Back Science | April Newsletter

SelectReads News
Simple News Pro
  Science  
My Gentle Barn: Creating a Sanctuary Where Animals Heal and Children Learn to Hope

Ellie Laks · Harmony Books
Pages: 268
Format: Hardcover

"My Gentle Barn is a wonderful book. You'll love Ellie Laks and the animals she rescued--and who rescued her back." -Sy Montgomery, The Good Good PigFounder Ellie Laks started The Gentle Barn after adopting a sick goat from a run-down petting zoo in 1999. Some two hundred...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Gene Machine: How Genetic Technologies Are Changing the Way We Have Kids--and the Kids We Have

Bonnie Rochman · Scientific American / Farrar, Straus and Giroux
Pages: 288
Format: Hardcover

A sharp-eyed exploration of the promise and peril of having children in an age of genetic tests and interventionsIs screening for disease in an embryo a humane form of family planning or a slippery slope toward eugenics? Should doctors tell you that your infant daughter is genetically predisposed...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Bumble Bees of North America: An Identification Guide

Paul Williams · Princeton University Press
Pages: 208
Format: Paperback

More than ever before, there is widespread interest in studying bumble bees and the critical role they play in our ecosystems. Bumble Bees of North America is the first comprehensive guide to North American bumble bees to be published in more than a century. Richly illustrated with color...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Secret Language of Animals: A Guide to Remarkable Behavior

Janine M Benyus · Black Dog & Leventhal Pub
Pages: 480
Format: Paperback

Unlock the secrets behind the behavior of the world's most fascinating creatures? from the Adélie penguin to the plains zebra to the giant panda?in this wonderfully written, beautifully illustrated book.In The Secret Language of Animals, biologist Janine Benyus takes us inside the animal...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Beginning Beekeeping

Tanya Phillips · Alpha Books
Pages: 192
Format: Print book

Beginning Beekeeping is a simple, straightforward approach that gives you the basics to get started with beekeeping, while following a balanced, objective approach that weighs the pros and cons of conventional and organic methodologies. Featuring more than 120 beautiful color photos, this...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Mosquito handbook.

Brett Ortler · Adventure Pubns
Pages: 144
Format: Print book

This book contains everything you need to understand and avoid mosquitoes, including a review of CDC-recommended repellents and products.
Read More check catalog
 
 
Plastic Purge: How to Use Less Plastic, Eat Better, Keep Toxins Out of Your Body, and Help Save the Sea Turtles!

Michael SanClements · St. Martin's Griffin
Format: Paperback

Now a Denver Post #1 bestseller. Plastic is everywhere we look. Our computers and children's toys are made out of it, and our water and slices of American cheese are packaged in it. But why is there so much and what is it doing to our bodies? Is it possible to use less plastic and be happier...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Glaciers: The Politics of Ice

Jorge Daniel Taillant · Oxford University Press, USA
Pages: 360
Format: Hardcover

Though not traditionally thought of as strategic natural resources, glaciers are a crucial part of our global ecosystem playing a fundamental role in the sustaining of life around the world. Comprising three quarters of the world's freshwater, they freeze in the winter and melt in the summer,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Mushroom Hunters: On the Trail of an Underground America

Langdon Cook · Ballantine Books; 1St Edition edition
Format: Hardcover

In the tradition of Michael Pollan’s The Omnivore’s Dilemma, Susan Orlean’s The Orchid Thief, and Mark Kurlansky’s Cod—a renowned culinary adventurer goes into the woods with the iconoclasts and outlaws who seek the world’s most coveted ingredient . . . and one of nature’s...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Reason for Flowers: Their History, Culture, Biology, and How They Change Our Lives

Stephen Buchmann · Scribner
Pages: 342
Format: Print book

Cultural history at its best - the engaging, lively, and definitive story of the beauty, sexuality, ecology, myths, lore, and economics of the world's flowers, written by a passionately devoted author and scientist, and illustrated with his stunning photographs.Flowers, and the fruits that...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Planet Without Apes

Craig B. Stanford · Belknap Press
Format: Hardcover

Planet Without Apes demands that we consider whether we can live with the consequences of wiping our closest relatives off the face of the Earth. Leading primatologist Craig Stanford warns that extinction of the great apes—chimpanzees, bonobos, gorillas, and orangutans—threatens...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Little Book of Black Holes

Steven S. Gubser · Princeton University Press
Pages: 200
Format: Hardcover

Read More check catalog
 
 
What Stands in a Storm: Three Days in the Worst Superstorm to Hit the South's Tornado Alley

Kim Cross · Atria Books
Format: Hardcover

Immersive reporting and dramatic storytelling set you right in the middle of the horrific superstorm of April 2011, a weather event that killed 348 people.April 27, 2011, marked the climax of a superstorm that saw a record 358 tornadoes rip through twenty-one states in three days, seven...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Good Garden Bugs: Everything You Need to Know about Beneficial Predatory Insects

Mary M. Gardiner · Quarry Books
Format: Book

Your guide to the beneficial insects in your garden!Good Garden Bugs is an easy-to-follow reference to beneficial insects that provide pest control, allowing your garden to grow full and bountiful.Aphids, caterpillars, grubs, and slugs are not only creepy-crawlies: They can wreak havoc...
Read More check catalog