Back Biographies & Memoirs | August Newsletter

SelectReads News
Simple News Pro
  Biographies & Memoirs  
Lincoln's Bishop: A President, A Priest, and the Fate of 300 Dakota Sioux Warriors

Gustav Niebuhr · HarperOne
Format: Book

In the tradition of Doris Kearns Goodwin's Team of Rivals comes Gustav Niebuhr's compelling history of Abraham Lincoln's decision in 1862 to spare the lives of 265 condemned Sioux men, and the Episcopal bishop who was his moral compass, helping guide the president's conscience.More...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Neil Armstrong: A Life of Flight

Jay Barbree · Thomas Dunne Books; First Edition ~1st Printing edition
Format: Hardcover

Much has been written about Neil Armstrong, Americas modern hero, historys most famous space traveler, and the first man to walk on the moon. Yet shy of fame and never one to steal the spotlight Armstrong was always reluctant to discuss his personal side of events. Here for the first time...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Out of the Depths: An Unforgettable WWII Story of Survival, Courage, and the Sinking of the USS Indianapolis

Edgar USMC Harrell · Bethany House Publishers
Pages: 189
Format: Hardcover

The Inspiring Story of a World War II Hero's Miraculous Survival at SeaJuly 30, 1945--The USS Indianapolis and its 1,196-man crew is making its way toward a small island in the South Pacific. The ship is sailing unescorted, assured by headquarters the waters are safe. It is midnight,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Fatal Friends, Deadly Neighbors: Ann Rule's Crime Files Volume 16

Ann Rule · Pocket Books; a edition
Format: Print book

1 New York Times bestselling author and queen of true crime Ann Rules sixteenth volume in her True Crime Files series, Deadly Neighbors delves into the unsolved case of a billionaires son mysteriously falling off a balcony to his death and more. In July 2011, billionaire Jonah Shacknais...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Brothers Forever: The Enduring Bond between a Marine and a Navy SEAL that Transcended Their Ultimate Sacrifice

Tom Sileo · Da Capo Press
Pages: 278
Format: Hardcover

Four weeks after Navy SEALs had killed Osama bin Laden, the President of the United States stood in Arlington National Cemetery. In his Memorial Day address, he extolled the courage and sacrifice of the two young men buried side by side in the graves before him: Travis Manion, a fallen...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Believer: My Forty Years in Politics

David Axelrod · Penguin Press
Pages: 528
Format: Hardcover

New York Times Book Review"A stout defense--indeed, the best I have read--of the Obama years."A New York Times BestsellerDavid Axelrod has always been a believer. Whether as a young journalist investigating city corruption, a campaign consultant guiding underdog candidates against...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Still Foolin' 'Em: Where I've Been, Where I'm Going, and Where the Hell Are My Keys?

Billy Crystal · Henry Holt and Co.; First Edition edition
Format: Hardcover

Hilarious and heartfelt observations on aging from one of America's favorite comedians as he turns 65, and a look back at a remarkable careerBilly Crystal is turning 65, and he's not happy about it. With his trademark wit and heart, he outlines the absurdities and challenges that...
Read More check catalog
 
 
I Heard My Country Calling: A Memoir

James Webb · Simon & Schuster
Pages: 388
Format: Hardcover

James Webb, author of Fields of Fire, the classic novel of the Vietnam War - former U.S. Senator; Secretary of the Navy; recipient of the Navy Cross, Silver Star and Purple Heart as a combat Marine; and a self-described "military brat" - has written an extraordinary memoir of his early...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Redeemer: The Life of Jimmy Carter

Randall Balmer · Basic Books
Pages: 273
Format: Hardcover

Evangelical Christianity and conservative politics are today seen as inseparable. But when Jimmy Carter, a Democrat and a born-again Christian, won the presidency in 1976, he owed his victory in part to American evangelicals, who responded to his open religiosity and his rejection of the moral...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Comfort Food Diaries

Emily Nunn · Atria Books
Pages: 320
Format: Hardcover

In the tradition of Elizabeth Gilbert and Ruth Reichl, former New Yorker editor Emily Nunn chronicles her journey to heal old wounds and find comfort in the face of loss through travel, home-cooked food, and the company of friends and family.One life-changing night, reeling from her beloved...
Read More check catalog