Back Science Fiction & Fantasy | January Newsletter

SelectReads News
Simple News Pro
  Science Fiction & Fantasy  
The One

John Marrs · Hanover Square Press
Pages: 368
Format: Hardcover

How far would you go to find THE ONE? One simple mouth swab is all it takes. A quick DNA test to find your perfect partner - the one you're genetically made for. A decade after scientists discover everyone has a gene they share with just one other person, millions have taken the test, desperate...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Handmaid's Tale

MARGARET ATWOOD · Houghton Mifflin Harcourt
Pages: 320
Format: Hardcover

Now a Hulu Original Series, premiering in AprilThe Handmaid's Tale is a novel of such power that the reader will be unable to forget its images and its forecast. Set in the near future, it describes life in what was once the United States and is now called the Republic of Gilead, a monotheocracy...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Someone Like Me

M R CAREY · Orbit
Pages: 400
Format: Hardcover

From the author of the million-copy bestseller The Girl With All the Gifts comes a heart-stopping high-concept thriller with a gripping supernatural twist that you won't see coming.SHE LOOKS LIKE ME. SHE SOUNDS LIKE ME. NOW SHE'S TRYING TO TAKE MY PLACE.Liz Kendall wouldn't hurt a fly....
Read More check catalog
 
 
Dead Ice: An Anita Blake, Vampire Hunter Novel

Laurell K Hamilton · Jove Pubns
Pages: 608
Format: Print book

Zombies and voodoo collide in the latest Anita Blake, Vampire Hunter, novel from the #1 New York Times bestselling author of Affliction and A Shiver of Light. Becoming the fiancée of master vampire Jean-Claude is wreaking havoc with Anita Blake's reputation as a hardass - to some...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Harrows of Spring: A World Made by Hand Novel

James Howard Kunstler · Atlantic Monthly Press
Pages: 384
Format: Print book

From renowned social critic, energy expert, and bestselling author James Howard Kunstler, The Harrows of Spring is a moving and gripping novel that completes the story of the quaint upstate New York town of Union Grove, thrown into a future world that in many ways resembles the nineteenth...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Beren and Lúthien

J R R TOLKIEN · Houghton Mifflin Harcourt
Pages: 288
Format: Hardcover

The tale of Beren and Lúthien was, or became, an essential element in the evolution of The Silmarillion, the myths and legends of the First Age of the World conceived by J.R.R. Tolkien. Returning from France and the battle of the Somme at the end of 1916, he wrote the tale in the following...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Song Rising

Samantha Shannon · Bloomsbury USA
Pages: 363
Format: Hardcover

The magnificent new book in the New York Times-bestselling series: a fantastic tale of rebellion and courage against enormous odds.Following a bloody battle against foes on every side, Paige Mahoney has risen to the dangerous position of Underqueen, ruling over London's criminal population....
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Secret History of Twin Peaks

Mark Frost · Flatiron Books
Pages: 368
Format: Print book

From the co-creator of the landmark television series Twin Peaks comes a novel that deepens the mysteries of that iconic town in ways that not only enrich the original series but readies fans for the upcoming Showtime episodes.
Read More check catalog
 
 
Trail of Lightning

Rebecca Roanhorse · Saga Press
Pages: 304
Format: Hardcover

While most of the world has drowned beneath the sudden rising waters of a climate apocalypse, Dinétah (formerly the Navajo reservation) has been reborn. The gods and heroes of legend walk the land, but so do monsters.Maggie Hoskie is a Dinétah monster hunter, a supernaturally...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Eleanor: A Novel

Jason Gurley · Crown Publishers
Pages: 374
Format: Print book

Eleanor and Esmerelda are identical twins with a secret language all their own, inseparable until a terrible accident claims Esme's life. Eleanor's family is left in tatters: her mother retreats inward, seeking comfort in bottles; her father reluctantly abandons ship. Eleanor is forced...
Read More check catalog
 
 
A Symphony of Echoes: The Chronicles of St. Mary's Book Two

Jodi Taylor · Night Shade Books
Pages: 327
Format: Print book

The second book in the bestselling British madcap time-travelling series, served with a dash of wit that seems to be everyone's cup of tea.Behind the seemingly innocuous facade of St. Mary's Institute of Historical Research, a different kind of academic work is taking place. Just don't...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Book of Esther: A Novel

Emily Barton · Tim Duggan Books
Pages: 418
Format: Print book

What if an empire of Jewish warriors that really existed in the Middle Ages had never fallen - and was the only thing standing between Hitler and his conquest of Russia? Eastern Europe, August 1942. The Khazar kaganate, an isolated nation of Turkic warrior Jews, lies between the Pontus...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Canto Bight

BALLANTINE. · Del Rey
Pages: 320
Format: Hardcover

Journey to Canto Bight: a lavish city rich with opportunity - but where the stakes couldn't be higher. Featuring four interconnected novella-length adventures of the exotic aliens and creatures who frequent the captivating casino. With stories by Saladin Ahmed, Rae Carson, Mira Grant, and John...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Collapsing Empire

John Scalzi · Tor Books
Pages: 336
Format: Hardcover

"John Scalzi is the most entertaining, accessible writer working in SF today." -- Joe Hill, author of The FiremanOur universe is ruled by physics. Faster than light travel is impossible -- until the discovery of The Flow, an extradimensional field available at certain points...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Sleeping Giants

Sylvain Neuvel · Del Rey
Pages: 304
Format: Print book

A page-turning debut in the tradition of Michael Crichton, World War Z, and The Martian, Sleeping Giants is a thriller fueled by an earthshaking mystery - and a fight to control a gargantuan power. A girl named Rose is riding her new bike near her home in Deadwood, South Dakota, when she falls...
Read More check catalog