Back Travel | January Newsletter

SelectReads News
Simple News Pro
  Travel  
DK Eyewitness Travel Guide: Australia

Jan Duffy Helen Kloeden Paul Le Plaistrier Jacinta Collectif Bowen · Dorling Kindersley Publishers Ltd
Format: Print book

The DK Eyewitness Australia Travel Guide is your indispensable guide to this beautiful part of the world. The fully updated guide includes unique cutaways, floorplans and reconstructions of the must-see sites, plus street-by-street maps of all the fascinating cities and towns. The new-look...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Rough Guide to Brittany and Normandy

Greg Ward · Rough Guides
Format: Paperback

The Rough Guide to Brittany Normandy is the ultimate handbook for discovering the region, from the glorious medieval abbey of Mont-St-Michel to Monets waterlily pond at Giverny, and the ancient Bayeux Tapestry. You can discover walks and cycle trails through ancient forests and along stunning...
Read More check catalog
 
 
In Manchuria: A Village Called Wasteland and the Transformation of Rural China

Michael Meyer · Bloomsbury Press
Format: Hardcover

In the tradition of In Patagonia and Great Plains, Michael Meyers In Manchuria is a scintillating combination of memoir, contemporary reporting, and historical research, presenting a unique profile of Chinas legendary northeast territory. For three years, Meyer rented a home in the rice-farming...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Buildings of Vermont

Glenn M. Andres · University of Virginia Press; 1St Edition edition
Format: Hardcover

Most picture Vermont with handsome barns overlooking rolling pastures, white country churches punctuating hillsides of blazing maples, and small villages clustered around gracious greens. While not inaccurate, this image does little justice to the architectural richness of a state that...
Read More check catalog
 
 
DK Eyewitness Travel Guide: New England

DK Publishing · DK Eyewitness Travel; Revised edition
Format: Book

DK Eyewitness Travel Guide New England will lead you straight to the best attractions this breathtaking region has to offer. Packed with stunning photography, illustrations, and detailed maps, this fully updated guide will help you discover the Northeast state by state, from rocky coast...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Carsick: John Waters Hitchhikes Across America

John Waters · Farrar, Straus & Giroux
Pages: 322
Format: Hardcover

A cross-country hitchhiking journey with America's most beloved weirdoJohn Waters is putting his life on the line. Armed with wit, a pencil-thin mustache, and a cardboard sign that reads "I'm Not Psycho," he hitchhikes across America from Baltimore to San Francisco, braving...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Emperor Far Away: Travels at the Edge of China

David Eimer · Bloomsbury USA
Format: Hardcover

In 1949, Mao Zedong announced the birth of the People’s Republic of China, a proclamation to the world that, after centuries of war and social conflict, China had emerged as one nation. Since then, this idea has been propagated by broadcasts of marches and mass demonstrations of unity,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Around the world in 50 years : my adventure to every country on earth

Albert Podell · Thomas Dunne Books, 2015.
Pages: 354
Format: Print book

"This is the inspiring story of an ordinary guy who achieved two great goals that others had told him were impossible - first by setting a record for the longest automobile journey ever made around the world -- in the course of which he blasted his way out of minefields, survived a breakdown...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Lost City of Z: A Tale of Deadly Obsession in the Amazon

David Grann · Doubleday
Pages: 339
Format: Book

A grand mystery reaching back centuries. A sensational disappearance that made headlines around the world. A quest for truth that leads to death, madness or disappearance for those who seek to solve it. The Lost City of Z is a blockbuster adventure narrative about what lies beneath the impenetrable...
Read More check catalog