Back Ages 9-12 | April Newsletter

SelectReads News
Simple News Pro
  Ages 9-12  
Mission Mumbai: A Novel of Sacred Cows, Snakes, and Stolen Toilets

Mahtab Narsimhan · Scholastic Press
Pages: 272
Format: Print book

When aspiring photographer Dylan Moore is invited to join his best friend Rohit Lal on a family trip to India, he jumps at the chance to embark on an exciting journey just like their Lord of the Rings heroes, Frodo and Sam. But each boy comes to the trip with a problem: Rohit is desperate...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Land of Stories Book 5

Chris Colfer · Little
Pages: 438
Format: Print book

The fifth book in Chris Colfer's #1 New York Times bestselling series The Land of Stories!In the highly anticipated continuation of the Land of Stories series, Conner learns that the only place to fight the Masked Man's literary army is inside his own short stories! When the twins and their...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Theodore Boone: The Scandal

John Grisham · Dutton Children's Books
Pages: 212
Format: Print book

Thirteen-year-old Theodore Boone knows every judge, police officer, and court clerk in Strattenburg. He has even helped bring a fugitive to justice. But even a future star lawyer like Theo has to deal with statewide standardized testing. When an anonymous tip leads the school board to investigate...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Scholastic Year in Sports 2018

James Buckley Jr. · Scholastic Inc.
Pages: 192
Format: Paperback

For sports fans of all ages!The brand new 2018 edition of Scholastic's annual Year in Sports features full-color action photographs throughout, completely updated facts and stats, and a colorful interior design. Read about all of the top athletes, championships, and legends from the major...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Tragic Tale of the Great Auk

Jan Thornhill · Groundwood Books
Pages: 44
Format: Print book

For hundreds of thousands of years Great Auks thrived in the icy seas of the North Atlantic, bobbing on the waves, diving for fish and struggling up onto rocky shores to mate and hatch their fluffy chicks. But by 1844, not a single one of these magnificent birds was alive.In this stunningly...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Ahimsa

SUPRIYA KELKAR · Tu Books
Pages: 304
Format: Hardcover

In 1942, when Mahatma Gandhi asks Indians to give one family member to the freedom movement, ten-year-old Anjali is devastated to think of her father risking his life for the freedom struggle.But it turns out he isn't the one joining. Anjali's mother is. And with this change comes...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Emily Windsnap and the Falls of Forgotten Island

LIZ KESSLER · Candlewick
Pages: 320
Format: Hardcover

While on vacation, Emily Windsnap finds herself swept up in an ancient prophecy as the New York Times best-selling series continues.Emily is headed to a tropical island for a relaxing vacation with friends and family. And this time, Emily promises her best friend, Shona, there will be absolutely...
Read More check catalog
 
 
GLOBAL WARMING

TOBY REYNOLDS · BARRON'S

Extreme weather, shrinking glaciers, and dying coral reefs have resulted from global warming. Learn the science behind climate change and what we can do to correct it.
Read More check catalog
 
 
Canada

Wil Mara · Childrens Pr
Pages: 144
Format: Library Binding

Located directly north of the United States, Canada is one of the worlds largest countries. Within its borders lie sprawling areas of harsh, untouched wilderness as well as densely populated modern cities. Readers will experience all sides of this North American nation as they explore its history...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Friday Barnes, Big Trouble

R A Spratt · Roaring Brook
Pages: 256
Format: Print book

In the third book in R.A. Spratt's hilarious Friday Barnes series, the mystery hits close to home when Friday Barnes learns her mother has been kidnapped. But she's distracted by other happenings at school: a new VIP student (a Norwegian princess!) has just arrived and a master thief...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The River Bank: A sequel to Kenneth Grahame's The Wind in the Willows

KIJ JOHNSON · Small Beer Press
Pages: 224
Format: Hardcover

In this delightful dive into the bygone world of Kenneth Grahame's The Wind in the Willows staunch Mole, sociable Water Rat, severe Badger, and troublesome and ebullient Toad of Toad Hall are joined by a young mole lady, Beryl, and her dear friend, Rabbit. There are adventures, kidnappings,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Talons of Power

Tui T Sutherland · Scholastic Press
Pages: 290
Format: Print book

The war is over. The false prophecy has been fulfilled. But the dragonets still have enemies. A dark evil, buried for centuries, is stirring.And a young NightWing may have had the first true prophecy in generations . . .Something is coming to shake the earthSomething is coming to scorch...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Just Like Me

Nancy J Cavanaugh · Sourcebooks Jabberwocky
Pages: 256
Format: Print book

In the tradition of Every Soul a Star and Inside Out & Back Again, Just Like Me is a funny, uplifting summer camp story about unlikely friendships and finding your place in the world from the award-winning author of This Journal Belongs to Ratchet.Who eats Cheetos with chopsticks?!...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Gallery

Laura Marx Fitzgerald · Dial Books for Young Readers
Pages: 312
Format: Print book

A riveting historical art mystery for fans of Chasing Vermeer and The Westing Game, set in the Roaring Twenties! It's 1929, and twelve-year-old Martha has no choice but to work as a maid in the New York City mansion of the wealthy Sewell family. But, despite the Gatsby-like parties and trimmings...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Sharks and Other Deadly Ocean Creatures Visual Encyclopedia

Dorling Kindersley Inc. · Dk Publishing
Pages: 208
Format: Print book

Dive into Sharks and Other Deadly Ocean Creatures Visual Encyclopedia to discover everything there is to know about the ocean's biggest predators.Brought to life with cutting-edge CGI technology, more than 200 sharks and fierce fish are featured in highly visual profiles. From great white...
Read More check catalog