Back Science Fiction & Fantasy | September Newsletter

SelectReads News
Simple News Pro
  Science Fiction & Fantasy  
A Twist in Time: A Novel

Julie Mcelwain · Pegasus Books
Pages: 452
Format: Hardcover

When Kendra Donovan's plan to return to the 21st century fails, leaving her stranded in 1815, the Duke of Aldridge believes he knows the reason -- she must save his nephew, who has been accused of brutally murdering his ex-mistress. Former FBI agent Kendra Donovan's attempts to return to the twenty-first...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Version Control: A Novel

Dexter Palmer · Pantheon Books
Pages: 495
Format: Print book

The acclaimed author of The Dream of Perpetual Motion returns with a compelling novel about the effects of science and technology on our friendships, our love lives, and our sense of self. Rebecca Wright has reclaimed her life, finding her way out of her grief and depression following a personal...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Walkaway

Cory Doctorow · Tor Books
Pages: 379
Format: Hardcover

From New York Times bestselling author Cory Doctorow, an epic tale of revolution, love, post-scarcity, and the end of death."Walkaway is now the best contemporary example I know of, its utopia glimpsed after fascinatingly-extrapolated revolutionary struggle." -- William GibsonHubert...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Vox

Christina Dalcher · Berkley Books
Pages: 336
Format: Hardcover

Set in an America where half the population has been silenced, VOX is the harrowing, unforgettable story of what one woman will do to protect herself and her daughter. On the day the government decrees that women are no longer allowed more than 100 words daily, Dr. Jean McClellan is in denial...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Last Shot

BALLANTINE. · Del Rey
Pages: 368
Format: Hardcover

Even the fastest ship in the galaxy can't outrun the past. . . . THEN: It's one of the galaxy's most dangerous secrets: a mysterious transmitter with unknown power and a reward for its discovery that most could only dream of claiming. But those who fly the Millennium Falcon throughout...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Moon and the Other

John Kessel · Saga Press
Pages: 544
Format: Print book

John Kessel, one of the most visionary writers in the field, has created a rich matriarchal utopia, set in the near future on the moon, a society that is flawed by love and sex, and on the brink of a destructive civil war.In the middle of the twenty-second century, over three million people...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Wild Dead

Carrie Vaughn · John Joseph Adams/Mariner Books
Pages: 272
Format: Paperback

A Mariner Original Mysteries and murder abound in the sequel to Carrie Vaughn's post-apocalyptic mystery Bannerless. A century after environmental and economic collapse, the people of the Coast Road have rebuilt their own sort of civilization, striving not to make the mistakes their...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Artemis: A Novel

Andy Weir · Crown
Pages: 320
Format: Hardcover

The bestselling author of The Martian returns with an irresistible new near-future thriller - a heist story set on the moon. Jazz Bashara is a criminal. Well, sort of. Life on Artemis, the first and only city on the moon, is tough if you're not a rich tourist or an eccentric billionaire....
Read More check catalog
 
 
First confessor : the legend of magda searus

Terry Goodkind · Tor
Pages: 640
Format: Print book

From #1 "New York Times" bestselling author Terry Goodkind comes "The First Confessor, " the prequel to the Sword of Truth. In a time before legends had yet been born... Married to the powerful leader of her people, safe among those gifted with great ability, Magda Searus...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Gilded Cage

Vic James · Del Rey
Pages: 358
Format: Hardcover

A darkly fantastical debut set in a modern England where magically gifted aristocrats rule, and commoners are doomed to serve - for readers of Victoria Aveyard and Susanna Clarke NOT ALL ARE FREE. NOT ALL ARE EQUAL. NOT ALL WILL BE SAVED. Our world belongs to the Equals - aristocrats with...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Arrival

Ted Chiang · Vintage
Pages: 304
Format: Paperback

Previously published as Stories of Your Life and Others. Includes "Story Of Your Life," the basis for the major motion picture Arrival, starring Amy Adams, Forest Whitaker, Jeremy Renner, and directed by Denis Villeneuve."Shining, haunting, mind-blowing tales . . . Ted Chiang...
Read More check catalog
 
 
League of Dragons

Naomi Novik · Del Rey
Pages: 380
Format: Print book

With the acclaimed Temeraire novels, New York Times bestselling author Naomi Novik has created a fantasy series like no other, combining the high-flying appeal of Anne McCaffrey's Pern saga and the swashbuckling derring-do of Patrick O'Brian's historical seafaring adventures. Now, with...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Fallout: The Hot War

Harry Turtledove · Del Rey, 2016.
Pages: 432
Format: Print book

One act of folly. One poor decision. One moment of rage. The novels of Harry Turtledove show history balancing on single moments. In his astounding new novel, the unthinkable has come to pass. The Cold War turns hot - and the United States and the Soviet Union unleash their nuclear arsenals...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Rogue One: A Star Wars Story

Ballantine. · Del Rey
Pages: 319
Format: Print book

NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER * Go beyond the film with a novelization featuring new scenes and expanded material. As the shadows of the Empire loom ever larger across the galaxy, so do deeply troubling rumors. The Rebellion has learned of a sinister Imperial plot to bring entire worlds...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Eleanor: A Novel

Jason Gurley · Crown Publishers
Pages: 374
Format: Print book

Eleanor and Esmerelda are identical twins with a secret language all their own, inseparable until a terrible accident claims Esme's life. Eleanor's family is left in tatters: her mother retreats inward, seeking comfort in bottles; her father reluctantly abandons ship. Eleanor is forced...
Read More check catalog