Back Ages 9-12 | March Newsletter

SelectReads News
Dearreader template
  Ages 9-12  
How to Catch a Bogle
How to Catch a Bogle

Catherine Jinks · HMH Books for Young Readers; 1st edition
Format: Hardcover

If ever a chill entered her soul, or the hope suddenly drained from her heart, she knew a bogle was to blame. Birdie McAdam, a ten-year-old orphan, is tougher than she looks. Shes proud of her job as apprentice to Alfred the Bogler, a man who catches monsters for a living. Birdie lures...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Turtle of Oman: A Novel
The Turtle of Oman: A Novel

Naomi Shihab Nye · Greenwillow Books
Format: Hardcover

This accessible, exquisite novel shines with gentle humor and explores themes of moving, family, nature, and immigration. It tells the story of Aref Al-Amri, who must say good-bye to everything and everyone he loves in his hometown of Muscat, Oman, as his family prepares to move to Ann Arbor,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Circus Mirandus
Circus Mirandus

Cassie Beasley · Dial Books for Young Readers
Pages: 292
Format: Print book

A New York Times Book Review Notable Children's Book of 2015A New York Times Bestseller Fans of The Magician's Elephant, Savvy, and Roald Dahl will fall in love with Circus Mirandus, which celebrates the power of seeing magic in the world. Do you believe in magic? Micah Tuttle does. Even...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Night Gardener
The Night Gardener

Jonathan Auxier · Harry N Abrams Inc
Pages: 350
Format: Print book

This much-anticipated follow-up to Jonathan Auxier's exceptional debut, Peter Nimble and His Fantastic Eyes, is a Victorian ghost story with shades of Washington Irving and Henry James. More than just a spooky tale, it's also a moral fable about human greed and the power of storytelling.The...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Spirit Animals: Book 1: Wild Born
Spirit Animals: Book 1: Wild Born

Brandon Mull · Scholastic Press
Pages: 202
Format: Print book

#1 New York Times bestseller Brandon Mull launches Scholastic's wildly popular multiplatform phenomenon.Four children separated by vast distances all undergo the same ritual, watched by cloaked strangers. Four flashes of light erupt, and from them emerge the unmistakable shapes of incredible...
Read More check catalog
 
 
33 Minutes
33 Minutes

Todd Hasak-Lowy · Aladdin
Pages: 210
Format: Hardcover

This school-based boy friendship story is "funny, fast-paced, and quite poignant" (R. J. Palacio, author of Wonder) .Sam Lewis is going to get his butt kicked in exactly thirty-three minutes. He knows this because yesterday his former best friend Morgan Sturtz told him, to his face...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Absolutely Almost
Absolutely Almost

Lisa Graff · Penguin Group USA
Pages: 7
Format: Print book

From the author of the National Book Award nominee A Tangle of Knots comes an inspiring novel about figuring out who you are and doing what you love.Albie has never been the smartest kid in his class. He has never been the tallest. Or the best at gym. Or the greatest artist. Or the most...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Running Out of Night
Running Out of Night

Sharon Lovejoy · Delacorte Books for Young Readers
Format: Hardcover

A Childrens Book Review Seven Middle Grade Books for African American History Month Pick Fans of Elijah of Buxton, Trouble Dont Last, and Stealing Freedom will be drawn to this tale of the incredible journey of an abused twelve-year-old white girl and an escaped slave girl who run away...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Crystal Keepers
Crystal Keepers

Brandon Mull · Aladdin Paperbacks
Pages: 496
Format: Hardcover

Trapped in a world where magic is powerful and dreams are real, Cole continues his quest in book three of a "fanciful, action-packed adventure" series (Publishers Weekly, starred review) , from the #1 New York Times bestselling author of the Fablehaven and Beyonders series.Cole...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Book of Lost Things
The Book of Lost Things

Cynthia Voigt · Knopf Books for Young Readers; 8.11.2013 edition
Format: Hardcover

Newbery medalist Cynthia Voigt presents a rollicking mystery in three acts!Maxs parents are missing. They are actors, and thus unpredictable, but sailing away, leaving Max with only a cryptic note, is unusual even for them. Did they intend to leave him behind? Have they been kidnapped? Until...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The badger knight
The badger knight

Kathryn Erskine · Scholastic Press, 2014.
Pages: 325
Format: Print book

In England in 1346 Adrian has three problems: he is small for his twelve years, he is an albino, so people are suspicious of him, and his father wants him to be a scribe, while he wants to be an archer--but when he runs away to join his friend in the fight against the invading Scots, he learns...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Penderwicks in Spring
The Penderwicks in Spring

Jeanne Birdsall · Alfred A. Knopf
Pages: 339
Format: Print book

With over one million copies sold, this series of modern classics about the charming Penderwick family, from National Book Award winner and New York Times bestseller Jeanne Birdsall, is perfect for fans of Noel Streatfeild and Edward Eager. Springtime is finally arriving on Gardam Street,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Bad Magic
Bad Magic

Pseudonymous Bosch · Little, Brown and Company, 2014.
Pages: 400
Format: Print book

A magical new series from Pseudonymous Bosh, the bestselling author of the Secret Series
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Angel Tree
The Angel Tree

Daphne Benedis-Grab · Scholastic (Us)
Pages: 246
Format: Hardcover

A heartwarming Christmas mystery and friendship story!Every Christmas in the small town of Pine River, a tree appears in the town square--the Angel Tree. Some people tie wishes to the tree, while others make those wishes come true. Nobody's ever known where the tree comes from, but the mystery...
Read More check catalog