Back Ages 9-12 | July Newsletter

SelectReads News
Simple News Pro
  Ages 9-12  
Some Writer!: The Story of E. B. White

Melissa Sweet · HMH Books for Young Readers
Pages: 176
Format: Hardcover

A New York Times Bestseller A People Magazine Best Children's BookA Washington Post Best Book A Publishers Weekly Best Book Caldecott Honor winner Sweet mixes White's personal letters, photos, and family ephemera with her own exquisite artwork to tell the story of this American literary...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Fourteenth Goldfish

Jennifer L. Holm · Random House
Pages: 195
Format: Hardcover

Believe in the possible . . . with this "warm, witty, and wise" New York Times bestselling novel from three-time Newbery Honor winner Jennifer L. Holm Galileo. Newton. Salk. Oppenheimer.Science can change the world . . . but can it go too far? Eleven-year-old Ellie has never liked...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Graveyard Book Graphic Novel: Volume 2

Neil Gaiman · Harpercollins Childrens Books
Pages: 164
Format: Hardcover

The second volume of a glorious two-volume, four-color graphic novel adaptation of Neil Gaiman's #1 New York Times bestselling and Newbery and Carnegie Medal-winning novel The Graveyard Book, adapted by P. Craig Russell and illustrated by an extraordinary team of renowned artists.Inventive,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Big Nate: The Crowd Goes Wild!

Lincoln Peirce · Andrews McMeel Publishing
Format: Book

Big Nate is big news! A mainstay on the New York Times Best Sellers List, Big Nate is now the star of his own musical, which debuted in spring 2013.Aspiring cartoonist Nate Wright is the star of Big Nate, the daily and Sunday comic strip, which has been nationally syndicated since 1991....
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Actual & Truthful Adventures of Becky Thatcher

Jessica Lawson · Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers
Pages: 215
Format: Hardcover

Becky Thatcher has her side of the story to tell - and it's a whopper - in this creative spin on Mark Twain's beloved The Adventures of Tom Sawyer, complete with illustrations.Tom Sawyer's and Huckleberry Finn's adventures are legendary, but what about the story you haven't heard? In 1860,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Space Case

Stuart Gibbs · Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers
Pages: 337
Format: Hardcover

It's a murder mystery on the moon in this humorous and suspenseful space adventure from the author of Belly Up and Spy School.Like his fellow lunarnauts - otherwise known as Moonies - living on Moon Base Alpha, twelve-year-old Dashiell Gibson is famous the world over for being one of the first...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Aces Wild

Erica S. Perl · Knopf Books for Young Readers
Format: Hardcover

Zelly Fried has finally convinced her parents to let her get a dog, with the help of her grandfather Ace. Unfortunately, said dog also named Ace is a shoe-chewing, mud-tracking, floor-peeing kind of dog. Despite Zellys best efforts to drag Ace literally! to puppy kindergarten, his flunking...
Read More check catalog
 
 
5,000 Awesome Facts

National Geographic Kids · National Geographic Children's Books
Format: Hardcover

Filled with photographs, this beautifully designed book is organized into two-page spreads that each focus on a different topic, making it easy and fun to read. --Redding.comPresenting the next must-have, fun-filled gift book from the team that created Ultimate Weird But True, 5,000 Cool...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Escape From Lucien

Kazu Kibuishi · Graphix, 2014.
Pages: 213
Format: Print book

Kazu Kibuishi's #1 NEW YORK TIMES bestselling series continues!Navin and his classmates journey to Lucien, a city ravaged by war and plagued by mysterious creatures, where they search for a beacon essential to their fight against the Elf King. Meanwhile, Emily heads back into the Void...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Meaning of Maggie

Megan Jean Sovern · Chronicle Books Llc
Pages: 220
Format: Print book

* "Smart, sensitive, sad and funny." - Kirkus Reviews, starred reviewAs befits a future President of the United States of America, Maggie Mayfield has decided to write a memoir of the past year of her life. And what a banner year it's been! During this period she's Student of the Month...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Running Out of Night

Sharon Lovejoy · Delacorte Books for Young Readers
Format: Hardcover

A Childrens Book Review Seven Middle Grade Books for African American History Month Pick Fans of Elijah of Buxton, Trouble Dont Last, and Stealing Freedom will be drawn to this tale of the incredible journey of an abused twelve-year-old white girl and an escaped slave girl who run away...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Frank O. Gehry: Outside

DK Publishing · DK CHILDREN
Pages: 48
Format: Hardcover

Discover the story behind a visionary architect. "Life is chaotic. Buildings should reflect it." So says Frank O. Gehry, architect of one of the most acclaimed and influential buildings of the past century, the Guggenheim Museum in Bilbao, Spain. Winner of more than one hundred...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The War that Saved My Life

Kimberly Brubaker Bradley · Dial Books for Young Readers
Pages: 316
Format: Hardcover

A Newbery Honor BookWinner of the Schneider Family Book Award (Middle School) Wall Street Journal Best Children's Books of 2015New York Public Library's 100 Books for Reading and Sharing An exceptionally moving story of triumph against all odds set during World War 2, from the acclaimed...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The One Safe Place

Tania Unsworth · Workman Pub Co
Pages: 295
Format: Print book

In this near-future dystopia with echoes of The Giver and Among the Hidden, Tania Unsworth has created an unsettling page-turner -- fast-paced, smooth, filled with dread -- that's wholly satisfying and startlingly original.Devin doesn't remember life before the world got hot; he has grown...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The 39 Clues: Unstoppable Book 2: Breakaway

Jeff Hirsch · Scholastic Inc.
Pages: 189
Format: Hardcover

A Nightmare Come TrueAs a member of the most powerful family history has ever known, thirteen-year-old Dan Cahill has been shot at, kidnapped, and even thrown into a pit with a deadly snake. He's survived it all due to luck, smarts, and his older sister, Amy, who always sticks by his side.Now...
Read More check catalog