Back Ages 9-12 | January Newsletter

SelectReads News
Simple News Pro
  Ages 9-12  
Princess Leia

Scholastic Editors · Turtleback Books
Pages: 128
Format: Print book

FOR USE IN SCHOOLS AND LIBRARIES ONLY. Who is Princess Leia? How did a princess become a rebel leader? And what happened to her after the Empire was defeated? In this biography--complete with black-and-white illustrations, timelines, and character profiles--young readers will delight in learning...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Jigsaw Jungle

Kristin Levine · G.P. Putnam's Sons Books for Young Readers
Pages: 368
Format: Hardcover

A mysterious treasure hunt helps to heal a broken family in critically acclaimed author Kristin Levine's first contemporary tale - perfect for fans of Wendy Mass and Jennifer L. Holm Claudia Dalton's father has disappeared. What began as a late night at work has spiraled into a missing...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Blueberry Pancakes Forever: Finding Serendipity Book Three

Angelica Banks · Henry Holt and Company
Pages: 311
Format: Print book

In this third adventure from the author of Finding Serendipity, Tuesday McGillycuddy must grapple with a new villain in the Land of Story.After an unthinkable loss, time seems to freeze for Tuesday and her mother, the famous author Serendipity Smith. In the land of story, Vivienne Small's...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Disney Princess Comics Collection

Amy Mebberson · Joe Books LTD
Pages: 88
Format: Paperback

Get ready for adventure! Disney's beloved Princesses have returned in this hilarious collection of issues 1-4 of the Disney Princess comic series from Joe Books. Featuring laugh-out-loud stories from the worlds of Ariel, Belle, Cinderella, Tiana, Pocahontas, Rapunzel, and more, this charming...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Magisterium

Holly Black · Scholastic Press
Pages: 249
Format: Hardcover

From Holly Black and Cassandra Clare comes the third installment in the New York Times bestselling series that defies what you think you know about the worlds of good and evil.
Read More check catalog
 
 
Twintuition: Double Cross

TIA MOWRY · HarperCollins
Pages: 224
Format: Hardcover

From TV stars Tia and Tamera Mowry comes the thrilling conclusion to their middle grade series, Twintuition!In this fourth and final book, tween twins Cassie and Caitlyn Waters are excited to be returning to their hometown, San Antonio, on a class trip. But as they reach their destination,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Rebellion of Thieves

Kekla Magoon · Bloomsbury Usa
Pages: 256
Format: Print book

Robyn Loxley can't rest now that she's the #1 Most Wanted Fugitive, Robyn Hoodlum. The harsh Nott City governor, Ignomus Crown, may have increased the reward for her capture, but this won't stop Robyn from masterminding her biggest mission yet: infiltrating the governor's mansion to rescue...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Creature of the Pines

Adam Gidwitz · Dutton Books for Young Readers
Pages: 192
Format: Hardcover

A fully illustrated, globe-trotting new middle grade fantasy-adventure series about mythical creatures and their cultures of origin, from the Newbery Honor-winning author of The Inquisitor's Tale.Elliot Eisner isn't exactly excited about starting at a brand-new school in a brand-new town;...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Alola Region Handbook

Scholastic · Scholastic Inc.
Pages: 192
Format: Paperback

Meet the Pokemon of Alola! Every amazing Pokemon featured in the new Sun & Moon video games is included in this comprehensive handbook. You'll discover stats and facts about many brand-new Pokemon -- and learn new things about some old favorites as well. It's everything you ever...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Martin Rising: Requiem For a King

Andrea Davis Pinkney · Scholastic Press
Pages: 128
Format: Hardcover

In a rich embroidery of visions, musical cadence, and deep emotion, Andrea and Brian Pinkney convey the final months of Martin Luther King's life -- and of his assassination -- through metaphor, spirituality, and multilayers of meaning.Andrea's stunning poetic requiem, illustrated...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Booked

Kwame Alexander · HMH Books for Young Readers
Pages: 314
Format: Hardcover

National Book Award Long ListNew York Times Bestseller Like lightning/you strike/fast and free/legs zoom/down field/eyes fixed/on the checkered ball/on the goal/ten yards to go/can't nobody stop you/can't nobody cop you ... In this follow-up to the Newbery-winning novel THE CROSSOVER, soccer,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Be Prepared

VERA BROSGOL · First Second
Pages: 256
Format: Paperback

All Vera wants to do is fit in -- but that's not easy for a Russian girl in the suburbs. Her friends live in fancy houses and their parents can afford to send them to the best summer camps. Vera's single mother can't afford that sort of luxury, but there's one summer camp in her price range...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Dr. Critchlore's School for Minions: Book Two: Gorilla Tactics

Sheila Grau · Amulet Books
Pages: 304
Format: Hardcover

The second book in this hilarious, illustrated series cracks the imaginative world of minions wide open, and we meet the other schools and Evil Overlords that surround Dr. Critchlore's.
Read More check catalog
 
 
Washington, DC, History for Kids: The Making of a Capital City, with 21 Activities

Richard Panchyk · Chicago Review Press
Pages: 144
Format: Print book

Chronicling the rich and fascinating history of Washington, DC, this useful resource for teachers and parents, reveals to young readers the city's remarkable past through 21 hands-on activities. Children will gather items for a building cornerstone's time capsule, design a memorial...
Read More check catalog