Back Teens | April Newsletter

SelectReads News
Dearreader template
  Teens  
Everything You Need to Ace Science in One Big Fat Notebook: The Complete Middle School Study Guide
Everything You Need to Ace Science in One Big Fat Notebook: The Complete Middle School Study Guide

Sharon Madanes · Workman Publishing
Pages: 528
Format: Print book

It's the revolutionary science study guide just for middle school students from the brains behind Brain Quest. Everything You Need to Ace Science . . . takes readers from scientific investigation and the engineering design process to the Periodic Table; forces and motion; forms...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Nightfall
Nightfall

Jake Halpern · G.P. Putnam's Sons Books for Young Readers
Pages: 368
Format: Hardcover

The dark will bring your worst nightmares to light in this gripping and eerie survival story, perfect for fans of James Dashner and Neil Gaiman.On Marin's island, sunrise doesn't come every twenty-four hours - it comes every twenty-eight years. Now the sun is just a sliver of light...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Little Blue Lies
Little Blue Lies

Chris Lynch · Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers
Pages: 217
Format: Hardcover

Two teens discover the true danger of love in this gripping novel from Printz Honor-winning author Chris Lynch.Oliver loves Junie Blue. That's true. Pretty much everything else is a lie. Both known for their deceit, Junie and O's relationship was the only honest thing they had....
Read More check catalog
 
 
Place Hacking: Venturing Off Limits
Place Hacking: Venturing Off Limits

Michael J. Rosen · 21st Century
Format: Book

Leaping from the Eiffel Tower in a wingsuit. Scaling Shanghai Tower, one of the world's tallest buildings. Camping on the roof of Philadelphia's abandoned Eastern State Penitentiary. These scenarios are real examples of explorations, adventures, and infiltrations of the built environment....
Read More check catalog
 
 
Juba!: A Novel
Juba!: A Novel

Walter Dean Myers · Amistad
Pages: 201
Format: Print book

In New York Times bestselling author Walter Dean Myers's last novel, he delivers a gripping story based on the life of a real dancer known as Master Juba, who lived in the nineteenth century.This engaging historical novel is based on the true story of the meteoric rise of an immensely talented...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Inherit Midnight
Inherit Midnight

Kate Kae Myers · Bloomsbury USA Childrens
Format: Hardcover

The CompetitionSeventeen-year-old Avery VanDemeres ridiculously wealthy grandmother has decided to leave the family fortune to the relative who proves him or herself worthiest--by solving puzzles and riddles on a whirlwind race around the globe. The ContendersFor Avery, the contest offers...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Swarm
Swarm

Scott Westerfeld · Simon Pulse
Pages: 464
Format: Print book

X-Men meets Heroes when New York Times bestselling author Scott Westerfeld teams up with award-winning authors Margo Lanagan and Deborah Biancotti in the second book of an explosive new trilogy about a group of teens with amazing abilities.They thought they'd already faced their toughest...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Dumplin'
Dumplin'

Julie Murphy · Balzer + Bray
Pages: 375
Format: Print book

Sixteen-year-old Willowdean wants to prove to everyone in her small Texas town that she is more than just a fat girl, so, while grappling with her feelings for a co-worker who is clearly attracted to her, Will and some other misfits prepare to compete in the beauty pageant her mother runs.
Read More check catalog
 
 
Strike!: The Farm Workers' Fight for Their Rights
Strike!: The Farm Workers' Fight for Their Rights

Larry Dane Brimner
Format: Book

In 1965, as the grapes in California's Coachella Valley were ready to harvest, migrant Filipino American workers - who picked and readied the crop for shipping - negotiated a wage of $1.40 per hour, the same wage growers had agreed to pay guest workers from Mexico. But when the Fi
Read More check catalog
 
 
Key Discoveries in Life Science
Key Discoveries in Life Science

Christine Zuchora-Walske · Lerner Publications
Format: Print book

How did our knowledge of cells, heredity, evolution, ecosystems, and photosynthesis develop? Who first studied these concepts and why? And who used those early theories to expand and change our understanding? Readers will trace the history of key discoveries in life science as they investigate...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Into the Dangerous World
Into the Dangerous World

Julie Chibbaro · Viking Books for Young Readers
Pages: 352
Format: Hardcover

At a family meeting, Ror declares her purpose: She is an artist. But she doesn't really know what that means. Raised on a commune, she's never attended a day of school, and has seen little of the outside world. What she knows best is drawing. To her, it's like...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Inhuman
Inhuman

Kat Falls · Scholastic, Incorporated
Pages: 375
Format: Hardcover

Never let them tame you.In the wake of a devastating biological disaster, the United States east of the Mississippi has been abandoned. Now called the Feral Zone, a reference to the virus that turned millions of people into bloodthirsty savages, the entire area is off-limits. The punishment...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Crazy Messy Beautiful
Crazy Messy Beautiful

Carrie Arcos · Philomel Books
Pages: 320
Format: Print book

From National Book Award finalist Carrie Arcos--a fresh take on happily ever after, and friendship, that is anything but a love story.When your namesake is Pablo Neruda - the greatest love poet of all time - finding "the one" should be easy. After all, sixteen-year-old aspiring...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Color Song
Color Song

Victoria Strauss · Skyscape
Format: Book

By the author of the acclaimed Passion Blue, a Kirkus Reviews Best Teen Book of 2012 and “a rare, rewarding, sumptuous exploration of artistic passion,” comes a fascinating companion novel.Artistically brilliant, Giulia is blessed—or cursed—with a spirit’s...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Finding Paris
Finding Paris

Joy Preble · Balzer + Bray
Format: Hardcover

An evocative and compelling story of two sisters who would do anything for each other—perfect for fans of Thirteen Reasons Why and Speak. Joy Prebles stirring new novel explores the lengths to which sisters go to protect each other, and the winding road that brings two strangers into...
Read More check catalog