Back Outdoors & Nature | December Newsletter

SelectReads News
Simple News Pro
  Outdoors & Nature  
Beginning Beekeeping

Tanya Phillips · Alpha Books
Pages: 192
Format: Print book

Beginning Beekeeping is a simple, straightforward approach that gives you the basics to get started with beekeeping, while following a balanced, objective approach that weighs the pros and cons of conventional and organic methodologies. Featuring more than 120 beautiful color photos, this...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Furry Logic: The Physics of Animal Life

Matin Durrani · Bloomsbury SIGMA
Pages: 304
Format: Print book

The principles of physics lie behind many of the ways animals go about their daily lives. Scientists have discovered that the way cats and dogs lap up liquids can be explained by the laws of surface tension, how ants navigate is due to polarized light, and why pistol shrimps can generate...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Sleeps with Dogs: Tales of a Pet Nanny at the End of Her Leash

Lindsey Grant · Seal Press
Format: Book

Go behind closed doors and discover the secret lives of some of the most devoted pet owners, whether they're serving their dogs filtered water or leaving Animal Planet on all day to keep their pets company.As a round-the-clock animal nanny, Lindsey Grant spent her nights with countless...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Penguin the Magpie: The Odd Little Bird Who Saved a Family

Cameron Bloom · Atria Books
Pages: 208
Format: Hardcover

Penguin the Magpie is the extraordinary true story of recovery, hope, and courage as one injured bird and her human family learn to heal and celebrate life, featuring the gorgeous photography of Cameron Bloom and a captivating narrative by New York Times bestselling author of The Blue Day Book...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Mammoth Cave Curiosities: A Guide to Rockphobia, Dating, Saber-toothed Cats, and Other Subterranean Marvels

Colleen O'Connor Olson · University Press of Kentucky
Pages: 264
Format: Print book

Sir Elton John, blind fish, the original Twinkie, President Ronald Reagan's Secret Service detail, and mummies don't usually come up in the same conversation -- unless you're at Mammoth Cave National Park! Home to the earth's longest known cave system, this UNESCO World...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Rescuing Penny Jane: One Shelter Volunteer, Countless Dogs, and the Quest to Find Them All Homes

Amy Sutherland · Harpercollins
Pages: 288
Format: Print book

Drawing on her work at a shelter, her experiences living with two rescue dogs of her own, and years of research, bestselling author and Boston Globe columnist Amy Sutherland takes us on an unforgettable journey into the special world of rescue and shelter dogs - and the growing number of dedicated...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Cat Encyclopedia

DK · DK
Format: Hardcover

More than 86 million Americans own at least one cat (that's 10 million more than own a dog) . Cats are truly Americans' favorite pets. Offering everything you need to know about cats in one easy-reference volume, The Cat Encyclopedia features stunning photographs of cat breeds...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Seven Skeletons: The Evolution of the World's Most Famous Human Fossils

Lydia V Pyne · Viking
Pages: 288
Format: Print book

An irresistible journey of discovery, science, history, and myth making, told through the lives and afterlives of seven famous human ancestorsOver the last century, the search for human ancestors has spanned four continents and resulted in the discovery of hundreds of fossils. While most...
Read More check catalog
 
 
I Could Pee on This, Too: And More Poems by More Cats

Francesco Marciuliano · Chronicle Books
Pages: 112
Format: Print book

There's a new cat in town! This feisty sibling of the international bestseller I Could Pee on This will be making its own sensational mark in the cat-poetry world. I Could Pee on This, Too explores fresh feline emotions and philosophical musings through cats' own poetry, such as "Welcome...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Will's red coat : a story of friendship, faith, and one old dog's choice to live again

Tom Ryan · William Morrow
Pages: 288
Format: Hardcover

A true story of acceptance, perseverance, and the possibility of love and redemption as evocative, charming, and powerful as the New York Times bestseller Following Atticus.Drawn by an online post, Tom Ryan adopted Will, a frightened, deaf, and mostly blind elderly dog, and brought him home...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Sad animal facts.

Brooke Barker · Flatiron Books
Format:  Print book : EnglishView all editions and formats

Read More check catalog
 
 
John James Audubon: The Nature of the American Woodsman

Gregory H Nobles · University of Pennsylvania Press
Pages: 330
Format: Hardcover

John James Audubon's The Birds of America stands as an unparalleled achievement in American art, a huge book that puts nature dramatically on the page. With that work, Audubon became one of the most adulated artists of his time, and America's first celebrity scientist.In this fresh...
Read More check catalog
 
 
How to Tame a Fox (and Build a Dog) : Visionary Scientists and a Siberian Tale of Jump-Started Evolution

LEE ALAN DUGATKIN · UNIV OF CHICAGO Press
Pages: 240
Format: Hardcover

Tucked away in Siberia, there are furry, four-legged creatures with wagging tails and floppy ears that are as docile and friendly as any lapdog. But, despite appearances, these are not dogs - they are foxes. They are the result of the most astonishing experiment in breeding ever undertaken...
Read More check catalog
 
 
A Garden of Marvels: How We Discovered that Flowers Have Sex, Leaves Eat Air, and Other Secrets of Plants

Ruth Kassinger · HarperCollins Publishers
Pages: 395
Format: Print book

In the tradition of The Botany of Desire and Wicked Plants, a witty and engaging history of the first botanists interwoven with stories of today's extraordinary plants found in the garden and the lab.In Paradise Under Glass, Ruth Kassinger recounted with grace and humor her journey from...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Bespotted: My Family's Love Affair with Thirty-Eight Dalmatians

Linda Gray Sexton · Counterpoint
Format: Hardcover

The Sexton family's long love affair with the Dalmatian began in Linda's childhood. There, on a snowy morning in the family home just outside Boston, LInda heard a whimpering coming from the basement. She discovered their first family dog giving birth to a litter. Witnessing the intimate...
Read More check catalog