Back Top Choices | April Newsletter

SelectReads News
Simple News Pro
  Top Choices  
The Dream of Enlightenment: The Rise of Modern Philosophy

Anthony Gottlieb · Liveright Publishing Corp
Pages: 384
Format: Print book

The author of the classic The Dream of Reason vividly explains the rise of modern thought from Descartes to Rousseau. "Never has the story been told so well," said the New York Review of Books of Anthony Gottlieb's The Dream of Reason, an "endlessly entertaining and frequently...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Rain in Portugal: Poems

Billy Collins · Random House
Pages: 108
Format: Print book

NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER * From former U.S. Poet Laureate Billy Collins comes a twelfth collection of poetry offering nearly fifty new poems that showcase the generosity, wit, and imaginative play that prompted The Wall Street Journal to call him "America's favorite poet." The Rain...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Mistress: A Novel

Danielle Steel · Delacorte Press
Pages: 336
Format: Print book

#1 NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER * Incomparable storyteller Danielle Steel illuminates rarely glimpsed precincts of unimaginable wealth and power, where love and freedom are the most dangerous desires of all. Natasha Leonova's beauty saved her life. Discovered on a freezing Moscow street by a Russian...
Read More check catalog
 
 
All the Gallant Men: An American Sailor's Firsthand Account of Pearl Harbor

Donald Stratton · William Morrow
Pages: 306
Format: Print book

The extraordinary first and only memoir by a survivor of the USS Arizona, published in conjunction with the seventy-fifth anniversary of Pearl Harbor. An unforgettable and moving story of tragedy, heroism, resilience, and redemption that is sure to become an enduring document of American...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Deep Run Roots: Stories and Recipes from My Corner of the South

Vivian Howard · Little
Pages: 512
Format: Print book

The definitive Southern cookbook for a new generation from the star chef and co-creator of PBS's "A Chef's Life""Deep Run Roots "is Vivian Howard's comprehensive record of modern Southern cooking, filled with stories and more than 200 recipes that celebrate...
Read More check catalog
 
 
UnSelfie: Why Empathetic Kids Succeed in Our All-About-Me World

Michele Borba · Touchstone
Pages: 262
Format: Print book

Bestselling author Michele Borba offers a 9-step program to help parents cultivate empathy in children, from birth to young adulthood - and explains why developing a healthy sense of empathy is a key predictor of which kids will thrive and succeed in the future.Is the Selfie Syndrome Undermining...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Stories of Your Life and Others

Ted Chiang · Vintage Books
Pages: 281
Format: Print book

Includes "Story of Your Life" the basis for the major motion picture Arrival, starring Amy Adams, Forest Whitaker, Jeremy Renner, and directed by Denis Villeneuve."Shining, haunting, mind-blowing tales . . . Ted Chiang is so exhilarating, so original, so stylish he just leaves...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Insane Clown President: Dispatches from the 2016 Circus

MATT TAIBBI · Spiegel & Grau
Pages: 314
Format: Print book

Dispatches from the 2016 election that provide an eerily prescient take on our democracy's uncertain future, by the country's most perceptive and fearless political journalist. In twenty-five pieces from Rolling Stone - plus two original essays - Matt Taibbi tells the story of Western civilization's...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Filthy Rich

James Patterson · Little
Pages: 15
Format: Print book

A shocking true crime tale of money, power, and sex from the world's most popular thriller writer.Jeffrey Epstein rose from humble origins to the rarefied heights of New York City's financial elite. A college dropout with an instinct for numbers--and for people--Epstein amassed his wealth...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Dead Letters: A Novel

Caite Dolan-Leach · Random House
Pages: 332
Format: Hardcover

A missing woman leads her twin sister on a twisted scavenger hunt in this clever debut novel that will keep you guessing until the end - for readers of Gone Girl and The Girl Before. "Ahoy, Ava! Welcome home, my sweet jet-setting twin! So glad you were able to wrest yourself away from...
Read More check catalog
 
 
All the Little Liars

Charlaine Harris · Minotaur Books
Pages: 229
Format: Print book

#1 New York Times bestseller Charlaine Harris finally returns to her fan-favorite Aurora Teagarden series with All the Little Liars, a fabulously fun new mystery.Aurora Teagarden is basking in the news of her pregnancy when disaster strikes her small Georgia town: four kids vanish from...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Freedom: My Book of Firsts

Jaycee Lee Dugard · Simon & Schuster
Pages: 272
Format: Print book

In the follow-up to her #1 bestselling memoir, A Stolen Life, Jaycee Dugard tells the story of her first experiences after years in captivity: the joys that accompanied her newfound freedom and the challenges of adjusting to life on her own.When Jaycee Dugard was eleven years old, she was abducted...
Read More check catalog
 
 
And Every Morning the Way Home Gets Longer and Longer: A Novella

Fredrik Backman · Atria Books
Pages: 96
Format: Print book

From the New York Times bestselling author of A Man Called Ove, My Grandmother Asked Me To Tell You She's Sorry, and Britt-Marie Was Here comes an exquisitely moving portrait of an elderly man's struggle to hold on to his most precious memories, and his family's efforts to care for him even...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Cat With a Clue: A Bookmobile Cats Mystery

Laurie Cass · Obsidian
Pages: 346
Format: Print book

The national bestselling author of Pouncing on Murder returns as librarian Minnie Hamilton and her rescue cat Eddie discover there's a true crime story unraveling in their own nonfiction section. . . . Early one morning while shelving books in the library, Minnie stumbles upon a dead...
Read More check catalog
 
 
StarTalk: Everything You Ever Need to Know About Space Travel, Sci-Fi, the Human Race, the Universe, and Beyond

Neil Degrasse Tyson · National Geographic
Pages: 304
Format: Print book

This beautifully illustrated companion to celebrated scientist Neil deGrasse Tyson's popular podcast and National Geographic Channel TV show is an eye-opening journey for anyone curious about the complexities of our universe. For decades, beloved astrophysicist Neil deGrasse Tyson has interpreted...
Read More check catalog