Back Biographies & Memoirs | April Newsletter

SelectReads News
Simple News Pro
  Biographies & Memoirs  
The Wars of the Roosevelts: The Ruthless Rise of America's Greatest Political Family

William J Mann · Harpercollins
Pages: 640
Format: Print book

The award-winning author presents a provocative, thoroughly modern revisionist biographical history of one of America's greatest and most influential families - the Roosevelts - exposing heretofore unknown family secrets and detailing complex family rivalries with his signature cinematic...
Read More check catalog
 
 
In Search of Mary Shelley: The Girl Who Wrote Frankenstein

FIONA SAMPSON · Pegasus Books
Pages: 368
Format: Hardcover

Coinciding with the 200th anniversary of the publication of Frankenstein in 1818, a prize-winning poet delivers a major new biography of Mary Shelley -- as she has never been seen before.We know the facts of Mary Shelley's life in some detail -- the death of her mother, Mary Wollstonecraft,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Meg, Jo, Beth, Amy: The Story of Little Women and Why It Still Matters

Anne Boyd Rioux · W. W. Norton & Company
Pages: 352
Format: Hardcover

On its 150th anniversary, discover the story of the beloved classic that has captured the imaginations of generations.Soon after publication on September 30, 1868, Little Women became an enormous bestseller and one of America's favorite novels. Its popularity quickly spread throughout the world,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
My Life with Bob: Flawed Heroine Keeps Book of Books, Plot Ensues

PAMELA PAUL · HENRY HOLT
Pages: 256
Format: Print book

Imagine keeping a record of every book you ever read. What would those titles say about you? With humor and warmth, the editor of The New York Times Book Review shares the stories that have shaped her lifeFor twenty-eight years, Pamela Paul has been keeping a diary that records the books...
Read More check catalog
 
 
All That Heaven Allows: A Biography of Rock Hudson

Mark Griffin · Harper
Pages: 496
Format: Hardcover

The definitive biography of the deeply complex and widely misunderstood matinee idol of Hollywood's Golden Age.Devastatingly handsome, broad-shouldered and clean-cut, Rock Hudson was the ultimate movie star. The embodiment of romantic masculinity in American film throughout the '50s and '60s,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Empire of Deception: The Incredible Story of a Master Swindler Who Seduced a City and Captivated the Nation

Dean Jobb · Algonquin Books
Format: Print book

ldquoA rollicking tale that is one part The Sting one part The Great Gatsby and one part The Devil in the White Cityrdquo mdashKaren Abbott author of Liar Temptress Soldier Spy In a time of unregulated madness nowhere was it madder than in Chicago at the dawn of the Roaring Twenties It was the perfect...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Robin

Dave Itzkoff · Henry Holt and Co.
Pages: 544
Format: Hardcover

From New York Times culture reporter Dave Itzkoff, the definitive biography of Robin Williams - a compelling portrait of one of America's most beloved and misunderstood entertainers.From his rapid-fire stand-up comedy riffs to his breakout role in Mork & Mindy and his Academy Award-winning...
Read More check catalog
 
 
After the Eclipse: A Mother's Murder, a Daughter's Search

Sarah Perry · Houghton Mifflin Harcourt
Pages: 368
Format: Hardcover

A fierce memoir of a mother's murder, a daughter's coming-of-age in the wake of immense loss, and her mission to know the woman who gave her life. When Sarah Perry was twelve, she saw a partial eclipse of the sun, an event she took as a sign of good fortune for her and her mother, Crystal....
Read More check catalog
 
 
I Am, I Am, I Am: Seventeen Brushes with Death

Maggie O'Farrell · Knopf
Pages: 304
Format: Hardcover

An extraordinary memoir--told entirely in near-death experiences--from one of Britain's best-selling novelists, for fans of Wild, When Breath Becomes Air, and The Year of Magical Thinking.We are never closer to life than when we brush up against the possibility of death.I Am, I Am, I Am is Maggie...
Read More check catalog
 
 
A Kingdom of Their Own: The Family Karzai and the Afghan Disaster

Joshua Partlow · Knopf
Pages: 416
Format: Print book

The key to understanding the calamitous Afghan war is the complex, ultimately failed relationship between the powerful, duplicitous Karzai family and the United States--brilliantly portrayed here in its entirety for the first time by the former Washington Post Kabul bureau chief. The United...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Henry James: Autobiographies: A Small Boy and Others / Notes of a Son and Brother / The Middle Years / Other Writings: Library of America #274

Henry James · Library Of America, 2016.
Pages: 850
Format: Print book

The most extensive collection of Henry James's autobiographical writings ever published offers a revelatory self-portrait from one of America's supreme novelists and his famous family. In 1911, deeply affected by the death of his brother William the year before, Henry James began...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Florence Foster Jenkins

Nicholas Martin · St. Martin's Griffin
Pages: 256
Format: Print book

People may say that I couldn't sing. But no one can say that I didn't sing.' Despite lacking pitch, rhythm or tone, Florence Foster Jenkins became one of America's best-known sopranos, celebrated for her unique recordings and her sell-out concert at Carnegie Hall. Born in 1868 to wealthy...
Read More check catalog
 
 
A Thousand Naked Strangers: A Paramedic's Wild Ride to the Edge and Back

Kevin Hazzard · Scribner
Pages: 288
Format: Print book

A former paramedic's visceral, poignant, and mordantly funny account of a decade spent on Atlanta's mean streets saving lives and connecting with the drama and occasional beauty that lies inside catastrophe.In the aftermath of 9/11 Kevin Hazzard felt that something was missing from his life...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Jane Austen at Home: A Biography

LUCY WORSLEY · St. Martin's Press
Pages: 400
Format: Hardcover

"Jane Austen at Home offers a fascinating look at Jane Austen's world through the lens of the homes in which she lived and worked throughout her life. The result is a refreshingly unique perspective on Austen and her work and a beautifully nuanced exploration of gender, creativity,...
Read More check catalog