Back Ages 9-12 | September Newsletter

SelectReads News
Simple News Pro
  Ages 9-12  
Grand Canyon: The Complete Guide: Grand Canyon National Park

James Kaiser · Destination Pr
Pages: 312
Format: Print book

Filled with stunning photography, this award-winning guidebook reveals the best of Grand Canyon National Park. From hiking to river rafting, Grand Canyon is filled with adventure. But without careful planning, a trip there can be overwhelming. Grand Canyon: The Complete Guide breaks it down...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Winged Girl of Knossos

ERICK BERRY · Paul Dry Books
Pages: 220
Format: Paperback

This Newbery Honor title from 1934 is surprisingly modern and utterly delightful.On ancient Crete, a curious and courageous girl named Inas seeks adventure. She dives to the bottom of the Aegean Sea to collect sponges. She somersaults over bulls in the ritual bull-vaulting competition....
Read More check catalog
 
 
Me, Frida, and the Secret of the Peacock Ring

Angela Cervantes · Scholastic Press
Pages: 240
Format: Hardcover

A room locked for fifty years.A valuable peacock ring.A mysterious brother-sister duo.Paloma Marquez is traveling to Mexico City, birthplace of her deceased father, for the very first time. She's hoping that spending time in Mexico will help her unlock memories of the too-brief time...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Washington, DC, History for Kids: The Making of a Capital City, with 21 Activities

Richard Panchyk · Chicago Review Press
Pages: 144
Format: Print book

Chronicling the rich and fascinating history of Washington, DC, this useful resource for teachers and parents, reveals to young readers the city's remarkable past through 21 hands-on activities. Children will gather items for a building cornerstone's time capsule, design a memorial...
Read More check catalog
 
 
In Darkling Wood

Emma Carroll · Delacorte Press
Pages: 240
Format: Print book

For fans of The Secret Garden, The Indian in the Cupboard, Tuck Everlasting, and The Giving Tree. In Darkling Wood is a spine-tingling novel with a forthright, modern heroine and more than a hint of mystery and magic. When Alice is suddenly bundled off to her estranged grandmother's...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Lego Tips for Kids Space: Cool Projects for Your Bricks

Joachim Klang · HEEL
Pages: 79
Format: Print book

Designed especially for kidsThis book provides easy-to-understand building instructions to help create tons of Lego models from outer space!This new volume in the successful Lego books series addresses young Lego enthusiasts. It provides helpful information on how kids can create the coolest...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Wonderling

MIRA BARTOK · Candlewick
Pages: 464
Format: Hardcover

In this extraordinary debut novel with its deft nod to Dickensian heroes and rogues, Mira Bartók tells the story of Arthur, a shy, fox-like foundling with only one ear and a desperate desire to belong, as he seeks his destiny.Have you been unexpectedly burdened by a recently orphaned...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Abby in Wonderland

SARAH MLYNOWSKI · Scholastic Press
Pages: 238
Format: Hardcover

Down the rabbit hole . . .I'm spending the day with my best friends, Frankie and Robin, and -- UGH -- snobby Penny. I'm not expecting anything magical to happen, until Frankie falls into a mysterious hole behind Penny's house . . . and we all wind up in the story of Alice's Adventures in Wonderland!I've...
Read More check catalog
 
 
DK Readers L4: Big Fantastic Earth

Jen Green · DK Publishing
Pages: 96
Format: Print book

How do waterfalls form? How long is the Nile River? Who led the first expedition on Mount Everest?Discover the earth's most amazing natural wonders in Big Fantastic Earth!Explore the highest peak of Mount Kilimanjaro to the deep grooves of the Grand Canyon, and discover how the incredible...
Read More check catalog
 
 
What Are the Ten Commandments?

Yona Zeldis McDonough · Penguin Workshop
Pages: 112
Format: Library Binding

Excerpt. Reprinted by permission. All rights reserved.
Read More check catalog
 
 
Alistair Grim's Odd Aquaticum

Gregory Funaro · Disney Hyperion
Pages: 432
Format: Print book

* "Dive head-, feet-, or face-first into this delicious danger." -Kirkus Reviews, starred review
Read More check catalog
 
 
Cleo Edison Oliver, Playground Millionaire

Sundee Tucker Frazier · Arthur A. Levine Books
Pages: 213
Format: Print book

Cleopatra Edison Oliver has always been an entrepreneur, just like her inspiration, successful businesswoman Fortune A. Davies. So when Cleo's fifth-grade teacher assigns her class a "Passion Project," Cleo comes up with her best business idea yet: the finest "tooth-pulling"...
Read More check catalog
 
 
My Life as a Youtuber

JANET TASHJIAN · Henry Holt and Co.
Pages: 272
Format: Hardcover

Book 7 of the much-loved My Life series that has the irrepressible Derek Fallon starting his own Youtube web series!Derek Fallon finally found something to get excited about at school -- an extracurricular class on making videos! Together with his friends Carly, Matt, and Umberto, Derek...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Hamster Princess: Giant Trouble

URSULA VERNON · Dial Books
Pages: 211
Format: Hardcover

A magical beanstalk leads to a GIANT surprise in book four of the series that's chock-full of girl power and perfect for fans of Princess in Black and Babymouse Princess Harriet Hamsterbone doesn't go looking for trouble. She prefers to think of it as looking for adventure. But when she climbs...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Being your best at soccer

Nelson Yomtov · Children's Press
Pages: 48
Format: Print book

As the world's most popular sport, soccer is played everywhere from dusty streets and schoolyards to massive stadiums. Readers will learn the rules of the game, get a close look at the layout of a soccer pitch, and find out what role different positions play on a team. They will also learn...
Read More check catalog