Back Sports | May Newsletter

SelectReads News
Simple News Pro
  Sports  
Ultimate Speed: The Fast Life and Extreme Cars of Racing Legend Craig Breedlove

Samuel Hawley · Chicago Review Press
Pages: 304
Format: Hardcover

An L.A. hot-rodder with a high school education, a family to support, and almost no money, Craig Breedlove set out in the late 1950s to do something big: harness the thrust of a jet in a car. With a growing obsession that would cost him his marriage, he started building in his dad's...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Men in Blazers Present Encyclopedia Blazertannica: A Suboptimal Guide to Soccer, America's "Sport of the Future" Since 1972

Roger Bennett · Knopf
Pages: 224
Format: Hardcover

Soccer has been America's Sport of the Future since 1972. Propelled by the rise of the World Cup, Premier League, the glory of the United States Women's National Team, Lionel Messi's DemiGod-esque talent and repeat exposure to Cristiano Ronaldo's preening abs, that Future has finally arrived.

The...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Let It Bang: A Young Black Man's Reluctant Odyssey into Guns

RJ Young · Houghton Mifflin Harcourt
Pages: 192
Format: Hardcover

A story of race, guns, and self-protection in America today, through the quest - funny and searing - of a young black man learning to shoot a handgun better than a white person

The most RJ Young knew about guns was that they could get him killed. Until, recently married to a white...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Brothers in Arms: Koufax, Kershaw, and the Dodgers' Extraordinary Pitching Tradition

Jon Weisman · Triumph Books
Pages: 384
Format: Paperback

The Los Angeles Dodgers are one of the most storied franchises in all of sports, with enduring legacies both on and off the diamond. Chief among the hallmarks of the organization is an unparalleled pitching dominance; Dodger blue and white brings to mind brilliance on the mound and the Cy Young...
Read More check catalog
 
 
One Goal: A Coach, a Team, and the Game That Brought a Divided Town Together

Amy Bass · Hachette Books
Pages: 320
Format: Hardcover

In the tradition of Friday Night Lights and Outcasts United, ONE GOAL tells the inspiring story of the soccer team in a town bristling with racial tension that united Somali refugees and multi-generation Mainers in their quest for state--and ultimately national--glory.

When...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Billion Dollar Fantasy: The High-Stakes Game Between FanDuel and DraftKings That Upended Sports in America

Albert Chen · Houghton Mifflin Harcourt
Pages: 304
Format: Hardcover

The story of the rise of daily fantasy sports, and the brilliant entrepreneurs disrupting the way we consume sports.

The inside story of the rise, fall, and rise of FanDuel and DraftKings - two companies that began as obscure start-ups and, seemingly overnight, became billion dollar...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Arthur Ashe: A Life

RAYMOND ARSENAULT · Simon & Schuster
Pages: 784
Format: Hardcover

The first comprehensive, authoritative biography of American icon Arthur Ashe - the Jackie Robinson of men's tennis - a pioneering athlete who, after breaking the color barrier, went on to become an influential civil rights activist and public intellectual.

Born in Richmond, Virginia,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Yoga Fitness for Men

DEAN POHLMAN · DK
Pages: 192
Format: Paperback

A no-nonsense introduction to yoga for men who want to build strength, improve performance, and increase flexibility.

Maximize your athletic performance, reduce your post-workout aches, and help prevent injuries with yoga. With more than 25 yoga routines and over 50 key postures,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Heritage: Black Athletes, a Divided America, and the Politics of Patriotism

HOWARD BRYANT · Beacon Press
Pages: 288
Format: Hardcover

Following in the footsteps of Robeson, Ali, Robinson and others, today's Black athletes re-engage with social issues and the meaning of American patriotism

Named a best book of 2018 by Library Journal

It used to be that politics and sports were as separate from one another...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Nature Instinct: Relearning Our Sixth Sense for the Inner Workings of the Natural World

TRISTAN GOOLEY · The Experiment
Pages: 400
Format: Hardcover

From the New York Times-bestselling author of How to Read Water - an exploration of our subconscious ability to "know" our surroundings even when we can't explain how

Master outdoorsman Tristan Gooley has long encouraged his readers to look closely at the world...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Just Show Up: And Other Enduring Values from Baseball's Iron Man

Cal Ripken Jr. · Harper
Pages: 208
Format: Hardcover

Iron Man Cal Ripken Jr.the 19-time All-Star, World-Series winning legend, American League MVP, and record holder who played 2,632 consecutive gamesoutlines eight rules for the game of baseball and life, drawn from the lessons he has learned on and off the field.

Cal...

Read More check catalog
 
 
Taut Lines: Extraordinary True Fishing Stories

Cameron Pierce · David R Godine
Pages: 336
Format: Paperback

Taut Lines is an anthology of fishing tales like no other. Many of the stories are written by females, bringing a relationship twist to this male-dominated pastime. Pierce has extended the field, to push the reader beyond the usual, and predictable, anthologies of man against fish. These...
Read More check catalog
 
 
K: A History of Baseball in Ten Pitches

Tyler Kepner · Doubleday
Pages: 320
Format: Hardcover

From the New York Times baseball columnist, an enchanting, enthralling history of the national pastime as told through the craft of pitching, based on years of archival research and interviews with more than three hundred people from Hall of Famers to the stars of today

The...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Lands of Lost Borders: A Journey on the Silk Road

KATE HARRIS · Dey Street Books
Pages: 320
Format: Hardcover

Lands of Lost Borders carried me up into a state of openness and excitement I haven't felt for years. It's a modern classic." - Pico Iyer

A brilliant, fierce writer makes her debut with this enthralling travelogue and memoir of her journey by bicycle along the Silk Road - an illuminating...

Read More check catalog