Back Science Fiction & Fantasy | September Newsletter

SelectReads News
Simple News Pro
  Science Fiction & Fantasy  
The Hawley Book of the Dead: A Novel

Chrysler Szarlan · Ballantine Books; First Printing edition
Format: Hardcover

NAMED ONE OF THE BEST BOOKS OF THE YEAR BY NPRFor fans of The Physick Book of Deliverance Dane and A Discovery of Witches comes a brilliantly imagined debut novel brimming with rich history, suspense, and magic.   Revelation Reve Dyer grew up with her grandmothers family stories, stretching...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Return of the King

J R R Tolkien · Houghton Mifflin
Pages: 1137
Format: Paperback

The standard harcover edition of the concluding volume of The Lord of the Rings includes a large format fold-out map and extensive appendices. As the Shadow of Mordor grows across the land, the Companions of the Ring have become involved in separate adventures. Aragorn, revealed as the hidden...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Year's Best SF 18

David G. Hartwell · Tor Books
Format: Paperback

Once again, the finest SF short stories of the year have been collected in a single volume. With Years Best SF 18, acclaimed, award-winning editor and anthologist David G. Hartwell demonstrates the amazing depth and power of contemporary speculative fiction, showcasing astonishing stories...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Arcanum

Simon Morden · Little Brown & Company
Pages: 765
Format: Paperback

Rome was the center of the most powerful empire the world had ever seen, but that didn't stop it falling to Alaric the Goth, his horde of barbarian tribesmen and their wild spell-casting shamans. Having split the walls with their sorcery and slaughtered the inhabitants with their axes,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Queen of the Tearling: A Novel

Erika Johansen · Harper; 1St Edition edition
Format: Hardcover

A #1 Indie Next Pick and LibraryReads SelectionMagic, adventure, mystery, and romance combine in this epic debut in which a young princess must reclaim her dead mother's throne, learn to be a ruler - and defeat the Red Queen, a powerful and malevolent sorceress determined to destroy...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Ways to Disappear

Idra Novey · Little, Brown, 2016.
Pages: 272
Format: Print book

A debut novel about the disappearance of a famous Brazilian novelist and the young translator who turns her life upside down to follow her author's trail. Deep in gambling debt, the celebrated Brazilian writer Beatriz Yagoda is last seen holding a suitcase and a cigar and climbing into...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Beowulf: A Translation and Commentary

Christopher Tolkien · Houghton Mifflin Harcourt
Pages: 425
Format: Hardcover

The translation of Beowulf by J. R. R. Tolkien was an early work, very distinctive in its mode, completed in 1926: he returned to it later to make hasty corrections, but seems never to have considered its publication. This edition is twofold, for there exists an illuminating commentary...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The undead pool

Kim Harrison · Harper Voyager
Pages: 423
Format: Print book

"Witch and day-walking demon Rachel Morgan has managed to save the demonic ever after from shrinking, but at a high cost. Now strange magic is attacking Cincinnati and the Hollows, causing spells to backfire or go horribly wrong, and the truce between the races, between Inderlander...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Seventh Grave and No Body

Darynda Jones · St. Martin's Press
Format: Hardcover

Lead me not into temptation.Follow me instead! I know a shortcut!--T-shirtTwelve. Twelve of the deadliest beasts ever forged in the fires of hell have escaped onto our plane, and they want nothing more than to rip out Charley Davidson's jugular and serve her body to Satan for dinner....
Read More check catalog
 
 
Magic Shifts: A Kate Daniels Novel

Ilona Andrews · Ace Books
Pages: 352
Format: Hardcover

In the latest Kate Daniels novel from #1 New York Times bestselling author Ilona Andrews, magic is coming and going in waves in post-Shift Atlanta - and each crest leaves danger in its wake ... After breaking from life with the Pack, mercenary Kate Daniels and her mate - former Beast Lord...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Night Broken

Patricia Briggs · Ace; First Edition first Printing edition
Format: Hardcover

1 New York Times bestselling author Patricia Briggss Mercy Thompson series has been hailed as one of the best Fiction Vixen. Now, Mercy must deal with an unwanted guest—one that brings a threat unlike anything shes ever known. An unexpected phone call heralds a new challenge for Mercy. Her...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Watchmaker of Filigree Street

Natasha Pulley · Bloomsbury
Pages: 318
Format: Print book

1883. Thaniel Steepleton returns home to his tiny London apartment to find a gold pocket watch on his pillow. Six months later, the mysterious timepiece saves his life, drawing him away from a blast that destroys Scotland Yard. At last, he goes in search of its maker, Keita Mori, a kind,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Silence Fallen

Patricia Briggs · Ace
Pages: 371
Format: Hardcover

In the #1 New York Times bestselling Mercy Thompson novels, the coyote shapeshifter has found her voice in the werewolf pack. But when Mercy's bond with the pack - and her mate - is broken, she'll learn what it truly means to be alone... Attacked and abducted in her home territory, Mercy...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Bees: A Novel

Laline Paull · Ecco
Pages: 340
Format: Book

The Handmaid's Tale meets The Hunger Games in this brilliantly imagined debut set in an ancient culture where only the queen may breed and deformity means death.Flora 717 is a sanitation worker, a member of the lowest caste in her orchard hive where work and sacrifice are the highest virtues...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Air Bound

Christine Feehan · Jove; 1st Printing edition
Format: Book

The sisters of Sea Haven, bound by the heart and the magical power of the elements, return in this soul-stirring new novel from Christine Feehan, #1 New York Times bestselling author of Spirit Bound...Air Bound For as far back as she can remember, Airiana Ridell has always been aware of her extraordinary...
Read More check catalog