Back History | December Newsletter

SelectReads News
Simple News Pro
  History  
The Zimmermann Telegram

Barbara W Tuchman · Ballantine Books
Pages: 244
Format: Print book

The Proud Tower, the Pulitzer Prize-winning The Guns of August, and The Zimmermann Telegram comprise Barbara W. Tuchman's classic histories of the First World War era In January 1917, the war in Europe was, at best, a tragic standoff. Britain knew that all was lost unless the United...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Eight Amazing Engineering Stories: Using the Elements to Create Extraordinary Technologies

Bill Hammack · Articulate Noise Books
Pages: 202
Format: Paperback

Eight Amazing Engineering Stories reveals the stories behind how engineers use specific elements to create the material world around us. In eight chapters, the EngineerGuy team exposes the magnificence of the innovation and engineering of digital camera imagers, tiny accelerometers, atomic...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Teacher Wars: A History of America's Most Embattled Profession

Dana Goldstein · Doubleday
Pages: 349
Format: Print book

In her groundbreaking history of 175 years of American education, Dana Goldstein finds answers in the past to the controversies that plague our public schools today.Teaching is a wildly contentious profession in America, one attacked and admired in equal measure. In The Teacher Wars, a rich,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Pearl Harbor: FDR Leads the Nation Into War

Steven M. Gillon · Basic Books; First Edition edition
Format: Hardcover

Franklin D. Roosevelt famously called December 7, 1941, a date which will live in infamy. History would prove him correct the events of that daywhen the Japanese bombed Pearl Harborended the Great Depression, changed the course of FDRs presidency, and swept America into World War II. In Pearl...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Nagasaki: Life After Nuclear War

Susan Southard · Viking
Pages: 416
Format: Hardcover

A 2015 Washington Post Notable Book of the Year"A poignant and complex picture of the second atomic bomb's enduring physical and psychological tolls. Eyewitness accounts are visceral and haunting. . . . But the book's biggest achievement is its treatment of the aftershocks...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Legends & Lore of Western Pennsylvania

Thomas White · The History Press
Format: Print book

Oppaymolleahs curse. General Braddocks buried gold. The Original Man of Steel, Joe Magarac. Such legends have found a home among the rich folklore of Western Pennsylvania. Thomas White spins a beguiling yarn with tales that reach from the misty hollows of the Alleghenies to the lost islands...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Third War

Jay Solomon · Random House
Pages: 352
Format: Print book

For readers of Steve Coll's Ghost Wars and Lawrence Wright's The Looming Tower comes a riveting, deeply reported exploration of the decades-long power struggle between Iran and the United States that led to a historic - and potentially disastrous - nuclear deal. For more than a decade,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Revolutionary Russia, 1891-1991: A History

Orlando Figes · Holt & Company, Henry
Pages: 336
Format: Hardcover

From the author of A People's Tragedy, an original reading of the Russian Revolution, examining it not as a single event but as a hundred-year cycle of violence in pursuit of utopian dreamsIn this elegant and incisive account, Orlando Figes offers an illuminating new perspective on the Russian...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Electrifying Fall of Rainbow City: Spectacle and Assassination at the 1901 World's Fair

Margaret S Creighton · W.W. Norton & Company
Pages: 352
Format: Print book

The Pan American Exposition in Buffalo, New York, meant to herald the twentieth century, went tragically, spectacularly awry.In 1901, Buffalo was the eighth-largest city in the United States, and its leaders had big dreams. They would host a world's fair, showcasing the Americas, and bring...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Secondhand Time: The Last of the Soviets

Svetlana Alexievich · Random House
Pages: 496
Format: Hardcover

NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER * The magnum opus and latest work from Svetlana Alexievich, the 2015 winner of the Nobel Prize in Literature - a symphonic oral history about the disintegration of the Soviet Union and the emergence of a new RussiaNAMED ONE OF THE TEN BEST BOOKS OF THE YEAR BY THE WASHINGTON...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Mathews Men: Seven Brothers and the War Against Hitler's U-boats

William Geroux · Viking
Pages: 400
Format: Print book

"Vividly drawn and emotionally gripping." - Daniel James Brown, #1 New York Times bestselling author of The Boys in the BoatOne of the last unheralded heroic stories of World War II: the U-boat assault off the American coast against the men of the U.S. Merchant Marine who were...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Philomena: A Mother, Her Son, and a Fifty-Year Search

Martin Sixsmith · Penguin Books
Pages: 448
Format: Paperback

New York Times BestsellerNow a major motion picture starring Judi Dench and Steve Coogan and nominated for four Academy Awards: the heartbreaking true story of an Irishwoman and the secret she kept for 50 yearsWhen she became pregnant as a teenager in Ireland in 1952, Philomena Lee was sent...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Romanov Sisters: The Lost Lives of the Daughters of Nicholas and Alexandra

Helen Rappaport · St Martins Pr
Pages: 492
Format: Print book

A New York Times Bestseller for 12 weeks! "Helen Rappaport paints a compelling portrait of the doomed grand duchesses." -- People magazine"The public spoke of the sisters in a gentile, superficial manner, but Rappaport captures sections of letters and diary entries to showcase...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Month that Changed the World: July 1914

Gordon Martel · Oxford University Press
Format: Print book

On June 28, 1914, the Austrian Archduke Franz Ferdinand was assassinated in the Balkans. Five fateful weeks later the Great Powers of Europe were at war. Much time and ink has been spent ever since trying to identify the 'guilty' person or state responsible, or alternatively attempting...
Read More check catalog