Back Outdoors & Nature | December Newsletter

SelectReads News
Simple News Pro
  Outdoors & Nature  
The Wisdom of Wolves: Lessons From the Sawtooth Pack

Jim Dutcher - National Geographic
Format: Hardcover

From the world-famous couple who lived alongside a three-generation wolf pack, this book of inspiration, drawn from the wild, will fascinate animal and nature lovers alike.For six years Jim and Jamie Dutcher lived intimately with a pack of wolves, gaining their trust as no one has before....
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Great Outdoors Cookbook: Over 100 Recipes for the Campground, Trail, or RV

Melanie Jenkinson - Sterling Epicure
Format: Paperback

With more than 100 highly original and creative recipes for delicious breakfasts, lunches, dinners, and snacks, Trail Forked solves what outdoor adventurers have been struggling over for years: How to make tasty, hearty, and nutritious camp food. Say good-bye to those sad, dehydrated dinners,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Reading the Rocks: How Victorian Geologists Discovered the Secret of Life

Brenda Maddox - Bloomsbury Publishing PLC
Format: Paperback

A rich and exuberant group biography of the first geologists, the people who were first to excavate from the layers of the world its buried history. These first geologists were made up primarily, and inevitably, of gentlemen with the necessary wealth to support their interests, yet boosting...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Zoology: Inside the Secret World of Animals

DK - DK
Format: Hardcover

From tiny insects to sleek great white sharks and majestic elephants, this book invites you to explore the animal kingdom up close--from head to toe.Whether you're interested in specific animal groups such as mammals or birds or have a passion for wildlife photography, this beautiful book...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Strays: A Lost Cat, a Drifter, and Their Journey Across America

BRITT COLLINS - Atria Books
Format: Hardcover

For fans of A Street Cat Named Bob and Dewey: The Small-Town Library Cat Who Touched the World, Strays is a compelling true story of a man who rescues a stray, injured cat and how they save each other.Homeless, alcoholic, and depressed, Michael King lives in a UPS loading...
Read More check catalog
 
 
American Seafood: Heritage, Culture & Cookery From Sea to Shining Sea

Barton Seaver - Sterling Epicure
Format: Hardcover

From prestigious writer, chef, and sustainability advocate Barton Seaver comes a seminal reference on every aspect of American seafood. With the growing trend to reintroduce US-caught seafood into our culinary lexicon, this trustworthy reference will be the go-to source for home...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Where the Water Goes: Life and Death Along the Colorado River

David Owen - Riverhead Books
Format: Hardcover

A brilliant, eye-opening account of where our water comes from and where it all goes The Colorado River is a crucial resource for a surprisingly large part of the United States, and every gallon that flows down it is owned or claimed by someone. David Owen traces all that water from...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Primitive Technology: A Survivalist's Guide to Building Tools, Shelters, and More in the Wild

John Plant - Clarkson Potter
Format: Hardcover

From the craftsman behind the popular YouTube channel Primitive Technology comes a practical guide to building huts and tools using only natural materials from the wild. John Plant, the man behind the channel, Primitive Technology, is a bonafide YouTube star. With over 8 million subscribers...
Read More check catalog
 
 
100 Animals That Can F*cking End You

MAMADOU NDIAYE - Voracious
Format: Paperback

A wittily informative field guide to the deadliest animals on Earth from "AnimalTok" star @mndiaye97 Ever wonder how to tell if a moose is about to subtract you? Curious why you should be terrified of cassowaries, the "velociraptor that time forgot?" Questioning whether...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Once and Future Ocean: Notes Toward a New Hydraulic Society

Peter Neill - Leete's Island Books
Format: Print book

Peter Neill's The Once and Future Ocean aspires to do nothing less than transform our relationship with the world's most promising and imperiled natural element: the ocean and the inter-connected cycles of water, essential for all aspects of human survival in the 21st century. A successor...
Read More check catalog