Back Science | December Newsletter

SelectReads News
Simple News Pro
  Science  
Citizen Canine: Our Evolving Relationship with Cats and Dogs

David Grimm · Perseus Books Group
Pages: 337
Format: Hardcover

Dogs are getting lawyers. Cats are getting kidney transplants. Could they one day be fellow citizens?Cats and dogs were once wild animals. Today, they are family members and surrogate children. A little over a century ago, pets didn't warrant the meager legal status of property. Now, they...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Peterson Field Guide to Finding Mammals in North America

Vladimir Dinets · Houghton Mifflin Harcourt
Format: Print book

Peterson The best-selling field guides of all time To see a fog shrew, should you go to Muir Woods National Monument? If you're planning to visit Yellowstone National Park, what animals can you expect to see? When should a photographer visit to get a shot of a gray fox? A mammal...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Peterson Reference Guide to the Behavior of North American Mammals

Mark Elbroch · Houghton Mifflin Harcourt; 1 edition
Format: Hardcover

Oftentimes when we glimpse an animal in the wild, we have no idea what weve seen. We want to know, and field guides are an ideal aid for identification. But when we want to know more about the lives of these animals—their natural histories, their place in the larger ecological community,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Mind-Gut Connection: How the Hidden Conversation Within Our Bodies Impacts Our Mood, Our Choices, and Our Overall Health

Emeran Mayer · Harper Wave
Pages: 309
Format: Print book

Combining cutting-edge neuroscience with the latest discoveries on the human microbiome, a practical guide in the tradition of The Second Brain, and The Good Gut that conclusively demonstrates the inextricable, biological link between mind and the digestive system.We have all experienced...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Mercy of the Sky: The Story of a Tornado

Holly Bailey · Viking
Format: Hardcover

"A gripping, heartbreaking and heartwarming account of the monster tornado that ravaged Moore, Oklahoma in 2013." --Daniel James Brown, #1 NY Times bestselling author of The Boys in the Boat An acclaimed reporter returns to her hometown after the worst twister on record and emerges...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Local: The New Face of Food and Farming in America

Douglas Gayeton · Harper Design
Format: Hardcover

Combining stunning visuals with insights and a lexicon of more than 200 agricultural terms explained by today's thought leaders, Local showcases and explores one of the most popular environmental trends: rebuilding local food movements.When Douglas Gayeton took his young daughter to see the salmon...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Genius of Birds

Jennifer Ackerman · Penguin Press
Pages: 352
Format: Hardcover

Birds are astonishingly intelligent creatures. According to revolutionary new research, some birds rival primates and even humans in their remarkable forms of intelligence. In The Genius of Birds, acclaimed author Jennifer Ackerman explores the newly discovered brilliance of birds. As she travels...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Children's Blizzard

David Laskin · HarperCollins
Pages: 307
Format: Print book

The gripping story of an epic prairie snowstorm that killed hundreds of newly arrived settlers and cast a shadow on the promise of the American frontier.January 12, 1888, began as an unseasonably warm morning across Nebraska, the Dakotas, and Minnesota, the weather so mild that children...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Virtual Unreality: Just Because the Internet Told You, How Do You Know It’s True?

Charles Seife · Viking
Format: Hardcover

The bestselling author of Proofiness and Zero explains how to separate fact from fantasy in the digital worldDigital information is a powerful tool that spreads unbelievably rapidly, infects all corners of society, and is all but impossible to controleven when that information is actually...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Rain : a natural and cultural history

Cynthia Barnett · Crown Publishers
Pages: 355
Format: Print book

"Cynthia Barnett's "Rain" begins four billion years ago with the torrents that filled the oceans, and builds to the storms of climate change. It weaves together science--the true shape of a raindrop, the mysteries of frog and fish rains--with the human story of our ambition...
Read More check catalog
 
 
A Universe from Nothing: Why There Is Something Rather than Nothing

Lawrence M. Krauss · Atria Books; First Edition edition
Format: Hardcover

WHERE DID THE UNIVERSE COME FROM WHAT WAS THERE BEFORE IT WHAT WILL THE FUTURE BRING AND FINALLY WHY IS THERE SOMETHING RATHER THAN NOTHING Lawrence Krausss provocative answers to these and other timeless questions in a wildly popular lecture now on YouTube have attracted almost a million...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Coal and Empire: The Birth of Energy Security in Industrial America

Peter A. Shulman · Johns Hopkins University Press
Pages: 336
Format: Hardcover

Since the early twentieth century, Americans have associated oil with national security. From World War I to American involvement in the Middle East, this connection has seemed a self-evident truth. But as Peter A. Shulman argues, Americans had to learn to think about the geopolitics of energy...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Children's Blizzard (P.S.)

David Laskin · Harper Perennial; 3rdr Harper Pe edition
Pages: 336
Format: Paperback

Thousands of impoverished Northern European immigrants were promised that the prairie offered "land, freedom, and hope." The disastrous blizzard of 1888 revealed that their free homestead was not a paradise but a hard, unforgiving place governed by natural forces they neither...
Read More check catalog