Back Science | April Newsletter

SelectReads News
Dearreader template
  Science  
The Woodland Homestead: How to Make Your Land More Productive and Live More Self-Sufficiently in the Woods
The Woodland Homestead: How to Make Your Land More Productive and Live More Self-Sufficiently in the Woods

Brett McLeod · Storey Books
Pages: 229
Format: Print book

Put your wooded land to work! This comprehensive manual shows you how to use your woodlands to produce everything from wine and mushrooms to firewood and livestock feed. You'll learn how to take stock of your woods; use axes, bow saws, chainsaws, and other key tools; create pasture and silvopasture...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Einstein's Greatest Mistake: A Biography
Einstein's Greatest Mistake: A Biography

David Bodanis · Houghton Mifflin Harcourt
Pages: 288
Format: Print book

From the best-selling author of E=mc2, a brisk, accessible biography of Albert Einstein that reveals the genius and hubris of the titan of modern physics Widely considered the greatest genius of all time, Albert Einstein revolutionized our understanding of the cosmos with his general theory...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Your Water Footprint: The Shocking Facts About How Much Water We Use to Make Everyday Products
Your Water Footprint: The Shocking Facts About How Much Water We Use to Make Everyday Products

Stephen Leahy · Firefly Books
Format: Hardcover

The average American lifestyle is kept afloat by about 2,000 gallons of H2O a day. The numbers are shocking. Your Water Footprint reveals the true cost of our lifestyle. A water footprint is the amount of fresh water used to produce the goods and services we consume, including growing,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Practical Projects To Make 40 Bird Boxes, Feeders And Birdbaths: Easy-To-Follow Step-By-Step Instructions and 380 Photographs
Practical Projects To Make 40 Bird Boxes, Feeders And Birdbaths: Easy-To-Follow Step-By-Step Instructions and 380 Photographs

Jen Dr. Green · Southwater; Reprint edition
Format: Paperback

Attract birds to your garden by creating nest boxes, roosts, birdhouses, dovecotes, tables, feeding stations and birdbaths, together with a guide to feeding.
Read More check catalog
 
 
Seeds of Hope: Wisdom and Wonder from the World of Plants
Seeds of Hope: Wisdom and Wonder from the World of Plants

Jane Goodall · Grand Central Publishing
Pages: 432
Format: Hardcover

Renowned naturalist and bestselling author Jane Goodall examines the critical role that trees and plants play in our world. In her wise and elegant new book, Jane Goodall blends her experience in nature with her enthusiasm for botany to give readers a deeper understanding of the world around...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Atlas of Indian Nations
Atlas of Indian Nations

Anton Treuer · National Geographic Society
Pages: 319
Format: Hardcover

Atlas of Indian Nations is a comprehensive resource for those interested in Native American history and culture. Told through maps, photos, art, and archival cartography, this is the story of American Indians that only National Geographic can tell. In the most comprehensive atlas of Native...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Capital Cities around the World: An Encyclopedia of Geography, History, and Culture
Capital Cities around the World: An Encyclopedia of Geography, History, and Culture

Roman Adrian Cybriwsky · ABC-CLIO
Format: Hardcover

Every country, even the worlds youngest nations, has a capital city—a centralized location which houses the seat of government and acts as the hub of culture and history. But, what role do capital cities play in the global arena? Which factors have influenced the selection of a municipal...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Bumble Bees of North America: An Identification Guide
Bumble Bees of North America: An Identification Guide

Paul Williams · Princeton University Press
Pages: 208
Format: Paperback

More than ever before, there is widespread interest in studying bumble bees and the critical role they play in our ecosystems. Bumble Bees of North America is the first comprehensive guide to North American bumble bees to be published in more than a century. Richly illustrated with color...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Vaccine Race: Science, Politics, and the Human Costs of Defeating Disease
The Vaccine Race: Science, Politics, and the Human Costs of Defeating Disease

Meredith Wadman · Viking
Pages: 448
Format: Print book

The epic and controversial story of the development of the first widely used normal human cell-line and, through it, some of the world s most important vaccines In June 1962, a young biologist at the Wistar Institute in Philadelphia, Leonard Hayflick, using tissue extracted from an aborted...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Mushroom Hunters: On the Trail of an Underground America
The Mushroom Hunters: On the Trail of an Underground America

Langdon Cook · Ballantine Books; 1St Edition edition
Format: Hardcover

In the tradition of Michael Pollan’s The Omnivore’s Dilemma, Susan Orlean’s The Orchid Thief, and Mark Kurlansky’s Cod—a renowned culinary adventurer goes into the woods with the iconoclasts and outlaws who seek the world’s most coveted ingredient . . . and one of nature’s...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Beginning Beekeeping
Beginning Beekeeping

Tanya Phillips · Alpha Books
Pages: 192
Format: Print book

Beginning Beekeeping is a simple, straightforward approach that gives you the basics to get started with beekeeping, while following a balanced, objective approach that weighs the pros and cons of conventional and organic methodologies. Featuring more than 120 beautiful color photos, this...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Painless Algebra
Painless Algebra

Lynette Long · Barrons Educational Series
Pages: 336
Format: Print book

Defines algebraic terms, shows how to avoid pitfalls in calculation, presents painless methods for understanding and graphing equations, and makes problem-solving fun. Titles in Barron's extensive Painless Series cover a wide range of subjects, as they are taught at middle school and high...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Spaceman: An Astronaut's Unlikely Journey to Unlock the Secrets of the Universe
Spaceman: An Astronaut's Unlikely Journey to Unlock the Secrets of the Universe

Mike Massimino · Crown Archetype
Pages: 313
Format: Print book

Click Here For the Autographed Copy Have you ever wondered what it would be like to find yourself strapped to a giant rocket that s about to go from zero to 17, 500 miles per hour? Or to look back on the earth from outer space and see the surprisingly precise line between day and night?...
Read More check catalog