Back Science Fiction & Fantasy | July Newsletter

SelectReads News
Simple News Pro
  Science Fiction & Fantasy  
The Jane Austen Project: A Novel

Kathleen Flynn · Harper Perennial
Pages: 373
Format: Paperback

Perfect for fans of Jane Austen, this engrossing debut novel offers an unusual twist on the legacy of one of the world's most celebrated and beloved authors: two researchers from the future are sent back in time to meet Jane and recover a suspected unpublished novel.London, 1815: Two travelers...
Read More check catalog
 
 
A Trail Through Time: The Chronicles of St. Mary's Book Four

Jodi Taylor · Night Shade Books
Pages: 348
Format: Print book

The fourth book in the bestselling British madcap time-travelling series, served with a dash of wit that seems to be everyone's cup of tea.Behind the seemingly innocuous facade of St. Mary's Institute of Historical Research, a different kind of academic work is taking place. Just don't...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Lucky Ones: A Novel

Julianne Pachico · Spiegel & Grau
Pages: 254
Format: Hardcover

A literary jigsaw puzzle of a debut novel set in Colombia during the peak of its decades-long conflict, and in New York City While her parents are away, a teenager finds herself home alone, with the household staff mysteriously gone, no phone connection, and news of an insurgency on the radio...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Arrival

Ted Chiang · Vintage
Pages: 304
Format: Paperback

Previously published as Stories of Your Life and Others. Includes "Story Of Your Life," the basis for the major motion picture Arrival, starring Amy Adams, Forest Whitaker, Jeremy Renner, and directed by Denis Villeneuve."Shining, haunting, mind-blowing tales . . . Ted Chiang...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Study in sable : an elemental masters novel.

Mercedes Lackey · DAW Books
Pages: 313
Format: Print book

Psychic Nan Killian and Medium Sarah Lyon-White - along with their clever birds, the raven Neville and the parrot Grey - have been agents of Lord Alderscroft, the Elemental Fire Master known as the Wizard of London, since leaving school. Now, Lord Alderscroft assigns them another commission:...
Read More check catalog
 
 
First confessor : the legend of magda searus

Terry Goodkind · Tor
Pages: 640
Format: Print book

From #1 "New York Times" bestselling author Terry Goodkind comes "The First Confessor, " the prequel to the Sword of Truth. In a time before legends had yet been born... Married to the powerful leader of her people, safe among those gifted with great ability, Magda Searus...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Spaceman of Bohemia

Jaroslav Kalfar · Little
Pages: 288
Format: Print book

An intergalactic odyssey of love, ambition, and self-discoveryOrphaned as a boy, raised in the Czech countryside by his doting grandparents, Jakub Procházka has risen from small-time scientist to become the country's first astronaut. When a dangerous solo mission to Venus offers him both...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Ursula K. Le Guin: Hainish Novels and Stories, Vol. 1

Ursula K. Le Guin · Library of America
Pages: 1100
Format: Hardcover

The star-spanning story of humanity's colonization of other planets, Ursula K. Le Guin's visionary Hainish novels and stories redrew the map of modern science fiction, making it a rich field for literary explorations of "the nature of human nature," as Margaret Atwood has described...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Clockwork Dynasty: A Novel

Daniel H Wilson · Doubleday Books
Pages: 320
Format: Hardcover

An ingenious new thriller that weaves a path through history, following a race of human-like machines that have been hiding among us for untold centuries, written by the New York Times bestselling author of Robopocalypse. Present day: When a young anthropologist specializing in ancient...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Neverwhere: Author's Preferred Text

Neil Gaiman · William Morrow
Pages: 440
Format: Print book

National BestsellerSelected as one of NPR's Top 100 Science Fiction and Fantasy Books of All TimeThe #1 New York Times bestselling author's ultimate edition of his wildly successful first novel featuring his "preferred text" - and including his new Neverwhere tale, "How...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Sip

Brian Allen Carr · Soho Press
Pages: 304
Format: Hardcover

A lyrical, apocalyptic debut novel about addiction, friendship, and the struggle for survivalIt started with a single child and quickly spread: you could get high by drinking your own shadow. At night, lights were destroyed so that addicts could sip shadow in the pure light of the moon.Gangs...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Harrows of Spring: A World Made by Hand Novel

James Howard Kunstler · Atlantic Monthly Press
Pages: 384
Format: Print book

From renowned social critic, energy expert, and bestselling author James Howard Kunstler, The Harrows of Spring is a moving and gripping novel that completes the story of the quaint upstate New York town of Union Grove, thrown into a future world that in many ways resembles the nineteenth...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Autonomous

ANNALEE NEWITZ · Tor Books
Pages: 304
Format: Hardcover

"Autonomous is to biotech and AI what Neuromancer was to the Internet." -- Neal Stephenson"Something genuinely and thrillingly new in the naturalistic, subjective, paradoxically humanistic but non-anthropomorphic depiction of bot-POV -- and all in the service of vivid, solid...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Fallout: The Hot War

Harry Turtledove · Del Rey, 2016.
Pages: 432
Format: Print book

One act of folly. One poor decision. One moment of rage. The novels of Harry Turtledove show history balancing on single moments. In his astounding new novel, the unthinkable has come to pass. The Cold War turns hot - and the United States and the Soviet Union unleash their nuclear arsenals...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Beren and Lúthien

J R R TOLKIEN · Houghton Mifflin Harcourt
Pages: 288
Format: Hardcover

The tale of Beren and Lúthien was, or became, an essential element in the evolution of The Silmarillion, the myths and legends of the First Age of the World conceived by J.R.R. Tolkien. Returning from France and the battle of the Somme at the end of 1916, he wrote the tale in the following...
Read More check catalog