Back Teens | January Newsletter

SelectReads News
Simple News Pro
  Teens  
Tap Tap Boom Boom

Elizabeth Bluemle · Candlewick Press
Pages: 32
Format: Hardcover

When a thunderstorm hits a city street, children and grown-ups dash to the subway for shelter - and an impromptu friendly gathering. The clouds are gathering above a city street and soon - tap, tap, boom, boom! As a thunderstorm rolls in, people of all stripes race down to the subway...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Big Field

Mike Lupica · Philomel Books
Pages: 243
Format: Hardcover

FOR USE IN SCHOOLS AND LIBRARIES ONLY. Losing his spot as shortstop on the team to a new arrival named D-Will, Hutch finds the transition difficult, especially when his father, an ex-professional shortstop, starts giving his replacement all of his tips and attention.
Read More check catalog
 
 
Liars, Inc.

Paula Stokes · HarperTeen
Pages: 361
Format: Print book

A dark and twisted psychological tale, which Kirkus Reviews called "captivating to the very end" in a starred review - perfect for fans of I Hunt Killers and Gone Girl.Max Cantrell has never been a big fan of the truth, so when the opportunity arises to sell forged permission...
Read More check catalog
 
 
United as One

Pittacus Lore · HarperCollins
Pages: 416
Format: Print book

The seventh and final book in the #1 New York Times bestselling I Am Number Four series! With United as One, this action-packed series comes to a surprising, breathtaking, and utterly satisfying conclusion. The Garde didn't start this war, but they'll do whatever it takes to end it once...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Turkey

E. Kohen · Cavendish Square
Pages: 144
Format: Hardcover

Provides comprehensive information on the geography, history, wildlife, governmental structure, economy, cultural diversity, peoples, religion, and culture of Turkey.
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Mad Apprentice: The Forbidden Library: Volume 2

Django Wexler · Kathy Dawson Books
Pages: 335
Format: Print book

The dark and thrilling sequel to the book Kirkus called, "Harry Potter, Alice in Wonderland, and Inkheart all rolled into one"When Alice's mysterious Uncle Geryon sends her to help capture a rogue apprentice--a boy who has the same ability Alice has to Read himself into stories--she...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban

J.K. Rowling · Scholastic Inc.
Pages: 435
Format: Paperback

What We're Reading Now"Maybe reading isn’t the right word; ‘dismantling’ would perhaps be more accurate, because what makes this book so special is its mechanism... Rowling has a genius for structure. There’s structure on a grand scale, carried through seven books, with practically...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Learning to Swear in America

Katie Kennedy · Bloomsbury USA Childrens
Pages: 352
Format: Hardcover

A Summer/Fall 2016 Indies Introduce selectionAn asteroid is hurtling toward Earth. A big, bad one. Maybe not kill-all-the-dinosaurs bad, but at least kill-everyone-in-California-and-wipe-out-Japan-with-a-tsunami bad. Yuri, a physicist prodigy from Russia, has been recruited to aid NASA...
Read More check catalog
 
 
In the Shadows

Kiersten White · Scholastic, Incorporated
Pages: 384
Format: Hardcover

From the remarkable imagination of acclaimed artist Jim Di Bartolo and the exquisite pen of bestselling author Kiersten White comes a spellbinding story of love, mystery, and dark conspiracy, told in an alternating narrative of words and pictures.Cora and Minnie are sisters living in a small,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Multiple Sclerosis (Diseases & Disorders)

Melissa Abramovitz · Lucent Books; 1 edition
Pages: 112
Format: Hardcover

The Diseases & Disorders series offers young readers and researchers a means of understanding ailments and their ramifications. Clear, careful explanations offer insight into what these conditions are, what causes them, how people live with them, and the latest information about treatment...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Third Twin

CJ Omololu · Delacorte Press
Format: Hardcover

Identical twins. Identical DNA. Identical suspects. Its Pretty Little Liars meets Revenge in this edge-of-your-seat thriller with a shocking twist.When they were little, Lexi and her identical twin, Ava, made up a third sister, Alicia. If something broke? Alicia did it. Cookies got eaten?...
Read More check catalog
 
 
A Wrinkle in Time: 50th Anniversary Commemorative Edition

Madeleine L'Engle · Square Fish; Special edition, 50th Anniversary Commemorative Edition edition
Format: Paperback

Fifty years ago, Madeleine L'Engle introduced the world to A Wrinkle in Time and the wonderful and unforgettable characters Meg and Charles Wallace Murry, and their friend Calvin O'Keefe. When the children learn that Mr. Murry has been captured by the Dark Thing, they time travel...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Carve the Mark

Veronica Roth · Katherine Tegen Books
Pages: 468
Format: Print book

Fans of Star Wars and Divergent will revel in internationally bestselling author Veronica Roth's stunning new science-fiction fantasy series.On a planet where violence and vengeance rule, in a galaxy where some are favored by fate, everyone develops a currentgift, a unique power meant to shape...
Read More check catalog