Back History | July Newsletter

SelectReads News
Simple News Pro
  History  
Finding Magic: A Spiritual Memoir

Sally Quinn · Harper One
Pages: 256
Format: Print book

The author, journalist, television reporter, and longtime Washington insider reflects on the spiritual quest that has brought deeper meaning to her life - and kept her grounded within the high-powered political world of Washington, D.C.'s elite - her renowned writing career, her celebrity...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Jackie, Janet & Lee: The Secret Lives of Janet Auchincloss and Her Daughters, Jacqueline Kennedy Onassis and Lee Radziwill

J Randy Taraborrelli · St. Martin's Press
Pages: 528
Format: Hardcover

A dazzling biography of three of the most glamorous women of the 20th Century: Jacqueline Bouvier Kennedy Onassis, her mother Janet Lee Auchincloss, and her sister, Princess Lee Radziwill."Do you know what the secret to happily-ever-after is?" Janet Bouvier Auchincloss would ask her daughters...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Story of the World in 100 Species

Christopher Lloyd · Bloomsbury
Pages: 415
Format: Print book

In the retitled paperback edition of his book What on Earth Evolved?, Christopher Lloyd leads us on an extraordinary journey, from the birth of life to the present day, as he explains, in a jargon-free way, the phenomenon we call "life on Earth." Lloyd starts with the Earth "before...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The French Revolution: From Enlightenment to Tyranny

Ian Davidson · Pegasus Books
Pages: 336
Format: Print book

A vital and illuminating look at this profoundly important (and often perplexing) historical moment, by former Financial Times chief foreign affairs columnist Ian Davidson. The French Revolution casts a long shadow, one that reaches into our own time and influences our debates on freedom,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Was Revolution Inevitable?: Turning Points of the Russian Revolution

Tony Brenton · Oxford University Press
Pages: 384
Format: Print book

Communism's rise and eventual fall in Eastern Europe is one of the great stories of the 20th century. Within this context, the Russian Revolution's role and legacy overshadows all else. In Was Revolution Inevitable?, former British Ambassador to Russia Sir Tony Brenton has gathered...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Churchill's Ministry of Ungentlemanly Warfare: The Mavericks Who Plotted Hitler's Defeat

Giles Milton · Picador
Pages: 368
Format: Hardcover

Six gentlemen, one goal: the destruction of Hitler's war machine In the spring of 1939, a top-secret organization was founded in London: its purpose was to plot the destruction of Hitler's war machine through spectacular acts of sabotage. The guerrilla campaign that followed was every...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Four Princes: Henry VIII, Francis I, Charles V, Suleiman the Magnificent and the Obsessions that Forged Modern Europe

JOHN JULIUS NORWICH · ATLANTIC MONTHLY
Pages: 304
Format: Print book

John Julius Norwich -- who the Wall Street Journal called "the very model of a popular historian" -- has crafted a big, bold tapestry of the early sixteenth century, when Europe and the Middle East were overshadowed by a quartet of legendary rulers, all born within a ten-year...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Affluence Without Abundance: The Disappearing World of the Bushmen

James Suzman · Bloomsbury USA
Pages: 320
Format: Hardcover

A vibrant portrait of the "original affluent society"--the Bushmen of southern Africa--by the anthropologist who has spent much of the last twenty-five years documenting their encounter with modernity. If the success of a civilization is measured by its endurance over time, then...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Abigail Adams: Letters: Library of America #275

Abigail Adams · Library Of America, 2016.
Pages: 1180
Format: Print book

For the first time, a comprehensive one-volume collection of the remarkable letters of the politically astute First Lady who has been called "an American Tocqueville." From virtually the moment she married the ambitious young lawyer John Adams in 1764, Abigail Smith Adams (1744-1818)...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Birth of a Nation: Nat Turner and the Making of a Movement

Nate Parker · 37 Ink
Pages: 192
Format: Print book

This official tie-in to the highly acclaimed film, The Birth of a Nation, surveys the history and legacy of Nat Turner, the leader of one of the most renowned slave rebellions on American soil, while also exploring Turner's relevance to contemporary dialogues on race relations.Based...
Read More check catalog
 
 
National Geographic The Greeks: An Illustrated History

Diane Harris Cline · National Geographic Society
Pages: 224
Format: Hardcover

On the culture that brought us democracy, the Olympics, Socrates, and Alexander the Great, this lavishly illustrated reference about ancient Greece presents the amazing history through gripping stories; the rise and fall of the phenomenal empire; the powerful legacy left by ancient Greece...
Read More check catalog
 
 
1916: A Global History

Keith Jeffery · Bloomsbury USA
Pages: 448
Format: Hardcover

So much of the literature on the First World War centers on the trench warfare of the Western Front, and these were essential battlegrounds. But the war was in fact truly a global conflict, and by focusing on a sequence of events in 1916 across many continents, historian Keith Jeffery's...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Story of Egypt : The Civilization That Shaped the World

Joann Fletcher · Pegasus Books
Pages: 496
Format: Print book

The story of the world's greatest civilization -- spanning 4,000 years of history -- full of epic stories, spectacular places, and an evolving society rich in inventors, heroes, villains, and pioneers. The story of the world's greatest civilization spans 4,000 years of history that has shaped...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Prince Charles: The Passions and Paradoxes of an Improbable Life

Sally Bedell Smith · Random House
Pages: 596
Format: Hardcover

NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER * The life and loves of Prince Charles are illuminated in a major new biography from the New York Times bestselling author of Elizabeth the Queen - perfect for fans of The Crown. Sally Bedell Smith returns once again to the British royal family to give us a new look...
Read More check catalog