Back Entertainment | November Newsletter

SelectReads News
Simple News Pro
  Entertainment  
The Captain's Daughter: A Novel

MEG MITCHELL MOORE - Anchor
Format: Paperback

"Don't miss this heartfelt story about paths not taken."--People magazineFor fans of Elin Hilderbrand and Emma Straub comes an emotionally gripping novel about a woman who returns to her hometown in coastal Maine and finds herself pondering the age-old question of what...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Now That You Mention It

Kristan Higgins - HQN Books
Format: Hardcover

One step forward. Two steps back. The Tufts scholarship that put Nora Stuart on the path to becoming a Boston medical specialist was a step forward. Being hit by a car and then overhearing her boyfriend hit on another doctor when she thought she was dying Two major steps back. Injured...
Read More check catalog
 
 
When Women Invented Television: The Untold Story of the Female Powerhouses Who Pioneered the Way We Watch Today

Jennifer Keishin Armstrong - Harper
Format: Hardcover

The New York Times bestselling author of Seinfeldia tells the little-known story of four trailblazing women in the early days of television who laid the foundation of the industry we know today.It was the Golden Age of Radio and powerful men were making millions in advertising dollars reaching...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Rebel Homemaker: Food, Family, Life

Drew Barrymore - Dutton
Format: Hardcover

In her first lifestyle book, she'll take you inside her kitchen and her life, featuring thirty-six amazing recipes, from Yuzu Eggs to Brie and Apple Sandwiches to Harissa Spaghetti, which she developed along with chef Pilar Valdes, a personal friend and a regular guest on Drew's...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Stowed Away

BARBARA ROSS - Kensington
Format: Mass Market Paperback

It's June in Busman's Harbor, Maine, and Julia Snowden and her family are working hard to get their authentic Maine clambake business ready for summer. Preparations must be put on hold, however, when a mysterious yacht drops anchor in the harbor - and delivers an unexpected dose...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Stealing the Show: How Women Are Revolutionizing Television

Joy Press - Atria Books
Format: Hardcover

From a leading cultural journalist, a definitive look at the rise of the female showrunner - and a new golden era of television.Female writers, directors, and producers have radically transformed the television industry in recent years. Shonda Rhimes, Lena Dunham, Tina Fey, Amy Schumer,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Swing of Things

Linda Keir - Lake Union Publishing
Format: Hardcover

"Somewhere between Tom Perrotta and Erica Jong lies The Swing of Things, a charming, sexy, and surprisingly tender romp through the dark side of wish fulfillment. I'll never look at the other playground parents the same way again." - Marcus SakeyTold from the dual perspective...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Dunbar

Edward St. Aubyn - Hogarth Press
Format: Hardcover

A reimagining of one of Shakespeare's most well-read tragedies, by the contemporary, critcally acclaimed master of domestic drama Henry Dunbar, the once all-powerful head of a global media corporation, is not having a good day. In his dotage he hands over care of the corporation to his two eldest...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Hours Before Dawn - MASS MARKET ED.

Celia Fremlin - Dover Publications
Format: Mass Market Paperback

Edgar Award Winner for Best Novel"Highly intelligent entertainment, beautifully written with wit and humor." - Frances Fyfield"It grips like grim death." - The Spectator"Fremlin is a major mistress of insight and suspense." - The New York TimesIn this...
Read More check catalog
 
 
In Pieces

Sally Field - Grand Central Publishing
Format: Hardcover

In this intimate, haunting literary memoir, an American icon tells her story for the first time, and in her own gorgeous words--about a challenging and lonely childhood, the craft that helped her find her voice, and a powerful emotional legacy that shaped her journey as a daughter and a mother....
Read More check catalog