Back Ages 9-12 | April Newsletter

SelectReads News
Simple News Pro
  Ages 9-12  
The Door by the Staircase

Katherine Marsh · Disney-Hyperion
Pages: 273
Format: Hardcover

Twelve-year-old Mary Hayes can't stand her orphanage for another night. But when an attempted escape through the stove pipe doesn't go quite as well as she'd hoped, Mary fears she'll be stuck in the Buffalo Asylum for Young Ladies forever. The very next day, a mysterious woman named Madame...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Bad Luck

Pseudonymous Bosch · Little
Pages: 278
Format: Print book

The plot thickens in this New York Times-bestselling sequel to Bad Magic Some people have all the luck. Unfortunately, Clay isn't one of them: He's the only camper at Earth Ranch without a magical talent. As if feeling totally useless isn't enough, Clay has to figure out what to do about...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Robots

Cody Crane · Childrens Pr
Pages: 48
Format: Library Binding

Robots used to be something found mainly in science fiction stories. But today, these incredible machines have become a part of everyday life for countless people around the world. Readers will find out how the earliest robots were invented and how robot technology has improved over time....
Read More check catalog
 
 
From Sunshine to Light Bulb

Michael Bright · Crabtree Publishing
Pages: 32
Format: Print book

What happens when you flip a light switch or press the power button on the TV? Electricity flows to the device and it turns on. Most of us use electrical gadgets all day, every day, without thinking about it. This book follows the journey from source to resource of solar power, one of the most...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Frank Einstein and the bio-action gizmo

Jon Scieszka · Harry N. Abrams
Pages: 176
Format: Hardcover

In the fifth book of the New York Times bestselling Frank Einstein series, Frank Einstein (kid genius, scientist, and inventor) and his best friend, Watson, pair up with Klink (a self-assembled artificial-intelligence entity) and Klank (a mostly self-assembled and artificial almost...
Read More check catalog
 
 
United Arab Emirates

Barbara A Somervill · Children's Press
Pages: 144
Format:  Print book : Juvenile audience : English

A desert land located along the east coast of the Arabian Peninsula, the area now known as the United Arab Emirates was once occupied mainly by groups of roaming nomads. Today, it is home to sprawling modern cityscapes, with luxurious accommodations that draw tourists and businesspeople...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Den of Forever Frost

KATHRYN LASKY · Scholastic Press
Pages: 256
Format: Hardcover

Cubs Stellan and Jytte survived their treacherous trek across the Nunquivik, but their quest to rescue their mother has only begun. Svenna is imprisoned at the sinister Ice Clock-the headquarters of the Grand Patek whose dangerous influence is spreading throughout the bear kingdom. Only...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Unicorn Princesses 8: Feather's Flight

EMILY BLISS · Bloomsbury Children's Books
Pages: 128
Format: Hardcover

Welcome to an enchanted land ruled by unicorn princesses! Cressida Jenkins, a unicorn-obsessed girl who is sure that unicorns are real, is invited to visit, and readers will be thrilled to journey to the Rainbow Realm along with her! In each story, Cressida is called to help a unicorn princess...
Read More check catalog
 
 
How Things Work

T J Resler · Natl Geographic
Pages: 208
Format: Print book

Ever wanted to take apart the microwave to see how it works? Crack open your computer and peek inside? Intrigued by how things work? So are we! That's why we're dissecting all kinds of things from rubber erasers to tractor beams! Read along as National Geographic Kids unplugs, unravels,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Betty Before X

Ilyasah Shabazz · Farrar, Straus and Giroux
Pages: 256
Format: Hardcover

In Detroit, 1945, eleven-year-old Betty's house doesn't quite feel like home. She believes her mother loves her, but she can't shake the feeling that her mother doesn't want her. Church helps those worries fade, if only for a little while. The singing, the preaching, the speeches from guest...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Star Wars The Mighty Chewbacca in the Forest of Fear

TOM ANGLEBERGER · Disney Lucasfilm Press
Pages: 272
Format: Hardcover

When Chewbacca the Wookiee finds out that a job he thought was just ferrying tooka cats is actually much more, he's excited to have something to do! But when he, a young bounty hunter/librarian, and a droll cargo droid--who, unbeknownst to the others is rebel spy droid K-2SO--land in the middle...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Some Writer!: The Story of E. B. White

Melissa Sweet · HMH Books for Young Readers
Pages: 176
Format: Hardcover

A New York Times Bestseller A People Magazine Best Children's BookA Washington Post Best Book A Publishers Weekly Best Book Caldecott Honor winner Sweet mixes White's personal letters, photos, and family ephemera with her own exquisite artwork to tell the story of this American literary...
Read More check catalog
 
 
National Geographic Kids United States Atlas

National Geographic Kids · National Geographic Children's Books
Pages: 176
Format: Library Binding

Kids will have fun learning about every U.S. state in this amazing atlas, packed with maps, stats, facts, and pictures. National Geographic's world-renowned cartographers have paired up with education experts to create maps of the 50 states, U.S. territories, and Washington, D.C., that...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Home Run

Tim Green · HarperCollins
Pages: 352
Format: Hardcover

Perfect for fans of Mike Lupica's sports books and Dan Gutman's Baseball Card Adventures, New York Times bestselling author and former NFL player Tim Green gives readers a thrilling new addition to his bestselling Baseball Great series.Josh's life has just fallen apart. His father...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Scream and Scream Again!: A Horror-Mystery Anthology

R. L. Stine · HarperCollins
Pages: 416
Format: Hardcover

A harrowing array of scary stories that all have one thing in common: each either begins or ends with a scream!R.L. Stine - the godfather of Goosebumps - and some of the most popular authors today bring an unrivaled mastery of all things fearsome, frightening, and fantabulous to this terrifying...
Read More check catalog