Back Biographies & Memoirs | May Newsletter

SelectReads News
Simple News Pro
  Biographies & Memoirs  
Diana: Closely Guarded Secret

Ken Wharfe · John Blake Publishing Ltd
Pages: 288
Format: Print book

Inspector Ken Wharfe, the first royalty protection officer to publish a memoir, was a crucial figure in the life of Diana, Princess of Wales, for nearly seven years. In that time, he became a close friend and trusted confidant who shared her most private moments. His first-hand contradicts...
Read More check catalog
 
 
9 1/2 Narrow: My Life in Shoes

Patricia Morrisroe · Gotham
Format: Hardcover

A funny, poignant coming-of-age memoir told through the shoes that she wore. From baby booties to orthopedic brogues (and all the high and low heels in between) shoes mark important rites of passage, reminding us of both the good and bad times: the road not taken, the prince that got away,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Hissing Cousins: The Untold Story of Eleanor Roosevelt and Alice Roosevelt Longworth

Marc N Peyser · Nan A. Talese / Doubleday
Pages: 332
Format: Print book

A lively and provocative double biography of first cousins Eleanor Roosevelt and Alice Roosevelt Longworth, two extraordinary women whose tangled lives provide a sweeping look at the twentieth century. When Theodore Roosevelt became president in 1901, his beautiful and flamboyant daughter...
Read More check catalog
 
 
So, Anyway...

John Cleese · Crown Archetype
Pages: 392
Format: Hardcover

John Cleese's huge comedic influence has stretched across generations; his sharp irreverent eye and the unique brand of physical comedy he perfected with Monty Python, on Fawlty Towers, and beyond now seem written into comedy's DNA. In this rollicking memoir, So, Anyway ... , Cleese takes...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Comfort Food Diaries

Emily Nunn · Atria Books
Pages: 320
Format: Hardcover

In the tradition of Elizabeth Gilbert and Ruth Reichl, former New Yorker editor Emily Nunn chronicles her journey to heal old wounds and find comfort in the face of loss through travel, home-cooked food, and the company of friends and family.One life-changing night, reeling from her beloved...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Rocks: My Life in and out of Aerosmith

Joe Perry · Simon & Schuster; 1St Edition edition
Format: Hardcover

An insightful and harrowing roller coaster ride through the career of one of rock and rolls greatest guitarists. Strap yourself in. —Slash Rocking Joe Perry rocks again! —Jimmy Page Before the platinum records or the Super Bowl half-time show or the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame, Joe Perry...
Read More check catalog
 
 
American Heiress: The Wild Saga of the Kidnapping, Crimes and Trial of Patty Hearst

Jeffrey Toobin · Doubleday
Pages: 371
Format: Print book

From New Yorker staff writer and bestselling author of The Nine and The Run of His Life: The People v. O. J. Simpson, the definitive account of the kidnapping and trial that defined an insane era in American history On February 4, 1974, Patty Hearst, a sophomore in college and heiress...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Grand Tour: Around the World with the Queen of Mystery

Agatha Christie · William Morrow Paperbacks
Pages: 376
Format: Paperback

Agatha Christie is the most widely published author of all time, outsold only by the Bible and Shakespeare. Now, in this fascinating travelogue of the prolific author's yearlong trip around the British Empire in 1922, Christie provides the clues to the origins of the plots and locales...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Agent M: The Lives and Spies of MI5's Maxwell Knight

Henry Hemming · PublicAffairs
Pages: 320
Format: Print book

Maxwell Knight was a paradox. A jazz obsessive and nature enthusiast (he is the author of the definitive work on how to look after a gorilla) , he is seen today as one of MI5's greatest spymasters, a man who did more than any other to break up British fascism during the Second World War - in spite...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Word by Word: The Secret Life of Dictionaries

Kory Stamper · Pantheon Books
Pages: 320
Format: Print book

Brimming with intelligence and personality, a vastly entertaining account of how dictionaries are made - a must read for word mavens. While most of us might take dictionaries for granted, the process of writing them is in fact as lively and dynamic as language itself. With sharp wit and irreverence,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Dog Who Could Fly: The Incredible True Story of a WWII Airman and the Four-Legged Hero Who Flew At His Side

Damien Lewis · Atria Books; Reprint edition
Format: Paperback

A thoroughly enjoyable story of heroism and true friendship Publishers Weekly, starred review, this Sunday Times top ten bestseller is the true account of a German shepherd who was adopted by the Royal Air Force during World War II, flying countless combat missions and surviving everything...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Sailor and Fiddler: Reflections of a 100-Year-Old Author

Herman Wouk · Simon & Schuster, 2016.
Pages: 137
Format: Print book

In an unprecedented literary accomplishment, Herman Wouk, one of America's most beloved and enduring authors, reflects on his life and times from the remarkable vantage point of 100 years old.Many years ago, the great British philosopher Sir Isaiah Berlin urged Herman Wouk to write his autobiography....
Read More check catalog
 
 
Put on Your Crown: Life-Changing Moments on the Path to Queendom

Queen Latifah · Grand Central Publishing; 1 edition
Format: Hardcover

Modeled after Maria Shriver's Just Who Will You Be, Queen Latifah's goal with Put On Your Crown is to help young women build a strong sense of self-esteem. A US Dept. of Justice survey found that females ages 16-24 are more vulnerable to partner violence than any other group, almost...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Dancing with Myself

Billy Idol · Touchstone
Format: Hardcover

I am hopelessly divided between the dark and the good, the rebel and the saint, the sex maniac and the monk, the poet and the priest, the demagogue and the populist. Pen to paper, Ive put it all down, every bit from the heart.Im going out on a limb here, so watch my back. —Billy Idol...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Carsick: John Waters Hitchhikes Across America

John Waters · Farrar, Straus & Giroux
Pages: 322
Format: Hardcover

A cross-country hitchhiking journey with America's most beloved weirdoJohn Waters is putting his life on the line. Armed with wit, a pencil-thin mustache, and a cardboard sign that reads "I'm Not Psycho," he hitchhikes across America from Baltimore to San Francisco, braving...
Read More check catalog