Back Children's Books | April Newsletter

SelectReads News
Simple News Pro
  Children's Books  
Goodnight, You

Genevieve Cote - Kids Can Press
Format: Hardcover

In this heartwarming title from the Piggy and Bunny picture book series, the two friends explore what scares them as they prepare for their first campout together. When Bunny admits to being frightened of monsters, Piggy responds that "even if there WAS a monster, I wouldn't scream...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Jack

Tomie dePaola - Nancy Paulsen Books
Format: Hardcover

Beloved author-illustrator Tomie dePaola's take on traditional "Jack tales" - in which a young hero ventures out to seek his fortune and gains it through luck or pluck - is perfect for preschoolers. His hero's reward is a wealth of animal friends who increase in number...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Rules of the House

Mac Barnett - Disney * Hyperion Books
Format: Book

Ian always follows the rules. His sister, Jenny, breaks them all the time-especially "Don't pinch. " So Ian is thrilled when the house where his family is vacationing posts a tidy list of rules. But when Jenny breaks them all, the house itself decides it's time for payback. The rug,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Over the Ocean

TaroÌ? Gomi - Chronicle books LLC, 2016.
Format: Print book

Renowned children's book creator Taro Gomi has created another masterpiece. In this beautiful testament to wondering, a young girl gazes out to where the water meets the sky and wonders what lies beyond the waves. Boats filled with toys? Skyscrapers filled with people? Houses filled...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Turtle Island

Kevin Sherry - Dial Books
Format: Hardcover

From the award-winning creator of I'M THE BIGGEST THING IN THE OCEAN comes an inspiring tale of friendship and belonging that's perfect for fans of THE SNAIL AND THE WHALE, OWEN AND MZEE, and Oliver Jeffers's LOST AND FOUND.Turtle is big. But the ocean is bigger. And Turtle...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Grandma's tiny house

JaNay Brown-Wood - Charlesbridge

In rhyming text, when the whole family and guests show up for the big dinner at Grandma's house, it becomes clear that the house is much too small to hold them all.
Read More check catalog
 
 
A, B, C Animals

Ashley Rideout - Flowerpot Press
Format: Print book

Join your favorite furry friends from the animal kingdom as they guide young readers through the alphabet in this charming picture book. The beautifully hand-drawn illustrations makes learning the A,B,Cs more fun than ever before and is sure to engage early learners! The book also comes...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Greyfriars Bobby

Ruth Brown - Andersen Press
Format: Paperback

A true story of a dog's love and loyalty is retold and illustrated in sumptuous styleMore than 100 years ago, a faithful little dog called Bobby kept a 14-year vigil by his master's graveside in Greyfriars churchyard in Edinburgh, Scotland. Bobby captured the hearts...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Best Thing about Kindergarten

Jennifer Lloyd - Simply Read Books
Format: Hardcover

It’s graduation day and Ms. Appleby asks her students,  “What is the best thing about Kindergarten?” They all have an answer—and every answer is different. But Ms. Appleby has a secret answer that will surprise them all!
Read More check catalog
 
 
Snow Friends

Margery Cuyler - Henry Holt and Co.
Format: Hardcover

A charming winter picture book about friendship and dogs set against the perfect snowy day.Snow! Snow! And more snow! It's the perfect day to play in the newly fallen snow. Oscar can't contain his excitement -- and before his boy Matt knows it, Oscar is off on a wintry adventure....
Read More check catalog