Back Ages 4-8 | May Newsletter

SelectReads News
Simple News Pro
  Ages 4-8  
Earth's Coldest Places

Mary Griffin · Gareth Stevens Publishing
Format: Print book

Many people know that Antarctica is the coldest place on Earth, but they might not know why. Readers of this globetrotting volume will learn how the sun's rays affect our planet's surface. They'll also discover other bitter cold places around the globe and how people manage to live there....
Read More check catalog
 
 
Jack and Jill Flip-Side Rhymes

Christopher Harbo · Picture Window Books
Format: Print book

Jack fell down and broke his crown, but what if Jill told the rhyme? In this novel approach to nursery rhymes, half the book holds the classic rhyme, while the flip-side holds a fractured version that starts from the back. Whimsical art adds to the flip-side fun.
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Cat That Disappeared (My First Graphic Novel)

Lori Mortensen · Stone Arch Books
Pages: 32
Format: Library Binding

The pet show is about to start, and Ava can't find her cat. It's time to do some detective work. Ava, Clair, and Caleb are on the case!
Read More check catalog
 
 
Swatch: The Girl Who Loved Color

Julia Denos · Balzer & Bray/Harperteen
Pages: 40
Format: Print book

A vibrant picture book featuring an irrepressible new character - perfect for fans of The Dot and Beautiful Oops! - from acclaimed illustrator Julia Denos.

In a place where color ran wild, there lived a girl who was wilder still. Her name was Swatch, and color was her passion....

Read More check catalog
 
 
ASPCA Rescue Reader: I Am McKinley: Level 2

Lori Froeb · Reader's Digest
Format: Book

Meet McKinley. She's a great dog and she's just been adopted! Come along with her as she meets her new family and explores her new home.Inspired by ASPCA animal rescue and adoption stories. Read about the everyday details of family life through the curious eyes and mind of a class...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Eleanor the Snow White Fairy

Daisy Meadows · Scholastic (Us) , 2016.
Pages: 80
Format: Print book

Happily Ever After?

Once upon a time, Rachel and Kirsty were excited to attend the special Fairy Tale Festival at TipTop Castle. But when Jack Frost steals the Fairy Tale Fairies' magic items, stories everywhere get all jumbled up. Even worse, characters from inside the books are coming...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Rumpled Stilton Skin

Daniel Postgate · Crabtree Publishing Company
Pages: 32
Format: Hardcover

In this new twist on the traditional fairy tale a funny little man named Rumpled Stilton Skin appears when the poor cheese-maker's daughter needs his help. He makes her beautiful for a ball, but what will he ask for in return? The carefully controlled text level and beautiful illustrations...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Ricky Ricotta's Mighty Robot vs. The Uranium Unicorns From Uranus

Dav Pilkey · Scholastic Inc.
Format: Book

From Dav Pilkey, creator of Captain Underpants, and acclaimed artist Dan Santat, a thrilling friendship adventure with all-new full-color illustrations and mini-comics throughout! Ricky Ricotta loves his Mighty Robot. They do everything together, but it's sometimes hard for a small...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Tchaikovsky's Swan Lake

Ji-Yeong Lee · Big & Small
Pages: 43
Format: Print book

Tchaikovsky's beautiful ballet comes to life as a picture book with stunning and moody illustrations from renowned Mexican artist Gabriel Pacheco.
Read More check catalog
 
 
Making Machines with Screws

Chris Oxlade · Raintree
Format: Book

A hands-on approach introduces young scientists to screws. Science theory and practical, fun projects teach the physics and the technology behind this simple machine. Important science curriculum is explained through historical and contemporary examples of screws. Step-by-step projects...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Supercat vs The Party Pooper

Jeanne Willis · HarperCollinsChildren'sBooks
Format: Print book

A twentieth-century girl is magically transported through time to join the 1819 demonstration which ended in tragedy for Manchester mill workers seeking the right to vote.
Read More check catalog
 
 
Food and Drink

Linda Staniford · Heinemann
Format: Book

This title takes a simple look at the difference between wants and needs with relation to food and drink. We all need to eat and drink, but do we eat the sort of food our bodies need?,
Read More check catalog