Back Travel | December Newsletter

SelectReads News
Simple News Pro
  Travel  
DK Eyewitness Travel Guide: Seville & Andalusia

DK Publishing · DK Eyewitness Travel; Rep Rev edition
Format: Paperback

DK Eyewitness Travel Guide: Seville and Andalusia is a must-have guidebook for traveling to this beautiful region of Spain. The guide includes unique cutaways, floor plans and reconstructions of the Seville's major architectural sights, plus a pull-out city map marked with attractions...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Carsick: John Waters Hitchhikes Across America

John Waters · Farrar, Straus & Giroux
Pages: 322
Format: Hardcover

A cross-country hitchhiking journey with America's most beloved weirdoJohn Waters is putting his life on the line. Armed with wit, a pencil-thin mustache, and a cardboard sign that reads "I'm Not Psycho," he hitchhikes across America from Baltimore to San Francisco, braving...
Read More check catalog
 
 
DK Eyewitness Travel Guide: Italy

Ros Belford · Dk Publishing
Pages: 672
Format: Paperback

The DK Eyewitness Italy Travel Guide is your indispensable guide to this beautiful part of the world. The fully updated guide includes unique cutaways, floorplans and reconstructions of the must-see sites, plus street-by-street maps of all the fascinating cities and towns. The new-look...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Following Atticus - Forty-Eight Peaks, One Little Dog and an Extraordinary Friendship

Tom Ryan · William Morrow
Pages: 276
Format: Hardcover

Following Atticus - Forty-Eight Peaks, One Little Dog and an Extraordinary Friendship is about a middle-aged, overweight, and acrophobic newspaper editor Tom Ryan and a little dog, Atticus M. Finch, are an unlikely pair of mountaineers, but after a close friend dies of cancer, the two pay tribute...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Lost City of Z: A Tale of Deadly Obsession in the Amazon

David Grann · Doubleday
Pages: 339
Format: Hardcover

A grand mystery reaching back centuries. A sensational disappearance that made headlines around the world. A quest for truth that leads to death, madness or disappearance for those who seek to solve it. The Lost City of Z is a blockbuster adventure narrative about what lies beneath the impenetrable...
Read More check catalog
 
 
DK Eyewitness Travel Guide: Australia

Jan Duffy Helen Kloeden Paul Le Plaistrier Jacinta Collectif Bowen · Dorling Kindersley Publishers Ltd
Format: Print book

The DK Eyewitness Australia Travel Guide is your indispensable guide to this beautiful part of the world. The fully updated guide includes unique cutaways, floorplans and reconstructions of the must-see sites, plus street-by-street maps of all the fascinating cities and towns. The new-look...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Lonely Planet Pocket Washington, DC

LONELY PLANET. · Lonely Planet
Pages: 160
Format: Paperback

Lonely Planet: The world's leading travel guide publisher Lonely Planet Pocket Washington, DC is your passport to the most relevant, up-to-date advice on what to see and skip, and what hidden discoveries await you. Climb the steps of the Lincoln Memorial, tour the White House and learn...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Discovering Black Vermont: African American Farmers in Hinesburgh, 1790-1890

Elise A. Guyette · Vermont; 1 edition
Format: Paperback

An impressive work of historical recovery, Discovering Black Vermont tells the story of three generations of free blacks trying to build a life and community in northern Vermont in the years following statehood. By piecing together fragments of the history of free blacks in Vermont—tax...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Mud Season: How One Woman's Dream of Moving to Vermont, Raising Children, Chickens and Sheep, and Running the Old Country Store Pretty Much Led to One Calamity After Another

Ellen Stimson · Countryman Press; 1 edition
Format: Hardcover

After a getaway in gorgeous rural Vermont―its mountains ablaze in autumnal glory, its Main Streets quaint and welcoming―Ellen Stimson and her family make up their minds even before they get back to St. Louis: “We’re moving to Vermont!” The reality, they...
Read More check catalog
 
 
In Manchuria: A Village Called Wasteland and the Transformation of Rural China

Michael Meyer · Bloomsbury Press
Format: Hardcover

In the tradition of In Patagonia and Great Plains, Michael Meyers In Manchuria is a scintillating combination of memoir, contemporary reporting, and historical research, presenting a unique profile of Chinas legendary northeast territory. For three years, Meyer rented a home in the rice-farming...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Rhythm of the Wild: A Life Inspired by Alaska's Denali National Park

Kim Heacox · Lyons Press
Format: Hardcover

From Kim Heacox, the acclaimed author of The Only Kayak and John Muir and the Ice That Started a Fire, comes Rhythm of the Wild, an Alaska memoir focused on Denali National Park. Music runs through every page of this book, as do stories, rivers and wolves. At its heart, Rhythm of the Wild...
Read More check catalog