Back Ages 9-12 | April Newsletter

SelectReads News
Simple News Pro
  Ages 9-12  
The Fourteenth Goldfish

Jennifer L. Holm · Random House
Pages: 195
Format: Hardcover

Believe in the possible . . . with this "warm, witty, and wise" New York Times bestselling novel from three-time Newbery Honor winner Jennifer L. Holm Galileo. Newton. Salk. Oppenheimer.Science can change the world . . . but can it go too far? Eleven-year-old Ellie has never liked...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Everblaze

Shannon Messenger · Aladdin; Reprint edition
Format: Hardcover

Sophie uncovers shocking secrets - and faces treacherous new enemies - in this electrifying third book in the Keeper of the Lost Cities series.Sophie Foster is ready to fight back. Her talents are getting stronger, and with the elusive Black Swan group ignoring her calls for help, she's...
Read More check catalog
 
 
A Dragon's Guide to the Care and Feeding of Humans

Laurence Yep · Crown Books for Young Readers
Pages: 152
Format: Hardcover

Fans of How to Train Your Dragon will love this whimsical tale, the first in a series, by a Newbery Honor winner, featuring charming illustrations and pet "training tips" in each chapter. Crusty dragon Miss Drake has a new pet human, precocious Winnie. Oddly enough, Winnie seems...
Read More check catalog
 
 
One Year in Coal Harbor

Polly Horvath · Schwartz & Wade
Format: Hardcover

Readers rejoice—Primrose Squarp is back! The wise and curious heroine of the Newbery Honor Book Everything on a Waffle is facing another adventure-filled year in Coal Harbor. Even though her parents, once lost at sea, are home, there’s a whole slew of problems and mysteries...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The red trailer mystery

Julie Campbell · Random House Childrens Books
Pages: 262

Trixie and Honey s friend Jim has run away from Sleepyside before anyone could tell him that he is the only heir to the huge Frayne fortune. The girls set out across upstate New York in a trailer to track him down . . . and stumble onto another mystery along the way "
Read More check catalog
 
 
Junk Drawer Physics: 50 Awesome Experiments That Don't Cost a Thing

Bobby Mercer · Chicago Review Press
Format: Paperback

A children's instructional book on how to use readily available materials to turn the house into a science lab Physics teacher Bobby Mercer provides readers with more than 50 great hands-on experiments that can be performed for just pennies, or less. Turn a plastic cup into a pinhole...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Boys of Blur

N. D. Wilson · Random House Books for Young Readers
Pages: 195
Format: Hardcover

Fans of Jerry Spinelli's Maniac Magee and Louis Sachar's Holes will enjoy this story about a boy and the ancient secrets that hide deep in the heart of the Florida everglades near a place called Muck City.When Charlie moves to the small town of Taper, Florida, he discovers a different...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Dragonbreath #1

Ursula Vernon · Puffin Books
Pages: 146
Format: Book

Danny Dragonbreath can't breathe fire, but he has no fear. And that comes in handy when a bad grade at school inspires him to enlist his cousin the sea-serpent's help with a research project. Illustrations.
Read More check catalog
 
 
The 39 Clues: Unstoppable Book 2: Breakaway

Jeff Hirsch · Scholastic Inc.
Pages: 189
Format: Hardcover

A Nightmare Come TrueAs a member of the most powerful family history has ever known, thirteen-year-old Dan Cahill has been shot at, kidnapped, and even thrown into a pit with a deadly snake. He's survived it all due to luck, smarts, and his older sister, Amy, who always sticks by his side.Now...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Dash

Kirby Larson · Scholastic Press
Pages: 243
Format: Hardcover

Although Mitsi Kashino and her family are swept up in the wave of anti-Japanese sentiment following the attack on Pearl Harbor, Mitsi never expects to lose her home -- or her beloved dog, Dash. But, as World War II rages and people of Japanese descent are forced into incarceration camps,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Tyme #1: Grounded: The Adventures of Rapunzel

Megan Morrison · Arthur A. Levine Books
Pages: 374
Format: Hardcover

In all of Tyme, from the Redlands to the Grey, no one is as lucky as Rapunzel. She lives in a magic tower that obeys her every wish; she reads wonderful books starring herself as the heroine; her hair is the longest, most glorious thing in the world. And she knows this because Witch tells...
Read More check catalog
 
 
When the Worst Happens: Extraordinary Stories of Survival

Tanya Kyi · Annick Press
Format: Hardcover

People overcome impossible odds where others surrendered and failed. What would you do if you were stranded or trapped in a situation where you had to fight for your life? When the Worst Happens is a collection of intense, true stories set in distant corners of the earth. After...
Read More check catalog
 
 
A Dog's Way Home

Bobbie Pyron · Katherine Tegen Books
Format: Hardcover

After a car accident strands them at opposite ends of the Blue Ridge Parkway, eleven-year-old Abby and her beloved sheltie, Tam, overcome months filled with physical and emotional challenges to find their way back to each other.
Read More check catalog
 
 
Diary of a Wimpy Kid: Hard Luck, Book 8

Jeff Kinney · Harry N Abrams Inc
Pages: 217
Format: Hardcover

Greg Heffley's on a losing streak. His best friend, Rowley Jefferson, has ditched him, and finding new friends in middle school is proving to be a tough task. To change his fortunes, Greg decides to take a leap of faith and turn his decisions over to chance. Will a roll of the dice...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Bluffton: My Summers with Buster Keaton

Matt Phelan · Candlewick Press
Pages: 223
Format: Hardcover

In the summer of 1908, in Muskegon, Michigan, a visiting troupe of vaudeville performers is about the most exciting thing since baseball. They're summering in nearby Bluffton, so Henry has a few months to ogle the elephant and the zebra, the tightrope walkers and - lo and behold - a slapstick...
Read More check catalog