Back History | June Newsletter

SelectReads News
Simple News Pro
  History  
Dreams of El Dorado: A History of the American West

H. W. Brands · Basic Books
Pages: 544
Format: Hardcover

From a New York Times-bestselling author, a sweeping history of the American West

In Dreams of El Dorado, H. W. Brands tells the thrilling, panoramic story of the settling of the American West. He takes us from John Jacob Astor's fur trading outpost in Oregon to the Texas...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Other Trail of Tears: The Removal of the Ohio Tribes

Mary Stockwell · Westholme Publishing
Pages: 360
Format: Print book

The Story of the Longest and Largest Forced Migration of Native Americans in American History The Indian Removal Act of 1830 was the culmination of the United States' policy to force native populations to relocate west of the Mississippi River. The most well-known episode in the eviction...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Great Society: A New History of the 1960s in America

Amity Shlaes · HarperLuxe
Pages: 672
Format: Large Print

The author of the New York Times bestsellers The Forgotten Man and Coolidge offers a provocative and conversation-changing look at President Lyndon B. Johnson's Great Society and how its failures reverberate to this day.In Great Society, Amity Shlaes argues that just as Franklin Delano...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Checkpoint Charlie: The Cold War, The Berlin Wall, and the Most Dangerous Place On Earth

Iain MacGregor · Scribner
Pages: 352
Format: Hardcover

A powerful, fascinating, and groundbreaking history of Checkpoint Charlie, the famous military gate on the border of East and West Berlin where the United States confronted the USSR during the Cold War.

East Germany committed a billion dollars to the creation of the Berlin Wall in the early...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Plateau

Maggie Paxson · Riverhead Books
Pages: 368
Format: Hardcover

During World War II, French villagers offered safe harbor to countless strangers - mostly children - as they fled for their lives. The same place offers refuge to migrants today. Why?

In a remote pocket of Nazi-held France, ordinary people risked their lives to rescue many hundreds...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Before and After: The Incredible Real-Life Stories of Orphans Who Survived the Tennessee Children's Home Society

Judy Christie · Ballantine Books
Pages: 320
Format: Hardcover

The compelling, poignant true stories of victims of a notorious adoption scandal - some of whom learned the truth from Lisa Wingate's bestselling novel Before We Were Yours and were reunited with birth family members as a result of its wide reach

From the 1920s to 1950, Georgia...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Wonders: The Extraordinary Performers Who Transformed the Victorian Age

John Woolf

A radical new history that rediscovers the remarkable freak performers whose talents and charisma helped define an era.

On March 23, 1844, General Tom Thumb, just 25 inches tall, entered the Picture Gallery at Buckingham Palace and bowed low to Queen Victoria. On both sid

Read More check catalog
 
 
Fighting for Space: Two Pilots and Their Historic Battle for Female Spaceflight

Amy Shira Teitel · Grand Central Publishing
Pages: 432
Format: Hardcover

Spaceflight historian and creator of YouTube's "Vintage Space" Amy Shira Teitel tells the riveting story of the female pilots who each dreamed of being the first American woman in space.

A book that will appeal to readers of Fly Girls and The Astronaut Wives'...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Opium: How an Ancient Flower Shaped and Poisoned Our World

John Halpern · Hachette Books
Pages: 352
Format: Hardcover

"A landmark project." -- Dr. Andrew Weil
"Engrossing and highly readable." -- Sam Quinones
"An astonishing journey through time and space." -- Julie Holland, MD
"The most important, provocative, and challenging book I've read in a long time."...
Read More check catalog