Back History | September Newsletter

SelectReads News
Simple News Pro
  History  
The Secret Chamber of Osiris: Lost Knowledge of the Sixteen Pyramids

Scott Creighton · Bear & Company; First Edition edition
Format: Print book

Reveals the true purpose behind the pyramids of Giza and the location of the secret vault of Egyptian treasures hidden on the Giza plateau • Details how the first 16 pyramids represent the allegorical “dismembered body of Osiris” and the legendary missing part is a secret...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Germany Ascendant: The Eastern Front 1915

Prit Buttar · Osprey Publishing (UK)
Pages: 488
Format: Hardcover

While millions of men died in France and Belgium in 1915, battles equally as large and bloody were being fought on the Eastern Front, as Imperial Germany, Hapsburg Austria-Hungary, and Tsarist Russia clashed on a scale greater than anything seen on the Western Front. These massive offensives...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Mirror Test: America at War in Iraq and Afghanistan

J Kael Weston · Alfred A Knopf, 2016.
Pages: 608
Format: Print book

A powerfully written firsthand account of the human costs of conflict, The Mirror Test asks that we as a nation look in the mirror and address hard questions about America's wars in Iraq and Afghanistan. J. Kael Weston spent seven years on the ground in Iraq and Afghanistan working...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Punk: Chaos to Couture

Andrew Bolton · Metropolitan Museum of Art
Format: Paperback

Since its origins in the 1970s, punk has had an explosive influence on fashion. With its eclectic mixing of stylistic references, punk effectively introduced the postmodern concept of bricolage to the elevated precincts of haute couture and directional ready-to-wear. As a style, punk is about...
Read More check catalog
 
 
March 1917: On the Brink of War and Revolution

Will Englund · W. W. Norton & Company
Pages: 387
Format: Hardcover

A riveting history of the month that transformed the world's greatest nations as Russia faced revolution and America entered World War I."We are provincials no longer," declared Woodrow Wilson on March 5, 1917, at his second inauguration. He spoke on the eve of America's entrance...
Read More check catalog
 
 
National Geographic The Old West

Stephen G. Hyslop · National Geographic Society
Pages: 320
Format: Hardcover

From Lewis and Clark's epic 1803 expedition to the showmanship of Buffalo Bill, the story of the American West is epic in scope, full of amazing tales of tragedy and triumph. Lavishly illustrated with vivid photographs and intricate maps, The Old West is the definitive history of a time...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Top 10 San Francisco

Jeffrey Kennedy · DK Eyewitness Travel; Lam Pap/Ma edition
Format: Paperback

DK Eyewitness Travel Guide: Top 10 San Francisco will lead you straight to the very best this city has to offer. Whether you're looking for the things not to miss at the Top 10 sights or want to find the best nightspots, this guide is the perfect pocket-sized companion. The guide is divided...
Read More check catalog
 
 
In the Name of Gucci: A Memoir

Patricia Gucci · Crown Pub
Pages: 304
Format: Book

The gripping family drama and never-before-told love story surrounding the rise and fall of the late Aldo Gucci, the man responsible for making the legendary fashion label the powerhouse it is today, as told by his daughter. Patricia Gucci was born a secret: the lovechild whose birth could...
Read More check catalog
 
 
She-Wolves: The Women Who Ruled England Before Elizabeth

Helen Castor · Harper Perennial
Pages: 480
Format: Paperback

"Helen Castor has an exhilarating narrative gift. . . . Readers will love this book, finding it wholly absorbing and rewarding." - Hilary Mantel, Booker Prize-winning author of Wolf Hall In the tradition of Antonia Fraser, David Starkey, and Alison Weir, prize-winning historian...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Napoleon and the Struggle for Germany: The Franco-Prussian War of 1813

Michael V. Leggiere · Cambridge University Press; 1st edition
Format: Hardcover

This is the first comprehensive history of the campaign that determined control of Germany following Napoleons catastrophic defeat in Russia. Michael V. Leggiere reveals how, in the spring of 1813, Prussia, the weakest of the great powers, led the struggle against Napoleon as a war of national...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Shoot Like a Girl: One Woman's Dramatic Fight in Afghanistan and on the Home Front

Mary Jennings Hegar · New American Library
Pages: 304
Format: Hardcover

SOON TO BE A MAJOR MOTION PICTURE"Shoot Like a Girl is a must-read about an American patriot whose courage and determination will have a lasting impact on the future of our Armed Forces and the nation." - Senator John McCainOn June 29, 2009, Air National Guard major Mary Jennings...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Sapiens: A Brief History of Humankind

Yuval Noah Harari · Harpercollins
Pages: 443
Format: Book

New York Times BestsellerA Summer Reading Pick for President Barack Obama, Bill Gates, and Mark Zuckerberg From a renowned historian comes a groundbreaking narrative of humanity's creation and evolution - a #1 international bestseller - that explores the ways in which biology and history...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Navy SEAL Art of War: Leadership Lessons from the World's Most Elite Fighting Force

Rob Roy · Crown Business
Format: Hardcover

In a groundbreaking, narrative-driven book for businesses, managers (and those who aspire to the managerial ranks), and entrepreneurs, a veteran Navy SEAL Chief Petty Officer shows how the skills that enable SEAL teams to achieve the impossible in the battlefield can help business executives...
Read More check catalog