Back Teens | December Newsletter

SelectReads News
Simple News Pro
  Teens  
None of the Above

I. W. Gregorio · Balzer + Bray
Pages: 328
Format: Print book

A groundbreaking story about a teenage girl who discovers she's intersex . . . and what happens when her secret is revealed to the entire school. Incredibly compelling and sensitively told, None of the Above is a thought-provoking novel that explores what it means to be a boy, a girl, or something...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Poppy

Mary Hooper · Bloomsbury Usa
Pages: 288
Format: Print book

Poppy is young, beautiful and clever - and working as a parlourmaid in the de Vere family's country house. Society, it seems, has already carved out her destiny. But Poppy's life is about to be thrown dramatically off course. The first reason is love - with someone forbidden, who could...
Read More check catalog
 
 
National Geographic Kids Mission: Lion Rescue: All About Lions and How to Save Them

Ashlee Brown Blewett · National Geographic Children's Books
Format: Paperback

Inspiring young animal lovers to get up close to roaring lions and the real-life challenges they face is what Mission Animal Rescue Lions is all about. With fun and amazing adventure stories, gorgeous photography, hands-on activities, fascinating information, and more, this book taps into...
Read More check catalog
 
 
In a World Just Right

Jen Brooks · Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers
Pages: 432
Format: Hardcover

Worlds collide in romantic, unexpected, and heartbreaking ways in this "picture-perfect" (VOYA, starred review) debut novel about a young man with a truly unique power.Sometimes high school senior Jonathan Aubrey wishes he could just disappear. And as luck - or fate - would...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Art of Lainey

Paula Stokes · HarperTeen
Format: Paperback

Perfect for fans of Stephanie Perkins, Sarah Dessen, and Susane Colasanti, The Art of Lainey tells the story of how, with the help of The Art of War, Lainey plots the perfect plan to get her boyfriend back. But is getting him back really what she wants?Soccer star Lainey Mitchell is gearing...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Born of Deception

Teri Brown · Balzer + Bray
Format: Hardcover

Perfect for fans of Libba Bray and Anna Godbersen, this thrilling historical suspense novel - and sequel to Born of Illusion - tells the story of a teen illusionist who must harness her special powers and navigate the underworld of magic before her murderous enemies catch up with her.After...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Altered

Gennifer Albin · Farrar Straus Giroux Books for Young Readers
Pages: 390
Format: Hardcover

Deadly SecretsTangled LiesWoven truthsLife. Possibility. Choice. All taken from Adelice by the Guild -- until she took them back. But amid the splendid ruins of Earth, Adelice discovers how dangerous freedom can be. Hunted by soulless Remnants sent by Cormac Patton and the Guild, Adelice...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Something True

Kieran Scott · Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers
Format: Hardcover

Will the love of her life distract True from reuniting withthe love of her life? Find out in the third book in Kieran Scotts delightful series that blends ancient mythology with contemporary romance. True Olympia is in the home stretch. After being banished to Earth without her powers as punishment...
Read More check catalog
 
 
My Best Friend, Maybe

Caela Carter · Bloomsbury USA Childrens
Format: Hardcover

Right before they started high school, Colette's best friend, Sadie, dumped her. Three years later, Colette is still lonely. She tries to be perfect for everyone left in her life: her parents, her younger brothers, her church youth group, even her boyfriend, Mark. But Colette is restless....
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Wrenchies

Farel Dalrymple · First Second; First Edition edition
Format: Book

Sherwood and Orson should never have gone into that cave.That day, a door was opened from our world into a dark and profane realm...and earths destiny was changed forever. In this demented future, whatever life remains on earth is oppressed by the evil shadowsmen. Only a gang of ruthless...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Fragile Like Us

SARA BARNARD · Simon Pulse
Pages: 399
Format: Hardcover

In the tradition of Sarah Dessen and Morgan Matson comes a pitch perfect novel about friendship and what it takes to break the bonds between friends.Caddy and Rosie have always been inseparable. But that was before Suzanne. Now the twosome has become a triangle with constantly shifting...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Brokenhearted

Amelia Kahaney · HarperTeen
Format: Hardcover

Perfect for fans of Marissa Meyer's The Lunar Chronicles and Marie Lu's Legend series, Amelia Kahaney's The Brokenhearted is a gorgeous, gritty, and imaginative take on the superhero story. Anthem Fleet, talented ballerina and heir to the Fleet fortune, has always been closely...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Wrong About the Guy

Claire LaZebnik · Harper Teen
Pages: 368
Format: Paperback

This contemporary twist on Jane Austen's Emma features the signature wit and swoon-worthy romance of beloved author Claire LaZebnik's other fan favorites Epic Fail, The Trouble with Flirting, and The Last Best Kiss.Ellie Withers is definitely not spoiled, so she wishes that George Nussbaum...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Girls Who Code: Learn to Code and Change the World

RESHMA SAUJANI · Viking Books for Young Readers
Pages: 176
Format: Hardcover

Part how-to, part girl-empowerment, and all fun, from the leader of the movement championed by Sheryl Sandberg, Jack Dorsey, and other giants of tech. Since 2012, the organization Girls Who Code has taught computing skills to and inspired over 10,000 girls across America. Now its founder,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
A Hundred Hours of Night

Anna Woltz · Arthur A. Levine Books
Pages: 256
Format: Print book

When Emilia de Wit ran away to New York City, she planned everything to a T. Plane ticket, purchased. Cute apartment, rented online. Subway map, printed and highlighted. This was no ordinary trip -- this was Emilia's declaration of independence. Her chance to escape the disaster her life...
Read More check catalog