Back Science | May Newsletter

SelectReads News
Simple News Pro
  Science  
Genius Weapons: Artificial Intelligence, Autonomous Weaponry, and the Future of Warfare

Louis A. Del Monte · Prometheus Books
Pages: 320
Format: Paperback

A technology expert describes the ever-increasing role of artificial intelligence in weapons development, the ethical dilemmas these weapons pose, and the potential threat to humanity.Artificial intelligence is playing an ever-increasing role in military weapon systems. Going beyond the bomb-carrying...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Highway of Tears: A True Story of Racism, Indifference, and the Pursuit of Justice for Missing and Murdered Indigenous Women and Girls

Jessica McDiarmid · Atria Books
Pages: 352
Format: Hardcover

In the vein of the astonishing and eye-opening bestsellers I'll Be Gone in the Dark and The Line Becomes a River, this stunning work of investigative journalism follows a series of unsolved disappearances and murders of Indigenous women in rural British Columbia.

Along...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Stronghold: One Man's Quest to Save the World's Wild Salmon

Tucker Malarkey · Spiegel & Grau
Pages: 368
Format: Hardcover

"A powerful and inspiring story. Guido Rahr's mission to save the wild Pacific salmon leads him into adventures that make for a breathtakingly exciting read." - Ian Frazier, author of Travels in Siberia

In the tradition of Mountains Beyond Mountains and The...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Cosmic Mystery Tour: A High-Speed Journey Through Space & Time

Nicholas Mee · Oxford University Press
Pages: 224
Format: Hardcover

The Cosmic Mystery Tour takes us on a lightning tour of the mysteries of the universe enlivened by brief stories of the colourful characters who created modern science. It explores hot topics in physics and astronomy, including the recent discovery of gravitational waves; the quest for the origin...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Hummingbird in Underworld: Teaching in a Men's Prison, A Memoir

Deborah Tobola · She Writes Press
Pages: 256
Format: Paperback

At the age of forty-five, Deborah Tobola returns to her birthplace, San Luis Obispo, to work in the very prison her father worked in when he was a student at Cal Poly. But she's not wearing a uniform as he did; she's there to teach creative writing and manage the prison's arts program -- a dream...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Mapping Shakespeare: An exploration of Shakespeare's worlds through maps

JEREMY BLACK · Conway
Pages: 192
Format: Hardcover

William Shakespeare's lifetime (1564-1616) spanned the reigns of the last of the Tudors, Elizabeth I, and the first of the Stuart kings, James I. The changing times and fluctuating political mores of the era were reflected through his plays. This beautiful new book looks at the England,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Universe Speaks in Numbers: How Modern Math Reveals Nature's Deepest Secrets

Graham Farmelo · Basic Books
Pages: 336
Format: Hardcover

How math helps us solve the universe's deepest mysteries One of the great insights of science is that the universe has an underlying order. The supreme goal of physicists is to understand this order through laws that describe the behavior of the most basic particles and the forces between...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Into the Planet: My Life as a Cave Diver

Jill Heinerth · Ecco
Pages: 288
Format: Hardcover

From one of the world's most renowned cave divers, a firsthand account of exploring the earth's final frontier: the hidden depths of our oceans and the sunken caves inside our planet

More people have died exploring underwater caves than climbing Mount Everest, and we know more...

Read More check catalog
 
 
Pleased to Meet Me: Genes, Germs, and the Curious Forces That Make Us Who We Are

Bill Sullivan · National Geographic
Pages: 336
Format: Hardcover

Why are you attracted to a certain "type?" Why are you a morning person? Why do you vote the way you do? From a witty new voice in popular science comes a clever, life-changing look at what makes you you.

"I can't believe I just said that." "What possessed...
Read More check catalog
 
 
End Times: A Brief Guide to the End of the World

Bryan Walsh · Hachette Books
Pages: 416
Format: Hardcover

Newsweek and Bloomberg popular science and investigative journalist Bryan Walsh explores the history of extinction and offers a cutting-edge examination of existential risk, the dangerous mistakes we have yet to pay for, and concrete steps we can take to protect ourselves...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Earth-Shattering: Violent Supernovas, Galactic Explosions, Biological Mayhem, Nuclear Meltdowns, and Other Hazards to Life in Our Universe

Bob Berman · Little, Brown and Company
Pages: 320
Format: Hardcover

A heart-pumping exploration of the biggest explosions in history, from the Big Bang to mysterious activity on Earth and everything in between

The overwhelming majority of celestial space is inactive and will remain forever unruffled. Similarly, more than 90 percent of the universe's...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Art of Logic in an Illogical World

EUGENIA CHENG · Basic Books
Pages: 320
Format: Hardcover

How both logical and emotional reasoning can help us live better in our post-truth world

In a world where fake news stories change election outcomes, has rationality become futile? In The Art of Logic in an Illogical World, Eugenia Cheng throws a lifeline to readers drowning...
Read More check catalog
 
 
My Penguin Year: Living with the Emperors

Lindsay McCrae · William Morrow
Pages: 304
Format: Hardcover

A "remarkable memoir" (Nature) of life with an emperor penguin colony, gorgeously illustrated with 32 pages of exclusive photography

For 337 days, award-winning wildlife cameraman Lindsay McCrae intimately followed 11,000 emperor penguins amid the singular beauty...

Read More check catalog
 
 
Movies (And Other Things)

Shea Serrano · Twelve
Pages: 256
Format: Hardcover

#1 New York Times bestselling author Shea Serrano is back, and his new book, Movies (And Other Things) , combines the fury of a John Wick shootout, the sly brilliance of Regina George holding court at a cafeteria table, and the sheer power of a Denzel monologue, all into one.
...

Read More check catalog
 
 
The Weil Conjectures: On Math and the Pursuit of the Unknown

Karen Olsson · Farrar, Straus and Giroux
Pages: 224
Format: Hardcover

An eloquent blend of memoir and biography exploring the Weil siblings, math, and creative inspirationKaren Olsson always had an aptitude for math but wasn't exactly a prodigy. And yet when she entered Harvard as an undergraduate she was drawn to it, forcing herself into a discipline...
Read More check catalog