Back Biographies & Memoirs | January Newsletter

SelectReads News
Simple News Pro
  Biographies & Memoirs  
Robin

Dave Itzkoff · Henry Holt and Co.
Pages: 544
Format: Hardcover

From New York Times culture reporter Dave Itzkoff, the definitive biography of Robin Williams - a compelling portrait of one of America's most beloved and misunderstood entertainers.From his rapid-fire stand-up comedy riffs to his breakout role in Mork & Mindy and his Academy Award-winning...
Read More check catalog
 
 
You Don't Have to Say You Love Me: A Memoir

Sherman Alexie · Little, Brown and Company
Pages: 464
Format: Hardcover

The Instant New York Times BestsellerOne of the most anticipated books of 2017--Entertainment Weekly and Bustle A searing, deeply moving memoir about family, love, loss, and forgiveness from the critically acclaimed, bestselling National Book Award-winning author of The Absolutely True...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Rebbe: The Life and Teachings of Menachem M. Schneerson, the Most Influential Rabbi in Modern History

Joseph Telushkin · HarperWave
Format: Hardcover

One of the greatest religious biographies ever written. Dennis PragerIn this enlightening biography, Joseph Telushkin offers a captivating portrait of the late Rabbi Menachem Mendel Schneerson, a towering figure who saw beyond conventional boundaries to turn his movement, Chabad-Lubavitch,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Little Soldiers: An American Boy, a Chinese School, and the Global Race to Achieve

LENORA CHU · Harper
Pages: 347
Format: Hardcover

New York Times Book Review Editor's Choice; Real Simple Best of the Month; Library Journal Editors' PickIn the spirit of Battle Hymn of the Tiger Mother, Bringing up Bébé, and The Smartest Kids in the World, a hard-hitting exploration of China's widely acclaimed yet insular education...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Comfort Food Diaries

Emily Nunn · Atria Books
Pages: 320
Format: Hardcover

In the tradition of Elizabeth Gilbert and Ruth Reichl, former New Yorker editor Emily Nunn chronicles her journey to heal old wounds and find comfort in the face of loss through travel, home-cooked food, and the company of friends and family.One life-changing night, reeling from her beloved...
Read More check catalog
 
 
American Heiress: The Wild Saga of the Kidnapping, Crimes and Trial of Patty Hearst

Jeffrey Toobin · Doubleday
Pages: 371
Format: Print book

From New Yorker staff writer and bestselling author of The Nine and The Run of His Life: The People v. O. J. Simpson, the definitive account of the kidnapping and trial that defined an insane era in American history On February 4, 1974, Patty Hearst, a sophomore in college and heiress...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Believer: My Forty Years in Politics

David Axelrod · Penguin Press
Pages: 528
Format: Hardcover

New York Times Book Review"A stout defense--indeed, the best I have read--of the Obama years."A New York Times BestsellerDavid Axelrod has always been a believer. Whether as a young journalist investigating city corruption, a campaign consultant guiding underdog candidates against...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Price of Fame: The Honorable Clare Boothe Luce

Sylvia Jukes Morris · Random House
Format: Hardcover

“I hope I shall have ambition until the day I die,” Clare Boothe Luce told her biographer Sylvia Jukes Morris. Price of Fame, the concluding volume of the life of an exceptionally brilliant polymath, chronicles Luce’s progress from the early months of World War II, when,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Autobiography of Malcolm X

Malcolm X · Ballantine Books
Pages: 544
Format: Print book

ONE OF TIME'S TEN MOST IMPORTANT NONFICTION BOOKS OF THE TWENTIETH CENTURY With its first great victory in the landmark Supreme Court decision Brown v. Board of Education in 1954, the civil rights movement gained the powerful momentum it needed to sweep forward into its crucial decade,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Some Enchanted Evenings: The Glittering Life and Times of Mary Martin

David Kaufman · St. Martin's Press
Pages: 432
Format: Print book

Mary Martin was one of the greatest stars of her day. Growing up in Texas, she was married early to Benjamin Hagman and gave birth to her first child, Larry Hagman. She was divorced even more quickly. Martin left little Larry with her parents and took off for Hollywood. She didn't make...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Patient H.M.: A Story of Memory, Madness, and Family Secrets

Luke Dittrich · Random House
Pages: 440
Format: Print book

"Oliver Sacks meets Stephen King"* in this propulsive, haunting journey into the life of the most studied human research subject of all time, the amnesic known as Patient H.M., a man who forever altered our understanding of how memory works - and whose treatment raises deeply...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Helen Keller: A Life

Dorothy Herrmann · Knopf
Pages: 394
Format: Book

Helen Keller couldn't hear, couldn't see, and, at first, couldn't speak. Three decades after her death in 1968, she has become a symbol of the indomitable human spirit, and she remains a legendary figure. With her zest for life and learning--and her strength and courage--she...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Not My Mother's Kitchen: Rediscovering Italian-American Cooking Through Stories and Recipes

Rob Chirico · Charlesbridge
Pages: 240
Format: Print book

Serving up a tale that is part memoir and part cookbook, acclaimed foodie Rob Chirico shares his culinary journey after growing up with an Italian-American mother who was hopeless in the kitchen.Rob Chirico learned to cook as a defense against his mother's awful meals. After discover-ing...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Unremarried Widow: A Memoir

Artis Henderson · Simon & Schuster; Reprint edition
Format: Paperback

A frank, poignant memoir about an unlikely marriage, a tragic death in Iraq, and the soul-testing work of picking up the pieces People in the tradition of such powerful bestsellers as Joan Didions The Year of Magical Thinking and Carole Radziwills What Remains. Artis Henderson was a free-spirited...
Read More check catalog
 
 
So, Anyway...

John Cleese · Crown Archetype
Pages: 392
Format: Hardcover

John Cleese's huge comedic influence has stretched across generations; his sharp irreverent eye and the unique brand of physical comedy he perfected with Monty Python, on Fawlty Towers, and beyond now seem written into comedy's DNA. In this rollicking memoir, So, Anyway ... , Cleese takes...
Read More check catalog