Back Ages 4-8 | April Newsletter

SelectReads News
Simple News Pro
  Ages 4-8  
The Story of the Avengers

Disney Book Group · Marvel Press
Format: Print book

In The Story of the Mighty Avengers, readers will learn how the Avengers first came together, forming a team of earth's mightiest heroes!
Read More check catalog
 
 
Very Little Red Riding Hood

Teresa Heapy · HMH Books for Young Readers
Format: Hardcover

This is the story of the Very Little Red Riding Hood.
Read More check catalog
 
 
Morris Micklewhite and the Tangerine Dress

Christine Baldacchino · Groundwood
Pages: 32
Format: Print book

Morris is a little boy who loves using his imagination. But most of all, Morris loves wearing the tangerine dress in his classroom's dress-up center. The children in Morris's class don't understand. Dresses, they say, are for girls. And Morris certainly isn't welcome in the spaceship some...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Counting Crows

Kathi Appelt · Atheneum Books for Young Readers
Pages: 40
Format: Hardcover

Help hungry crows avoid a feline foe in this clever concept book from the author of The True Blue Scouts of Sugar Man Swamp and The Underneath.One, two, three, crows in a tree, bedecked in red scarves and hungry as can be. So they fly out of their nest with snacking in mind, and snack they...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Planet Saturn

Ann Squire · Children's Press,
Pages: 48
Format: Print book

Humans have long been fascinated by space exploration, from the earliest NASA probes to the latest journeys toward the distant edges of the solar system. Readers will learn about the discovery of new stars and planets, the ways celestial bodies are formed, and much more. Features: Engaging...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Amelia Bedelia Chapter Book #3: Amelia Bedelia Road Trip!

Herman Parish · Greenwillow Books, an imprint of HarperCollinsPublishers
Pages: 149
Format: Paperback

Amelia Bedelia, America's favorite housekeeper, had a childhood full of surprises, mischief, and hilarious misunderstandings. In this illustrated chapter book adventure, just right for fans of Judy Moody and Ivy Bean, young Amelia Bedelia piles into the family car and takes a road...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Best Friend Battle

Lindsay Eyre · Arthur A. Levine Books, an imprint of Scholastic Inc., 2015.
Pages: 160
Format: Print book

"Funny and human and clever and wise. I really, really like this sparkling, racing, hilarious little gem." -- Hilary McKay, author of SAFFY'S ANGEL and BINNY IN SECRETSylvie Scruggs doesn't like Georgie Diaz. He always calls her Scruggs. He always beats her in baseball. He didn't...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Henry Hodges Needs a Friend

Andy Andrews · Thomas Nelson
Format: Hardcover

From the author of The Kid Who Changed the World, this hilarious rhyming story, complete with charming art, offers comfort to children who often feel left out or are in need of a good friend.At some point, almost every child struggles with feeling like they dont fit in or are left outjust...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Santa's Moose

SYD HOFF · HarperCollins
Pages: 32
Format: Hardcover

A holiday classic by the author of Danny and the Dinosaur, available again - and now with full-color art!Milton the moose wants to help pull Santa's sleigh. "I have never used a moose before," says Santa, "but I'm willing if you are." At first, clumsy Milton...
Read More check catalog
 
 
When Sophie's Feelings Are Really, Really Hurt

Molly Bang · The Blue Sky Press
Pages: 40
Format: Print book

In a sequel to her bestselling When Sophie Gets Angry..., Caldecott Honor Illustrator Molly Bang asks: What hurts your feelings, and what do you do about it?Everyone's feelings get hurt, and it's especially painful in childhood. In this story, Bang's popular character Sophie is hurt when...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Great Thanksgiving Escape

Mark Fearing · Candlewick Press
Pages: 32
Format: Hardcover

A hilarious, kid-friendly take on Thanksgiving - full of family, food, and lots of fun!It's another Thanksgiving at Grandma's. Gavin expects a long day of boredom and being pestered by distantly related toddlers, but his cousin Rhonda has a different idea: make a break for it - out of the kids'...
Read More check catalog
 
 
DragonQuest

Allan Baillie · Candlewick
Format: Hardcover

A mission to find the last dragon winds through a perilous landscape, but the knight sees no trace of the creature. Can the eagle-eyed reader spot it?A noble Dragon Fighter sets out on an expedition to fight the last dragon, inviting the reader along for the journey. Through shifting sands...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Zoo Day

Anne Rockwell · Aladdin
Pages: 32
Format: Print book

Beloved author Anne Rockwell celebrates animals of all kinds with a gorgeous new picture book about a child's first visit to the zoo!A young boy and his family visit the zoo for the very first time. From gorillas to lions, polar bears to parrots, Anne Rockwell and her daughter, artist Lizzy...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Simple Machines: Wheels, Levers, and Pulleys

David A. Adler · Holiday House
Format: Hardcover

This lively introduction to physics will get kids excited about how simple machines simplify our lives.Kids use simple machines every day without realizing it. Teeth are wedges and so are knives, forks, and thumbtacks. Many toys such as slides, which are inclined planes, and seesaws, which...
Read More check catalog