Back Teens | October Newsletter

SelectReads News
Simple News Pro
  Teens  
Starting From Scratch: What You Should Know about Food and Cooking

Sarah Elton · Owlkids Books Inc.,
Pages: 96
Format: Print book

Starting from Scratch is a food manifesto that helps young readers relate to what they eat, inspiring both budding chefs and budding food lovers in the process. Beginning with an exploration of taste and how it works, author and food activist Sarah Elton explains how ingredients have been...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Tyrant's Daughter

J.C. Carleson · Random House Childrens Books
Pages: 295
Format: Hardcover

"Filled with political intrigue and emotional tension, Carleson's riveting novel features a teenage refugee caught in a web of deceit and conspiracy." - PW, starred review When her father is killed in a coup, Laila and her mother and brother leave their war-torn homeland...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Dead Is Just a Dream

Marlene Perez · HMH Books for Young Readers
Format: Hardcover

The people of Nightshade, California, are dying in their sleep, and fifteen-year-old paranormal warrior Jessica Walsh is determined to find the killer . . . or killers. Justice isn't the only thing on Jessica's mind, however. Some days she's not sure which is worse - having...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Perfect Ruin

Lauren DeStefano · Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers
Pages: 384
Format: Paperback

From the New York Times bestselling author of The Chemical Garden trilogy: On the floating city of Internment, you can be anything you dream. Unless you approach the edge. Children's Literature says "shades of Aldous Huxley's Brave New World and George Orwell's 1984 inspire...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Snapshot

Angie Stanton · HarperTeen
Format: Paperback

Perfect for fans of Sarah Dessen, Jenny Han, and Susane Colasanti, this companion novel to the swoon-worthy Rock and a Hard Place has Marti discovering that one kiss from a Jamieson brother can change her summer . . . forever.Marti Hunter just wants a normal life. After dealing with her cool-but-clueless...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Scary out there

Jonathan Maberry · SSBFYR
Pages: 498
Format: Print book

"Multiple Bram Stoker Award-winning author Jonathan Maberry compiles more than twenty stories and poems--written by members of the Horror Writers Association--in this terrifying collection about worst fears"--
Read More check catalog
 
 
Rot & Ruin

Jonathan Maberry · Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers
Pages: 458
Format: Print book

In the zombie-infested, post-apocalyptic America where Benny Imura lives, every teenager must find a job by the time they turn fifteen or get their rations cut in half. Benny doesn't want to apprentice as a zombie hunter with his boring older brother Tom, but he has no choice. He expects...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Girl on the Verge

PINTIP DUNN · Kensington
Pages: 256
Format: Paperback

From the author of The Darkest Lie comes a compelling, provocative story for fans of I Was Here and Vanishing Girls, about a high school senior straddling two worlds, unsure how she fits in either - and the journey of self-discovery that leads her to surprising truths.In her small Kansas...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Learning the Ropes

Monique Polak · Orca Book Publishers
Format: Print book

Mandy dreams of a career in the circus, working as an aerialist who specializes in rope climbing. When she is accepted into the prestigious Montreal Circus College summer program, she feels that she is finally on her way to fulfilling her dreams. At circus camp she is befriended - and challenged...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Creed

Trisha Leaver · Flux
Format: Book

When their car breaks down in the middle of nowhere, Dee, her boyfriend Luke, and Lukes brother, Mike, seek help in the nearby town of Purity Springs. But as they walk the vacant streets, the teens make some disturbing discoveries. The seemingly deserted homes each contain a sinister book...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Witchtown

Cory Putman Oakes · HMH Books for Young Readers
Pages: 320
Format: Hardcover

Enter the gates of Witchtown to find a mischievous coming-of-age story for fans of Alice Hoffman's Practical Magic and the Danielle Paige's Dorothy Must Die series. When sixteen-year-old Macie O'Sullivan and her masterfully manipulative mother Aubra arrive at the gates of Witchtown - the most...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Next Big Thing: A History of the Boom-or-Bust Moments That Shaped the Modern World

Richard Faulk · Zest Books
Format: Print book

Traces three thousand years of Western history to profile influential ideas and setbacks that have shaped the modern world, from the spread of monotheism and the invention of the printing press to the U.S. metric campaign and the smart drink trend.
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Dogs

Allan Stratton · Sourcebooks Fire
Pages: 272
Format: Hardcover

Out of the corner of my eye, I catch something moving by the barn.When I look, it disappears. Wait. There it is again, at the cornfield. Some movement, some thing. Mom and I have been on the run for years. Every time he catches up with us, we move to a new place and start over. But this...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Blind

Rachel DeWoskin · Viking Juvenile
Format: Hardcover

When Emma Sasha Silver loses her eyesight in a nightmare accident, she must relearn everything from walking across the street to recognizing her own sisters to imagining colors. One of seven children, Emma used to be the invisible kid, but now it seems everyone is watching her. And just...
Read More check catalog