Back Travel | April Newsletter

SelectReads News
Dearreader template
  Travel  
Following Atticus - Forty-Eight Peaks, One Little Dog and an Extraordinary Friendship
Following Atticus - Forty-Eight Peaks, One Little Dog and an Extraordinary Friendship

Tom Ryan · William Morrow
Format: Print book

Relates how the author and his dog named Atticus M. Finch attempted to climb all forty-eight of New Hampshire's four-thousand-foot peaks twice to pay tribute to a friend who died of cancer and raise money for charity.
Read More check catalog
 
 
DK Eyewitness Travel Guide: Italian Riviera
DK Eyewitness Travel Guide: Italian Riviera

DK Publishing · DK Eyewitness Travel; Reprint edition
Format: Paperback

DK Eyewitness Travel Guide: Italian Riviera uses unparalleled photography, 3-D illustrated maps, and specially commissioned cutaway illustrations of major architectural sights to help you uncover the secrets of this beautiful region. Detailed street views of all the key areas to visit give...
Read More check catalog
 
 
In Manchuria: A Village Called Wasteland and the Transformation of Rural China
In Manchuria: A Village Called Wasteland and the Transformation of Rural China

Michael Meyer · Bloomsbury Press
Format: Hardcover

In the tradition of In Patagonia and Great Plains, Michael Meyers In Manchuria is a scintillating combination of memoir, contemporary reporting, and historical research, presenting a unique profile of Chinas legendary northeast territory. For three years, Meyer rented a home in the rice-farming...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Discovering Black Vermont: African American Farmers in Hinesburgh, 1790-1890
Discovering Black Vermont: African American Farmers in Hinesburgh, 1790-1890

Elise A. Guyette · Vermont; 1 edition
Format: Paperback

An impressive work of historical recovery, Discovering Black Vermont tells the story of three generations of free blacks trying to build a life and community in northern Vermont in the years following statehood. By piecing together fragments of the history of free blacks in Vermont—tax...
Read More check catalog
 
 
DK Eyewitness Travel Guide: London
DK Eyewitness Travel Guide: London

DK Publishing · DK Travel; Fol Pap/Ma edition
Format: Paperback

Newly revised, updated, and redesigned for 2014. Experience the best of London with DK Eyewitness Travel Guide: London. This newly updated travel guide for London will lead you straight to the best attractions this city has to offer, whether you are looking for the "real" London...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Where the Dead Pause, and the Japanese Say Goodbye: A Journey
Where the Dead Pause, and the Japanese Say Goodbye: A Journey

Marie Mutsuki Mockett · W.W. Norton & Company
Pages: 316
Format: Print book

How does one cope with overwhelming grief?Marie Mutsuki Mockett's family owns a Buddhist temple 25 miles from the Fukushima Daiichi nuclear power plant. In March 2011, after the earthquake and tsunami, radiation levels prohibited the burial of her Japanese grandfather's bones. As Japan...
Read More check catalog