Back History | November Newsletter

SelectReads News
Simple News Pro
  History  
Paradise of the Pacific: Approaching Hawaii

Susanna Moore · Farrar, Straus and Giroux
Pages: 320
Format: Hardcover

"The dramatic history of America's tropical paradise. The history of Hawaii may be said to be the story of arrivals--from the eruption of volcanoes on the ocean floor 18,000 feet below, the first hardy seeds that over millennia found their way to the islands, and the confused birds...
Read More check catalog
 
 
A History of Ancient Egypt Volume 2

John Romer · St Martin'S Press
Pages: 512
Format: Print book

Drawing on a lifetime of research, John Romer chronicles the history of Ancient Egypt from the building of the Great Pyramid through the rise and fall of the Middle Kingdom: a peak of Pharaonic culture and the period when writing first flourished. Through extensive research over many decades...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Jerusalem Unbound: Geography, History, and the Future of the Holy City

Michael Dumper · Columbia University Press
Format: Hardcover

Jerusalem's formal political borders reveal neither the dynamics of power in the city nor the underlying factors that make an agreement between Israel and the Palestinians so difficult. The lines delineating Israeli authority are frequently different from those delineating segregated...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Prince Charles: The Passions and Paradoxes of an Improbable Life

Sally Bedell Smith · Random House
Pages: 596
Format: Hardcover

NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER * The life and loves of Prince Charles are illuminated in a major new biography from the New York Times bestselling author of Elizabeth the Queen - perfect for fans of The Crown. Sally Bedell Smith returns once again to the British royal family to give us a new look...
Read More check catalog
 
 
And Still I Rise: Black America Since MLK

Henry Louis Gates Jr. · Ecco, an imprint of HarperCollins Publishers
Pages: 321
Format: Print book

The companion book to Henry Louis Gates, Jr.'s PBS series, And Still I Rise - a timeline and chronicle of the past fifty years of black history in the U.S. in more than 350 photos.Beginning with the assassination of Malcolm X in February 1965, And Still I Rise: From Black Power to the White...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Countrymen

Bo Lidegaard · Knopf; First edition
Format: Hardcover

Amid the dark, ghastly history of World War II, the literally extraordinary story, never before fully researched by a historian, of how the Danish people banded together to save their fellow Jews from the Nazis—told through the remarkable unpublished diaries and documents of families...
Read More check catalog
 
 
John Quincy Adams: Diaries 1821-1848

John Quincy Adams · Library of America
Pages: 775
Format: Hardcover

For the 250th anniversary of John Quincy Adams's birth, a landmark new edition of an American masterpiece: the incomparable self-portrait of a man and his times from the Revolution to the coming of the Civil War.The diary of John Quincy Adams is one of the most extraordinary works in American...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Mirror Test: America at War in Iraq and Afghanistan

J Kael Weston · Alfred A Knopf, 2016.
Pages: 608
Format: Print book

A powerfully written firsthand account of the human costs of conflict, The Mirror Test asks that we as a nation look in the mirror and address hard questions about America's wars in Iraq and Afghanistan. J. Kael Weston spent seven years on the ground in Iraq and Afghanistan working...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Heretics and Heroes: How Renaissance Artists and Reformation Priests Created Our World

Thomas Cahill · Nan A. Talese
Format: Hardcover

From the inimitable bestselling author Thomas Cahill, another popular history—this one focusing on how the innovations of the Renaissance and the Reformation changed the Western world. A truly revolutionary book. In Volume VI of his acclaimed Hinges of History series, Thomas...
Read More check catalog