Back Ages 9-12 | February Newsletter

SelectReads News
Simple News Pro
  Ages 9-12  
The Case of the Vanishing Little Brown Bats: A Scientific Mystery

Sandra Markle · Millbrook Press
Pages: 48
Format: Library Binding

Little brown bats do us a big favor. They eat huge numbers of insects! That helps limit the spread of diseases and the damage that insects do to farm crops. But in recent years, large populations of little brown bats have been dying off each winter. Is a virus killing them? Could climate...
Read More check catalog
Catch You Later, Traitor

Avi · Algonquin Books of Chapel Hill
Pages: 304
Format: Hardcover

Brooklyn, New York, 1951. Twelve-year-old Pete Collison is a regular kid who loves Sam Spade detective books and radio crime dramas, but when an FBI agent shows up at Pete's doorstep accusing his father of being a Communist, Pete finds himself caught in a real-life mystery. Could there...
Read More check catalog
Pieces and Players

Blue Balliett · Scholastic Press
Pages: 320
Format: Hardcover

From the NEW YORK TIMES bestselling author of CHASING VERMEER, THE WRIGHT 3, and HOLD FASTTHE PIECESThirteen extremely valuable pieces of art have been stolen from one of the most secretive museums in the world. A Vermeer has vanished. A Degas has disappeared. And nobody has any idea where...
Read More check catalog
Ouch!: The Weird & Wild Ways Your Body Deals with Agonizing Aches, Ferocious Fevers, Lousy Lumps, Crummy Colds, Bothersome Bites, Breaks, Bruises & Burns

Joe Rhatigan · Imagine
Format: Book

Ow, yuck, EEW, ack!From blisters, bruises, and bleeding to stings, sprains, and broken bones, there are so many things that bother the body. And whether a child has a crummy cold, a ferocious fever, a nasty bite, or a burn from touching a hot stove, pain is confusing and distressing. Why does...
Read More check catalog
The Adventures of a South Pole Pig: A novel of snow and courage

Chris Kurtz · Harcourt Children's Books, Houghton Mifflin Harcourt, 2013.
Pages: 278
Format: Print book

Flora the pig was born for adventure: "If it's unexplored and needs to get dug up, call me. I'm your pig," she says. The day Flora spots a team of sled dogs is the day she sets her heart on becoming a sled pig. Before she knows it, she's on board a ship to Antarctica for the most...
Read More check catalog
Diary of a Wimpy Kid: Hard Luck, Book 8

Jeff Kinney · Harry N Abrams Inc
Pages: 217
Format: Hardcover

Greg Heffley's on a losing streak. His best friend, Rowley Jefferson, has ditched him, and finding new friends in middle school is proving to be a tough task. To change his fortunes, Greg decides to take a leap of faith and turn his decisions over to chance. Will a roll of the dice...
Read More check catalog
Junk Drawer Physics: 50 Awesome Experiments That Don't Cost a Thing

Bobby Mercer · Chicago Review Press
Format: Paperback

A children's instructional book on how to use readily available materials to turn the house into a science lab Physics teacher Bobby Mercer provides readers with more than 50 great hands-on experiments that can be performed for just pennies, or less. Turn a plastic cup into a pinhole...
Read More check catalog
Under the Egg

Laura Marx Fitzgerald · Dial Books
Pages: 247
Format: Hardcover

From the Mixed-Up Files of Mrs. Basil E. Frankweiler meets Chasing Vermeer in this clever middle grade debutWhen Theodora Tenpenny spills a bottle of rubbing alcohol on her late grandfather's painting, she discovers what seems to be an old Renaissance masterpiece underneath. That's...
Read More check catalog
The Meaning of Maggie

Megan Jean Sovern · Chronicle Books Llc
Pages: 220
Format: Print book

* "Smart, sensitive, sad and funny." - Kirkus Reviews, starred reviewAs befits a future President of the United States of America, Maggie Mayfield has decided to write a memoir of the past year of her life. And what a banner year it's been! During this period she's Student of the Month...
Read More check catalog
The Vine Basket

Josanne La Valley · Clarion Books
Format: Hardcover

Things aren’t looking good for fourteen-year-old Mehrigul. She yearns to be in school, but she’s needed on the family farm. The longer she’s out of school, the more likely it is that she’ll be sent off to a Chinese factory . . . perhaps never to return. Her only...
Read More check catalog
Trials of Apollo, The Book Two The Dark Prophecy

Rick Riordan · Disney-Hyperion
Pages: 414
Format: Hardcover

Zeus has punished his son Apollo--god of the sun, music, archery, poetry, and more--by casting him down to earth in the form of a gawky, acne-covered sixteen-year-old mortal named Lester. The only way Apollo can reclaim his rightful place on Mount Olympus is by restoring several Oracles...
Read More check catalog
Kate the Great, Except When She's Not

Suzy Becker · Crown Books for Young Readers
Format: Hardcover

Fans of Wimpy Kid and Dork Diaries will love this illustrated series by the New York Times bestselling author of All I Need to Know I Learned from My Cat. Meet Kate Geller, a sassy flute-playing artist, who comes up with an original way to redefine friendship. Kates older sister is way too perfect....
Read More check catalog
Platypus Police Squad: The Ostrich Conspiracy

Jarrett Krosoczka · Harpercollins Childrens Books
Pages: 218
Format: Hardcover

Jarrett J. Krosoczka is back with The Ostrich Conspiracy, the second installment in a fast-paced, action-packed, and hilarious middle-grade series featuring two platypus detectives, perfect for fans of Diary of a Wimpy Kid, Big Nate, and Lunch Lady.The opening of the Kalamazoo City Dome...
Read More check catalog
Spirit Animals: Book 2: Hunted

Maggie Stiefvater · Scholastic Inc.
Pages: 192
Format: Hardcover

The adventure continues in this second book in the New York Times bestselling series.In the world of Erdas, only a rare few are able to summon a spirit animal in the way Conor, Abeke, Meilin, and Rollan have. The bond they share with their animals is a partnership that allows them to access...
Read More check catalog