Back History | May Newsletter

SelectReads News
Simple News Pro
  History  
Before the Storm: Barry Goldwater and the Unmaking of the American Consensus

Rick Perlstein · Nation Books
Pages: 671
Format: Paperback

Acclaimed historian Rick Perlstein chronicles the rise of the conservative movement in the liberal 1960s. At the heart of the story is Barry Goldwater, the renegade Republican from Arizona who loathed federal government, despised liberals, and mocked "peaceful coexistence" with...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Neptune's Inferno: The U.S. Navy at Guadalcanal

James D. Hornfischer · Bantam; First edition
Format: Hardcover

With The Last Stand of the Tin Can Sailors and Ship of Ghosts James D Hornfischer created essential and enduring narratives about Americarsquos World War II Navy works of unique immediacy distinguished by rich portraits of ordinary men in extremis and exclusive new information Now he does...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Geronimo: The True Story of America's Most Ferocious Warrior

Geronimo · Skyhorse Publishing
Pages: 123
Format: Paperback

Read More check catalog
 
 
A Perfect Mess: The Unlikely Ascendancy of American Higher Education

David F Labaree · University Of Chicago Press
Pages: 240
Format: Hardcover

Read the news about America's colleges and universities - rising student debt, affirmative action debates, and conflicts between faculty and administrators - and it's clear that higher education in this country is a total mess. But as David F. Labaree reminds us in this book, it's...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Secondhand Time: The Last of the Soviets

Svetlana Alexievich · Random House
Pages: 496
Format: Hardcover

NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER * The magnum opus and latest work from Svetlana Alexievich, the 2015 winner of the Nobel Prize in Literature - a symphonic oral history about the disintegration of the Soviet Union and the emergence of a new RussiaNAMED ONE OF THE TEN BEST BOOKS OF THE YEAR BY THE WASHINGTON...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Dark Forces: The Truth About What Happened in Benghazi

Kenneth R. Timmerman · Broadside Books
Format: Hardcover

The New York Times bestselling author of Shadow Warriors investigates the tragedy of Benghazi to answer the questions: what really happened - and why?We know the Obama administration's story, of a demonstration caused by an Internet movie that went out of control. But what actually...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Heart of Everything That Is: The Untold Story of Red Cloud, An American Legend

Bob Drury · Simon & Schuster; First Edition edition
Format: Hardcover

NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLERAn astonishing untold story of the American West The great Sioux warrior-statesman Red Cloud was the only American Indian in history to defeat the United States Army in a war, forcing the government to sue for peace on his terms. At the peak of Red Cloud's powers...
Read More check catalog
 
 
On the Backroad to Heaven: Old Order Hutterites, Mennonites, Amish, and Brethren

Donald B. Kraybill · The Johns Hopkins University Press; 1St Edition edition
Pages: 352
Format: Hardcover

On the Backroad to Heaven is a unique guidebook to the world of Old Order Anabaptist groups. Focusing on four Old Order communities -- the Hutterites, Mennonites, Amish, and Brethren -- Donald B. Kraybill and Carl Desportes Bowman provide a fascinating overview of their culture, growth,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Prince Charles: The Passions and Paradoxes of an Improbable Life

Sally Bedell Smith · Random House
Pages: 596
Format: Hardcover

NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER * The life and loves of Prince Charles are illuminated in a major new biography from the New York Times bestselling author of Elizabeth the Queen - perfect for fans of The Crown. Sally Bedell Smith returns once again to the British royal family to give us a new look...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Pearl Harbor: FDR Leads the Nation Into War

Steven M. Gillon · Basic Books; First Edition edition
Format: Hardcover

Franklin D. Roosevelt famously called December 7, 1941, a date which will live in infamy. History would prove him correct the events of that daywhen the Japanese bombed Pearl Harborended the Great Depression, changed the course of FDRs presidency, and swept America into World War II. In Pearl...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Thief-Taker Hangings: How Daniel Defoe, Jonathan Wild, and Jack Sheppard Captivated London and Created the Celebrity Criminal

Aaron Skirboll · Globe Pequot Press
Format: Hardcover

After the Glorious Revolution, a not so glorious age of lawlessness befell England. Crime ran rampant, and highwaymen, thieves, and prostitutes ruled the land. Execution by hanging often punished the smallest infractions, and rip-roaring stories of fearless criminals proliferated, giving...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Hue 1968: A Turning Point of the American War in Vietnam

Mark Bowden · Atlantic Monthly Press
Pages: 608
Format: Hardcover

Not since his #1 New York Times bestseller Black Hawk Down has Mark Bowden written a book about a battle. His most ambitious work yet, Hue 1968 is the story of the centerpiece of the Tet Offensive and a turning point in the American War in Vietnam. By January 1968, despite an influx of half...
Read More check catalog