Back Biographies & Memoirs | July Newsletter

SelectReads News
Simple News Pro
  Biographies & Memoirs  
The Lovers: Afghanistan's Romeo and Juliet, the True Story of How They Defied Their Families and Escaped an Honor Killing

Rod Nordland · Ecco
Pages: 362
Format: Print book

A riveting, real-life equivalent of The Kite Runner - an astonishingly powerful and profoundly moving story of a young couple willing to risk everything for love that puts a human face on the ongoing debate about women's rights in the Muslim world.Zakia and Ali were from different tribes,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
William Howard Taft.

Lapham Lewis H.; Blum John M. · Times Books
Pages: 208
Format: Hardcover

The only man to serve as president and chief justice, who approached every decision in constitutional terms, defending the Founders' vision against new populist threats to American democracyWilliam Howard Taft never wanted to be president and yearned instead to serve as chief justice of the United...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Black Klansman: Race, Hate, and the Undercover Investigation of a Lifetime

Ron Stallworth · Flatiron Books
Pages: 192
Format: Hardcover

The extraordinary true story of the black detective who goes undercover to investigate the KKK, the basis for the major motion picture written and directed by Spike Lee, and produced by Jordan Peele.When detective Ron Stallworth, the first black detective in the history of the Colorado...
Read More check catalog
 
 
France is a Feast: The Photographic Journey of Paul and Julia Child

Katherine Pratt · Thames & Hudson
Pages: 208
Format: Hardcover

From the coauthor of My Life in France, a revealing collection of photographs taken by Paul Child that document his and Julia Child's years in France Through intimate and compelling photographs taken by her husband Paul Child, a gifted photographer, France is a Feast documents how Julia...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Kick : the true story of Kick Kennedy, JFK's forgotten sister and the heir to Chatsworth

Paula Byrne · Harper
Pages: 352
Format: Hardcover

Filled with a wealth of revealing new material and insight, the biography of the vivacious, unconventional - and nearly forgotten - young Kennedy sister who charmed American society and the English aristocracy, and would break with her family for love.Encouraged to be "winners"...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Rightful Heritage: Franklin D. Roosevelt and the Land of America

Douglas Brinkley · Harper
Pages: 752
Format: Print book

The acclaimed, award-winning historian - "America's new past master" (Chicago Tribune) - examines the environmental legacy of FDR and the New Deal.Douglas Brinkley's The Wilderness Warrior celebrated Theodore Roosevelt's spirit of outdoor exploration and bold vision to protect...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Ernest Hemingway: A Biography

Mary V Dearborn · Knopf
Pages: 752
Format: Print book

The first full biography of Ernest Hemingway in more than fifteen years; the first to draw upon a wide array of never-before-used material; the first written by a woman, from the widely acclaimed biographer of Norman Mailer, Peggy Guggenheim, Henry Miller, and Louise Bryant. A revelatory...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Agent M: The Lives and Spies of MI5's Maxwell Knight

Henry Hemming · PublicAffairs
Pages: 320
Format: Print book

Maxwell Knight was a paradox. A jazz obsessive and nature enthusiast (he is the author of the definitive work on how to look after a gorilla) , he is seen today as one of MI5's greatest spymasters, a man who did more than any other to break up British fascism during the Second World War - in spite...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Real Peter Pan: J. M. Barrie and the Boy Who Inspired Him

Piers Dudgeon · Thomas Dunne Books
Pages: 416
Format: Print book

The world has long been captivated by the story of Peter Pan and the countless movies, plays, musicals, and books that retell the story of Peter, Wendy, and the Lost Boys. Now, in this revealing behind-the-scenes book, author Piers Dudgeon examines the fascinating and complex relationships...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Most Beautiful: My Life with Prince

Mayte Garcia · Hachette Books
Pages: 304
Format: Hardcover

INSTANT NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLERAt the one-year anniversary of his death, legendary musician Prince's first wife shares a uniquely intimate, candid, and revelatory look inside the personal and professional life of one of the world's most beloved icons. In The Most Beautiful, a title inspired...
Read More check catalog
 
 
A Thousand Naked Strangers: A Paramedic's Wild Ride to the Edge and Back

Kevin Hazzard · Scribner
Pages: 288
Format: Print book

A former paramedic's visceral, poignant, and mordantly funny account of a decade spent on Atlanta's mean streets saving lives and connecting with the drama and occasional beauty that lies inside catastrophe.In the aftermath of 9/11 Kevin Hazzard felt that something was missing from his life...
Read More check catalog
 
 
I Am, I Am, I Am: Seventeen Brushes with Death

Maggie O'Farrell · Knopf
Pages: 304
Format: Hardcover

An extraordinary memoir--told entirely in near-death experiences--from one of Britain's best-selling novelists, for fans of Wild, When Breath Becomes Air, and The Year of Magical Thinking.We are never closer to life than when we brush up against the possibility of death.I Am, I Am, I Am is Maggie...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Knitlandia: A Knitter Sees the World

Clara Parkes · STC Craft
Pages: 160
Format: Print book

Knitting aficionado and notable artisan Clara Parkes delves into her storied travels with this inspiring and witty memoir on a creative life enriched by her adventures around the world. Building on the success of The Yarn Whisperer, Parkes's rich personal essays invite readers and devoted...
Read More check catalog