Back Ages 9-12 | September Newsletter

SelectReads News
Simple News Pro
  Ages 9-12  
Secret Origins

James Riley · Aladdin
Pages: 372
Format: Hardcover

Excerpt. Reprinted by permission. All rights reserved.
Read More check catalog
 
 
Army Rangers

Nick Gordon · Bellwether Media
Format: Book

Engaging images accompany information about Army Rangers. The combination of high-interest subject matter and light text is intended for students in grades 2 through 7--Provided by publisher.Title Army RangersAuthor Gordon, NickPublisher Bellwether MediaPublication Date 20120801Number of Pages...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Luck Uglies

Paul Durham · Harpercollins Childrens Books
Pages: 387
Format: Print book

The first in a series with the makings of a modern classic, The Luck Uglies is an irresistible cross between Joseph Delaney's The Last Apprentice and Chris Colfer's Land of Stories series, overflowing with adventure, secrets, friendship, and magic.Rye O'Chanter has seen a lot of strange...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Allie, First at Last

Angela Cervantes · Scholastic Press
Pages: 208
Format: Hardcover

Allie Velasco wants to be a trailblazer.A trendsetter.A winner.No better feeling exists in the world than stepping to the top of a winner's podium and hoisting a trophy high in the air. At least, that's what Allie thinks . . . she's never actually won anything before. Everyone in her family...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Bad Magic

Pseudonymous Bosch · Little, Brown and Company, 2014.
Pages: 400
Format: Print book

A magical new series from Pseudonymous Bosh, the bestselling author of the Secret Series
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Kindness Club

Courtney Sheinmel · Bloomsbury
Pages: 206
Format: Print book

Chloe Silver has always been good at looking on the bright side. Even though her parents got divorced and she's moved to a new town, she knows that she will make great friends at her new school. So when she is assigned a science project with offbeat Lucy Tanaka and nerdy Theo Barnes, they...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Spirit Hunters

ELLEN OH · HarperCollins
Pages: 288
Format: Hardcover

We Need Diverse Books founder Ellen Oh returns with Spirit Hunters, a high-stakes middle grade mystery series about Harper Raine, the new seventh grader in town who must face down the dangerous ghosts haunting her younger brother. A riveting ghost story and captivating adventure, this tale...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Genevieve's War

Patricia Reilly Giff · Holiday House
Pages: 240
Format: Print book

Thirteen-year-old American girl Genevieve has spent the summer of 1939 at her grandmother's farm in Alsace, France. Then she makes an impulsive choice: to stay in France. It proves to be a dangerous decision. World War II erupts. The Nazis conquer Alsace and deport the Jews and others....
Read More check catalog
 
 
Jake the Fake Keeps it Real

Craig Robinson · Crown Books for Young Readers
Pages: 144
Format: Print book

For fans of Diary of a Wimpy Kid and Big Nate comes a new side-splitting series from comedian and film star Craig Robinson, #1 New York Times bestselling author Adam Mansbach, and NAACP History Maker recipient and cartoonist Keith Knight. Jake can barely play an instrument, not even a kazoo....
Read More check catalog
 
 
This Book Stinks!: Gross Garbage, Rotten Rubbish, and the Science of Trash

Sarah Wassner Flynn · National Geographic
Pages: 128
Format: Print book

Get up close and personal with a wonderful world of waste. From composting and recycling, to landfills and dumps, to how creative people are finding new ways to reuse rubbish. It's fun to talk trash when it's jam-packed with infographics, thematic spreads, wow-worthy photos, sidebars,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Clayton Byrd Goes Underground

RITA WILLIAMS-GARCIA · Amistad
Pages: 176
Format: Hardcover

From beloved Newbery Honor winner and three-time Coretta Scott King Award winner Rita Williams-Garcia comes a powerful and heartfelt novel about loss, family, and love that will appeal to fans of Jason Reynolds and Kwame Alexander. Clayton feels most alive when he's with his grandfather,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Army Brats

Daphne Benedis-Grab · Scholastic Press
Pages: 231
Format: Hardcover

The Bailey kids' mom has just been assigned to Fort Patrick, and it'll be the family's first time living on an army base! Tom, Charlotte, and Rosie get to make new friends, explore the neighborhood, and cool off in the huge pool. Unfortunately, they also have to deal with the base bully,...
Read More check catalog