Back Travel | May Newsletter

SelectReads News
Simple News Pro
  Travel  
Mud Season: How One Woman's Dream of Moving to Vermont, Raising Children, Chickens and Sheep, and Running the Old Country Store Pretty Much Led to One Calamity After Another

Ellen Stimson · Countryman Press; 1 edition
Format: Hardcover

After a getaway in gorgeous rural Vermont―its mountains ablaze in autumnal glory, its Main Streets quaint and welcoming―Ellen Stimson and her family make up their minds even before they get back to St. Louis: “We’re moving to Vermont!” The reality, they...
Read More check catalog
 
 
DK Eyewitness Travel Guide: Australia

Jan Duffy Helen Kloeden Paul Le Plaistrier Jacinta Collectif Bowen · Dorling Kindersley Publishers Ltd
Format: Print book

The DK Eyewitness Australia Travel Guide is your indispensable guide to this beautiful part of the world. The fully updated guide includes unique cutaways, floorplans and reconstructions of the must-see sites, plus street-by-street maps of all the fascinating cities and towns. The new-look...
Read More check catalog
 
 
In Manchuria: A Village Called Wasteland and the Transformation of Rural China

Michael Meyer · Bloomsbury Press
Format: Hardcover

In the tradition of In Patagonia and Great Plains, Michael Meyers In Manchuria is a scintillating combination of memoir, contemporary reporting, and historical research, presenting a unique profile of Chinas legendary northeast territory. For three years, Meyer rented a home in the rice-farming...
Read More check catalog
 
 
DK Eyewitness Travel Guide: Italy

Ros Belford · Dk Publishing
Pages: 672
Format: Paperback

The DK Eyewitness Italy Travel Guide is your indispensable guide to this beautiful part of the world. The fully updated guide includes unique cutaways, floorplans and reconstructions of the must-see sites, plus street-by-street maps of all the fascinating cities and towns. The new-look...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Emperor Far Away: Travels at the Edge of China

David Eimer · Bloomsbury USA
Format: Hardcover

In 1949, Mao Zedong announced the birth of the People’s Republic of China, a proclamation to the world that, after centuries of war and social conflict, China had emerged as one nation. Since then, this idea has been propagated by broadcasts of marches and mass demonstrations of unity,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Journeys Home: Inspiring Stories, Plus Tips and Strategies to Find Your Family History

Andrew McCarthy · National Geographic
Format: Hardcover

Addressing the explosive growth in ancestral travel, this compelling narrative combines intriguing tales of discovery with tips on how to begin your own explorations. Actor and award-winning travel writer Andrew McCarthy's featured story recounts his recent quest to uncover his family's...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Carsick: John Waters Hitchhikes Across America

John Waters · Farrar, Straus & Giroux
Pages: 322
Format: Hardcover

A cross-country hitchhiking journey with America's most beloved weirdoJohn Waters is putting his life on the line. Armed with wit, a pencil-thin mustache, and a cardboard sign that reads "I'm Not Psycho," he hitchhikes across America from Baltimore to San Francisco, braving...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Following Atticus - Forty-Eight Peaks, One Little Dog and an Extraordinary Friendship

Tom Ryan · William Morrow
Format: Print book

Relates how the author and his dog named Atticus M. Finch attempted to climb all forty-eight of New Hampshire's four-thousand-foot peaks twice to pay tribute to a friend who died of cancer and raise money for charity.
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Hour of Land: A Personal Topography of America's National Parks

Terry Tempest Williams · Sarah Crichton Books/Farrar
Pages: 416
Format: eBook

America's national parks are breathing spaces in a world in which such spaces are steadily disappearing, which is why more than 300 million people visit the parks each year. Now Terry Tempest Williams, the author of the environmental classic Refuge and the beloved memoir WhenWomen...

Read More check catalog
 
 
Savage Harvest: A Tale of Cannibals, Colonialism, and Michael Rockefeller's Tragic Quest for Primitive Art

Carl Hoffman · HarperCollins Publishers
Pages: 322
Format: Hardcover

The mysterious disappearance of Michael Rockefeller in New Guinea in 1961 has kept the world and his powerful, influential family guessing for years. Now, Carl Hoffman uncovers startling new evidence that finally tells the full, astonishing story.Despite exhaustive searches, no trace of Rockefeller...
Read More check catalog
 
 
DK Eyewitness Travel Guide: Seville & Andalusia

DK Publishing · DK Eyewitness Travel; Rep Rev edition
Format: Paperback

DK Eyewitness Travel Guide: Seville and Andalusia is a must-have guidebook for traveling to this beautiful region of Spain. The guide includes unique cutaways, floor plans and reconstructions of the Seville's major architectural sights, plus a pull-out city map marked with attractions...
Read More check catalog
 
 
DK Eyewitness Travel Guide: Budapest

DK Publishing · DK Travel; Fol Pap/Ma edition
Format: Print book

DK Eyewitness Travel Guide Budapest will lead you straight to the best attractions this city has to offer. The guide includes unique illustrated cutaways, floor plans, and reconstructions of Budapests stunning architecture, along with 3-D aerial views of the key districts to explore on foot....
Read More check catalog
 
 
International Night: A Father and Daughter Cook Their Way Around the World *Including More than 250 Recipes*

Mark Kurlansky · Bloomsbury USA
Format: Hardcover

Once a week in the Kurlansky home, Mark spins a globe and wherever his daughters finger lands becomes the theme of that Friday nights dinner. Their tradition of International Night has afforded Mark an opportunity to share with his daughter, Talia--and now the readers of International...
Read More check catalog
 
 
DK Eyewitness Travel Guide: Italian Riviera

DK Publishing · DK Eyewitness Travel; Reprint edition
Format: Paperback

DK Eyewitness Travel Guide: Italian Riviera uses unparalleled photography, 3-D illustrated maps, and specially commissioned cutaway illustrations of major architectural sights to help you uncover the secrets of this beautiful region. Detailed street views of all the key areas to visit give...
Read More check catalog