Back Mystery & Thrillers | January Newsletter

SelectReads News
Simple News Pro
  Mystery & Thrillers  
Sleeping Giants

Sylvain Neuvel · Random House Publishing Group
Pages: 322
Format: eBook

A page-turning debut in the tradition of Michael Crichton, World War Z, and The Martian, Sleeping Giants is a thriller fueled by an earthshaking mystery - and a fight to control a gargantuan power. A girl named Rose is riding her new bike near her home in Deadwood, South Dakota, when she falls...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Choked Up

Janey Mack · Kensington Books, 2016.
Pages: 354
Format: Print book

"The most engaging new detective in a long time." --Hy Conrad, author of Toured to DeathShe's working undercover--and she's in way over her head. Scrappy Traffic Enforcement agent Maisie McGrane has finally landed her dream job as a Chicago police officer. There's just one catch....
Read More check catalog
 
 
Fatal: A Novel

John T Lescroart · Atria Books
Pages: 307
Format: Print book

From New York Times bestselling author John Lescroart, a riveting standalone novel about the unexpected, shattering, and lethal consequences of a one-night stand on a seemingly happily married couple.Kate loves her life. At forty-four, she's happily married to her kind husband, Ron, blessed...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Interior Darkness: Selected Stories

Peter Straub · Doubleday
Pages: 496
Format: Print book

Celebrated author Peter Straub's mastery of the short form shines in this wide-ranging collection of his most chilling, intense, and compelling tales from the past twenty-five years.Peter Straub has spent forty years at the forefront of modern literary horror. The stories assembled here...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Three Envelopes: A Thriller

Nir Hezroni · Thomas Dunne Books / St. Martin's Press
Pages: 320
Format: Print book

A thrilling debut, Three Envelopes delves into the twisted mind of a rogue agent in the Israeli intelligence agency and his mysterious plot for revenge.Agent 10483 carried out his missions perfectly. Too perfectly. So perfectly that he needed to be stopped. . . When Avner, a top agent in The Organization...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Bad to the Bone

LINDA O JOHNSTON · MIDNIGHT INK
Pages: 288
Format: Print book

Veterinary technician Carrie Kennersly, owner of the Barkery & Biscuits bakery for dogs, is reluctant to sell her recipes to pet food manufacturer VimPets. Jack Loroco, a VimPets representative, assures Carrie that it would be a great opportunity to grow her business. His promising...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Her Secret Spy

Cindy Dees · Harlequin
Pages: 288
Format: Print book

From New York Times bestselling author Cindy Dees - a thrilling new romance with a sinister edge Lover. Trickster. Villain. Hero. Which of these is undercover spy Max Kuznetsov? Despite her psychic gifts, Lissa Clearmont isn't sure. All she knows is the gorgeous guy saved her life...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Crazy Like a Fox: A Novel

RITA MAE BROWN · Ballantine Books
Pages: 304
Format: Hardcover

In this thrilling new foxhunting mystery from New York Times bestselling author Rita Mae Brown, an investigation into a missing and valuable object flushes out murder, ghosts, and old family rivalries. Now "Sister" Jane Arnold and a pack of four-legged friends must catch the scent...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Malevolent

Jana DeLeon · Jana DeLeon
Format: Print book

From New York Times bestselling author Jana DeLeon, the first in a new thriller series. Everyone wondered about Shaye Archer's past. Including Shaye. Shaye Archer's life effectively began the night police found her in an alley, beaten and abused and with no memory of the previous...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Practice to Deceive

Janet L Smith · Ballantine Books
Pages: 245
Format: Hardcover

"Annie's an efficient, agreeable, no-nonsense sort--and so is this mystery."THE KIRKUS REVIEWSLawyer-sleuth Annie MacPherson is new on the job at a high-power Seattle law firm, when the top partner's secretary and not-so-secret lover, Nancy, kills herself. But the dead...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Buckular Dystrophy: A Woods Cop Mystery

Joseph Heywood · Lyons Press
Pages: 352
Format: Print book

The 10th installment of the beloved Woods Cop Mystery series! The traditional firearm deer season in Michigan lasts two weeks, a time in which the most hunters are afield during the year and the time when most things happen. Game wardens cannot count on having any life but work during this...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Tall Tail: A Mrs. Murphy Mystery

Rita Mae Brown · Bantam Books
Pages: 320
Format: Print book

In this fast-paced mystery by Rita Mae Brown and her feline co-author Sneaky Pie Brown, Mary Minor "Harry" Haristeen and her animal friends seek to solve a whodunit rooted in eighteenth-century Virginia - uncovering a shocking secret that refuses to stay buried. TALL TAIL At any moment...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Find Her

Lisa Gardner · Dutton
Pages: 402
Format: Print book

"Flora Dane is a victim. Seven years ago, carefree college student Flora was kidnapped while on spring break. For 472 days, Flora learned just how much one person can endure. Flora Dane is a survivor. Miraculously alive after her ordeal, Flora has spent the past five years reacquainting...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Escape Clause

John Sandford · G.P. Putnam's Sons
Pages: 392
Format: Print book

Whenever you hear the sky rumble, that usually means a storm. In Virgil Flowers' case, make that two. The exceptional new thriller from the writer whose books are "pure reading pleasure" (BOOKLIST ) . The first storm comes from, of all places, the Minnesota zoo. Two large,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Garden of Lamentations

Deborah Crombie · William Morrow
Pages: 414
Format: Hardcover

Scotland Yard detectives Duncan Kincaid and Gemma James are drawn into separate investigations that hold disturbing - and deadly - complications for their own lives in this powerful mystery in the bestselling series.On a beautiful morning in mid-May, the body of a young woman is found in one of Notting...
Read More check catalog