Back Health, Mind & Body | January Newsletter

SelectReads News
Simple News Pro
  Health, Mind & Body  
Where Does It Hurt?: An Entrepreneur's Guide to Fixing Health Care

Jonathan Bush · Portfolio; 1 edition
Format: Hardcover

A bold new remedy for the sprawling and wasteful health care industryWhere else but the doctors office do you have to fill out a form on a clipboard? Have you noticed that hospital bills are almost unintelligible, except for the absurdly high dollar amount? Why is it that technology...
Read More check catalog
 
 
When Your Life Is Touched by Cancer: Practical Advice and Insights for Patients, Professionals, and Those Who Care

Bob Riter · Hunter House, Incorporated
Pages: 132
Format: Paperback

Even those who are ordinarily calm and thoughtful find themselves spinning when first diagnosed with cancer. When Your Life Is Touched by Cancer helps sort out the issues involved with a cancer diagnosis, including conversations about cancer with friends, family, and doctors; traditional...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Mindful Diet: How to Transform Your Relationship with Food for Lasting Weight Loss and Vibrant Health

Tania Hannan · Scribner
Format: Hardcover

From the renowned Duke Integrative Medicine center, The Mindful Diet is the first book to combine health psychology with cutting-edge nutrition research to deliver an up-to-the-minute method for eating mindfully and breaking the yo-yo diet cycle. Its easy on occasion to eat too much, eat too quickly,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Athlete's Guide to Sports Supplements, The

Kimberly Mueller · Human Kinetics; 1 edition
Pages: 304
Format: Paperback

A countless number of new, renamed, and variations of sport supplements flood the market each year. Many of these are accompanied by slick marketing campaigns promising too-good-to-be-true results. For athletes seeking a safe, effective edge to their training and performance, supplements...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Forensics: What Bugs, Burns, Prints, DNA and More Tell Us About Crime

Val McDermid · Grove Press
Format: Hardcover

Val McDermid is one of the finest crime writers we have, whose novels have captivated millions of readers worldwide with their riveting narratives of characters who solve complex crimes and confront unimaginable evil. In the course of researching her bestselling novels McDermid has become...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Evil Hours: A Biography of Post-Traumatic Stress Disorder

David J Morris · Houghton Mifflin Harcourt
Pages: 338
Format: Hardcover

In the tradition of The Emperor of All Maladies and The Noonday Demon, a moving, eye-opening exploration of PTSD
Read More check catalog
 
 
I Forgot to Remember: A Memoir of Amnesia

Su Meck · Simon & Schuster, 2014.
Pages: 280
Format: Paperback

The courageous memoir of a woman who was robbed of all her memories by a traumatic brain injury - and her more than twenty-five-year struggle to reclaim her life: "[A tale] of triumph in the search for identity" (The New York Times Book Review) .In 1988, Su Meck was twenty-two...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Abominable Science!: Origins of the Yeti, Nessie, and Other Famous Cryptids

Daniel Loxton · Columbia University Press
Format: Hardcover

Throughout our history, humans have been captivated by mythic beasts and legendary creatures. Tales of Bigfoot, the Yeti, and the Loch Ness monster are part of our collective experience. Now comes a book from two dedicated investigators that explores and elucidates the fascinating world...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Book of Immortality: The Science, Belief, and Magic Behind Living Forever

Adam Leith Gollner · Scribner
Format: Paperback

What have we not done to live forever? Adam Leith Gollner, the critically acclaimed author of The Fruit Hunters, weaves together religion, science, and mythology in a gripping exploration of the most universal of human obsessions: immortality. Raised without religion, Adam Leith Gollner...
Read More check catalog
 
 
A Good Birth: Finding the Positive and Profound in Your Childbirth Experience

Anne Lyerly · Avery; 1 edition
Format: Hardcover

Drawing on a landmark study involving more than one hundred pregnant women and mothers, a renowned OB/GYN synthesizes the secrets to a good birth—medically and emotionally.  Most doctors are trained to think of a “good” birth only in terms of its medical success....
Read More check catalog