Back Ages 4-8 | August Newsletter

SelectReads News
Simple News Pro
  Ages 4-8  
Sheep Dog and Sheep Sheep

Eric Barclay - HarperCollins
Format: Hardcover

An accidental-friendship story packed with humor from author-illustrator Eric BarclaySheep is an expert at protecting sheep - or so she thinks until one happy afternoon when she bumps into a very hairy someone on the farm."Who are you?" she asks."I'm the sheep dog!"...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Molly of Denali: A-maze-ing Snow

WGBH Kids - HarperCollins
Format: Paperback

Based on the MOLLY OF DENALI TV show coming to PBS KIDS on July 15, MOLLY OF DENALI: A-maze-ing Snow is a brand-new storybook with stickers!A blizzard blows through Qyah, Alaska, and the school roof caves in! Luckily, Molly knows just how to raise the money to fix it . . . a winter carnival!...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Isadora Moon Goes to the Ballet

Harriet Muncaster - Random House Books for Young Readers
Format: Hardcover

Fans of The Princess in Black and Vampirina Ballerina, meet Isadora Moon: half-vampire, half-fairy and totally unique!Isadora Moon is special because she is different. But just like her other classmates, Isadora loves the ballet. That's why Isadora can't wait for a field trip with...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Adrift: An Odd Couple of Polar Bears

Jessica Olien - Balzer & Bray/Harperteen
Format: Print book

Perfect for fans of Goodnight, Already! and You Will Be My Friend, this is a classic and quirky story of finding friendship where you least expect it, from the author/illustrator of The Blobfish Book and Shark Detective. Karl and Hazel are polar bears. They are not friends.Until . . . CRAAACCKKK!Of...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Vehicles: A Can-You-Find-It Book

Sarah L. Schuette - Pebble
Format: Library Binding

Buckle in the kids for a wild ride through this vehicle-themed seek-and-find title. Hundreds of hidden objects are tucked inside vehicles that roll, rumble, float, and fly across each full-color puzzle. To-find lists include both pictographs and word labels to engage pre-readers and early...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Monkey Troops

Karen Latchana Kenney - Jump!, Inc.
Format: Library Binding

In this book, early fluent readers will learn how and why monkeys live together in groups called troops. Vibrant, full-color photos and carefully leveled text will engage young readers as they learn more about the animal's habitat, diet, behaviors, appearance, and social structure....
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Princess and the Pit Stop

Tom Angleberger - Abrams Books for Young Readers
Format: Hardcover

Once upon a time there was a Princess . . .. . . who made a pit stop.While the Birds and Beasts changed her tires, her Fairy Godmother told her she was in last place! With just one lap left! She might as well give up!Give up? Not THIS princess! Instead, she hit the gas!...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Lion and Mouse

Jairo Buitrago - Groundwood Books
Format: Hardcover

Funny, fresh and very modern, this update on the fable of the lion and the mouse is a marvelous tale of a relationship between two unlikely friends. One day, the mouse marches into the lion's den without an invitation. Before the lion can eat him for breakfast, the mouse begs for mercy....
Read More check catalog
 
 
Recipe for Disaster

Jim Benton - Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers
Format: Hardcover

Franny K. Stein is back with another laugh-out-loud experimental adventure in the ninth book in the Mad Scientist series from Jim Benton, the New York Times bestselling author-illustrator of the Dear Dumb Diary and It's Happy Bunny series.Franny K. Stein isn't a good baker. But when...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Home Alone Kitten

Tina Nolan - Tiger Tales
Format: Print book

Abandonedlostneglected? There's always a home at Animal Magic! In a perfect world, there would be no need for Animal Magic. But Ella and Caleb Harrison, who live at the animal rescue center with their parents, know that life isn't perfect. Every day there's a new arrival in need...
Read More check catalog