the Best Joel McHale You Can Be

Mchale Joel. · G.P. Putnam's Sons
Pages: 303
Format: Print book

From actor and comedian Joel McHale comes the most important celebrity-penned book of this, or any, generation. Part shocking tell-all memoir, part aspirational how-to guide, and mostly all book, this one-of-a-kind tome is required reading for anyone who enjoys Hollywood gossip, get-rich-gradually...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Maggie Smith : a biography

Michael Coveney · St. Martin's Press
Pages: 353
Format: Print book

No one does glamour, severity, girlish charm or tight-lipped witticism better than Dame Maggie Smith. Michael Coveney's biography shines a light on the life and career of a truly remarkable performer, one whose stage and screen career spans six decades. From her days as a West End star...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Art of Gears of War 4

The Coalition · Dark Horse Books
Pages: 184
Format: Print book

Upon its release, the original Gears of War revolutionized third-person shooter action with a combination of gorgeous environments, iconic characters, and brutal action. Now, twenty-five years after the events of Gears of War 3, a fresh generation of heroes will encounter a new enemy that...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Grace Notes: My Recollections

Katey Sagal · Gallery Books
Pages: 256
Format: Print book

Gripping, singular, and gorgeously reflective, Grace Notes is a memoir told in essays by beloved actress, Hollywood veteran, and singer/songwriter Katey Sagal - perfect for fans of Mary Louise Parker's Dear Mr. You and Patti Smith's M Train.Popular and award-winning star Katey Sagal chronicles...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Sharon Tate: A Life

Ed Sanders · Da Capo Pr
Pages: 285
Format: Print book

Ed Sanders gave readers their clearest insight yet into the disturbing world of Charles Manson and his followers when he published The Family in 1971. Continuing that journalistic tradition, Sanders presents the most thorough look ever into the heartbreaking story of Sharon Tate, the iconic...
Read More check catalog
 
 
A Little Thing Called Life : From Elvis's Graceland to Bruce Jenner's Caitlyn and Songs in Between.

Linda Thompson · Dey Street Books
Pages: 368
Format: Print book

Award-winning songwriter Linda Thompson breaks her silence, sharing the extraordinary story of her life, career, and epic romances with two of the most celebrated, yet enigmatic, modern American superstars - Elvis Presley and Bruce Jenner.For the last forty years, award-winning songwriter...
Read More check catalog
 
 
How the Hell Did This Happen?: The Election of 2016

P. J. O'Rourke · Atlantic Monthly Press
Pages: 216
Format: Hardcover

This election cycle was so absurd that celebrated political satirist, journalist, and die-hard Republican P. J. O'Rourke endorsed Democratic candidate Hillary Clinton. As P.J. put it, "America is experiencing the most severe outbreak of mass psychosis since the Salem witch trials of 1692....
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Movie Book

DK · DK Publishing (Dorling Kindersley)
Pages: 352
Format: Hardcover

The Movie Book, the latest in DK's award-winning Big Ideas Simply Explained series, profiles 100 of the best movies ever made throughout the world.From classic 1930s film noir and Hollywood romance to international art-house and 21st-century sci-fi, The Movie Book brings the world's most...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Around the Way Girl: A Memoir

Taraji P Henson · 37 Ink
Pages: 256
Format: Print book

From Academy Award nominee and Golden Globe winner, Taraji P. Henson, comes an inspiring and funny book about family, friends, the hustle required to make it from DC to Hollywood, and the joy of living in your own truth.With a sensibility that recalls her beloved screen characters, including...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Underwriting

Michelle Miller · G.P. Putnam's Sons
Format: Hardcover

"A digital age Edith Wharton . . . hilarious, exhilarating, and so, so clever." - Kevin Kwan, author of Crazy Rich Asians **A Huffington Post, New York Post, Redbook and Metro Summer Reading Pick**Just when Tara Taylor is wondering why she works so hard to meet impossible standards,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Madeline Kahn: Being the Music, A Life

William V. Madison · University Press of Mississippi
Pages: 336
Format: Hardcover

Best known for her Oscar-nominated roles in the smash hits Paper Moon and Blazing Saddles, Madeline Kahn (1942-1999) was one of the most popular comedians of her time--and one of the least understood. In private, she was as reserved and refined as her characters were bold and bawdy. Almost...
Read More check catalog
 
 
They Call Me Supermensch: My Amazing Adventures in Rock 'n' Roll, Hollywood, and Haute Cuisine

Shep Gordon · Anthony Bourdain/Ecco
Pages: 304
Format: Print book

An eye-popping peek into entertainment industry from the magnetic force who has worked with an impeccable roster of stars throughout his storied career.In the course of his legendary career as a manager, agent, and producer, Shep Gordon has worked with, and befriended, some of the biggest...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Turning the Tables: From Housewife to Inmate and Back Again

Teresa Giudice · Gallery Books
Pages: 261
Format: Print book

"Teresa Giudice, star of The Real Housewives of New Jersey, has seen it all, but nothing--not even Real Housewives scandals--could compare to the media firestorm that ensued after she was convicted on federal fraud charges. The infamous, fun-loving Jersey mom of four was sentenced...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Elizabeth and Michael: The Queen of Hollywood and the King of PopA Love Story

Donald Bogle · Atria Books
Pages: 320
Format: Print book

One of the country's leading authorities on popular entertainment presents an eye-opening and unique biography of two larger-than-life legends - Elizabeth Taylor and Michael Jackson - and their unlikely yet enduring friendship.From the moment Elizabeth Taylor and Michael Jackson met, they...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Gumption: Relighting the Torch of Freedom with America's Gutsiest Troublemakers

Nick Offerman · Dutton Books
Pages: 400
Format: Hardcover

The star of Parks and Recreation and author of the New York Times bestseller Paddle Your Own Canoe returns with a second book that humorously highlights twenty-one figures from our nation's history, from her inception to present day - Nick's personal pantheon of "great Americans."To...
Read More check catalog