Back Biographies & Memoirs | May Newsletter

SelectReads News
Simple News Pro
  Biographies & Memoirs  
A Loaded Gun: Emily Dickinson for the 21st Century

Jerome Charyn · Bellevue Literary Pr, 2015.
Pages: 256
Format: Print book

We think we know Emily Dickinson: the Belle of Amherst, virginal, reclusive, and possibly mad. But in A Loaded Gun, Jerome Charyn introduces us to a different Emily Dickinson: the fierce, brilliant, and sexually charged poet who wrote:

My Life had stood - a Loaded Gun -
...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Miracles from Heaven: A Little Girl and Her Amazing Story of Healing

Christy Beam · Hachette Books
Pages: 215
Format: Print book

"Miracles from Heaven is a powerful, healing story about family, love, faith, and hope. It amazed me and it will inspire readers everywhere. ---T. D. Jakes, bestselling author of Destiny In a remarkable true story of faith and blessings, a mother tells of her sickly young daughter,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Before I Forget: Love, Hope, Help, and Acceptance in Our Fight Against Alzheimer's

B Smith · Harmony Books
Pages: 319
Format: Print book

"I know where I'm going. I'm still myself. I just can't remember things as well as I once did. So on short trips, I work hard not to be confused. I'll say to myself, What are we going to do? How long are we staying? It's like I'm talking to my other self - the self I used...

Read More check catalog
 
 
Adnan's Story: Murder, Justice, and the Case that Captivated a Nation

Rabia Chaudry · St. Martin's Press
Pages: 410
Format: Print book

*Now a New York Times bestseller*

Serial told Only Part of the Story ...

In early 2000, Adnan Syed was convicted and sentenced to life plus thirty years for the murder of his ex-girlfriend Hae Min Lee, a high school senior...

Read More check catalog
 
 
Getting Real

Gretchen Carlson · Viking
Format: Hardcover

A candid, funny memoir from the charismatic FOX News channel anchor and Miss America Pageant winner Celebrity news anchorwoman Gretchen Carlson shares her inspiring story and offers important takeaways for women (and men) about what it means to strive for and find success in the real...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Accidental Life: An Editor's Notes on Writing and Writers

Terry McDonell · Alfred A. Knopf
Pages: 384
Format: Print book

From the legendary editor, journalist, and publishing entrepreneur: a memoir about writers, writing, editing--and the fast-paced, high-stakes life in the publishing business. Over the last four decades, Terry McDonell has been at the helm of some of the most influential beacons of American...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Uncovered: How I Left Hasidic Life and Finally Came Home

Leah Lax · She Writes PR
Pages: 256
Format: Paperback

In Uncovered, Leah Lax tells her story--beginning as a young teen who left her liberal, secular home for life as a Hasidic Jew and ending as a forty-something woman who has to abandon the only world she's known for thirty years in order to achieve personal freedom. In understated, crystalline...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Myself and the world : a biography of William Faulkner

Robert W Hamblin · University Press of Mississippi
Format: eBook

"William Faulkner (1897-1962) once said of his novels and stories, "I am telling the same story over and over, which is myself and the world." This concise and readable biography provides an overview of the life and career of the famous author, demonstrating the interrelationships...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Stalin's Daughter: The Extraordinary and Tumultuous Life of Svetlana Alliluyeva

Rosemary Sullivan · Harper
Format: Hardcover

The award-winning author of Villa Air-Bel returns with a painstakingly researched, revelatory biography of Svetlana Stalin, a woman fated to live her life in the shadow of one of historys most monstrous dictators—her father, Josef Stalin.Born in the early years of the Soviet Union, Svetlana...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Dante: The Story of His Life

Marco Santagata · Belknap Press
Pages: 496
Format: Hardcover

Marco Santagata's Dante: The Story of His Life illuminates one of the world's supreme poets from many angles -- writer, philosopher, father, courtier, political partisan. Santagata brings together a vast body of Italian scholarship on Dante's medieval world, untangles a complex...
Read More check catalog
 
 
KooKooLand

Gloria Norris · Regan Arts, 2015.
Pages: 368
Format: Print book

In the tradition of The Glass Castle and With or Without You, a bracingly funny and chilling true crime memoir about a girl's gutsy journey to escape her charismatic yet cruel father's reign - an unforgettable story of violence, love, and, ultimately, triumph.

It's...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The sound of gravel : a memoir

Ruth Wariner · Flatiron Books, 2016. ©2015
Pages: 342
Format: eBook

The true story of one girl's coming-of-age in a polygamist family. Ruth Wariner was the thirty-ninth of her father's forty-two children. Growing up on a farm in rural Mexico, where authorities turn a blind eye to the practices of her community, Ruth lives in a ramshackle house without...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Hillary's America

Dinesh D'Souza · Regnery Publishing
Pages: 294
Format: Print book

Dinesh D'Souza has a warning: We are on the brink of losing our country forever. After eight years of Obama, four years -- or possibly eight years -- of Hillary Clinton as president of the United States would so utterly transform America as to make it unrecognizable. No more will America...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Freddie Mercury: A Kind of Magic

Mark Blake · Backbeat Books
Pages: 224
Format: Print book

(Book) . Freddie Mercury was one of rock's most dazzling front men. When he died in 1991, the music world lost one of its most flamboyant characters, as well as a supremely talented writer and vocalist. Best known as the lead singer of Queen, his amazing four-octave voice was a distinctive...
Read More check catalog