Back Children's Books | October Newsletter

SelectReads News
Simple News Pro
  Children's Books  
Families, Families, Families!

Suzanne Lang · Random House,
Pages: 32
Format: Print book

No matter your size, shape, or pedigree--if you love each other, you are a family!Moms, dads, sisters, brothers - and even Great Aunt Sue - appear in dozens of combinations, demonstrating all kinds of nontraditional families! Silly animals are cleverly depicted in framed portraits,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
DK Readers L1: All About Bats

DK · DK Publishing
Pages: 23
Format: Print book

Fly through the spectacular, nocturnal world of bats with All About Bats. From leathery wings to echolocation, this nonfiction reader is an exciting look at these creatures of the night, and includes fantastic photography that will amaze kids as they read.Perfect for 3-5 year olds learning...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Meet the Pets

Mary Man-Kong · Random House
Pages: 28
Format: Print book

Illumination Entertainment and Universal Pictures present The Secret Life of Pets, a comedy about the lives our pets lead after we leave for work or school each day. This Step 3 Step into Reading leveled reader is perfect for boys and girls ages 4 to 6!
Read More check catalog
 
 
Box

Min Flyte · Nosy Crow
Pages: 26
Format: Print book

What would you do with a box?When four toddlers find some toys in cardboard boxes, they play with them for a while. But, before long, the friends' interest in the toys wanes and their attention turns to the boxes themselves. What could they do with SO many boxes, they wonder?This inspiring...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Baby on Board: How Animals Carry Their Young

Marianne Collins Berkes · Dawn Publications
Pages: 32
Format: Print book

How do animals carry their babies? Not in backpacks or strollers, but tucked in pouches . . . Gripped in teeth . . . Propped on backs . . . Even underneath! Marianne Berke's rhyming verses present some of the many ways that animals carry their young. Cathy Morrison's magical illustrations...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Big Dogs, Little Dogs: A Visual Guide to the World's Dogs

Jim Medway · Firefly Books
Pages: 31
Format: Print book

This wonderfully illustrated book features 300 dog breeds, including every breed recognized by the American Kennel Club. Fun double-page spreads show dogs in the seven official groupings -- Working, Toy, Hound, Terrier, Herding, Sporting, Non-Sporting -- as well as "designer"...
Read More check catalog
 
 
DK Readers L1: LEGO NEXO KNIGHTS Stop the Monsters!

DK · DK Publishing (Dorling Kindersley)
Pages: 24
Format: Library Binding

Join the heroic knights as they clash with fearsome monsters in DK Readers L1: LEGO® NEXO KNIGHTS™: Stop the Monsters! Enter the futuristic world of Knighton where the brave NEXO KNIGHTS heroes, Clay, Lance, Axl, Aaron, and Macy, use powerful weapons and magic to battle an evil jester.Perfect...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Wake Up!

Helen Frost · Candlewick Press
Pages: 32
Format: Print book

The world is wide awake - are you? Stunning photos and poetic text usher readers into the early moments of life all around them.Wake up! Come out and explore all the new creatures being born - just-hatched birds in the trees, tadpoles in the pond, a baby fawn in the woods. In their...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Ice Boy

David Ezra Stein · Candlewick Press
Pages: 40
Format: Print book

An ice cube in search of adventure stars in a comical (and very cool) tale of transformation from Caldecott Honoree David Ezra Stein.Ice Boy has a normal life. He likes goofing around with his siblings ("Don't lick your brother!") . He listens when his parents tell him that...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Just One More

Jennifer Hansen Rolli · Viking Juvenile
Pages: 40
Format: Hardcover

Sometimes Ruby needsjust one more minute of sleep,one more thingy for her hair,one more push on the swing,and one more scoop on her cone,(and one more, and one more, and one more . . .) until one more is justtoo much.Maybe it's time for just one?If you know a someone like Ruby,Just One More...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Tony

Ed Galing · Roaring Brook Press
Pages: 32
Format: Hardcover

Tony was all white,large, sturdy,with wide gentle eyesand a ton of love . . .Follow this touching tale of a boy and his friendship with a horse, by the late poet Ed Galing and illustrated with remarkable tenderness by Caldecott-winning artist Erin Stead.A Neal Porter Book
Read More check catalog
 
 
Playtime?

Jeff Mack · Philomel Books
Pages: 32
Format: Print book

This funny picture book ode to the struggles of bedtime is perfect for fans of Mo Willems's Don't Let the Pigeon Stay Up Late! Bedtime can be a challenge for the best of us. But when you're a fun-loving, overactive pet gorilla, bedtime is downright hard. Who would want to go to sleep when...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Groggle's Monster Valentine

Diana Murray · Sky Pony Pr
Pages: 32
Format: Print book

Groggle has been up all night making a Valentine's Day card. This isn't just any Valentine, though, and it has to be perfect - it's for Snarlina, his beast friend in the whole wide world.Searching in the dark forest, he finds just the right heart-shaped leaves. He collects some...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Mealtime

Ada Quinlivan · PowerKids Press
Pages: 24
Format: Library Binding

Its time to eat. This book follows a fun and relatable character from meal to meal throughout their day. Readers will love reading about each mealtime, from breakfast to dinner, and the friends and family that share in the main characters day. Colorful illustrations and lively text make...
Read More check catalog