Back Teens | June Newsletter

SelectReads News
Simple News Pro
  Teens  
The Rest of Us Just Live Here

Patrick Ness · HarperTeen
Pages: 317
Format: Print book

A new YA novel from novelist Patrick Ness, author of the Carnegie Medal- and Kate Greenaway Medal-winning A Monster Calls and the critically acclaimed Chaos Walking trilogy, The Rest of Us Just Live Here is a bold and irreverent novel that powerfully reminds us that there are many different...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Linked

Imogen Howson · Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers
Format: Hardcover

When Elissa learns her telepathic twin is the subject of government experiments, the girls find themselves on the run with secrets worth killing for in this futuristic, romantic thriller. Elissa used to have it all: looks, popularity, and a bright future. Now, all she has is nightmarish...
Read More check catalog
 
 
A Single Stone

Meg Mckinlay · Candlewick Press
Pages: 272
Format: Print book

In an isolated society, one girl makes a discovery that will change everything - and learns that a single stone, once set in motion, can bring down a mountain.Jena - strong, respected, reliable - is the leader of the line, a job every girl in the village dreams of. Watched over by the Mothers...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Novice: Summoner: Book One

Taran Matharu · Feiwel and Friends
Pages: 355
Format: Print book

He can summon demons. But can he win a war?Fletcher is working as a blacksmith's apprentice when he discovers he has the rare ability to summon demons from another world. Chased from his village for a crime he did not commit, Fletcher must travel with his demon, Ignatius, to an academy...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Topspin

Sonya Bates · Orca Book Publishers
Format: Print book

Kat is thrilled to be competing in a junior tennis championship at the Melbourne Park arena for the first time. But things are off to a horrible start. Her doubles partner, Miri, is sneaking around at night and asking Kat to cover for her. She's also playing terribly, almost costing...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Sleeper and the Spindle

Neil Gaiman · HarperCollins
Pages: 64
Format: Hardcover

It was the closest kingdom to the queen's, as the crow flies, but not even the crows flew it. You may think you know this story. There's a young queen, about to be married. There are some good, brave, hardy dwarfs; a castle, shrouded in thorns; and a princess, cursed by a witch,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Top Secret Science: Projects You Aren't Supposed to Know About

Jennifer Swanson · Fact Finders
Pages: 32
Format: Book

Deadly bombs. Human experiments. Spies and black ops. Top secret projects arent just the stuff of fantasy in books and movies. They are real, and some are even happening right now.
Read More check catalog
 
 
Renewable Energy

John Allen · Referencepoint Press
Format: Hardcover

While some consider renewable energy to be the answer to the world's energy needs, others question its ultimate utility. Through a narrative-driven pro/con formatsupported by facts, quotes, anecdotes, and full-color illustrationsthis title examines the future of renewable energy. Topics...
Read More check catalog
 
 
U.S. Special Forces: Air Force Special Operations Command

Jim Whiting · Creative Paperbacks
Format: Print book

Even the most rigorous training would not prepare young readers for the sheer amount of intel they will uncover about six of the most secretive U.S. Special Forces. Each title covers the chronology of the special ops force and supplements the main narrative with "Force Fact" sidebars...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Memory Key

Liana Liu · HarperTeen
Format: Hardcover

Lora Mint is determined not to forget.Though her mothers been dead for five years, Lora struggles to remember every detail about her—most important, the specific events that occurred the night she sped off in her car, never to return.But in a world ravaged by Vergets disease, a viral...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Seven Billion and Counting: The Crisis in Global Population Growth

Michael M. Andregg · Twenty-First Century Books
Pages: 88
Format: Hardcover

"October 31, 2011, marked an uneasy milestone for Planet Earth. On this day, the global population surpassed seven billion. What does that mean for a world that, until the nineteenth century, was home to less than one billion people? Experts say it means the planet is in trouble. Some...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The War on Poverty

CAROLEE LAINE · ESSENTIAL LIBRARY
Pages: 112
Format: Print book

The War on Povertycovers the history of poverty in the United States, explaining what poverty looks like today and highlighting key players and efforts to reduce poverty in the country. Aligned to Common Core Standards and correlated to state standards. Essential Library is an imprint of Abdo...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Devil's Engine: Hellfighters

Alexander Gordon Smith · Farrar
Pages: 320
Format: Print book

In Hellraisers, he made a demonic deal. Now it's time to pay the price. Thrown into a relentless war against the forces of darkness, fifteen-year-old Marlow Green and his squad of secret soldiers must fight for control of the Devil's Engines -- ancient, infernal machines that can make any wish...
Read More check catalog
 
 
I'll Give You the Sun

Jandy Nelson · Dial Books
Pages: 371
Format: Hardcover

The New York Times Bestselling story of first love, family, loss, and betrayal for fans of John Green, Jenny Offill, Emma Straub, and Rainbow Rowell "We were all heading for each other on a collision course, no matter what. Maybe some people are just meant to be in the same story."...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Things Too Huge to Fix by Saying Sorry

Susan Vaught · Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers
Pages: 352
Format: Print book

A mysterious note takes Dani Beans into the secrets of Ole Miss and its dark past in this compelling new middle grade novel from the author of Footer Davis Probably Is Crazy."Sooner or later, we're all gonna be okay." That's what Dani's Grandma Beans used to say. But that was before...
Read More check catalog