Back Mystery & Thrillers | August Newsletter

SelectReads News
Simple News Pro
  Mystery & Thrillers  
Death Angel

Linda Fairstein · Dutton; First Edition edition
Format: Hardcover

Perennial New York Times bestselling crime novelist Linda Fairstein explores the rich - and little-known - history of New York's City's Central Park in her latest Alexandra Cooper novel, Death Angel.When the body of a young woman is discovered in Central Park, the clock begins ticking...
Read More check catalog
 
 
All the Old Knives: A Novel

Olen Steinhauer · Minotaur Books, 2015.
Pages: 294
Format: Print book

Six years ago in Vienna, terrorists took over a hundred hostages, and the rescue attempt went terribly wrong. The CIA's Vienna station was witness to this tragedy, gathering intel from its sources during those tense hours, assimilating facts from the ground and from an agent on the inside....
Read More check catalog
 
 
Dark Rooms: A Novel

Lili Anolik · William Morrow & Company
Pages: 336
Format: Hardcover

The Secret History meets Sharp Objects in this stunning debut about murder and glamour set in the ambiguous and claustrophobic world of an exclusive New England prep school.Death sets the plot in motion: the murder of Nica Baker, beautiful, wild, enigmatic, and only sixteen. The crime is solved,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Oath of Office

Michael Palmer · St. Martin's Press; First Edition edition
Format: Hardcover

Michael Palmer, the New York Times bestselling author of A Heartbeat Away and The Last Surgeon brings us a shocking new thriller at the crossroads of politics and medicine. What if a well respected doctor inexplicably goes on a murderous rampage? When Dr. John Meacham goes on a shooting...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Winter at the Door

Sarah Graves · Bantam
Pages: 272
Format: Hardcover

Perfect for fans of Jenny Milchman, Linda Castillo, and Lisa Gardner - the first book in a suspenseful new crime thriller series featuring the tough but haunted police chief Lizzie Snow, a big-city cop with a mission, taking on a small town with a dark side. Moving from Boston to remote...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Last Camel Died at Noon

Elizabeth Peters · Warner Books; 1st edition
Format: Hardcover

Bestselling author Peters brings back 19th-century Egyptologist Amelia Peabody and her entourage in a delicious caper that digs up mystery in the shadow of the pyramids. --This text refers to an out of print or unavailable edition of this title.
Read More check catalog
 
 
Necessary Lies

Diane Chamberlain · St. Martin's Press
Pages: 343
Format: Hardcover

Caring for her family on their mid-20th-century tobacco farm after the loss of her parents, 15-year-old Ivy connects with Grace County social worker Jane, who strains her personal and professional relationships with her advocacy of Ivy's family, whose dark secrets test Jane's resolve...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Descent: A Novel

Tim Johnston · Algonquin Books
Pages: 384
Format: Hardcover

A Breakout NEW YORK TIMES BestsellerA USA Today BestsellerAn Indie National Bestseller"Outstanding . . . The days when you had to choose between a great story and a great piece of writing? Gone." - Esquire "The story unfolds brilliantly, always surprisingly . . . The magic...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Long Way Home

Louise Penny · St Martins Pr
Pages: 384
Format: Hardcover

Happily retired in the village of Three Pines, Armand Gamache, former Chief Inspector of Homicide with the Sûreté du Québec, has found a peace he'd only imagined possible. On warm summer mornings he sits on a bench holding a small book, The Balm in Gilead, in his large hands. "There...
Read More check catalog
 
 
NYPD Red 3

James Patterson · Little
Pages: 10
Format: Hardcover

PROTECT THE RICH. SERVE THE FAMOUS. HUNT THE GUILTY. NYPD Red is the elite, highly trained task force assigned to protect the rich, the famous, and the connected. And Detective Zach Jordan and his partner Kylie MacDonald-the woman who broke his heart at the police academy-are the best of the best,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Hostage Taker: A Novel

Stefanie Pintoff · Bantam Books
Pages: 422
Format: Print book

NAMED ONE OF THE BEST BOOKS OF THE YEAR BY LIBRARY JOURNAL AND SUSPENSE MAGAZINE * From Edgar Award winner Stefanie Pintoff comes the start of an electrifying new thriller series featuring Eve Rossi, head of a secret division of the FBI - one made up of ex-convicts with extraordinary talents,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Good, the Bad, and the Witchy: A Wishcraft Mystery

Heather Blake · Signet
Pages: 320
Format: Mass Market Paperback

Darcy Merriweather is Enchanted Villages newest resident Wishcrafter—a witch who can grant wishes for others. But as Darcy prepares a celebration for a magical florist, she discovers that every rose has its thorns When magical florist Harriette Harkette decides to throw a lavish eightieth...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Indefensible: A Novel

Lee Goodman · Atria/Emily Bestler Books
Format: Hardcover

In the bestselling tradition of Defending Jacob, this taut legal thriller follows the trail of a man determined to protect his community—and his family—at any cost. Sometimes a simple walk in the woods can lead you down the deadliest of trails When birdwatcher Cassandra Randall stumbles...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Execution: A Jeremy Fisk Novel

Dick Wolf · William Morrow
Pages: 352
Format: Audiobook

NYPD Detective Jeremy Fisk - introduced in Law & Order creator Dick Wolf's New York Times bestselling debut The Intercept - must stop an assassin in the pay of a shadowy cartel in The Execution, a tense thriller that superbly blends suspense, politics, intrigue and high-flying action...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Wolf in White Van: A Novel

John Darnielle · Farrar, Straus and Giroux; 1St Edition edition
Format: Hardcover

Long-listed for the 2014 National Book Award in fictionWinner of the 2015 Alex Award for adult books with special appeal for young adultsWelcome to Trace Italian, a game of strategy and survival! You may now make your first move. Isolated by a disfiguring injury since the age of seventeen,...
Read More check catalog