Back Ages 4-8 | September Newsletter

SelectReads News
Simple News Pro
  Ages 4-8  
Andy & Sandy's Anything Adventure

Tomie DePaola · Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers
Pages: 32
Format: Print book

From Caldecott and Newbery Honoree Tomie dePaola and Emmy Award-winning writer for the Muppets Jim Lewis comes the second book in a brand-new easy-to-read picture book series about friendship.Andy is small. Sandy is tall. Andy is quiet. Sandy is LOUD. Andy and Sandy may be opposites, but they're...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Buddy Bison's Yellowstone Adventure

Ilona Holland · National Geographic
Pages: 31
Format: Print book

Butterflies flutter, birds soar, and geysers burst into the sky. Join Buddy Bison and his two new friends as they explore the majestic Yellowstone National Park. Breathtaking photographs of Yellowstone serve as the backdrop for the wacky adventures of a curious pair of twins, Elena and Christopher,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Hannah and Sugar

Kate Berube · Abrams Books for Young Readers, 2016.
Pages: 32
Format: Print book

Every day after school, Hannah's school bus is greeted by her classmate's dog, Sugar. All of the other kids love Sugar, but Hannah just can't conquer her fear of dogs. Then, one day, Sugar goes missing, so Hannah joins the search with her classmates. Will Hannah find a way to be brave,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Five Forms

BARBARA MCCLINTOCK · Farrar, Straus and Giroux
Pages: 40
Format: Hardcover

Award-winning author-illustrator Barbara McClintock's meticulous research and vibrant watercolor illustrations breathe life into this frenzied, fictionalized exploration of China's ancient Five Forms.When a young girl finds a mysterious, discarded book of martial arts poses, she ignores...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Marlo

Christopher Browne · Balzer Bray
Pages: 40

A glorious, mostly wordless picture book about a dog who needs a bath and finds much more than that by phenomenal debut author/illustrator Christopher Browne, who was inspired by his own rescue dog. Perfect for fans of Aaron Becker's Caldecott Honor BookJourney and Erin and Philip Stead...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Newton's Rainbow: The Revolutionary Discoveries of a Young Scientist

Kathryn Lasky · Farrar
Pages: 48
Format: Print book

Famed for his supposed encounter with a falling apple that inspired his theory of gravity, Isaac Newton (1642-1727) grew from a quiet and curious boy into one of the most influential scientists of all time. Newton's Rainbow tells the story of young Isaac -- always reading, questioning,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
We Need More Nuts!

JONATHAN FENSKE · Penguin Young Readers
Pages: 32
Format: Hardcover

Go nuts for nuts with two silly squirrels in this giggle-inducing counting book from a Theodor Seuss Geisel Honor-winning author and illustrator!Kids will laugh while learning their numbers with this rhyming leveled reader. From the very beginning the smaller of the squirrels, certain that...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Small Walt

Elizabeth Verdick · Simon & Schuster/Paula Wiseman Books
Pages: 40
Format: Hardcover

"Charming and endearing." - Kirkus Reviews (starred review) "The grit of The Little Engine that Could, the nostalgic illustrations of Katy and the Big Snow, and a touch of modernity from an accomplished author and illustrator, combine to become Small Walt." - School...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Clara: The

Emily Arnold McCully · Schwartz & Wade
Pages: 48
Format: Hardcover

This fascinating, informative, and touching picture book by a Caldecott Medalist is based on the true story of an eighteenth-century rhino who toured Europe and started a sensation! Clara is a book sure to fascinate young animal lovers, history buffs in the making, and kids interested in geography,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
People Don't Bite People

Lisa Wheeler · Atheneum Books for Young Readers
Pages: 40
Format: Hardcover

Lisa Wheeler and Caldecott Honor-winning illustrator Molly Idle remind overeager little biters that biting is for food in this hysterical read-aloud picture book. Learning good behavior has never been so fun!It's good to bite a carrot. It's good to bite a steak. It's bad to bite your sister!...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Noodleheads See the Future

Tedd Arnold · Holiday House
Pages: 48
Format: Hardcover

Tedd Arnold, the guy who does Fly Guy, and renowned storytellers, Martha Hamilton and Mitch Weiss, have done it again: the wacky Noodlehead brothers, who first appeared in Noodlehead Nightmares, are back for a second adventure that brings folktale tomfoolery into the 21st century! Although...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Guinness World Records: Wacky Wheels

Cari Meister · HarperCollins
Pages: 32
Format: Hardcover

A brand-new Guinness World Records book for kids!Buckle up! The Guinness World Record holders in Wacky Wheels cover all the vehicles that roll along. From the largest monster truck to the loudest bike horn, these Guinness World Records will rev the engines of imagination. Simple text and full-color...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Where, Oh Where, Is Rosie's Chick?

Pat Hutchins · Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers
Pages: 32
Format: Print book

Rosie is on the lookout for her lost baby chick in this funny and surprising companion to the beloved picture book, Rosie's Walk, by author-illustrator Pat Hutchins.Rosie has lost her baby chick. She looks under the hen house. She looks behind the wheelbarrow. But little baby chick isn't...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Living in . . . Mexico

Chloe Perkins · Simon Spotlight
Pages: 32
Format: Print book

Discover what it's like to grow up in Mexico with this fascinating, nonfiction Level 2 Ready-to-Read, part of a new series all about kids just like you in countries around the world!¬°Hola! My name is Rosa, and I'm a kid just like you living in Mexico. Mexico is a country filled...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Fly Guy and the Alienzz

Tedd Arnold · Cartwheel Books
Pages: 32
Format: Hardcover

Buzz is making a movie about aliens from outer space. When the action begins, superheroes Fly Guy and Buzz Boy are protecting a secret fort in the sky when an alien ship captures them! The duo must outsmart the aliens and the space pirates with the help of Dragon Dude and Fly Girl. The fun-zee...
Read More check catalog