Back Outdoors & Nature | August Newsletter

SelectReads News
Simple News Pro
  Outdoors & Nature  
Michael Symon's Playing with Fire: BBQ and More from the Grill, Smoker, and Fireplace

Michael Symon - Clarkson Potter
Format: Hardcover

Cohost of The Chew and celebrated Iron Chef and restaurateur Michael Symon returns to a favorite subject, meat, with his first cookbook focused on barbecue and live-fire grilling, with over 70 recipes inspired by his newest restaurant, Mabel's BBQ, in his hometown of Cleveland.In...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Mushroom Wanderland: A Forager's Guide to Finding, Identifying, and Using More Than 25 Wild Fungi

Jess Starwood - Countryman Press
Format: Hardcover

The breathtaking beauty of mushrooms from a master forager: how to identify and use them in cooking, home remedies, and spirituality.Foraging for mushrooms is a meditative and rewarding escape. Even if readers aren't ready to head out into the woods, this enchanting visual guide is a welcome...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Integrative Health Care for Dogs & Cats: A Guide to a Healthier Life through Nutrition, Holistic Care, and High-Tech Solutions

GARY RICHTER - Hay House, Inc.
Format: Paperback

As a holistic veterinarian and scientist, Dr. Gary Richter helps dog and cat owners to navigate the thicket of treatment options and separate the fact from the fiction. He wants us to use what actually works, not just what Western science or alternative medicine say "should" work....
Read More check catalog
 
 
Sentient: How Animals Illuminate the Wonder of Our Human Senses

Jackie Higgins - Atria Books
Format: Hardcover

Perfect for fans of The Soul of an Octopus and The Genius of Birds, this remarkable book explores how we process the world around us by analyzing the incredible sensory capabilities of thirteen animals and reveals that we are not limited to merely five senses.
Read More check catalog
 
 
Dark Skies

Valerie Stimac - Lonely Planet
Format: Hardcover

Witnessing the sweep of the Milky Way, the remains of comets burning up in our atmosphere, or the shimmering aurora, we better understand the universe and our place in it. Lonely Planet's Dark Skies, the first world's guide to astrotourism, can help you experience all of this and more...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Starlight Detectives: How Astronomers, Inventors, and Eccentrics Discovered the Modern Universe

Alan Hirshfeld - Bellevue Literary Pr
Format: Print book

NBC News "Top Science and Tech Books of the Year" selectionScientific American/FSG "Favorite Science Books of the Year" selectionNature.com "Top Reads of the Year" selectionKirkus Reviews "Best Books of the Year" selectionDiscover magazine "Top...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Niagara Falls for Everybody: What to See and Enjoy-A Complete Guide

BARBARA LYNCH-JOHNT - Amherst Media
Format: Paperback

Niagara Falls is a top tourist destination for visitors worldwide. Dubbed the Honeymoon Capital of the World, The Mighty Niagara welcomes 12 million visitors per year. There's much to learn and see when you plan your visit to Niagara Falls, New York and Niagara Falls, Ontario, Canada,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
500 Freshwater Aquarium Fish: A Visual Reference to the Most Popular Species

GREG JENNINGS - Firefly Books
Format: Paperback

Praise for the hardcover edition: "For users looking for specific information on freshwater aquarium fish this will be a useful and interesting resource." --American Reference Books Annual 2007 "Any home or library collection strong in aquarium references -- and many...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Bird Songs: 250 North American Birds in Song

Les Beletsky - becker&mayer! Books
Format: Hardcover

In Bird Songs, ornithologist Les Beletsky profiles 250 birds alongside colorful illustrations, and includes a digital audio player that provides the corresponding song for each of the 250 birds. Drawing from the collection of the world-renowned Macaulay Library at the Cornell Lab of Ornithology,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
100 Great American Parks

Stephanie Pearson - ?National Geographic
Format: Hardcover

Discover diverse and breathtaking natural landscapes in this beautifully illustrated collection of America's 63 national parks, as well as 37 state, recreational, and city parks and green spaces.Nowhere in the world is there a park system like America's. The National Park System...
Read More check catalog