Back Mystery & Thrillers | July Newsletter

SelectReads News
Simple News Pro
  Mystery & Thrillers  
The Ninth Life: A new cat mystery series

Clea Simon · Severn House Publishers
Pages: 224
Format: Hardcover

Introducing Blackie, an unusual feline hero, and his companion Care in the first of this dark new mystery series.Three figures, shadowy against the light. That's all I remember from my past life, as I am dragged, dripping and half-drowned, from the flood. My saviour, a strange, pink-haired...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Doll-Master and Other Tales of Terror

Joyce Carol Oates · Mysterious Press
Pages: 304
Format: Print book

From one of our most important contemporary writers, The Doll-Master and Other Tales of Terror is a bold, haunting collection of six stories.In the title story, a young boy becomes obsessed with his cousin's doll after she tragically passes away from leukemia. As he grows older, he begins...
Read More check catalog
 
 
A Book of American Martyrs: A Novel

Joyce Carol Oates · Ecco
Pages: 736
Format: Print book

A powerfully resonant and provocative novel from American master and New York Times bestselling author Joyce Carol Oates In this striking, enormously affecting novel, Joyce Carol Oates tells the story of two very different and yet intimately linked American families. Luther Dunphy is an ardent...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Blood Red: Mundy's Landing Book One

Wendy Corsi Staub · William Morrow & Company
Pages: 416
Format: Paperback

From New York Times bestselling author Wendy Corsi Staub comes the first in a terrifying new series set in a small town with a sinister secretThe razor's gleaming blade slices effortlessly through skin and tendon, and he relishes the final anguished moments of his prey. There's...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Ex: A Novel

Alafair Burke · Harper
Pages: 288
Format: Print book

In this breakout standalone novel of suspense in the vein of Gone Girl and The Girl on a Train, a woman agrees to help an old boyfriend who has been framed for murder - but begins to suspect that she is the one being manipulated.Twenty years ago she ruined his life. Now she has the chance...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Cat Shout for Joy: A Joe Grey Mystery

Shirley Rousseau Murphy · William Morrow & Company
Pages: 320
Format: Hardcover

Awaiting the birth of his first kittens, feline P. I. Joe Grey, his companion Dulcie, and their furry sleuthing pals must unmask a killer preying on some of the most vulnerable citizens in the charming California coastal community of Molena Point.For Joe Grey and Dulcie, life is a bittersweet...
Read More check catalog
 
 
When She's Gone: A Thriller

Jane Palmer · Crooked Lane Books
Pages: 304
Format: Print book

Ara Zuyev is a secret to nearly everyone, and those who know anything about her have barely scratched the surface. A bodyguard for a powerful billionaire, she is the last line of defense for the family's inner circle. But when her charge, 16-year-old Samantha Harper, is kidnapped and the FBI are called...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Cataclysm

Tim Washburn · Pinnacle Books
Pages: 488
Format: Print book

"Washburn brings a new kind of terror. " - Marc CameronFIRST THE GROUND SHAKES . . . At Yellowstone National Park, earthquake tremors are common. But today, park scientist Tucker Mayfield detects something different: a disturbing new increase in activity - and intensity . . .THEN...
Read More check catalog
 
 
A Christmas Message: A Novel

Anne Perry · Ballantine
Pages: 176
Format: Print book

In the spirit of the season, New York Times bestselling author Anne Perry presents readers with the gift of another holiday mystery, taking them to the Holy Land for an intriguing and miraculous journey of discovery. The year is 1900, and Victor Narraway is giving his wife, Vespasia,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Murder at Rough Point

Alyssa Maxwell · Kensington Books
Pages: 295
Format: Print book

In glittering Newport, Rhode Island, at the close of the nineteenth century, status is everything. But despite being a poorer relation to the venerable Vanderbilts, Emma Cross has shaped her own identity - as a reporter and a sleuth.Fancies and Fashion reporter Emma Cross is sent by the Newport...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Maestra

L S Hilton · G.P. Putnam's Sons
Pages: 309
Format: Print book

"With the cunning of Gone Girl's Amy Dunne, and as dangerous as The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo's Lisbeth Salander, the femme fatale of this Talented Mr. Ripley-esque psychological thriller is sexy, smart, and very, very bad in all the best ways"--
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Shadow Land: A Novel

Elizabeth Kostova · Ballantine Books
Pages: 478
Format: Hardcover

From the #1 bestselling author of The Historian comes a mesmerizing novel that spans the past and the present - and unearths the troubled history of a gorgeous but haunted country.A young American woman, Alexandra Boyd, has traveled to Sofia, Bulgaria, hoping that life abroad will salve...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Disclaimer: A Novel

Renee Knight · Harper, an imprint of HarperCollins Publishers
Pages: 336
Format: Print book

A brilliantly conceived, deeply unsettling psychological thriller - already an international sensation - about a woman haunted by secrets, the consuming desire for revenge, and the terrible price we pay when we try to hide the truth.Finding a mysterious novel at her bedside plunges documentary...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Green on Blue: A Novel

Elliot Ackerman · Scribner
Pages: 242
Format: Print book

"A compassionate, provocative, and alive" (Vogue.com) war story about a young Afghan orphan, "Green on Blue is harrowing, brutal, and utterly absorbing. With spare prose, Ackerman has spun a morally complex tale of revenge, loyalty, and brotherly love" (Khaled Hosseini,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Sherlock: The Essential Arthur Conan Doyle Adventures

Arthur Conan Doyle · Pegasus Crime
Pages: 553
Format: Print book

Sherlock co-creators Steven Moffat and Mark Gatiss present their all-time favorite Sherlock Holmes adventures. The hit BBC series Sherlock has introduced a whole new generation of fans to Arthur Conan Doyle's legendary detective. In this unique collection, Sherlock co-creators Steven Moffat...
Read More check catalog