Back All Non-Fiction | August Newsletter

SelectReads News
Simple News Pro
  All Non-Fiction  
How to Fly a Horse: The Secret History of Creation, Invention, and Discovery

Kevin Ashton · Doubleday
Format: Hardcover

As a technology pioneer at MIT and as the leader of three successful start-ups, Kevin Ashton experienced firsthand the all-consuming challenge of creating something new. Now, in a tour-de-force narrative twenty years in the making, Ashton leads us on a journey through humanity's greatest...
Read More check catalog
 
 
God's Bankers: A History of Money and Power at the Vatican

Gerald Posner · Simon & Schuster
Format: Hardcover

A deeply reported, New York Times bestselling exposé of the money and the clerics-turned-financiers at the heart of the Vatican - the world's biggest, most powerful religious institution - from an acclaimed journalist with "exhaustive research techniques" (The New York Times)...
Read More check catalog
 
 
DK Eyewitness Travel Guide: Sweden

DK Publishing · DK Travel; Rev Rep edition
Format: Paperback

DK Eyewitness Travel Guide Sweden is your expert guide to this breathtaking country. The fully updated guide includes unique cutaways, floor plans, and reconstructions of the must-see sights, plus street-by-street maps of all cities and towns. DKs insider travel tips and essential local...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Kettlebells for Women: Workouts for Your Strong, Sculpted and Sexy Body

Lauren Brooks · Ulysses Press; 1 edition
Format: Book

GET A STRONG, SEXY, SCULPTED KETTLEBELL BODYWhether you’re looking to get in better shape, spice up your exercise regimen or challenge yourself with the ultimate high-intensity workout, kettlebells are the perfect tool to take you to the next level. With over 300 step-by-step photos,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Digital Photography Masterclass

Tom Ang · DK Publishing; 1 edition
Pages: 360
Format: Hardcover

It's easy to see why digital photography has overtaken analog in popularity-it's affordable, convenient, versatile, and, above all, it makes photography more fun than ever before. Tom Ang's latest book is an in-depth, inspirational, and uniquely practical guide to every aspect...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Do Fathers Matter?: What Science Is Telling Us About the Parent We've Overlooked

Paul Raeburn · Scientific Amer Books
Pages: 272
Format: Hardcover

A 2015 National Parenting Publications Awards Gold WinnerA Mom's Choice Awards Gold Medal WinnerFor too long, we've thought of fathers as little more than sources of authority and economic stability in the lives of their children. Yet cutting-edge studies drawing unexpected links...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Fantastic Laboratory of Dr. Weigl: How Two Brave Scientists Battled Typhus and Sabotaged the Nazis

Arthur Allen · W. W. Norton & Company; 1 edition
Format: Hardcover

From a laboratory in wartime Poland comes a fascinating story of anti-Nazi resistance and scientific ingenuity. Few diseases are more gruesome than typhus. Transmitted by body lice, it afflicts the dispossessed -- refugees, soldiers, and ghettoized peoples -- causing hallucinations, terrible...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Insulate and Weatherize: For Energy Efficiency at Home

Bruce Harley · Taunton Press; Rev Exp edition
Format: Paperback

From the most basic solutions to advanced, energy-saving projects, no book covers home insulation and weatherization like this one. Homeowners will learn how best to keep their homes warm in winter, cool in summer and weather-tight all year long.
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Angel in My Pocket: A Story of Love, Loss, and Life After Death

Sukey Forbes · Viking
Pages: 256
Format: Book

A grieving mother draws on her storied heritage to find her daughter in the afterlife When Sukey Forbes lost her six-year-old daughter, Charlotte, to a rare genetic disorder, her life felt as if it were shattered forever. Descended from two distinguished New England families, Forbes was raised...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Mastering Homebrew: The Complete Guide to Brewing Delicious Beer

Randy Mosher · Chronicle Books
Format: Paperback

From internationally recognized beer-brewing authority Randy Mosher comes the ultimate guide to the craft, for beginners and advanced brewers alike. Featuring plainspeaking, fun-to-read instructions, more than 150 colorful graphics and illustrations of process and technique, and 30 master...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Son of a Gun: A Memoir

Justin St. Germain · Random House
Format: Book

NAMED ONE OF THE BEST BOOKS OF THE YEAR BY PUBLISHERS WEEKLYIn the tradition of Tobias Wolff, James Ellroy, and Mary Karr, a stunning memoir of a mother-son relationship that is also the searing, unflinching account of a murder and its aftermathTombstone, Arizona, September 2001. Debbie...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Johnny Carson

Henry Bushkin · Eamon Dolan/Houghton Mifflin Harcourt
Pages: 294
Format: Hardcover

A revealing and incisive account of the King of Late Night at the height of his fame and power, by his lawyer, wingman, fixer, and closest confidant.From 1962 until 1992, Johnny Carson hosted The Tonight Show and permeated the American consciousness. In the '70s and '80s he was the country's...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Steampunk Gear, Gadgets, and Gizmos: A Maker's Guide to Creating Modern Artifacts

Thomas Willeford · McGraw-Hill Education TAB
Pages: 222
Format: Paperback

Unleash Your Inner Mechanical Mastermind Welcome to the wondrous world of Thomas Willeford, aka Lord Archibald "Feathers" Featherstone, in which he shares his closely guarded secrets of Steampunkery. Filled with do-it-yourself projects, Steampunk Gear, Gadgets, and Gizmos: A Maker's...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Italian Vegetable Cookbook: 200 Favorite Recipes for Antipasti, Soups, Pasta, Main Dishes, and Desserts

Michele Scicolone · Houghton Mifflin Harcourt Publishing Company
Pages: 326
Format: Hardcover

Traditional and contemporary Italian recipes for vegetarian and nearly vegetarian dishes from the author of The Italian Slow Cooker Over the ages, resourceful Italian cooks have devised countless ways to prepare vegetables - all incredibly flavorful and simple. In this book, Italian cooking...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Closer

Mariano Rivera · Little Brown & Co.
Pages: 280
Format: Hardcover

The greatest relief pitcher of all time shares his extraordinary story of survival, love, and baseball.Mariano Rivera, the man who intimidated thousands of batters merely by opening a bullpen door, began his incredible journey as the son of a poor Panamanian fisherman. When first scouted...
Read More check catalog