Back Science | March Newsletter

SelectReads News
Simple News Pro
  Science  
A Sting in the Tale: My Adventures with Bumblebees

Dave Goulson · Picador, 2014. ©2014
Pages: 256
Format: Print book

A FACINATING TRAVEL MEMOIR THAT WILL ALTER THE WAY YOU THINK ABOUT THE BUMBLEBEEDave Goulson became obsessed with wildlife as a small boy growing up in rural Shropshire, starting with an increasingly exotic menagerie of pets. When his interest turned to the anatomical, there were even some...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Folks, This Ain't Normal: A Farmer's Advice for Happier Hens, Healthier People, and a Better World

Joel Salatin · Center Street; 1 edition
Format: Hardcover

From farmer Joel Salatins point of view life in the st century just aint normal In FOLKS THIS AINT NORMAL he discusses how far removed we are from the simple sustainable joy that comes from living close to the land and the people we love Salatin has many thoughts on what normal is and shares...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Pocket Book of Weather: Entertaining and Remarkable Facts About Our Weather

Michael Bright · Bloomsbury USA; 1 edition
Format: Hardcover

Featuring three thousand essential facts and figures, illustrated with more than fifty color photographs and diagrams, this entertaining and informative guide explains how the weather shapes our planet and affects all our lives. From the weather you face each day to the glory of rainbows...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Children's Blizzard (P.S.)

David Laskin · Harper Perennial; 3rdr Harper Pe edition
Pages: 336
Format: Paperback

Thousands of impoverished Northern European immigrants were promised that the prairie offered "land, freedom, and hope." The disastrous blizzard of 1888 revealed that their free homestead was not a paradise but a hard, unforgiving place governed by natural forces they neither...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Meteorology Manual: The Practical Guide to the Weather

Storm Dunlop · Haynes Publishing UK; First edition
Format: Book

Meteorology Manual follows a similar concept to the well-received Astronomy Manual, aiming to provide an easy-to-read introduction for newcomers to the subject, while providing a sufficient level of detail to prove useful to those who also have a basic understanding of the subject. This...
Read More check catalog
 
 
ProQuest Statistical Abstract of the United States 2015

Bernan Press · Bernan Press; 1 edition
Format: Hardcover

Questions come across the reference desk on all topics: Questions come across the reference desk on all topics: How many hate crimes were there in 2012? How many college lacrosse teams are there? Do you have the GDP for the U.S. for the past 10 (or so) years? How many people use social...
Read More check catalog
 
 
An introduction to heritage breeds

D Phillip Sponenberg; Jeannette Beranger; Alison Martin · Storey Publishing
Pages: 240
Format: Print book

Heritage breeds matter, and they are often a better choice than conventional breeds for small farms and backyards. This eloquent, inviting, visual guide explains why conserving heritage breeds is important and shows you how you can raise these breeds yourself, helping to preserve them...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Backyard Farming on an Acre

Angela England · ALPHA
Pages: 432
Format: Paperback

Plan and plant a successful and sustainable backyard farm — from a quarter acre to a full acre and beyond — right in your own backyard. By raising and harvesting their own fruits, vegetables, chickens, bees, milk-bearing animals, and more, people are growing locally, sustainably, and at a fraction...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Inside of a Dog: What Dogs See, Smell, and Know

Alexandra Horowitz · Scribner
Pages: 353
Format: Book

The bestselling book that asks what dogs know and how they think. The answers will surprise and delight you as Alexandra Horowitz, a cognitive scientist, explains how dogs perceive their daily worlds, each other, and that other quirky animal, the human.Temple Grandin meets Stephen Pinker...
Read More check catalog
 
 
An Introduction to Heritage Breeds: Saving and Raising Rare-Breed Livestock and Poultry

D Phillip Sponenberg · Workman Pub Co
Pages: 239
Format: Hardcover

Heritage breeds matter, and they are often a better choice than conventional breeds for small farms and backyards. This eloquent, inviting, visual guide explains why conserving heritage breeds is important and shows you how you can raise these breeds yourself, helping to preserve them and benefiting...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Mind-Gut Connection: How the Hidden Conversation Within Our Bodies Impacts Our Mood, Our Choices, and Our Overall Health

Emeran Mayer · Harper Wave
Pages: 309
Format: Print book

Combining cutting-edge neuroscience with the latest discoveries on the human microbiome, a practical guide in the tradition of The Second Brain, and The Good Gut that conclusively demonstrates the inextricable, biological link between mind and the digestive system.We have all experienced...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Astrophysics for People in a Hurry

NEIL DEGRASSE TYSON · W. W. Norton & Company
Pages: 222
Format: Hardcover

The #1 New York Times Bestseller: The essential universe, from our most celebrated and beloved astrophysicist.What is the nature of space and time? How do we fit within the universe? How does the universe fit within us? There's no better guide through these mind-expanding questions than...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Human Anatomy

DK · DK
Format: Hardcover

For students of anatomy, biology, and the biomedical sciences; medical professionals; and curious families, DK's Human Anatomy will be a definitive resource. Written by acclaimed anatomist, Dr. Alice Roberts, Human Anatomy is an up-to-the-minute study of the body. Spectacular digital...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Greatest Story Ever Told--So Far: Why Are We Here?

Lawrence M Krauss · Atria Books
Pages: 336
Format: Print book

Internationally renowned, award-winning theoretical physicist, New York Times bestselling author of A Universe from Nothing, and passionate advocate for reason, Lawrence Krauss tells the dramatic story of the discovery of the hidden world of reality - a grand poetic vision of nature - and how we find...
Read More check catalog