Back Psychology & Philosophy | May Newsletter

SelectReads News
Simple News Pro
  Psychology & Philosophy  
Chronicles of a Liquid Society

UMBERTO ECO · Houghton Mifflin Harcourt
Pages: 320
Format: Hardcover

A posthumous collection of essays by the great novelist, essayist, literary critic, and philosopher Umberto Eco.

Umberto Eco began writing a regular column called "La Bustina di Minerva" for the Italian weekly magazine L'Espresso in 1985. Its title referred...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Lithium: A Doctor, a Drug, and a Breakthrough

Walter A. Brown · Liveright
Pages: 256
Format: Hardcover

The remarkable untold story of a miracle drug, the forgotten pioneer who discovered it, and the fight to bring lithium to the masses.

The DNA double helix, penicillin, the X-ray, insulin -- these are routinely cited as some of the most important medical discoveries of the twentieth...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Damnation Island: Poor, Sick, Mad, and Criminal in 19th-Century New York

STACY HORN · Algonquin Books
Pages: 304
Format: Hardcover

The gripping voices of the inhabitants of Blackwell's Island make this history come alive.

Today it is known as Roosevelt Island. In 1828, when New York City purchased this narrow, two-mile-long island in the East River, it was called Blackwell's Island. There, over the next hundred...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Social Courage: Coping and thriving with the reality of social anxiety

ERIC GOODMAN · Exisle Publishing
Pages: 240
Format: Paperback

Many people walk around with a secret: they experience social anxiety! At the same time, they are bombarded by messages from books, articles, and gurus that lead them to believe that social anxiety is a disease that needs to be cured. Consequently, along with social anxiety, they carry...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Cult of Trump: A Leading Cult Expert Explains How the President Uses Mind Control

Steven Hassan · Free Press
Pages: 320
Format: Hardcover

One of America's leading experts in cults and mind-control provides an eye-opening analysis of Trump and the indoctrination tactics he uses to build a fanatical devotion in his supporters.

Over the past two years, Trump's behavior has become both more disturbing and yet increasingly...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Tragedy, the Greeks, and Us

Simon Critchley · Pantheon
Pages: 336
Format: Hardcover

From the curator of The New York Times's "The Stone," a provocative and timely exploration into tragedy--how it articulates conflicts and contradiction that we need to address in order to better understand the world we live in.

We might think we are through with...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Second Mountain

David Brooks · Random House
Pages: 320
Format: Hardcover

An inspiring, thought-provoking exploration of what it means to live a meaningful life, from the #1 New York Times bestselling author of The Road to Character

Every so often, you meet a person who radiates joy. Who seems to know exactly why they were put on this earth, and glows...
Read More check catalog
 
 
My Grandmother's Hands: Racialized Trauma and the Pathway to Mending Our Hearts and Bodies

Resmaa Menakem · Central Recovery Press
Pages: 300
Format: Paperback

The body is where our instincts reside and where we fight, flee, or freeze, and it endures the trauma inflicted by the ills that plague society. In this groundbreaking work, therapist Resmaa Menakem examines the damage caused by racism in America from the perspective of body-centered...

Read More check catalog
 
 
The Culture Code: The Secrets of Highly Successful Groups

DANIEL COYLE · Bantam
Pages: 304
Format: Hardcover

From the New York Times bestselling author of The Talent Code comes a book that unlocks the secrets of highly successful groups and provides tomorrow's leaders with the tools to build a cohesive, motivated culture. Where does great culture come from? How do you build and sustain it in your...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Only Girl in the World: A Memoir

Maude Julien · Little, Brown and Company
Pages: 288
Format: Hardcover

For readers of Room and The Glass Castle, a memoir to be read in one breathless sitting that will leave you astonished by the courage and creative power of even the most neglected soul.

Maude Julien's parents were fanatics who believed it was their sacred duty to turn...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Power of Showing Up: How Parental Presence Shapes Who Our Kids Become and How Their Brains Get Wired

Daniel J. Siegel · Ballantine Books
Pages: 256
Format: Hardcover

What's the one thing a parent can do to make the most difference in the long run? The research is clear: Show up! Now the bestselling authors of The Whole-Brain Child and No-Drama Discipline explain what this means over the course of childhood.

One of the very best...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Superminds: The Surprising Power of People and Computers Thinking Together

THOMAS W MALONE · Little, Brown and Company
Pages: 384
Format: Hardcover

From the founding director of the MIT Center for Collective Intelligence comes a fascinating look at the remarkable capacity for intelligence exhibited by groups of people and computers working together.

If you're like most people, you probably believe that humans are the most intelligent...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Truth: How the Many Sides to Every Story Shape Our Reality

Hector Macdonald · Little, Brown and Company
Pages: 352
Format: Hardcover

For fans of Nudge, Sway, and The Art of Thinking Clearly, a fascinating dive into the many ways in which "competing truths" shape our opinions, behaviors, and beliefs.True or false? It's rarely that simple.There is more than one truth about most things. The Internet disseminates...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Stressed Years of Their Lives: Helping Your Kid Survive and Thrive During Their College Years

Dr. B. Janet Hibbs · St. Martin's Press
Pages: 336
Format: Hardcover

From two leading child and adolescent mental health experts comes a guide for the parents of every college and college-bound student who want to know what's normal mental health and behavior, what's not, and how to intervene before it's too late.

"The title says it all...Chock...

Read More check catalog