Back Outdoors & Nature | May Newsletter

SelectReads News
Simple News Pro
  Outdoors & Nature  
Isaac's Storm : A Man, a Time, and the Deadliest Hurricane in History

Erik Larson · Crown Publishers
Pages: 323
Format: Book

At the dawn of the twentieth century, a great confidence suffused America. Isaac Cline was one of the era's new men, a scientist who believed he knew all there was to know about the motion of clouds and the behavior of storms. The idea that a hurricane could damage the city of Galveston,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Weather Experiment: The Pioneers Who Sought to See the Future

Peter Moore · Farrar, Straus and Giroux
Format: Hardcover

In 1865 Admiral Robert FitzRoy locked himself in his dressing room and cut his throat. His grand meteorological project had failed. Yet only a decade later, FitzRoy's storm warning system and "forecasts" would return, the model for what we use today.In an age when a storm...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Poison Spring: The Secret History of Pollution and the EPA

E.G. Vallianatos · Bloomsbury USA
Pages: 284
Format: Hardcover

Imagine walking into a restaurant and finding chlorinated hydrocarbon pesticides, or neonicotinoid insecticides listed in the description of your entree. They may not be printed in the menu, but many are in your food.These are a few of the literally millions of pounds of approved synthetic...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Catification: Designing a Happy and Stylish Home for Your Cat

Jackson Galaxy · Penguin Books
Pages: 291
Format: Book

A New York Times bestseller! The star of Animal Planet's hit television series My Cat from Hell, Jackson Galaxy, shows cat owners everywhere how to make their homes both cat-friendly and chic.Cat owners know the struggles of creating living spaces that are both functional and stylish for owner...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Animal Madness: How Anxious Dogs, Compulsive Parrots, and Elephants in Recovery Help Us Understand Ourselves

Laurel Braitman · Simon & Schuster
Pages: 373
Format: Book

** "Science Friday" Summer Reading Pick** **Discover magazine Top 5 Summer Reads****People magazine Best Summer Reads** "[A] lovely, big-hearted book ... brimming with compassion and the tales of the many, many humans who devote their days to making animals well." - The New York...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Urban Bestiary: Encountering the Everyday Wild

Lyanda Lynn Haupt · Little, Brown and Company
Format: Hardcover

From the bestselling author of Crow Planet, a compelling journey into the secret lives of the wild animals at our back door.In THE URBAN BESTIARY, acclaimed nature writer Lyanda Lynn Haupt journeys into the heart of the everyday wild, where coyotes, raccoons, chickens, hawks, and humans...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Black Moon: A Novel

Kenneth Calhoun · Hogarth; First Edition edition
Format: Hardcover

For fans of The Age of Miracles and The Dog Stars Black Moon is a hallucinatory and stunning debut that Charles Yu calls ldquoGripping and expertly constructedrdquoInsomnia has claimed everyone Biggs knows Even his beloved wife Carolyn has succumbed to the telltale red-rimmed eyes slurred...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Genius of Birds

Jennifer Ackerman · Penguin Press
Pages: 352
Format: Hardcover

Birds are astonishingly intelligent creatures. According to revolutionary new research, some birds rival primates and even humans in their remarkable forms of intelligence. In The Genius of Birds, acclaimed author Jennifer Ackerman explores the newly discovered brilliance of birds. As she travels...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Elephant Company: The Inspiring Story of an Unlikely Hero and the Animals Who Helped Him Save Lives in World War II

Vicki Croke · Random House Trade Paperbacks; Reprint edition
Format: Book

NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER A NEW YORK TIMES NOTABLE BOOKThe remarkable story of James Howard Billy Williams, whose uncanny rapport with the worlds largest land animals transformed him from a carefree young man into the charismatic war hero known as Elephant Bill   Billy Williams came to colonial...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Narcissist Next Door: Understanding the Monster in Your Family, in Your Office, in Your Bed-in Your World

Jeffrey Kluger · Riverhead Books
Format: Hardcover

From an award-winning senior writer at Time, an eye-opening exploration of narcissism, how to recognize it, and how to handle it. The odds are good that you know a narcissist—probably a lot of them. The odds are also good that they are intelligent, confident, and articulate—the center...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Storm Surge: Hurricane Sandy, Our Changing Climate, and Extreme Weather of the Past and Future

Adam Sobel · Harper Wave; 1St Edition edition
Format: Hardcover

A renowned scientist takes us through the devastating and unprecedented events of Hurricane Sandy, using it to explain our planets changing climate, and what we need to do to protect ourselves and our cities for the future.Was Hurricane Sandy a freak event—or a harbinger of things to come? ...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Voices in the Ocean: A Journey into the Wild and Haunting World of Dolphins

Susan Casey · Doubleday
Pages: 302
Format: Print book

From Susan Casey, the New York Times bestselling author of The Wave and The Devil's Teeth, a breathtaking journey through the extraordinary world of dolphins Since the dawn of recorded history, humans have felt a kinship with the sleek and beautiful dolphin, an animal whose playfulness,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Rare Birds of North America

Steve N. G. Howell · Princeton University Press
Pages: 428
Format: Hardcover

Rare Birds of North America is the first comprehensive illustrated guide to the vagrant birds that occur throughout the United States and Canada. Featuring 275 stunning color plates, this book covers 262 species originating from three very different regions--the Old World, the New World...
Read More check catalog