Back Top Choices | March Newsletter

SelectReads News
Dearreader template
  Top Choices  
This Changes Everything: Capitalism vs. The Climate
This Changes Everything: Capitalism vs. The Climate

Naomi Klein · Simon & Schuster
Format: Hardcover

The most important book yet from the author of the international bestseller The Shock Doctrine, a brilliant explanation of why the climate crisis challenges us to abandon the core "free market" ideology of our time, restructure the global economy, and remake our political systems.In...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Rebel Yell: The Violence, Passion, and Redemption of Stonewall Jackson
Rebel Yell: The Violence, Passion, and Redemption of Stonewall Jackson

S. C. Gwynne · Scribner; First Edition edition
Format: Hardcover

From the author of the prize-winning New York Times bestseller Empire of the Summer Moon comes a thrilling account of how Civil War general Thomas "Stonewall" Jackson became a great and tragic American hero.Stonewall Jackson has long been a figure of legend and romance. As much...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Guinness World Records 2015
Guinness World Records 2015

Guinness World Records · Guinness World Records
Format: Hardcover

With a fresh new design and feel inspired by innovations in tablet technology, the latest GUINNESS WORLD RECORDS book presents thousands of new and updated records, along with hundreds of amazing never-before-seen photographs. The 2015 edition showcases the very best of the most recent...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Radiant Angel
Radiant Angel

Nelson DeMille · Grand Central Publishing
Pages: 311
Format: Print book

"A soft breeze fluttered the white, blue, and red Russian flag in front of the U.N. mission. I remember when the Soviet hammer and sickle flew there. I kind of miss the Cold War. But I think it's back."RADIANT ANGELAfter a showdown with the notorious Yemeni terrorist known as The Panther,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Creativity, Inc.: Overcoming the Unseen Forces That Stand in the Way of True Inspiration
Creativity, Inc.: Overcoming the Unseen Forces That Stand in the Way of True Inspiration

Ed Catmull · Random House
Pages: 340
Format: Hardcover

From Ed Catmull, co-founder (with Steve Jobs and John Lasseter) of Pixar Animation Studios, the Academy Award-winning studio behind Inside Out and Toy Story, comes an incisive book about creativity in business - sure to appeal to readers of Daniel Pink, Tom Peters, and Chip and Dan Heath....
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Patriot Threat: A Novel
The Patriot Threat: A Novel

Steve Berry · St Martin'S Press
Pages: 386
Format: Book

The 16th Amendment to the Constitution is why Americans pay income taxes. But what if there were problems associated with that amendment? Secrets that call into question decades of tax collecting? In fact, there is a surprising truth to this hidden possibility.Cotton Malone, once a member...
Read More check catalog
 
 
My True Love Gave to Me: Twelve Holiday Stories
My True Love Gave to Me: Twelve Holiday Stories

Stephanie Perkins · Griffin
Pages: 321
Format: Print book

If you love holiday stories, holiday movies, made-for-TV-holiday specials, holiday episodes of your favorite sitcoms and, especially, if you love holiday anthologies, you're going to fall in love with My True Love Gave to Me: Twelve Holiday Stories by twelve bestselling young adult writers...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Dog Who Could Fly: The Incredible True Story of a WWII Airman and the Four-Legged Hero Who Flew At His Side
The Dog Who Could Fly: The Incredible True Story of a WWII Airman and the Four-Legged Hero Who Flew At His Side

Damien Lewis · Atria Books
Format: Hardcover

An instant hit in the UK, this is the true account of a German shepherd who was adopted by the Royal Air Force during World War II, joined in flight missions, and survived everything from crash-landings to parachute bailouts—ultimately saving the life of his owner and dearest friend.In...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Pursuit: A Fox and O'Hare Novel
The Pursuit: A Fox and O'Hare Novel

Janet Evanovich · Bantam Books
Pages: 304
Format: Print book

Janet Evanovich, author of the blockbuster Stephanie Plum novels, and Lee Goldberg, writer for the Monk television show, team up once again in their rollicking, New York Times bestselling Fox and O'Hare series!Nicolas Fox, international con man, thief, and one of the top ten fugitives on the FBI's...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Hard Choices
Hard Choices

Hillary Rodham Clinton · Simon & Schuster
Format: Hardcover

Hillary Rodham Clinton's inside account of the crises, choices, and challenges she faced during her four years as America's 67th Secretary of State, and how those experiences drive her view of the future."All of us face hard choices in our lives," Hillary Rodham Clinton...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The innovators : how a group of hackers, geniuses, and geeks created the digital revolution
The innovators : how a group of hackers, geniuses, and geeks created the digital revolution

Walter Isaacson · Simon & Schuster, 2014.
Pages: 542
Format: Print book

Following his blockbuster biography of Steve Jobs, Walter Isaacson's New York Times bestselling and critically acclaimed The Innovators is a "riveting, propulsive, and at times deeply moving" (The Atlantic) story of the people who created the computer and the Internet.What...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Whites: A Novel
The Whites: A Novel

Richard Price · Henry Holt & Company
Pages: 352
Format: Hardcover

The electrifying tale of a New York City police detective under siege-by an unsolved murder, by his own dark past, and by a violent stalker seeking revenge.Back in the run-and-gun days of the mid-1990s, when a young Billy Graves worked in the South Bronx as part of an aggressive anti-crime...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Turner House
The Turner House

Angela Flournoy · Houghton Mifflin Harcourt
Pages: 340
Format: Print book

NATIONAL BOOK AWARD FINALISTA powerful, timely debut, The Turner House marks a major new contribution to the story of the American family. The Turners have lived on Yarrow Street for over fifty years. Their house has seen thirteen children grown and gone - and some returned; it has seen...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Nest
The Nest

Kenneth Oppel · Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers
Pages: 244
Format: Print book

Steve just wants to save his baby brother:but what will he lose in the bargain? This is a haunting gothic tale for fans of Coraline, from acclaimed author Kenneth Oppel (Silverwing, The Boundless) with illustrations from Caldecott Medalist Jon Klassen. For some kids summer is a sun-soaked...
Read More check catalog