Back Ages 9-12 | June Newsletter

SelectReads News
Simple News Pro
  Ages 9-12  
Memoir of Susie King Taylor: A Civil War Nurse

Pamela Dell · Capstone Press
Pages: 32
Format: Print book

Susie King Taylor, born a slave in 1848, would learn to read at secret schools and go on to teach countless others to read and write. Follow the course of the Civil War in her own words as she remembers her work as a nurse and teacher with an Army troop of African-American soldiers.
Read More check catalog
 
 
Strange Fruit: Billie Holiday and the Power of a Protest Song

Gary Golio · Millbrook Press
Pages: 40
Format: Library Binding

The audience was completely silent the first time Billie Holiday performed a song called "Strange Fruit." In the 1930s, Billie was known as a performer of jazz and blues music, but this song wasn't either of those things. It was a song about injustice, and it would change her life...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Disney Fairies #20

TEA ORSI · PAPERCUTZ
Pages: 64
Format: Print book

Tinker Bell and her friends, Fawn, Iridessa, Rosetta, Silvermist, and Vidia have fallen prey to Zarina's new spell -- their unique talents have been switched around in order to distract them from the task at hand! Will the fairies learn their new abilities in time to prevent Zarina...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Drum Roll, Please

LISA JENN BIGELOW · HarperCollins
Pages: 320
Format: Hardcover

Find the confidence to rock out to your own beat in this big-hearted novel perfect for fans of Gracefully Grayson and Better Nate than Never.Melly only joined the school band because her best friend, Olivia, begged her to. But to her surprise, quiet Melly loves playing the drums. It's...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Collector

K R ALEXANDER · Scholastic Press
Pages: 224
Format: Paperback

Josie always liked visiting her grandmother in the countryside. But when her mother loses her job in the city and they're forced to relocate along with Josie's sister, Annie, she realizes she doesn't like the country that much. Especially because Grandma Jeannie has some strange...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Word Problems Using Operations and Algebraic Thinking

Rebecca Wingard-Nelson · Enslow Publishing
Pages: 48
Format: Print book

Word problems using operations and algebraic thinking may sound dry and boring, but not when they are done at the amusement park. Each sample problem connects to real-life examples a young person might come across at the park. Text is accessible and engaging but also provides real math...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Unseen Worlds: Real-Life Microscopic Creatures Hiding All Around Us

Helene Rajcak · What on Earth Books
Pages: 36
Format: Hardcover

Unfold each page to reveal stunningly detailed illustrations bursting with jelly-like amoebae, predatory centipedes, ravenous mosquitos, and more mites than you could imagine. From the murky ocean depths to your kitchen cupboard, and even inside your nose, you'll travel to locations...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Horse Diaries #14: Calvino

Whitney Sanderson · Random House
Pages: 160
Format: Print book

For all lovers of horses and history! This latest book in the Horse Diaries series features an Andalusian horse in romantic sixteenth-century Spain. Southern Spain, 1570s Calvino is a dapple-gray Andalusian stallion. He grew up driving cattle in the mountains, but soon he catches the eye of King...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Overboard!

Terry Lynn Johnson · HMH Books for Young Readers
Pages: 112
Format: Hardcover

A high-stakes adventure series perfect for fans of the I Survived series and Hatchet. Eleven-year-old Travis and his family are on a whale watch off the coast of Washington when disaster strikes. The boat capsizes, throwing everyone into the ice-cold chaotic waves. Separated from...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The 12th Candle

Kim Tomsic · Katherine Tegen Books
Pages: 336
Format: Hardcover

Middle school meets magic in this hilarious and heartfelt novel about a girl whose life flips when she wishes on an enchanted candle - perfect for fans of Sarah Mlynowski and Wendy Mass.

Sage Sassafras's life is cursed! No, really. Since birth, Sage has been plagued by the Contrarium...

Read More check catalog
 
 
Who Is Bono?

Pam Pollack · Penguin Workshop
Pages: 112
Format: Paperback

How did an Irish schoolboy become the lead singer of a world-famous rock band and the founder of several humanitarian groups? Track Bono's rise to fame in this exciting addition to the Who Was? series. By age 16, Paul David Hewson was such a good singer that he had earned the nickname...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Dreamway

LISA PAPADEMETRIOU · HarperCollins
Pages: 304
Format: Hardcover

New York Times bestselling author Lisa Papademetriou delivers her most fantastical, emotional story yet in this tale of a young girl's journey into her dreams to save her brother from the darkness that surrounds him. Perfect for fans of A Wrinkle in Time, The Phantom Tollbooth, and Echo....
Read More check catalog
 
 
Unicorn Princesses 5: Breeze's Blast

Emily Bliss · Bloomsbury USA Childrens
Pages: 128
Format: Hardcover

Welcome to an enchanted land ruled by unicorn princesses! Cressida Jenkins, a unicorn-obsessed girl who is sure that unicorns are real, is invited to visit, and readers will be thrilled to journey to the Rainbow Realm along with her! In each story, Cressida is called to help a unicorn princess...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Winter War

PRISCILLA SHIRER · B&H Kids
Pages: 352
Format: Hardcover

Two years ago, the Prince Warriors lost one of their own, but now they must stand firm . . . because death is coming once again. In this sequel to Priscilla Shirer's best-selling trilogy, the Prince Warriors return to Ahoratos to find it bare and dangerous. The Winter War is upon them.Don't...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Drinks and Desserts

Claudia Martin · Enslow Pub Inc
Pages: 48
Format: Library Binding

In addition to meals and snacks, drinks and desserts are a big part of our diet. Many of us have orange juice with breakfast or cake on our birthdays. Do you know you can add carrot and ginger to your orange juice and it becomes an orange zinger? Did you know that rather than a whopping...
Read More check catalog